GENTING BHD

KLSE (MYR): GENTING (3182)

-0.10 (2.35%)

4.13 - 4.24

46 people like this.

85,510 comment(s). Last comment by MoneyMakers 7 hours ago

Posted by Michaelchan2024 > 1 month ago | Report Abuse

Whether it's referred to as profit attributable to the group level or equity holders of the company doesn't matter to long term investors. Just make sure to have the buying trolley cart ready for tomorrow or next week.

Be prepared for a potential drop to 3.50. You can either brace for a market correction or take a break...your choice.

AngTayKor

2,374 posts

Posted by AngTayKor > 1 month ago | Report Abuse

Posted by Save > 3 hours ago | Report Abuse
Aiyo 239.7M
------------
Posted by Michaelchan2024 > 3 hours ago | Report Abuse
It’s always refreshing to see Pinky's positivity!! RM496 million net profit in 2Q24 looks solid.
-------------
Posted by Michaelchan2024 > 6 minutes ago | Report Abuse
Whether it's referred to as profit attributable to the group level or equity holders of the company doesn't matter to long term investors.
------------
Posted by KooSan > 30 minutes ago | Report Abuse
@Havefun
I think is 23xm not 495m
A lot of people do not know how to read consolidated accounts

@Save and @KooSan are both correct. GenB's Q2 profit is rm239.7m. We cannot include our subsidiaries' full 100% profit as own own profit. GenB only owns 55% of GenP, 49% of GenM, 53% of GenS, etc. That classification "Non-controlling interests" amounting to rm256m does not belong to GenB, they belong to the other minority shareholders of GenB's subsidiaries. Hence GenB shareholders are not entitled to this rm256m. For calculation of GenB's earnings and also P.E, we use rm239.7m as the figure and definitely not rm495m.

You business partner's share of their profit is NOT your share of profit. Scary to do business / become partners with such people who think this way isn't it? Sooner or later going to makan up partner's share of profit. 🤣🤣🤣

These are the real facts. Dont be scammed. Dont be cheated

1 SGD = 3.29 MYR... 3.10 mari mari!
1 USD = 4.30 MYR

For the casino industry, assessing a good capital structure involves industry-specific criteria along with general financial metrics. Here’s how to tailor the criteria:

1) Debt-to-Equity Ratio:
-Ideal Range: Typically between 1.0 and 2.0. The casino industry often operates with higher leverage due to large capital expenditures and investments in infrastructure.

2) Interest Coverage Ratio:
-Ideal Value: Generally above 2.0. Casinos with significant debt should have sufficient earnings to cover interest expenses, given their high capital costs and fluctuating revenues.

3) Leverage Ratios:
-Debt-to-Assets Ratio: Usually between 0.5 and 0.7. Casinos often have high asset bases with substantial debt due to property and facility investments.
-Debt-to-Capital Ratio: Typically between 0.4 and 0.6. This reflects the proportion of debt in the company's total capital, considering the capital-intensive nature of the industry.

4) Cost of Capital:
-WACC (Weighted Average Cost of Capital): Should be managed to balance debt and equity costs. Casinos should aim for a WACC that supports their return on investment, factoring in their high capital expenditure needs.

5) Financial Flexibility:
-Access to Capital: Ability to secure funding for new projects, renovations, or expansions. Casinos need to maintain good relationships with lenders and investors due to the capital-intensive nature of their operations.

6)Liquidity:
-Current Ratio: Generally above 1.0, but may vary depending on the operational scale and investment cycle. This ensures the ability to cover short-term obligations.

-Quick Ratio: A ratio above 1.0 is preferable to account for the high-value cash flows typical in the casino industry.

7) Revenue Stability:
-Volatility Consideration: Casinos should have a strategy to manage revenue fluctuations due to economic cycles, seasonality, and competition. Financial stability can be assessed by looking at historical revenue trends and profitability.

8) Capital Expenditure (CapEx) Efficiency:
-CapEx-to-Revenue Ratio: Evaluates how effectively a casino uses capital expenditures to generate revenue. High CapEx efficiency indicates good management of investment in facilities and amenities.

These criteria will help assess a casino’s capital structure, accounting for the unique financial dynamics and operational needs of the industry.

AngTayKor

2,374 posts

Posted by curiousq > 3 days ago | Report Abuse
Total borrowing 39,800.6m
Borrowing in USD 30118.3m (75.67%)
1st. Q Finance cost (527,976)
Besides lower interest rate, USD depreciates against MYR would incur forex gain
-----------------
Posted by AngTayKor > 3 days ago | Report Abuse
There was a deleted scam post suggesting this company may see abt RM2.5B of forex gains in P&L next quarter or so due to USD depreciation. Principles Of Accounting and accounting treatment method do not work like this la.

Something caught me eye here: Total borrowing Rm39,052.7m. Thats Rm39B of debt load.
---------------
Posted by Michaelchan2024 > 10 hours ago | Report Abuse
If q2 2024 doesn't show any forex gain, then no worries...we can always count on q3 to be the quarter overflowing with forex gains ..
---------------

Fact:

Q2 Forex LOSS came at rm71m. Dont expect delusional billion dollar forex gain, accounting principles do not work this way. GenB is not a hedge fund using a trading strategy of borrowing USD for carry-trade purposes. Those are GenB's long term USD debts, last rolled over at at 8.45% interest rate.

Dont be scammed. Dont be cheated.

ImCK

3,086 posts

Posted by ImCK > 1 month ago | Report Abuse

affect to this quater is from SG side . i m also very dissapointed that management action slow like waiting money come where is the KPI of management . when people running they still walking now only know launch annual pass bring traffic to genting

ImCK

3,086 posts

interest rate not a big deal because management can easily settle by reissue low interest rate bond replace with high interest rate bond . the big impact is from U.S part the Depreciate is calculate in USD so if USD drop will benefit to genting this quater USD MYR is 4.7 next could be 4.3 so still will benefit to GENTING at this kind scenario

ImCK

3,086 posts

covert back to MYR for those depreciate item and usd debt USD weak aganist MYR will bring down 10% discount of Depreciation and amortisation after convert to MYR quater report

AngTayKor

2,374 posts

Posted by Michaelchan2024 > 1 day ago | Report Abuse
Analysts net debt forecast for GenB:
2023 15,000 million MYR
2024 13,157 million MYR
2025 11,072 million MYR
2026 8,978 million MYR
--------------

Fact:

GenB's total debt just increased from rm39 billion (as at 31/12/2023) to rm41.4 billion (as at 31/06/2024).

ImCK

3,086 posts

upcoming quater maybe will have surprise because got big event in SG 1)Harry Potter: Visions of Magic ( this very hot sales in europe ) 2) halloween partner with netflix

ImCK

3,086 posts

those debt is in USD if USD go stronger the debt will show more very normal right now dont focus on those financial cost because just piece of nut . they need is turn over like annual pass they sell recently can easily get million million within day
if they can sell 1million ( malaysia population 1% ) annual pass RM280 can easily generate 280m for them offset the debt this havent including vip ticket sales .

AngTayKor

2,374 posts

Posted by rohank71 > 1 day ago | Report Abuse
#ATK.. GP is a dart in this forum.. its just a small boy. Pls post in GP forum.. its a shame u post here.
As a season investor, U should know GP is not relevant to GB. I did have high regards for U...I hope it's just not "Air" u talking abt.
don't tarish urself.
-----------

Fact:

GenP contributed rm47m of attributable net profit for GenB in Q2.
GenM contributed rm41m of attributable net profit for GenB in Q2.

Small subsidiary can sometimes contribute more than a much larger cap subsidiary. Do not look down on the farmer son. GenM has a useless grandson Empire Resort.

kent9988

27 posts

Posted by kent9988 > 1 month ago | Report Abuse

我不明白 云顶马来西亚每天都爆满 为什么还是赚那么少

ImCK

3,086 posts

should learn how sunway management optimize the earning annual pass ( 10a.m until 6pm ) then night ticket ( 6.pm to 10pm ) earn more from creating the experience . i can said this genting management is failed even ICITY & SUNWAY also do better than them . if someone know the management please told them you can do more better but you choose wait money drop totally failed FREE VISA also cannot see much improve

ImCK

3,086 posts

Angtaykor the lose will be settle in 2025 2026 replace by oil & gas investment thier OIL & GAS will speed up after 2025 . oil & gas at least contribute 30-40% of revenue that time

AngTayKor

2,374 posts

Posted by kent9988 > 5 minutes ago | Report Abuse
我不明白 云顶马来西亚每天都爆满 为什么还是赚那么少
------------

The American grandsons ER and RWLV are not performing. Huge billions of USD loans at high interest keep sucking away RWG (monopoly) and RWS (duopoly) hard-earned profits.

kent9988

27 posts

The American grandsons ER and RWLV are not performing. Huge billions of USD loans at high interest keep sucking away RWG (monopoly) and RWS (duopoly) hard-earned profits.

totally agreed....rwlv very头痛

ImCK

3,086 posts

if got physical AGM i sure diu 7 them . the result is like D class management . very shame to this management they should learn SUNWAY how to manage company like CLASS A earn every single cent

AngTayKor

2,374 posts

@lmck, we all hope O&G biz will become the next engine of growth soon.

kent9988

27 posts

better sell empire n rwlv

ImCK

3,086 posts

yes ATK maybe they suitable to do something upper steam industry they really lack of creative compare to sunway like sitting there wait luck come . even mid hill those airbnb / glamping resorts also do better than them

ImCK

3,086 posts

RWLV is earning positive cashflow generate while empire resorts i think they using it to be PLAN B . like last time they bid genting singapore they buy landmark plan build casino in indonesia if sg dont give them lisence

ImCK

3,086 posts

Balian de Ibelin i think you dont know business . genting annual pass will bring more traffic to genting and it will create more extra income oppurnity like VIP ticket and more f&b demand need , cable car demand , parking fee , hotel demand . parent will more willing bring kids go genting they can go casino and let kids play alone in theme park

kent9988

27 posts

genb在us fail...不够鬼佬那些大集团竞争

ImCK

3,086 posts

when crowd happening then some family will choose vip ticket if you got go sunway lagoon halloween before you will know so many people will buy vip ticket skip the que especially rich family . if management smart they can offer advertisement to NESTLE / PWROOT/F&N in theme park

ImCK

3,086 posts

too bad management dont have those mind set they keep stuck in i m LOUIS VUTTION mind set .

ImCK

3,086 posts

lol you want que then paid more money to skip very fair . rich man always like to show off you earn from f&b cable car resorts hotel and parent willing go more genting because of kids already purchase annual pass unlimited access

ImCK

3,086 posts

Parent go glamb kids go theme park win win . kids also can be promoter lure parent go genting because they got unlimited access ticket

AngTayKor

2,374 posts

Posted by kent9988 > 2 minutes ago | Report Abuse
better sell empire n rwlv
---------

Could be a bad move if we do this. Thats what the American competitors want to see. KNN every casino sure got some money laundering activities beyond management control, why only want to catch Genting the new Asian competitor? Is this a sabotage by competitors? Better settle this properly we are in USA for the long term biz.

ImCK

3,086 posts

this is king of marketing stragegy " throw away a brick in order to get a gem "

ImCK

3,086 posts

many people dont know genting is dai gor in NEW YORK thier gaming revenue is top 1 . RWLV is earning good profit every quater revenue 1billion with 150m above ebidta .

ImCK

3,086 posts

but compliance cost and tax cost is getting high gaming business not really good money also this is why genting in future will more focus in energy but they dont know they can convert to marketing company offer b2b advertising in thier IR

ImCK

3,086 posts

same like TGV before you watch movie give u see advertising first

ImCK

3,086 posts

country wont put all egg in 1 basket they will use seperate resources to seperate risk . do you know how big is china

ImCK

3,086 posts

most safe is https://www.terrapower.com/

choysun

4,377 posts

Posted by choysun > 1 month ago | Report Abuse

Angmoh ATH again. KLCI will rally again to close off August b4 Sept FED cuts? :)

ImCK, you’ve got a point. Those annual passes could indeed boost Genting’s entire revenue stream, from dining to hotels, cable car tickets, parking and even the casinos. But I’m curious whether Balian is impressed by Genting’s “unique” strategy, or if he really believes he can turn Genting into the next Disney!! 🤔

@Balian, there’s nothing wrong with that. It’s just a marketing strategy..lowering prices during peak season encourages more people to buy annual passes. It’s all about driving sales and increasing traffic!

ImCK, you’ve hit the nail on the head! Rich customers love paying more to skip lines, and this strategy really benefits everyone. The annual pass brings more families to Genting, increasing spending on food, hotels, and other services. Plus, with kids having unlimited access, they’ll be eager to get their parents to visit more often. It’s a clever marketing strategy ...give a little to gain a lot. Well said!

neohts

2,344 posts

Posted by neohts > 1 month ago | Report Abuse

Balian....do you have any GenB share ? I don't think you have since you doesn't like GenB.
Just curious why are you spending so mush time here asking people to sell GenB share ?

Haha..Balian seems to have deleted all his posts and gone into hiding..

Posted by Balian de Ibelin > 1 month ago | Report Abuse

The longest period I hold any BURSA shares is just a few weeks.
on average usually just few days only.

When @MC says buy Genting I dump all my Genting 100%🤣

you can see when @MC is depressed, like recently the case, "if you want to sell, sell lah" <= kena hentam by TAK then
Thats the time I buy Genting shares ....... for just a few days.....🤣

@MC is the best Reverse Marketing Indicator for Genting shares 🤣

Buy when @MC is depressed.
Sell when @MC just had sex last nite 🤣

😁

coincidentally TAK says @MM is the best Reverse Indicator for Genting 🤣

I’m relaxed and easygoing...like I said, when it comes to money, I prefer not to be arrogant.
Bye.

the share is just a share
I dun make love to any or all my shares unlike @MC 😁

a share is for you to buy and sell, its called the share market

Giving discounts during peak periods is the most drastic mistake any company can make because the huge crowds means loss of revenue when you are unable to provide the service.
People bring their own food.
People refuse to queue for other paying items not included in discount, means reduced revenue.
After coming during peak, they will not come again during off peak when you could have make double revenue per head from them.

Disney pricing addresses peak discounts dilemma. Genting does not.

luckylee

73 posts

Posted by luckylee > 1 month ago | Report Abuse

So buy or sell???