RHB BANK BERHAD

KLSE (MYR): RHBBANK (1066)

+0.04 (0.65%)

6.15 - 6.21

3,866 comment(s). Last comment by prudentinvestor 9 hours ago

Posted by prudentinvestor > 2022-10-20 10:24 | Report Abuse

Bank stocks are doing well today, probably heralding the return of political stability after the general election.

TreeTopView

1,352 posts

Posted by TreeTopView > 2022-10-20 10:52 | Report Abuse

"probably heralding the return of political stability"

That fantasy is even more fanciful than me having my own personal harem filled with exotic beauties from around the world.

thesteward

6,781 posts

Posted by thesteward > 2022-10-20 11:23 | Report Abuse

Gogo rhb

Posted by prudentinvestor > 2022-10-20 12:35 | Report Abuse

TTV, the political situation in the country can't be more unstable post GE15. Even the Palace had issued a statement saying that the Agong had consented to the dissolution of Parliament in order for a new and stable government to be elected.

TreeTopView

1,352 posts

Posted by TreeTopView > 2022-10-20 13:03 | Report Abuse

prudentinvestor, I assume that you have considered the various options/parties that the new government may consist of?
I have envisaged at least three options.............and none of them fill me with any level of confidence in regards to stability.

Posted by Bursascreener > 2022-10-20 16:48 | Report Abuse

Last 2 days very good, and today seen a breakout at 5.71. 20, 50 and 200 Moving average indicates that price will go futher

stkoay

6,375 posts

Posted by stkoay > 2022-10-20 17:01 | Report Abuse

Walao eh 5.6m shares done at single trade during pre close

stkoay

6,375 posts

Posted by stkoay > 2022-10-26 12:07 | Report Abuse

“GE15 is drawing some funds (local and foreign) into the local market on expectations a big win for one of the parties could lead to a more stable leadership and better policy outcomes.

The fresh buying of local stocks by funds could be an early “window dressing” move triggered also by multi-year low valuations and underpinned by an improving domestic economic activity with Phua stating Phillip Research’s inhouse forecast is for the benchmark FBM KLCI to hit 1,571 points prior to Nov 19 (election day) as funds rotate money into sectors like banking and telecommunication companies from glove makers, oil and gas or even the technology counters.

https://www.thestar.com.my/business/business-news/2022/10/26/strong-govt-post-ge15-crucial-for-fbm-klci#cxrecs_s

TreeTopView

1,352 posts

Posted by TreeTopView > 2022-10-26 12:28 | Report Abuse

stkoay, I'm more than a bit dubious about the prediction of the KLCI hitting 1,571 by Election day. A 120 point rise in around 4 weeks are things dreams are made of...lol.....but stranger things have happened :)

As for RHB, it still remains frustrating to watch it float around at current levels, particularly as I'd expected it to be over Rm6 this year. Once the dividend payout and DRP are over and done with by November 7 I'm expecting a bit more interest in this stock.

Let's hope so, anyway.

Plantermen

2,208 posts

Posted by Plantermen > 2022-11-04 22:23 | Report Abuse

Hold for long term growth. EPF is the majority owner of RHB group. Solid balanced sheet

TreeTopView

1,352 posts

Posted by TreeTopView > 2022-11-27 10:47 | Report Abuse

I might be wrong, but with a new Government and a more than likely chance of end of year window dressing in certain sectors we might see some gradual moves with some/most of the banking stocks.

The banking sector seems to me to have a more than an even chance of rising during this period as it's seen as a sector a bit safer than some others.

Just my thoughts, however worth watching for increasing interest, imo.

TeckGor

78 posts

Posted by TeckGor > 2022-11-29 14:48 | Report Abuse

RHB Bank Bhd group managing director and CEO Mohd Rashid Mohamad said there is likely to be continued challenges of limited fiscal space, inflationary pressures and labour shortages in 2023.

However, he maintained the bank's fundamentals remain strong and it would continue to closely monitor asset quality moving forward.

"We are also mindful that some of our customers are still recovering from the impact of the Covid-19 pandemic and as such, will continue providing the necessary support and assistance especially to the most vulnerable groups within the community," he said in a statement.

TeckGor

78 posts

Posted by TeckGor > 2022-11-29 14:48 | Report Abuse

RHB posted a net profit of RM700.48mil in 3Q22, up from RM635.59mil in the previous corresponding quarter, on higher net fund-based income, the absence of modification loss and lower expected credit losses (ECL).

Earnings per share was 16.63 sen compared with 15.64 sen in the previous same quarter.

Revenue was reported at RM3.48bil, up from RM3.03bil in the comparative quarter.

For the nine months period to Sept 30, 2022, RHB's net profit was RM1.94bil, slightly lower than RM1.99bil in the 2021 period while revenue was RM9.33bil, up from RM8.86bil in the year-ago period.

TreeTopView

1,352 posts

Posted by TreeTopView > 2022-11-29 15:41 | Report Abuse

Good solid results, shareholders should be content with the headline figures.

It continues to baffle me why this bank is trading below Rm6.

cwc1981

1,303 posts

Posted by cwc1981 > 2022-11-29 16:45 | Report Abuse

Good result. Any expectation on how much dividend going to declare by end FY 2022?

TreeTopView

1,352 posts

Posted by TreeTopView > 2022-11-29 16:59 | Report Abuse

There will be a dividend attached to the next quarterly, so not payable in 2022.

Brutus

304 posts

Posted by Brutus > 2022-11-29 18:51 | Report Abuse

Excellent QR, expecting at least 25sen dividend next quarter. Importantly hope that there is the Dividend Reinvestment Plan as well.

Posted by stockraider > 2022-11-30 10:48 | Report Abuse

Good result...can start accumulate loh!

Posted by prudentinvestor > 2022-12-01 15:53 | Report Abuse

Don't know why RHB Bank's share price comes down even after reporting improved results. Opportunity to accumulate.

TreeTopView

1,352 posts

Posted by TreeTopView > 2022-12-01 16:00 | Report Abuse

@Prudentinvestor, yep its got me scratching my head why the banks are lacklustre today. I was expecting a move from all of them on the back of very good results but they sit there like a stale bottles of piss.

Surely it's a matter of when and not if they eventually get moved up by the Funds.

apprentice

789 posts

Posted by apprentice > 2022-12-01 17:51 | Report Abuse

RHB, CIMB, Maybank and Public Bank all down at close in spite of good QR. Only Ambank is doing some catch up.
Looks like people prefer speculative stocks rather than profit making counters.
Banks are making good profits and are boring stocks. Like what Warren Buffet said, making money is a boring business. There must be some truth to it.

TreeTopView

1,352 posts

Posted by TreeTopView > 2022-12-04 09:23 | Report Abuse

I'm expecting some end of year window dressing in some sectors over the next few weeks. I'm already scratching my head as to why the banks have been lacklustre recently, particularly after reporting solid quarterlies, so I will be even more perplexed if they don't move upwards over the immediate short term.

Hope is not an investment strategy, although I'm hoping the banks start to make a move in the upcoming week :)

chongwee

125 posts

Posted by chongwee > 2022-12-05 14:37 | Report Abuse

anwar in power rasid hussain come back

TreeTopView

1,352 posts

Posted by TreeTopView > 2022-12-07 11:01 | Report Abuse

Maybe.....just maybe this might be the start of the banks finally making the predicted upward move.

RHB needs to break 5.70 to start to look interesting.

Posted by ikanbiliskering > 2022-12-07 11:50 | Report Abuse

sudah 5.70

Posted by prudentinvestor > 2022-12-13 12:24 | Report Abuse

Steadily moving up. Hopefully it could go beyond RM6 by the end of the month.

TreeTopView

1,352 posts

Posted by TreeTopView > 2022-12-13 13:41 | Report Abuse

RHB seems to follow the same path, whether it is going up or down.

If this is the genuine start to an upward leg, then perhaps look firstly for a break of 5.70.
If that gets broken then the usual drop off points are around 5.75, 5.85, 5.91 and 5.97.

Let's see how it plays out this time if it breaks 5.70.

Posted by ikanbiliskering > 2022-12-14 10:04 | Report Abuse

break 5.70, good sign?

Posted by prudentinvestor > 2022-12-15 15:29 | Report Abuse

CIMB Bank has performed much better over the past 25 months. It has gone up by 100% from around RM3 if dividends are included. RHB Bank has gone up by less than 50%. A lot of room to catch up.

Posted by ikanbiliskering > 2023-01-27 11:57 | Report Abuse

can't even break rm6

serbatipu

331 posts

Posted by serbatipu > 2023-01-27 22:20 | Report Abuse

Next week

TreeTopView

1,352 posts

Posted by TreeTopView > 2023-01-28 09:03 | Report Abuse

You can forget about Rm6 for now, as it needs to break Rm5.80 convincingly and use that as a support level before it can go anywhere.
I remain surprised that RHB hasn't been able to take on Rm6 over recent months, however I still believe that it is only a matter of time before it eventually does.

Posted by prudentinvestor > 2023-01-28 17:21 | Report Abuse

RHB Bank's 2022 earnings should exceed 60 sen a share again. With an interim dividend of 15 sen a share, the same as last year, I expect the final dividend to be maintained at 25 sen a share also. It shouldn't be trading at a PE of less than 10. A PE of 12 to 13 should be more reasonable.

TreeTopView

1,352 posts

Posted by TreeTopView > 2023-01-29 11:21 | Report Abuse

@prudentinvestor, absolutely no disagreement with you there. Even with a very conservative PE of 10, this should already be above Rm6. With an annual dividend at currently 40 cents it will give a dividend yield of 6.6% with a Rm6 price tag.

As EPF own a major chunk of RHB, almost 41%, we retailers have to sit and be patient on when EPF actually want to take this stock price higher. I am still very optimistic that once the KLCI convincingly breaks 1,500 we will see a lot more strength in the RHB price point.

Until then, we wait and happily take up the dividend yield for now :)

Cheers.

Posted by stockraider > 2023-01-29 11:53 | Report Abuse

A good bank for long term investor to park his money mah!

26,717 posts

Posted by speakup > 2023-01-29 11:58 | Report Abuse

General Raider, need your advice.
speakup holding Ambank, got 50% paper gain already. do u think better to swap my Ambank to banking laggard Bimb?

Posted by stockraider > 2023-01-29 12:07 | Report Abuse

I will not go for BIMB.!

For banks better go for

Rhb and Affinbank if u want good earnings n good dividends with big undervaluation loh!

26,717 posts

Posted by speakup > 2023-01-29 12:12 | Report Abuse

TQ General Raider
speakup already got OSK, an indirect proxy to RHB.
Ok will look into Affin. But Affin not really a laggard compare to Bimb.

Posted by stockraider > 2023-01-29 12:19 | Report Abuse

Banks u need to look at the price to book value, ROE, EPS Growth, Asset quality etc!

Affin & Rhb looks good here loh!

And the good dividend yield will be a good defense reasons for u to hold, while u wait loh!

26,717 posts

Posted by speakup > 2023-01-29 12:29 | Report Abuse

the thing that bothers me about Affin is they disposed the crown jewel in AHAM, can they maintain their previous performance matrix moving forward?

Posted by prudentinvestor > 2023-01-29 15:17 | Report Abuse

I don't think we can find another counter listed on Bursa Malaysia which has a PE of less than 10, a dividend yield of 7% and a NTA which is higher than its market price.

Posted by ikanbiliskering > 2023-02-02 09:44 | Report Abuse

hmmmm....

serbatipu

331 posts

Posted by serbatipu > 2023-02-03 21:32 | Report Abuse

Come back after 10 days

Posted by prudentinvestor > 2023-02-04 18:04 | Report Abuse

Would consider increasing my investment in RHB bank should its earnings for year 2022 exceed 60 sen again and its final dividend be maintained at 25 sen a share.

10,973 posts

Posted by Income > 2023-02-05 16:04 | Report Abuse

Cheap

Posted by pinnaclegrade > 2023-02-06 12:27 | Report Abuse

will accumulate more upon weakness

serbatipu

331 posts

Posted by serbatipu > 2023-02-06 16:56 | Report Abuse

Tomorrow onwards no more below 5.7

Posted by prudentinvestor > 2023-02-06 22:18 | Report Abuse

Just like Maybank, this counter is also value for money. You won't lose sleep over investments in RHB bank.

26,717 posts

Posted by speakup > 2023-02-07 07:37 | Report Abuse

maybank, rhb, cimb, pbbank, hlbank semua bagus
only 2 tak bagus: mbsb & bimb

Posted by unicornbird > 2023-02-08 09:04 | Report Abuse

why would people rather buy public bank than RHB? obviously rhb is more value for money