RHB BANK BERHAD

KLSE (MYR): RHBBANK (1066)

6.12 - 6.23

3,879 comment(s). Last comment by cheeseburger 1 day ago

Posted by prudentinvestor > 2022-08-29 16:07 | Report Abuse

Earnings this year shouldn't be less than 60sen a share. Assuming dividend per share remains the same as last year, then RHB is trading at a PE of less than 10 and a dividend yield of almost 7%. It should be trading at a more reasonable PE of above 12 or above RM7 a share.

stkoay

6,397 posts

Posted by stkoay > 2022-08-29 16:53 | Report Abuse

Nice.....traded higher after reporting.....

.....unlike the other one....traded lower after reporting :)

Cslee1215

435 posts

Posted by Cslee1215 > 2022-08-29 18:14 | Report Abuse

Hooray.

troy88

2,978 posts

Posted by troy88 > 2022-08-30 09:39 | Report Abuse

Consistent QR

stkoay

6,397 posts

Posted by stkoay > 2022-08-30 12:26 | Report Abuse

Wow.....Kenanga, HLG and Aminvest IBs......say Buy Buy Buy

....over at Public Bank, these same IBs only say Hold Hold Hold :)

Zackmeiser

309 posts

Posted by Zackmeiser > 2022-08-31 20:12 | Report Abuse

RHB Good QR. But public better? Although public trading near all time high. Maybe price baked in.

Cslee1215

435 posts

Posted by Cslee1215 > 2022-09-01 12:56 | Report Abuse

Rhb Undervalue

Posted by bullmarket1628 > 2022-09-03 08:11 | Report Abuse

After 3 years pandemic already end, 
next year onwards surely is the years of recovery and economy start booming time ! 

Like previously economy downturn period of:

1)Crisis 1986-1990 start booming 1993 to 1997

2)Crisis 1997-2000 start booming 2003 to 2006 

3)Crisis 2006-2010 start booming 2013 to 2016 

4)Crisis 2016-2022 start booming 2023 to 2027 

So, our economy and KLSE will be spike up like mad start from year 2023 which is next year and i predict our KLSE this round of bull run start 2023 will hit it’s record high of around 2,000 points ! 

Heng Ah, Ong Ah, Huat Ah !

stkoay

6,397 posts

Posted by stkoay > 2022-09-04 14:01 | Report Abuse

https://www.theedgemarkets.com/article/traders-find-haven-global-stock-gloom-southeast-asia

SINGAPORE/HONG KONG (Sept 4): As global equities struggle after the Federal Reserve's (Fed) latest hawkish rhetoric, Southeast Asia's growth outlook is making the region an investor favourite.

Most of the region's biggest economies are expected to grow at least 5% this year, according to estimates compiled by Bloomberg, with the scrapping of pandemic-era restrictions offering a key boost.

Malaysia more than doubled its annual target for tourists following an uptick in recent months, while Thailand expects to reap in US$11 billion (RM49.33 billion) from a surge in foreign visitors in the second half.

The composition of Southeast Asia's equity benchmarks — low tech weighting and relatively high ratio of bank shares — is also favourable in a rising global interest-rate environment.

TreeTopView

1,352 posts

Posted by TreeTopView > 2022-09-08 12:19 | Report Abuse

Retain our OVERWEIGHT stance on the sector with top BUYs on RHB Bank (fair value RM7.40/share), CIMB Group (FV RM6.70/share) and Maybank (FV RM10.30/share). For large-cap banks, we continue to like Maybank as our top ESG pick for banks and its attractive FY23F dividend yield of 7.3%. On CIMB, our BUY call is premised on the stock’s attractive valuation, trading at 0.8x FY23F PB/V. Asset quality has improved with lower provisions while cost optimisation and recalibration of its commercial banking business in Indonesia and Thailand are showing results with improved performance. RHB Bank is another of our top picks for banks due to its valuation which remains undemanding, trading at an attractive FY23F PB/V of 0.8% and its strong capital position among peers with a CET1 ratio of 16.6%.

https://klse.i3investor.com/web/pricetarget/research/64717

Posted by bullmarket1628 > 2022-09-09 06:48 | Report Abuse

Bank Negara raises OPR by 25 basis points to 2.5%
Thursday, 08 Sep 2022 3:23 PM MYT

https://www.thestar.com.my/business/business-news/2022/09/08/bank-negara-raises-opr-by-25-basis-points-to-25

KUALA LUMPUR: At the conclusion of its monetary policy committee (MPC) meeting, Bank Negara increased the overnight policy rate by 25 basis points (bps) to 2.5%, in line with market expectations.
In a statement, it said it raised the ceiling and floor rate of the corridor of the OPR to 2.75% and 2.25% respectively.

This is the central bank's third consecutive rate hike, bringing the total increase in the OPR to 75bps so far this year.
"At the current OPR level, the stance of monetary policy continues to remain accommodative and supportive of economic growth.

"The MPC is not on any pre-set course and will continue to assess evolving conditions and their implications on the overall outlook to domestic inflation and growth," said Bank Negara…..

Posted by bullmarket1628 > 2022-09-09 06:55 | Report Abuse

Wow, Bank Negara raises OPR by 25 basis points to 2.5%

Like that today RHBBank will be limit up already liao lah !

Heng ah, Ong ah, Huat ah !

Posted by prudentinvestor > 2022-09-09 10:58 | Report Abuse

No limit up today, down 2 sen. Your forecast not accurate.

Posted by yaphoikiong > 2022-09-13 20:46 | Report Abuse

马股只有科技股,别的是透明

hng33

20,289 posts

Posted by hng33 > 2022-09-19 16:53 | Report Abuse

bought RHB at 5.64

hng33

20,289 posts

Posted by hng33 > 2022-09-20 09:38 | Report Abuse

Interim dividend 15sen will be declared by end of month. RHB dividend yield 7%, is one of the highest among all stock listed in bursa.

hng33

20,289 posts

Posted by hng33 > 2022-09-20 09:40 | Report Abuse

Banking is best stock selection in time of rising interest rate.

Posted by prudentinvestor > 2022-09-20 10:52 | Report Abuse

RHB isn't doing as well as Maybank lately likely because the big boys want to keep its share price low so that they can get more DRP shares.

TreeTopView

1,352 posts

Posted by TreeTopView > 2022-09-20 11:32 | Report Abuse

@prudentinvestor, I think you are fairly close to the mark with your comment. As there is a DRP plan with this current dividend I'm expecting similar price action to the previous dividend, which also included a DRP with it.

For the record, I wasn't pleased what the "big boys" (guessing EPF as they are the major shareholder) did during the last dividend play.

As I saw it, their game plan was to move the price up from around one month prior to the Ex Dividend Date....from 5.85 up to 6.25, then once this was achieved the same players started shorting the stock about a week or two prior to the Ex Date at that higher price.

How did they cover their shorts? With some of the shares they received through the DRP.

I say this because RHB is very rarely shorted on a day to day basis but during that 2 week period prior to the Ex Date and the price had been raised to 6.25 the RHB short position SOARED to over 25 million. Not long after the DRP was allocated the Net short position in RHB completely disappeared.

Let's see if a similar scenario plays out this time once the Ex Dividend Date is announced.............the cynic in me suspects it will.

TreeTopView

1,352 posts

Posted by TreeTopView > 2022-09-20 11:50 | Report Abuse

Just to add to my previous post, I'd expect the details of Ex Date and the DRP pricing fairly soon........perhaps in the next few days, if last year's dates for the same dividend are any indication.

hng33

20,289 posts

Posted by hng33 > 2022-09-21 10:17 | Report Abuse

Added second batch RHB at 5.66

TreeTopView

1,352 posts

Posted by TreeTopView > 2022-09-21 10:43 | Report Abuse

@hng33, I had bids in at 5.60 and 5.62, although I wasn't too optimistic about getting many or any.
I ended up grabbing some at 5.65 this morning.

Posted by skyskysky > 2022-09-21 11:58 | Report Abuse

9/9/21 - submit application of quotation of new shares
13/9/21 - bursa approve
22/9/21 - dividend detailed announcd

xxx

15/9/2022 - submit application of quotation of new shares

so i guess by end of this month can see dy..

skyjet

537 posts

Posted by skyjet > 2022-09-21 12:22 |

TreeTopView

1,352 posts

Posted by TreeTopView > 2022-09-21 12:23 | Report Abuse

@skyskysky, hopefully this week, then we may see it start to move out of the mud.

Cslee1215

435 posts

Posted by Cslee1215 > 2022-09-21 12:42 | Report Abuse

Need to kick start.

hng33

20,289 posts

Posted by hng33 > 2022-09-21 16:20 | Report Abuse

Today, bursa will approve RHB interim dividend reinvestment plan, 10sen cash + 5sen (reinvestment)

Posted by skyskysky > 2022-09-21 18:46 | Report Abuse

MBB usually very fast.. either next day or same day will announce DRP detailed after bursa approve.. but RHB.. super slow~~

Should quote this issue in coming AGM...

Posted by bullmarket1628 > 2022-09-22 06:57 | Report Abuse

Fed rate hike: US interest rates hit 14-year high in inflation battle
* By Natalie Sherman
* Business reporter, New York
21 September 2022, 19:01 BST
https://www.bbc.com/news/business-62973376.amp

The US central bank has pushed interest rates to the highest level in almost 15 years as it fights to rein in soaring prices in the world's largest economy.
The Federal Reserve announced it was raising its key rate by another 0.75 percentage points, lifting the target range to 3% to 3.25%.
Borrowing costs are expected to climb more - and remain high, the bank said.
The move comes despite mounting concern that the cost of controlling inflation could be a harsh economic downturn…

Posted by bullmarket1628 > 2022-09-22 07:05 | Report Abuse

Wow, Fed Hikes Interest Rates 0.75 %
lifting the target range to a record high of 3% to 3.25%
Like that today RHBBank will be limit up already liao lah !

Heng ah, Ong ah, Huat ah !

Posted by stockraider > 2022-09-22 11:44 | Report Abuse

Good for the banks in msia....another 0.25% interest hike for msia loh!

TreeTopView

1,352 posts

Posted by TreeTopView > 2022-09-24 09:37 | Report Abuse

@thesteward, I'm not too sure what you are expecting in a weak market, miracles generally only appear in religious writings.

Last week the KLCI closed at 1,467 and this week it has closed at 1,424, so a 43 point drop for the week. Add to that, RHB still hasn't given details of the Ex Date and DRP yet, so it's not really surprising that RHB has been lacklustre this week.
It's down 1 cent from last week's close, week on week, hardly anything to get your knickers in a knot about.

Posted by skyskysky > 2022-09-26 17:19 | Report Abuse

DRP at RM4.97... even lower than last time RM5.17.. thanks to recent falls

thesteward

6,781 posts

Posted by thesteward > 2022-09-26 17:26 | Report Abuse

Ex 7 Oct

Posted by ikanbiliskering > 2022-09-27 11:46 | Report Abuse

all the sifu, if only 1000 shares, is worth to take cash dividend right?

Posted by prudentinvestor > 2022-09-27 12:20 | Report Abuse

With 1000 shares, you can only subscribe for 10 DRP shares. Suppose you can make 50 sen per share, the amount you can make from this DRP is only RM5. Stamp duty alone would cost you RM10, other charges = RM3.

Posted by prudentinvestor > 2022-10-03 11:26 | Report Abuse

Hopefully when RHB trades ex-dividend coming Friday, it could hold above RM5.50 a share. In which case, it is still worthwhile to subscribe for the DRP shares.

richraul

Posted by richraul > 2022-10-05 10:58 | Report Abuse

Every time saw Epf comes in or rhbb give target price, it is always a bad sign.

Posted by prudentinvestor > 2022-10-05 15:39 | Report Abuse

Bets down please, bets down please. Tomorrow last call day after no more.

hng33

20,289 posts

Posted by hng33 > 2022-10-06 11:03 | Report Abuse

sold back RHB at 5.72-5.73

Plantermen

2,221 posts

Posted by Plantermen > 2022-10-07 09:21 | Report Abuse

Decent dividend yield. Interim payout 15 sen follow by final 25 sen

Posted by prudentinvestor > 2022-10-09 16:56 | Report Abuse

I would consider RHB Bank's dividend yield as excellent instead of just decent. Assuming RHB pays 40 sen a share dividend this financial year, at RM5.42 a share, its dividend yield is 400/5520 or 7.25%. I don't think there are more than 5 companies listed on Bursa with such high dividend yields, including rock solid counter Maybank.

TreeTopView

1,352 posts

Posted by TreeTopView > 2022-10-10 09:09 | Report Abuse

Add to that, @Prudentinvestor, a PE in the low 9's.....around 9.2.
I was convinced that RHB would be solidly into the Rm6's this year but it is still proving me wrong, apart from a brief visit there earlier this year.

We can probably blame the overall market on its lower price, however I still believe this is an ideal investment stock to hold at current prices for its dividend and eventual capital growth.

11,055 posts

Posted by Income > 2022-10-10 10:36 | Report Abuse

Banking stocks are my favourite

Posted by Jonathan Keung > 2022-10-11 10:16 | Report Abuse

Interim dividend +15 sen , capital losses -21 sen { 5.66 -5.45} bad

Posted by prudentinvestor > 2022-10-11 16:18 | Report Abuse

RHB Bank is the best performing bank counter today, dropping only 1 sen compare to Maybank's 18 sen.

Cslee1215

435 posts

Posted by Cslee1215 > 2022-10-12 19:05 | Report Abuse

I think u re too bad. My RHB online very smooth. But my public online was problem but after updated all is fine now. Anyhow my Maybank online never give any problem so far.

Posted by geraldthewitcher > 2022-10-12 19:18 | Report Abuse

hehehehe