RHB BANK BERHAD

KLSE (MYR): RHBBANK (1066)

6.12 - 6.23

3,879 comment(s). Last comment by cheeseburger 1 day ago

cn21

492 posts

Posted by cn21 > 2021-10-30 11:38 | Report Abuse

Prosperity tax of 33% is bad for banks....right??

Keyman188

5,968 posts

Posted by Keyman188 > 2021-10-31 14:29 | Report Abuse

Let us review the latest corporate tax rate in the region (follow by highest to lowest)...

Malaysia = 33% (2022 assessment)

Australia = 30%

Philipines = 30%

Japan = 29.74%

South Korea = 27.50%

China = 25%

Indonesia = 25%

Myanmar = 25%

Taiwan = 20%

Thailand = 20%

Vietnam = 20%

Brunei = 18.50%

Singapore = 17%

Hong Kong =16.50%

Macau = 12%

^^Don't forget...RM 100 mil profit PLC considered very minimal & acceptable for investment targeting...

Posted by CakapSohaiThings > 2021-11-01 16:50 | Report Abuse

HOLYFCK, well done budget 2022

Posted by CakapSohaiThings > 2021-11-30 19:57 | Report Abuse

Nice QR within expectations. Gogogo

13,929 posts

Posted by i3lurker > 2021-11-30 20:01 | Report Abuse

Excellent results to be proud of....

56,242 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2021-12-01 13:50 |

Posted by Intrinsic99 > 2021-12-01 15:29 |

Posted by prudentinvestor > 2021-12-07 12:38 | Report Abuse

Just ignore this little pesky fellow called Calvin. He is only a charlatan.

troy88

2,978 posts

Posted by troy88 > 2021-12-09 09:54 | Report Abuse

Good bank to buy when market crash. Always proven to come back.

Posted by CakapSohaiThings > 2021-12-31 23:13 | Report Abuse

Next year TP6 confirm hit

56,242 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2022-01-03 23:11 |

getingreal

404 posts

Posted by getingreal > 2022-01-05 12:57 | Report Abuse

You think Banks for free recommend stocks to make you rich? Please la get a brain, they only recommend stock they are trying to unload, or in companies that owe them money.

masterus

3,593 posts

Posted by masterus > 2022-01-06 15:19 | Report Abuse

Fed Mapping Out Its Bond Purchase Reduction Plan

As such, that portfolio turned into $8.76 trillion in holdings, and even with the threat of the Omicron variant, the Fed was already tapering off its bond purchases. Now comes the time to start expunging as the inflation narrative also weighs heavy on the capital markets in addition to COVID-19.

"At their policy meeting last month, officials agreed to wind down their bond-purchase stimulus program more quickly amid growing concerns about high inflation, setting it on track to end in March," the Wall Street Journal reports. "Officials began discussing at that meeting what should happen to the bond holdings after that point, and some are pushing to start shrinking them sooner and faster than they did after an earlier asset-purchase program."

troy88

2,978 posts

Posted by troy88 > 2022-01-10 16:57 | Report Abuse

CIMB already hit new high. RHB will be next..

Posted by prudentinvestor > 2022-01-11 09:09 | Report Abuse

With a prospective earnings per share of around 65 sen for financial year 2021, RHB is obviously grossly undervalued.

TreeTopView

1,352 posts

Posted by TreeTopView > 2022-01-11 09:10 | Report Abuse

I've got mixed feelings here. On one hand, as a holder I'm pleased that it's going up but on the other hand I'm a little disappointed that I wasn't able to pick up a bit more between the 5.20 to 5.30 range. Technically there was a slight hope of that but it now looks like it's gone.

Bummer, I tried to be a bit too greedy.

Posted by CakapSohaiThings > 2022-01-11 10:39 | Report Abuse

Lai liao, RM6 TP incoming

TreeTopView

1,352 posts

Posted by TreeTopView > 2022-01-11 10:57 | Report Abuse

Even at Rm6 I believe this bank is undervalued. Assuming the upcoming quarterly EPS is in line with the previous 3 quarters, then this stock should be targetting a fair value price of at least Rm6.50 on a PE multiple of 10.

I see no logical reason why this bank should be traded at a PE of less than 10.

Just my opinion.

troy88

2,978 posts

Posted by troy88 > 2022-01-11 11:17 | Report Abuse

many years ago RHB used to be around RM8+. Should at least be RM6+

Posted by CakapSohaiThings > 2022-01-11 12:31 | Report Abuse

AGREE. I might wait until 6.5 instead before switching to Ambank, which is way way below its book, and with a lower PE

TreeTopView

1,352 posts

Posted by TreeTopView > 2022-01-13 11:17 | Report Abuse

RHB has banged its head against the Fib. point 5.85 on Tuesday and now again this morning. If it can break through and not close and fall below 5.85, then the next Fib. point is 5.97.

That might take a bit of work.

AllYouCanBuy

2,060 posts

Posted by AllYouCanBuy > 2022-01-13 12:14 | Report Abuse

Rhb up near 9% in the past 5 days. EPF holds 46% rhb share.

TreeTopView

1,352 posts

Posted by TreeTopView > 2022-01-14 08:51 | Report Abuse

It would be a surprise if it was to take on the 5.97 Fib. point today.

I'll have one eye on the stock and another on the KLCI, as I can't see that breaking 1,570. Estimating that level will be solid resistance for a while as the overall market takes a breather and slips and consolidates.

A break above 1,570 on the KLCI would mean a move up to the 1,595 area and I can't see that happening this early in the year.

Just my thoughts.

IronShirt

3,178 posts

Posted by IronShirt > 2022-01-14 10:52 | Report Abuse

OskH holding 10% of RHB is now equal to its entire Capitalisation. While RHB interest payment
to OskH only among to 10--15% of OskH entire Revenue.

Yet OskH price is rotting at lowest valuation....This is Stock Market!!!

Posted by FAIRnREASONABLE > 2022-01-15 11:03 | Report Abuse

The comparative RHB-OSK numbers are quite mind-boggling.
NOSH of RHB - 4143 million; NOSH of OSK - 2095.
Each OSK share owns indirectly 0.2 RHB share (because OSK owns 10.13% of RHB).
Today price: RHB - 5.85; OSK - 0.905.
Use 5.85 we can buy 6.464 OSK shares and own indirectly 1.295 RHB shares which is worth 7.57 --- isn't that amazing?

OSK has, of course, other profitable business in:
- property development, including Melbourne Square and Malaysia projects
- property investment - malls and commercial buildings, including OSK Plaza
- Financial services - money lending license - highly profitable
- Manufacturing - cables & building materials
- Construction
- Hospitality (currently loss-making due to covid19)

So, using the same amount of money, if we buy OSK to own RHB indirectly, we can have about 30% more of RHB straight away. At the same time we own the rest of OSK profitable business all free - proportionately. Amazing numbers.

TreeTopView

1,352 posts

Posted by TreeTopView > 2022-01-17 08:39 | Report Abuse

I was very surprised and pleased that it closed the week on a Fib. point as support. Although I'm not too sure if it will be able to hold this point throughout this new week, as I'm still uncertain about the short term overall market.

Any signs of price weakness could be an opportunity to buy and hold as a twelve month investment to achieve a capital gain plus a 5%+ dividend.

TreeTopView

1,352 posts

Posted by TreeTopView > 2022-01-17 10:08 | Report Abuse

The next 5 possible retracement points based on Fib, calcs:

1. 5.77
2. 5.72
3. 5.65
4. 5.57
5. 5.55

I'd probably be topping up between the 5.57 and 5.65 points if it was to drop into that area. If the KLCI was to head below the 1,530 support then we could look at lower price levels. That's the current state of play with this stock for me. All in my opinion, of course.

TreeTopView

1,352 posts

Posted by TreeTopView > 2022-01-19 08:45 | Report Abuse

That test of the KLCI 1,530 might be coming sooner than expected.
I can't see today's overall market being very encouraging.

Neptune99

14 posts

Posted by Neptune99 > 2022-01-21 10:33 | Report Abuse

Hello, excellent to study

Neptune99

14 posts

Posted by Neptune99 > 2022-01-21 11:21 | Report Abuse

banking stock always is my first option

alenac

2,649 posts

Posted by alenac > 2022-01-23 20:22 | Report Abuse

CIMB, Maybank and RHB were hit as unsecured creditors to the tune of RM2.5 billion.

https://www.malaymail.com/news/malaysia/2022/01/23/problems-at-cruise-...
23/01/2022 8:20 PM

TreeTopView

1,352 posts

Posted by TreeTopView > 2022-01-24 11:35 | Report Abuse

This news about a possible loan default from Genting HK is not what shareholders want to see. I haven't been able to see what the actual size of the loan is for each individual bank yet but it would be significant, although not "fatal".

While this cloud hangs over the three banks we could see Funds come in to short the stocks so I'm expecting some pressure on the price until things are clearer.

It's very frustrating as I was bullish on RHB for this year. For now, I have decided to hold my current holdings in RHB but will not be adding to my position until there is more clarity on the Genting HK situation.

Posted by CakapSohaiThings > 2022-01-24 13:38 | Report Abuse

Stay strong holders

garychee8

405 posts

Posted by garychee8 > 2022-01-24 15:08 | Report Abuse

my chance to buy into rhb....

getingreal

404 posts

Posted by getingreal > 2022-01-24 17:27 | Report Abuse

Sadly I can think of only one reason Banks management would lend such huge sums unsecured to a single borrower. I wonder what they did with the coffee money in HK.

Junichiro

2,057 posts

Posted by Junichiro > 2022-01-24 20:10 | Report Abuse

This is the risk of the banking industry. In good times, nobody ever complain about it. Banking is not for the timid.

AllYouCanBuy

2,060 posts

Posted by AllYouCanBuy > 2022-01-26 19:32 | Report Abuse

(Highlight) RHB Banking Group’s managing director/group chief executive officer Datuk Khairussaleh Ramli has tendered his resignation, effective March 25, RHB Bank Bhd told Bursa Malaysia on Wednesday (Jan 26).

stkoay

6,397 posts

Posted by stkoay > 2022-01-28 23:28 | Report Abuse

Based on its most recent annual report, it appears that there are no GENM shares pledged by the holding company as collateral, though 14.8% or 570m Genting Bhd shares have been pledged for financing.

Source: PublicInvest Research - 28 Jan 2022

Is the mentioned USD600m unsecured loan being pledged by 570m Genting shares during the negotiation in August 2020 ??

stkoay

6,397 posts

Posted by stkoay > 2022-02-01 13:23 | Report Abuse

Wish everyone A Happy & Prosperous Tiger Year Blessed with Excellent Health.

Neptune99

14 posts

Posted by Neptune99 > 2022-02-07 15:05 | Report Abuse

banking stock can uptrend further this year? now majority talking about to raise interest rate

Neptune99

14 posts

Posted by Neptune99 > 2022-02-08 16:31 | Report Abuse

some bank stock green but some bank stock neutral

Posted by bullmarket1628 > 2022-02-08 16:52 | Report Abuse

Super great news !
Malaysia's National Recovery Council agrees to fully reopen borders without quarantine by March

Rashvinjeet S Bedi
08 Feb 2022 03:19PM (Updated: 08 Feb 2022 03:19PM)

stkoay

6,397 posts

Posted by stkoay > 2022-02-09 11:30 | Report Abuse

The S&P 500 banking index rallied 1.9% after the benchmark 10-year U.S. Treasury yield hit its highest level since November 2019 on mounting expectations the U.S. Federal Reserve will start tightening monetary policy.

Shares of Bank of America Corp, JPMorgan Chase & Co and Wells Fargo all gained over 1%.

https://www.theedgemarkets.com/article/wall-street-ends-higher-bank-stocks-rise-treasury-yields

stkoay

6,397 posts

Posted by stkoay > 2022-02-09 11:54 | Report Abuse

Any smart investor who has sold all his banks stocks?

Congratulations to him.

TreeTopView

1,352 posts

Posted by TreeTopView > 2022-02-09 12:29 | Report Abuse

stkoay, that seems an odd thing to say, as I see no reason at all to sell any of my banking stocks at this point in time. In fact, quite the opposite.