RHB BANK BERHAD

KLSE (MYR): RHBBANK (1066)

-0.01 (0.18%)

5.51 - 5.53

3,289 comment(s). Last comment by prudentinvestor 2 hours ago

Posted by ikanbiliskering > 2023-02-08 10:23 | Report Abuse

apasal RHB ni asih turun

Posted by prudentinvestor > 2023-02-08 10:33 | Report Abuse

Turun lagi baik, peluang beli bawah RM5.60

troy88

2,555 posts

Posted by troy88 > 2023-02-08 10:36 | Report Abuse

Banks in a slump. Good opportunity to pick up some on the cheap. Come give me more cheap sales below 5.50

Posted by prudentinvestor > 2023-02-08 10:59 | Report Abuse

It should be back to RM5.70 again before end of the month. A 25 sen a share final dividend is expected to be announced then.

Godevil

33 posts

Posted by Godevil > 2023-02-08 12:20 | Report Abuse

Wow, don’t understand, like prudentinvestor said value for money, pe less than 10 and dividends 7%.Aiyoyo. Keep buying, keep falling.

Posted by prudentinvestor > 2023-02-08 15:21 | Report Abuse

From its recent highest closing price of RM5.79 a share on 30/12/2022, it has dropped by 26 sen or less than 5%. It isn't a 15 or 20% drop.

garychee8

362 posts

Posted by garychee8 > 2023-02-08 16:37 | Report Abuse

wow banks kena bashed down...which one to buy??

11,888 posts

Posted by dompeilee > 2023-02-08 18:11 | Report Abuse

Luckily I SOLD my last rhb shrs @ 5.85 last yr...banking anal-ysts lead all followers to horlan LOL

Godevil

33 posts

Posted by Godevil > 2023-02-08 21:50 | Report Abuse

Banking shares not for capital gains, if it comes, bonus la. Mostly banks are long term dividend investing. Sit and collect cash.

Posted by prudentinvestor > 2023-02-08 23:14 | Report Abuse

Discounting dividends, its 52 week low was RM5.43. It is extremely unlikely that it would dip below this level.

troy88

2,555 posts

Posted by troy88 > 2023-02-09 09:29 | Report Abuse

let it drop. Big institutions will makan at the bottom and it will rebound again later..

Posted by prudentinvestor > 2023-02-09 15:10 | Report Abuse

The further it drops, the more attractive the stock becomes. Now RHB is trading at a prospective PE of only 9 and a dividend yield of 7.3%, twice 12 month fixed deposit rates.

Posted by prudentinvestor > 2023-02-10 10:45 | Report Abuse

After 5 days of consecutive drops, high time for RHB bank to stage a strong recovery. Don't let small investors down.

Posted by ikanbiliskering > 2023-02-10 11:29 | Report Abuse

bank all up, saja RHB still gantung there

Posted by stockraider > 2023-02-11 10:55 | Report Abuse

Kasi beli lah!
Undervalue mah!

Posted by prudentinvestor > 2023-02-12 15:47 | Report Abuse

With another two weeks to go before the announcement of RHB bank's final quarter results and dividend payment, there is only one direction it can head, ie north, not south or east or west.

Posted by prudentinvestor > 2023-02-14 17:12 | Report Abuse

Still strong selling pressure. Hope this slowly eases as the date for the release of final quarter earnings approaches.

Posted by ikanbiliskering > 2023-02-15 10:08 | Report Abuse

RHB like....

sethoylo

146 posts

Posted by sethoylo > 2023-02-17 17:16 | Report Abuse

buy or bye?

Posted by prudentinvestor > 2023-02-17 23:15 | Report Abuse

Wow! Very aggressive selling by EPF, selling almost 14 million shares in just 5 trading days. No wonder RHB keeps dropping.

TreeTopView

1,352 posts

Posted by TreeTopView > 2023-02-18 09:38 | Report Abuse

I'm guessing there will be a DRP component to the upcoming dividend with this amount of selling by EPF.
Even with this current selling they still hold over 40% of RHB.

The timing of this selling does confuse me though as the Ex Dividend date won't be until around May. although having said that, the ins and outs of EPF in many stocks leaves me scratching my head at times.

As with most blue chips we pawns are left to the mercy of the big Funds and any price rise will depend on their motives. Frustrating.....but such is life :)

I still believe their selling is not due to any unforeseen weak news in the upcoming quarterly. Also, the following quarter Q1 2003) could also be better re net profit, as it will not be lumbered with the current Prosperity Tax, as long as there is no curve ball in the upcoming Budget regarding that particular tax.

Posted by unicornbird > 2023-02-18 15:37 | Report Abuse

Treetop, any idea why RHB decide to pay out much higher % of profit as dividend recently?
in the past, they pay very little %. thanks

TreeTopView

1,352 posts

Posted by TreeTopView > 2023-02-18 16:42 | Report Abuse

@unicornbird, it has increased over recent years due to the strength of the bank. It was only as recent as 2019 that their payout ratio was at 30%. It was much lower in the proceeding years to 2019.

Last years payout ratio was around 64% from memory, imo, due to capital strength and the liquidity of the business.

I'm expecting the upcoming dividend to match the last FY2021 payout, meaning a 25 cent final dividend payment = 40 cents for the full year.

TreeTopView

1,352 posts

Posted by TreeTopView > 2023-02-18 16:46 | Report Abuse

@unicornbirde, I just checked, last years payout was 62.9%. Not the "around 64%" I suggested in my last post.

Posted by unicornbird > 2023-02-19 09:37 | Report Abuse

Treetop, appreciate if you could share how the bank has improved in strength over the years. In my memory, RHB was perceived as a very weak bank decade ago.
What major change has made it strong today? thanks

Berlin

258 posts

Posted by Berlin > 2023-02-19 10:37 | Report Abuse

Look back to 2013 and the emergence of OSK as the second largest shareholder in RHB with 10% stake after EPF following the merger of OSKIB with RHBIB. You can trace the positive changes in RHB from there; especially the management and credit risk culture.

Posted by unicornbird > 2023-02-19 10:46 | Report Abuse

Berlin, thanks for sharing the important info.
any idea why their shares is unappreciated? with such high dividend yield and growth prospect, it should attract many pension funds & retirees.

Berlin

258 posts

Posted by Berlin > 2023-02-19 11:25 | Report Abuse

@unicornbird; It will, in due time and those in the know plus longer sighted investors can reap the rewards when RHB is re-rated. I invest in RHB based on dividend yield and improving profit quality buttressed by its strong NTA and am not diverted by EPF's mild trading activities. I concur with TreeTopView as to a coming 25 sen final dividend for 2022. Why put in FD 4% when RHB bank can give 7.27% yield at current share price 5.50?

Posted by i3lurker > 2023-02-19 11:45 | Report Abuse

I like RHB bank

Posted by prudentinvestor > 2023-02-19 11:46 | Report Abuse

No reason why EPF should sell RHB so aggressively. Preparing for withdrawals by distressed members again? I hope not!!!

Posted by unicornbird > 2023-02-20 11:09 | Report Abuse

Berlin, does EPF has any policy of ensuring more citizens get a share of good companies?
that could be the reason why they keep selling.
this can promote more people to be interested in the stock market, and help new companies raise fund in future

Berlin

258 posts

Posted by Berlin > 2023-02-20 15:02 | Report Abuse

EPF is a social security organization established by statute to principally to provide retirement benefits for private sector employees. A significant portion of its funds are invested in companies listed on Bursa and it can actively trade in such shares for its own objectives. EPF does not have any policy to promote the ownership of any company's share to the public.

ii3333

29 posts

Posted by ii3333 > 2023-02-23 11:06 | Report Abuse

wow..5.42. 52 weeks low

Godevil

33 posts

Posted by Godevil > 2023-02-23 11:09 | Report Abuse

Time to load RHB, price very inviting now

Posted by pinnaclegrade > 2023-02-23 12:00 | Report Abuse

Topped up more today ^ ^

Posted by prudentinvestor > 2023-02-23 12:31 | Report Abuse

Ignoring dividends, RHB bank's 52 week low is RM5.42 (it was RM5.43 less than an hour ago) and 52 week high is RM6.31. Buying RHB bank at this level can't be very wrong.

Posted by prudentinvestor > 2023-02-24 11:48 | Report Abuse

Ambank's net profit for the latest quarter jumped by 12% from a year earlier. Let's assume that RHB Bank didn't perform as well as Ambank and its earnings in the latest quarter improved by only 6% from a year earlier to 16.5 sen a share, taking full year earnings to 63 sen a share and assuming also final dividend is maintained at 25 sen a share. At RM5.48, RHB is trading at a PE of less than 9 and a dividend yield of well over 7.

Brutus

295 posts

Posted by Brutus > 2023-02-24 12:11 | Report Abuse

Just noticed from my trading account that my queue was matched @ 5.430 yesterday to add more position.

TreeTopView

1,352 posts

Posted by TreeTopView > 2023-02-24 12:20 | Report Abuse

@prudentinvestor, I agree.......current pricing seems absolutely crazy to me.

Even if the quarterly came in at 10% BELOW either the same period last year or on the previous quarter, the annualised EPS would still be in excess of 60 cents. Obviously I'm NOT expecting a 10% drop in net profit, in fact I'd be thinking of an increase in EPS.

The only thing that comes to my mind causing this current pricing is because of the selling of EPF.
I don't believe any of their selling is based on RHB fundamentals, merely them moving funds around. Their selling is insignificant in regards to their total 40.6% holding in this bank.

Posted by i3lurker > 2023-02-24 17:08 | Report Abuse

the answer is because RHB bank is the most efficient
if you apply to all Malaysian banks at the same micro-second,
RHB Bank will usually be the first or at worst Top 3 to respond to your loan application.

also first to approve loan, RHB Bank dun waste time.

prudentinvestor

I don't think we can find another counter listed on Bursa Malaysia which has a PE of less than 10, a dividend yield of 7% and a NTA which is higher than its market price.

TreeTopView

1,352 posts

Posted by TreeTopView > 2023-02-27 12:54 | Report Abuse

Excellent quarterly.

TreeTopView

1,352 posts

Posted by TreeTopView > 2023-02-27 12:58 | Report Abuse

Dividend 25 cents.
10.2% net profit increase QoQ.
EPS 18.24 cents.

Very pleased.

Now, will the price rise, that is THE question......lol.

Posted by ikanbiliskering > 2023-02-27 13:23 | Report Abuse

dividend no announce?

Posted by pinnaclegrade > 2023-02-27 13:39 | Report Abuse

Bullish ! $$$$

Posted by skyskysky > 2023-02-27 13:41 | Report Abuse

with DRP 5sen.. lower than previous year DRP 10sen..

Brutus

295 posts

Posted by Brutus > 2023-02-27 13:54 | Report Abuse

Yummy dividends! DRP portion if higher will be better!

JeffDidi

49 posts

Posted by JeffDidi > 2023-02-27 13:57 | Report Abuse

RHB said it recorded a net profit of RM772.12mil in the fourth quarter of its financial year, which was improved from RM631.17mil in the previous corresponding quarter.

Earnings per share in the quarter under review was 18.24 sen, as compared with 15.34 sen in the comparative quarter.

https://www.thestar.com.my/business/business-news/2023/02/27/rhb-records-improved-net-profit-of-rm77212mil-in-4q

Posted by prudentinvestor > 2023-02-27 14:35 | Report Abuse

Fire sale price, just buy. Won't lose money.

TreeTopView

1,352 posts

Posted by TreeTopView > 2023-02-27 14:52 | Report Abuse

A nod's as good as a wink to a blind horse.

TreeTopView

1,352 posts

Posted by TreeTopView > 2023-02-27 14:57 | Report Abuse

A record quarterly net profit.
A record annual net profit.

If people can't see investment value here at these current prices, well move on.