84 comment(s). Last comment by Philip ( buy what you understand) 2022-01-26 21:17

uncensored

2,694 posts

Posted by uncensored > 2022-01-23 15:13 | Report Abuse

Yes you are right

uncensored

2,694 posts

Posted by uncensored > 2022-01-23 15:14 | Report Abuse

In Singapore or HK, vacating a tenant is much more easy & faster but in Malaysia not so easy.

Posted by Tobby > 2022-01-23 15:54 | Report Abuse

Yeah, i won't go into hassle of chasing anyone out! Best to check the property first! Check the outstanding as well if you really decided to buy it!

Posted by Tobby > 2022-01-23 15:55 | Report Abuse

Nowadays, you can set the outstanding electricity bill of ex owner! As for water, if you buy apartment or condo, you need to pay them!

Posted by Tobby > 2022-01-23 15:58 | Report Abuse

And also you need to prepare to do some refurbishment as well! You know some things like broken faucet, lights, cracks and so forth! If structural then better don't buy! I mean, structural can be a bit of a pain! Unless of course you know how to do it, that's different story! Paying contractor to do structural is quite expensive!

uncensored

2,694 posts

Posted by uncensored > 2022-01-23 15:58 | Report Abuse

Ya TNB bill follow name whereas water bill follow address

Posted by Tobby > 2022-01-23 16:00 | Report Abuse

Fortunately my experience with auction property has been pleasant! You know during down time of our economy like back in 2005, there was like piles and piles of property on lawyers desk! Boy, those where the days!

Posted by Tobby > 2022-01-23 16:01 | Report Abuse

I still remember my lawyer telling me to call him if i want to buy more property! He was telling me got few more piles for me to look through!

Posted by Tobby > 2022-01-23 16:03 | Report Abuse

Actually i am quite surprise how resilient property during this 2 year Covid! I was hoping to see many property on auction! Still got but not as much as i was hoping for!

uncensored

2,694 posts

Posted by uncensored > 2022-01-23 16:07 | Report Abuse

Ya.. a lot people hunting for properties to invest in with 6% ROI but sad or glad depends on which side said: it is difficult to get a property with 6% ROI.

4,720 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2022-01-23 18:00 | Report Abuse

Maybe can consider invest in Real Estate Investment Trusts (REITs)

Got_Milk

36 posts

Posted by Got_Milk > 2022-01-23 18:32 | Report Abuse

The way one writes elucidates ones thought process (or what you term as 'mental models') which for you is all over the place

Petrochemical feedstock costs are rising while higher selling prices are only temporary due to reopening/restocking after the long pandemic induced lockdowns, like what is happening in the automotive chips sector

You want to be at the upstream, the actual producers of the commodities, not the mid-down stream

However, we know that commodities are cyclical - palm oil, crude oil, steel etc. What goes up must come down

Milk (fresh milk especially) however is different. Although fresh milk is in effect a commodity (though rarely seen as so due to its shelf life etc), there are other external, structural factors in force, including the: 1)huge domestic demand vs domestic supply deficit, whose gap is growing

2)Logistics costs (cold chain*) associated with importation (large part of the countries' fresh milk demand is met by Australian/New Zealand imports) with current container costs going through the roof
*https://www.kyvalleydairy.com.au/export

(If you scroll down, you'll see an image that is very telling...)
3)foreign exchange rates, amongst other structural factors

Hope you learned something today

GM

4,720 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2022-01-23 19:18 | Report Abuse

MYR actually depreciate against many currencies. That is why all import good price go up.

The good hedge is buying those plantation compnay that hold free hold plantation land. Land will sure to appreciate.

4,720 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2022-01-23 19:20 | Report Abuse

Haha qqq3 how to die when Insas hold so much cash?

Posted by Philip ( buy what you understand) > 2022-01-23 19:40 | Report Abuse

Recessions are when you open your chequebook and buy all those discounted products. If you look at my portfolio, recessions and panics are when I made the most money. 2009 I bought QL, 2010 I bought topglove, 2020 bought heavy into pchem and Tesla. If there is a recession you shoot fish in a barrel.

When the world is screwed up is when you get the best prices for good companies.
>>>>>>>>

qqq3333 Sslee..Jim Rogers ah? But the world is so screwed up what if there is a recession? If there is a recession even your land values also go down
23/01/2022 7:24 PM

Posted by Philip ( buy what you understand) > 2022-01-23 19:42 | Report Abuse

Simple answer is YES. Long answer is if supply is < demand, prices will always go up.
>>>>>>
qqq3333 In a reverse QE, u think your Rolexes will still go up meh
23/01/2022 7:03 PM

bang_miskin

1,059 posts

Posted by bang_miskin > 2022-01-23 19:46 | Report Abuse

Don't look down on Rolexes. When Chinese citizens are buying Rolexes instead of apartments, you can anticipate prices to appreciate in near future. Some of these Rolexes cost more than my house =).

4,720 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2022-01-23 19:46 | Report Abuse

Recession or not you must hold some cash to take advantage of every situation/opportunity.

DON'T WORRY. THIS TOO SHALL PASS.

Posted by Philip ( buy what you understand) > 2022-01-23 19:47 | Report Abuse

Correct and well said.

>>>>>>>>

Posted by Sslee > Jan 23, 2022 7:46 PM | Report Abuse

Recession or not you must hold some cash to take advantage of every situation/opportunity.

DON'T WORRY. THIS TOO SHALL PASS.

Posted by Fabien _the efficient capital allocator > 2022-01-23 19:59 | Report Abuse

Roblox is interesting! Looking to add into my portfolio since the valuations have become more palatable.

jolynce

547 posts

Posted by jolynce > 2022-01-23 20:06 | Report Abuse

"This is probably the year where we will find that buying basic profitable companies selling at modest PE and giving out dividends and growing safe and steady to be a good buying choices for the coming few years."
Thank you for your words of wisdom, Philip. Wishing you a roaring 2022!

4,720 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2022-01-23 20:17 | Report Abuse

qqq3 you can plant vegetable without land but can you plant Palm tree without land?

14,356 posts

Posted by DickyMe > 2022-01-23 20:28 | Report Abuse

"
Sslee Maybe can consider invest in Real Estate Investment Trusts (REITs)
23/01/2022 6:00 PM"
==============================================
This sector or industry should be terminated.

It is the real reason for inflation.
Driving up real estate price and costly facilities management managed by vultures.

blackchicken

1,220 posts

Posted by blackchicken > 2022-01-23 20:36 | Report Abuse

Unlike Nasdaq KLCI is not overvalued.

4,720 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2022-01-23 21:07 | Report Abuse

qqq3 it only mean China had a hard life compare to US more easy life.

bang_miskin

1,059 posts

Posted by bang_miskin > 2022-01-23 21:23 | Report Abuse

Anyway big thanks to @Philip for your advice. I was a bit clueless on the other industries. Happy New Year of the Tiger!

jasonor

1,004 posts

Posted by jasonor > 2022-01-23 21:37 | Report Abuse

buy books for doomsday preppers. lol...

Posted by Philip ( buy what you understand) > 2022-01-24 07:32 | Report Abuse

Happy year of the tiger everyone.

sensonic

690 posts

Posted by sensonic > 2022-01-24 15:58 |

6,059 posts

Posted by ahbah > 2022-01-24 17:57 | Report Abuse

When the world crashes, sell all n hide under cash as our shelter ?

6,059 posts

Posted by ahbah > 2022-01-24 17:59 | Report Abuse

Inflation theme stocks = commodity stocks ? So, put our moni in commodity stocks ?

Posted by Philip ( buy what you understand) > 2022-01-25 20:17 | Report Abuse

Inflation theme stocks is to buy stocks that benefit from inflation. Simply looking at commodity stocks to buy is dangerous as commodities have no pricing power. You should be looking at commodity stocks with own brand name which is locally sourced and immune to transport costs.

For example PETRONAS additives and pchem fertilizers. Or coca cola soft drinks, McDonalds burgers etc. You will soon see these kind of business post quarter after quarter of growth in revenue and margins.

I am trying to avoid pure commodity stocks like steel manufacturingfactories or palm oil farms as those are more cyclical

Johnzhang

2,955 posts

Posted by Johnzhang > 2022-01-25 21:03 | Report Abuse

Down stream commodities producer will benefit, including CPO producers.

Posted by Philip ( buy what you understand) > 2022-01-26 21:17 | Report Abuse

I am a CPO producer and I don't see why benefit because the increased price of CPO is tempered by the difficulty in sourcing workers and delivery costs. If my small 100 acre farm can feel it, imagine how the upset the larger farms would be