RHB BANK BERHAD

KLSE (MYR): RHBBANK (1066)

-0.03 (0.55%)

5.46 - 5.51

3,294 comment(s). Last comment by prudentinvestor 2 days ago

Posted by prudentinvestor > 2023-05-24 20:39 | Report Abuse

Just like Maybank, I believe RHB Bank's first quarter earnings should also improve over its October to December quarter.

Brutus

295 posts

Posted by Brutus > 2023-05-24 20:44 | Report Abuse

Nice drop today. Gave me the chance to add more position.

Posted by prudentinvestor > 2023-05-25 22:01 | Report Abuse

Want to buy at RM5.50 and below better act fast.

linges

2,689 posts

Posted by linges > 2023-05-26 16:11 | Report Abuse

added sikit today 5.45 :)

Posted by prudentinvestor > 2023-05-26 16:22 | Report Abuse

An impressive earnings per share of 17.93 sen in the first quarter is still unable to excite investors. People prefer to speculate rather than to invest for long term. Best luck.

OnTime

2,080 posts

Posted by OnTime > 2023-05-26 17:41 | Report Abuse

added today

Posted by prudentinvestor > 2023-05-26 18:09 | Report Abuse

Added a bit at RM5.45 and RM5,46 too. You can't find more than five counters listed on Bursa with RHB Bank's low PE and high dividend yield.

moven00

705 posts

Posted by moven00 > 2023-05-27 16:23 | Report Abuse

Added habis-habisan Liao. 5.46. Dunno la. Buy and keep only

Posted by prudentinvestor > 2023-05-27 22:10 | Report Abuse

If RHB Bank's earnings improve each quarter until the final quarter, just like last year, its full year earnings could be quite impressive at over 75 sen a share.

Posted by prudentinvestor > 2023-05-29 10:29 | Report Abuse

Unlikely to stay at below RM5.50 a share for long.

linges

2,689 posts

Posted by linges > 2023-05-29 12:25 | Report Abuse

Sharing from Maybank Investment

RHB Bank (RHBBANK MK, CP: MYR5.46, BUY, TP: MYR6.40):
RHB’s hefty NIM compression in 1Q23 was buffered by higher NOII and lower credit cost. While results were within expectations, we lower our NIM assumptions and cut FY23-25E earnings by 5-6%.

We maintain a BUY on RHB with a lower TP of MYR6.40, pegging FY23E PBV to a lower PBV of 0.9x versus 1x previously (9.5% ROE against management’s target of 10%). FY23E dividend yield is attractive at >7%. BUY maintained.

linges

2,689 posts

Posted by linges > 2023-05-29 15:51 | Report Abuse

5.41 opps..

Posted by prudentinvestor > 2023-05-29 16:56 | Report Abuse

Share price doesn't reflect impressive earnings. Never mind, seize the opportunity to buy cheap. AMMB is trading at a PE of only 7.

Posted by unicornbird > 2023-05-29 18:25 | Report Abuse

Any idea why RHB pay so high dividend, and yet the share price is so low?

linges

2,689 posts

Posted by linges > 2023-05-29 19:04 | Report Abuse

@unicornbird

There are few theories. The one i still remember is PE-based theory.

RHB price is around at PEx8, while Maybank price is PEx12, even though both bank EPS is about the same.

Higher the PE, translates the investor’s confidence, on how many years the bank could maintain the similar performance.

MBB - 12yrs
RHB - 8yrs

Usually major banks would priced at PEx12, and other banks lower.

My 2sen only. Please correct me.

25,091 posts

Posted by speakup > 2023-05-29 19:18 | Report Abuse

EPF owns a lot RHB & MBSSB. Think they may merge both banks in the future?

moven00

705 posts

Posted by moven00 > 2023-05-29 21:58 | Report Abuse

Mr Market is sometimes irrational. Very good example will be YTLPower. It was hovering below 70cents for quite sometime. Presenting an opportunity to buy. In our case her is RHB. But if the dividend payout of RHB is sustainable, I’m quite happy to collect and sit while waiting for the price to shoot up.

Posted by unicornbird > 2023-05-30 08:44 | Report Abuse

but large pension fund should have spotted this. It can't stay so cheap?
especially the book value is over $7. it's like lelong price now

Berlin

258 posts

Posted by Berlin > 2023-05-30 08:59 | Report Abuse

@speakup; EPF may want to merge MBSB with RHB in its own interest being substantial shareholders of both but minority shareholders of RHB who can vote independently are unlikely to agree. There is no obvious benefit to RHB in such a merger; it still remains #4 in asset ranking after Maybank, CIMB and Public Bank while existing shareholders are diluted. MBSB is too small and brings little to the table.

25,091 posts

Posted by speakup > 2023-05-30 09:27 | Report Abuse

@Berlin TQ

Posted by prudentinvestor > 2023-05-30 10:20 | Report Abuse

Bank stocks used to command the highest PE ratios on KLSE but now they are trading at the lowest PE ratios among listed counters.

Berlin

258 posts

Posted by Berlin > 2023-05-30 11:13 | Report Abuse

There is a lot of trepidation about impact of digital banking and how
entry of new players will affect traditional business of existing banks. In Malaysia, I would say not that soon and not that much.

Posted by unicornbird > 2023-05-30 15:27 | Report Abuse

Is there any advantage for EPF to be the largest shareholder for RHB?

moven00

705 posts

Posted by moven00 > 2023-05-30 18:24 | Report Abuse

Result ok. Unfortunately sector downtrend for now

Posted by prudentinvestor > 2023-05-31 11:08 | Report Abuse

With an average EPS of 58.4 sen over the last 12 years and a dividend per share of 40 sen a share for the past two years, investors shouldn't have any qualms about putting their money into RHB Bank. RM5.42 is fire sale price.

moven00

705 posts

Posted by moven00 > 2023-05-31 12:51 | Report Abuse

20th Aug 2014 RHB reach 9.23 High. After that sudah tidur 9tahun. But if dividend is paid like 0.40cents a year. We buy and keep only. Imagine a long compress spring will bounced very high. Anyway it also pretty much depends on the sector recovery and sustainable of RHB EPS.

Posted by prudentinvestor > 2023-05-31 15:38 | Report Abuse

Remember one Warren Buffet's famous quotes, be "fearful when others are greedy, and greedy when others are fearful.” Fearful sellers are dumping RHB Bank irrationally.

Posted by unicornbird > 2023-05-31 16:35 | Report Abuse

RHB so weak? fallen so much compared to Maybank & PBB.
PBB has lower dividend & poorer growth rate. even that can beat RHB

the market is really irrational

Posted by unicornbird > 2023-05-31 16:36 | Report Abuse

Is RHB heavily exposed to any sector?

Posted by prudentinvestor > 2023-05-31 18:28 | Report Abuse

If dividend is included, Maybank has stilled gained 2% since the beginning of the year, RHB Bank has now lost 2% (from a gain of 1.4% a week ago), Public Bank has lost 9% and CIMB Bank has lost over 10%.

Posted by Cryptolover > 2023-05-31 20:24 | Report Abuse

such big amount of dumping, unlikely cause by retail investor, looks like some institutions are also dumping

Posted by unicornbird > 2023-06-01 08:15 | Report Abuse

good, hope they continue to dump

HUNTER

28 posts

Posted by HUNTER > 2023-06-01 09:22 | Report Abuse

i ready to collect,let them dump

Posted by prudentinvestor > 2023-06-01 09:48 | Report Abuse

Yesterday's volume was over 14 million shares. It has to be the work of institutions, very likely foreign institutions.

Posted by prudentinvestor > 2023-06-01 10:28 | Report Abuse

Should be trading at above RM6.50 a share but now struggling at below RM5.40. Market is irrational.

Posted by unicornbird > 2023-06-01 14:28 | Report Abuse

prudent, why dont EPF buy more of RHB, it's paying 7% dividend. it can easily make 1%, if the payout to EPF holder is 6%

Posted by prudentinvestor > 2023-06-01 15:27 | Report Abuse

EPF already holds about 41% of RHB Bank's issued capital, much higher than the 33% threshold that requires it to make a mandatory takeover offer to other smaller shareholders. I suppose it has secured exemption from the government. As RHB Bank's largest shareholder, it can actually influence the bank to allocate a much higher percentage of profit, say over 80% to be distributed as dividends.

moven00

705 posts

Posted by moven00 > 2023-06-01 15:32 | Report Abuse

Put out our laddering. Buy stages by stages.

cwc1981

977 posts

Posted by cwc1981 > 2023-06-01 16:55 | Report Abuse

Debts ceiling raised. So hope tomorrow will be better

Posted by unicornbird > 2023-06-01 17:16 | Report Abuse

prudent, what's the max EPF can own?

Posted by prudentinvestor > 2023-06-02 15:01 | Report Abuse

EPF holds about 66% of MBSB's paid up capital. The more RHB Bank shares EPF holds, the more illiquid it becomes. I really don't know the max number of RHB Bank shares EPF is allowed to hold. The government has the final say.

Beast

307 posts

Posted by Beast > 2023-06-02 16:49 | Report Abuse

every 10 sen drop i buy 1000 unit. almost all in

troy88

2,569 posts

Posted by troy88 > 2023-06-02 17:01 | Report Abuse

i would not be surprised will drop below 5.20 looking at PBB and CIMB. Foreign funds spooked by fear of Anwar's govt will tumbang with the romours about GPS betrayal

moven00

705 posts

Posted by moven00 > 2023-06-02 21:55 | Report Abuse

You love RHB? Your RHB die hard fan? You hav confidence RHB will bounce back? You like their dividend? You believe in RHB management? Now…now is the time it will test you. 5.20? Nah….
It will tank even below 4.74 if the whole market crash. You dare to average down? It’s down to our emotion and mental strength to stick to our plan.

Posted by i3lurker > 2023-06-02 22:31 | Report Abuse

3 EPF subcontractors sold, [those in 100Ks]
EPF itself been doing massive buying, [those millions millions one], much more than EPF subcontractors sold.

its totally up to you whether you believe there will be a change in gobermen

believe SELL
dun believe BUY

market crash SELL
no market crash BUY

go ahead and VOTE with your money
every vote counts

Posted by prudentinvestor > 2023-06-03 17:00 | Report Abuse

@moven00, worried about a blue chip bank counter which has consistently made profits for the past 10 years, with an average eps of over 58 sen, a PE of less than 9 and a dividend yield of over 7% dropping to RM5.20 and may be to below RM4.74? Just name me 5 counters listed on Bursa which have comparable PEs and dividend yields to RHB Bank. Yet you were prepared to buy Bursa at RM6. Bursa has a PE of over 20 and a dividend yield of just above 4.

moven00

705 posts

Posted by moven00 > 2023-06-04 11:03 | Report Abuse

@prudentinvestor, that is what I try to say, no need to worried. Only plan our entry. Not everyday you’ll be presented with an opportunity to buy good company at a bargain.

OnTime

2,080 posts

Posted by OnTime > 2023-06-04 12:13 | Report Abuse

sometimes one has to take advantage of market irrationality.

25,091 posts

Posted by speakup > 2023-06-04 15:20 | Report Abuse

Problem is ppl wan to buy cheapest as if they got a crystal ball to show them the cheapest.
From my own experience, I bought cimb rm3.80 it went as low as rm3 then rebound as high as rm5.80