RHB BANK BERHAD

KLSE (MYR): RHBBANK (1066)

6.12 - 6.23

3,879 comment(s). Last comment by cheeseburger 1 day ago

LouiseS

286 posts

Posted by LouiseS > 2022-05-21 19:18 | Report Abuse

大马九大银行股哪一家最值得投资?
https://youtu.be/Q6Hw0ITlkvQ

Yt Chong

69 posts

Posted by Yt Chong > 2022-05-23 09:46 | Report Abuse

hello all the sifu, RHB dividend, reinvestment or cash out better?

Posted by Thirai Thiraviam > 2022-05-23 10:58 | Report Abuse

It depends on how many shares you have, and what platform you use. If you have at least 1,500 shares, then reinvest. If less, take the dividend.

If suppose you have 1,500 shares, you'd be entitled to 1,500 x RM0.25 = RM375 dividend. Of this, 1,500 x RM0.10 = RM150 could be reinvested at RM5.17 per share for 29 shares. Add RM13 stamp charges, etc., and your per-share cost would become RM5.62, which is slightly lower than the current market price. If you only have 1,000 shares, your per-share cost would become RM5.94.

Yt Chong

69 posts

Posted by Yt Chong > 2022-05-23 11:26 | Report Abuse

ya i just got 1,000 shares, confusing. thanks for sharing ya

Posted by prudentinvestor > 2022-05-27 12:04 | Report Abuse

RHB is trading at a PE of just over 9 and a dividend yield of almost 7%. Should be trading at a PE of at least 12.

Posted by smallseller > 2022-05-27 12:37 | Report Abuse

can expect good quarterly results to be released today

TreeTopView

1,352 posts

Posted by TreeTopView > 2022-05-27 14:54 | Report Abuse

The chart is showing early signs of a move up, following the drop in price since it went ex. dividend recently. No doubt we'll get confirmation one way ot the other with the upcoming quarterly report.
I'd be comfortable with a quarterly EPS around the 16 cent mark and anything else would be a bonus.

Fingers crossed.

TreeTopView

1,352 posts

Posted by TreeTopView > 2022-05-30 13:12 | Report Abuse

Headline results a little lower than I had hoped for but nothing fatal.
Need to spend a bit of time going though the report.

apprentice

789 posts

Posted by apprentice > 2022-05-30 13:59 | Report Abuse

PBT for 1Q22 is higher than 1Q21. With the cukai makmur, most banks will have reduced PAT for 2022.

TreeTopView

1,352 posts

Posted by TreeTopView > 2022-05-30 14:25 | Report Abuse

Yes, tax costs have increased plus booking payments of deferred taxes.

Posted by prudentinvestor > 2022-05-30 16:01 | Report Abuse

Should be able to maintain earnings at above 60 sen a share this financial year. Still trading at a cheap valuation.

Posted by bullmarket1628 > 2022-05-31 22:56 |

Posted by prudentinvestor > 2022-06-01 11:50 | Report Abuse

Those who had bought RHB on Friday 13/5 at RM6.04/05 before it went ex-dividend the following Monday had made a correct decision. Now a cool RM0.25 gain.

Posted by prudentinvestor > 2022-06-15 16:18 | Report Abuse

I think EPF's 42% controlling stake in RHB Bank is way too high. It should pare down its stake to around 30%.

nicholas99

9,863 posts

Posted by nicholas99 > 2022-06-15 16:18 | Report Abuse

wait 2am powell announcement.

cwc1981

1,320 posts

Posted by cwc1981 > 2022-06-15 20:09 | Report Abuse

Seems like EpF only buying bank stock lately

TreeTopView

1,352 posts

Posted by TreeTopView > 2022-07-02 14:13 | Report Abuse

The technicals are beginning to look a little bit interesting for RHB........well, as interesting as anything can be in this current market environment!
This might be the start of a price "recovery" that has softened the price recently due to market sentiment and the 25 cent dividend drop.

I decided to look at the Maybank chart for any similarities that might show perhaps a slight change in bank sentiment. There is a hint of a possible reversal in the Maybank chart but perhaps not as defined as the RHB chart.

I'll be surprised in the Funds don't start to nudge bank stocks up during this second half of 2022, but I'm a bit reluctant to confirm whether this is the start of a move up or not.

Worth monitoring though, imo.

cwc1981

1,320 posts

Posted by cwc1981 > 2022-07-03 11:09 | Report Abuse

Hi Guys anyone have any info on Yellow Rock Foundation?

TreeTopView

1,352 posts

Posted by TreeTopView > 2022-07-06 12:14 | Report Abuse

cwc1981, it's linked to OSK.

cwc1981

1,320 posts

Posted by cwc1981 > 2022-07-06 14:47 | Report Abuse

Ok ok thanks TreeTopView

TreeTopView

1,352 posts

Posted by TreeTopView > 2022-07-06 15:08 | Report Abuse

BNM raises rates by 0.25%.
https://www.theedgemarkets.com/article/bnm-raises-opr-25-bps-225

Yt Chong

69 posts

Posted by Yt Chong > 2022-07-15 09:37 | Report Abuse

when bank share will fly?

TreeTopView

1,352 posts

Posted by TreeTopView > 2022-07-15 11:22 | Report Abuse

@Yt Chong, I posted a couple of weeks ago that I thought the chart was starting to look a little bit interesting for a bit of a move north........although I mentioned I was a bit sceptical because of the market, I still got it wrong. Even an interest rate rise did nothing to move any of the banks.

Two weeks ago the KLCI was around 1,445 and today we are flirting with 1,415.........so I guess those two figures point out why RHB and other banks are currently sitting where they are. Overall market sentiment is woeful, which is understandable.

Yt Chong

69 posts

Posted by Yt Chong > 2022-07-15 17:51 | Report Abuse

sigh...

TreeTopView

1,352 posts

Posted by TreeTopView > 2022-07-20 13:50 | Report Abuse

Hoping for a break above 5.75 to break out of its current price band.
It needs a lot more volume though. Strangely, a lot of its current daily volume comes in during the end of day match up auction.
The chart's ok but it might be just as technically astute to toss a coin these days.

Posted by prudentinvestor > 2022-07-21 19:57 | Report Abuse

Now that the RM5.73 resistance has been broken, RHB is en route to greater heights? Hopefully it can go beyond RM6 so that I can unload a little bit just in case recession hits.

TreeTopView

1,352 posts

Posted by TreeTopView > 2022-07-22 11:10 | Report Abuse

RHB has finally broken out of the recent trading band, along with other banks.
Too early to say that this is the start of a sustained rise for banks for the second half of 2022, which has been touted so often in the first half of the year.

For the short term, I'd like to see RHB break 5.85 convincingly, then use that point as a short term support.

Let's see how it, along with other banks, plays out.

JJchan

7,182 posts

Posted by JJchan > 2022-07-25 10:08 | Report Abuse

RHB valuations are supported by OPR but not necessary the best of the best stock.
OSKH is more money for value. Half of its asset valuation is RHB ($5.80) and the other half worth($2.00)
But market only give 90sens

JJchan

7,182 posts

Posted by JJchan > 2022-07-25 10:11 | Report Abuse

OskH holding 10% of RHB Never benefit its market price for so long ( did reach $5.00 a few years back )

kyliew

1,384 posts

Posted by kyliew > 2022-07-28 20:46 | Report Abuse

US economy is technically in recession with the latest Q2 GDP data out

Posted by bullmarket1628 > 2022-08-04 19:34 |

TreeTopView

1,352 posts

Posted by TreeTopView > 2022-08-06 12:23 | Report Abuse

It feels a bit like deja vu following the RHB price points. With 5.85 broken and used as a support, the next logical target is around 5.97, very similar to its price path earlier this year.

With the quarterly due late this month along with an anticipated dividend attached to it, the question might be whether it has enough petrol in the tank to yet again break through 6.00 again.

Obviously as a holder, I hope so. Worth a BUY call to either top up or enter if it was to slip below 5.85, imo.

Posted by stockraider > 2022-08-06 14:56 | Report Abuse

Still cheap mah!

TP is Rm 9.00 mah!

cwc1981

1,320 posts

Posted by cwc1981 > 2022-08-07 11:59 | Report Abuse

Wah 9. So good

Posted by prudentinvestor > 2022-08-08 10:12 | Report Abuse

RM9 a share is achievable if earnings move up to over 70sen a share. Unlikely to happen this year or next. Even if RHB achieves this feat three years later, investors still stand to make lots of money if they invest today.

TreeTopView

1,352 posts

Posted by TreeTopView > 2022-08-13 08:49 | Report Abuse

It's had a couple of soft attempts to take on 5.97 this week but couldn't quite do it.
I'm fairly confident it should break fairly soon and could possibly happen on Monday (15th) and once broken the obvious question will be when will it break the psychological barrier of Rm6 and can it remain above that "barrier".

I see a similar scenario playing out at Maybank with the RM9 "barrier".

ps. @skyskysky, you might want to recheck your dividend prices.

Posted by skyskysky > 2022-08-13 15:56 | Report Abuse

ish.. i3 cannot edit.. once click x comment dah batal pulak..

@TreeTopView
the figure I posted is EPS.. not dividend...

MBB / RHB eps
2018 - 74.20 / 57.49
2019 - 73.45 / 61.91
2020 - 57.66 / 50.69
2021 - 69.66 / 64.65

with RHB start having DRP policy.. can expect it will declare higher dividend compare with previous years... unless the 2021YA dividend is only exceptional case..

TreeTopView

1,352 posts

Posted by TreeTopView > 2022-08-13 16:09 | Report Abuse

No problem @skyskysky....when you said dividend I didn't look any further to what you may have meant, as I knew how much I'd already received in divvies for FY21.

All good.

Posted by ikanbiliskering > 2022-08-17 09:42 | Report Abuse

bila boleh break rm6 ni?

TreeTopView

1,352 posts

Posted by TreeTopView > 2022-08-17 10:04 | Report Abuse

@ikanbiliskering, I would have thought that the 5.97 price point would have been broken on Monday, epecially with the current strong market.
My guesstimate was that RHB would break 6.00 around the same time Maybank breaks 9.00, but wrong again! :)

Maybe investors are waiting for the quarterly to make a decision on buying. Ahhh, the joys of trying to anticipate the market !

Posted by ikanbiliskering > 2022-08-17 11:22 | Report Abuse

keep waiting....

Posted by prudentinvestor > 2022-08-24 12:34 | Report Abuse

RHB Bank has significantly increased its dividend payout from an average of 21 sen a share for the years 2017 to 2020 to 40 sen last year. This year's dividend payout should be maintained or even increased as its largest shareholder needs to replenish its coffers due to heavy withdrawals by its members. Fingers crossed.

Posted by stockraider > 2022-08-24 13:59 | Report Abuse

Good earning prospect coming loh!

TreeTopView

1,352 posts

Posted by TreeTopView > 2022-08-24 14:17 | Report Abuse

To me, it makes no sense why this is trading at current prices of 5.72. Unless the upcoming quarterly is weaker than expected and has an EPS significantly below 15 cents, then it should be priced higher.

With the market having a natural pullback from its recent upward move, then maybe RHB could test 5.60..........but that would be a surprise and disappointment for me.

Let's see what the quarterly brings us.

cwc1981

1,320 posts

Posted by cwc1981 > 2022-08-25 12:44 | Report Abuse

Maybank 28 cents dividend

Posted by ikanbiliskering > 2022-08-29 10:07 | Report Abuse

RHB QR?

TreeTopView

1,352 posts

Posted by TreeTopView > 2022-08-29 13:24 | Report Abuse

Quarterly out.
Headline numbers........
EPS 15.28 cents
Dividend 15 cents.
Profit 5.8% above last quarter.

Without diving into the details yet, I'm pleased with the result.

Posted by ikanbiliskering > 2022-08-29 14:28 | Report Abuse

nice

Brutus

305 posts

Posted by Brutus > 2022-08-29 15:07 | Report Abuse

Good solid QR. Waiting patiently for the DRP details. Hopefully it will be priced below 5.30 for the DRP.