BRITISH AMERICAN TOBACCO (M)

KLSE (MYR): BAT (4162)

-0.03 (0.36%)

8.15 - 8.24

9 people like this.

12,508 comment(s). Last comment by EngineeringProfit 15 hours ago

Ntpboon

663 posts

Posted by Ntpboon > 2021-06-03 16:11 | Report Abuse

----------------------
-------------------------

管理层虽频呼唤?
缉私行动只虚晃?
打击私烟若无望?
不如电子烟来换?

-------------------------------------

Windy1974

724 posts

Posted by Windy1974 > 2021-06-03 16:16 | Report Abuse

Gotta know about this yesterday when my daughter showed me this news. Would this become a new tomorrow just like carbon zero and EV?
I sold my BAT because the dividend yield just ain't attractive for me personally at current price. Of course, at lower price or higher profit this could change. However, if there are a fundamental change in consumer habit, then BAT's attractiveness would need to be evaluated not just on dividend yield alone.

https://www.theguardian.com/world/2021/apr/16/new-zealand-aims-to-create-smoke-free-generation-cigarettes

Ntpboon

663 posts

Posted by Ntpboon > 2021-06-03 16:34 | Report Abuse

-----------------------
--------------------------

高人叫我别乱跑?
负面新闻却不少?
害我读了惹烦恼?
看来前景不会好?

-------------------------------------

williamh

822 posts

Posted by williamh > 2021-06-03 17:11 | Report Abuse

跟风負面新聞真不少,反面教材搖不了,跟风経理真不少,包容他們自己好,风浪越大越会跑,下季股息真來了。

Simon_khoo

704 posts

Posted by Simon_khoo > 2021-06-04 09:34 | Report Abuse

Breaking rm14 earlier than I expected...

williamh

822 posts

Posted by williamh > 2021-06-04 11:07 | Report Abuse

Strongly buy in at this point onward

williamh

822 posts

Posted by williamh > 2021-06-04 11:10 | Report Abuse

From 15.76 down to 14.12=-1.64,go all in

wkc5657

282 posts

Posted by wkc5657 > 2021-06-04 11:46 | Report Abuse

good luck, could be a good rebound trade

faralenz77

1,014 posts

Posted by faralenz77 > 2021-06-04 17:04 | Report Abuse

In share investment, know when to sell high is key to profit. Not when to buy low.

IronShirt

3,178 posts

Posted by IronShirt > 2021-06-04 17:23 | Report Abuse

https://www.malaysiakini.com/news/577590

Alcohol banned in MCO3 But legal Cigs allowed.....no Effect on BAT earnings in mco3

IronShirt

3,178 posts

Posted by IronShirt > 2021-06-04 17:24 | Report Abuse

JPMorgan Tp still sticked at 21

IronShirt

3,178 posts

Posted by IronShirt > 2021-06-04 17:25 | Report Abuse

Monday time to collect back for dividend

Dorothy

57 posts

Posted by Dorothy > 2021-06-04 22:57 | Report Abuse

Be patience

batman666

407 posts

Posted by batman666 > 2021-06-05 00:47 | Report Abuse

iron shirt where you see BAT target price by JPM RM 21?

eric8168

99 posts

Posted by eric8168 > 2021-06-05 05:11 | Report Abuse

Next quarter results really gg. Y ? Due to April puasa, may partially lock down, June totally lock down , Van sale persons cannot go to work. When market don’t have enough stock, illegal one will expanding their market share. GG

UncleFollower

1,111 posts

Posted by UncleFollower > 2021-06-05 16:08 | Report Abuse

BAT wrong stock to hold for quarterly results. Many better options. BAT hold collect dividends and sleep

UncleFollower

1,111 posts

BAT is vape legalisation and curb illicit cigs play

UncleFollower

1,111 posts

Will need parliament to open first

IronShirt

3,178 posts

Posted by IronShirt > 2021-06-07 14:26 | Report Abuse

batman666 iron shirt where you see BAT target price by JPM RM 21?

Hi, article was posted here 2--3weeks ago...anyway i No intention to repost it bcos I dont want
people to Buy on Tuesday....another pair of Chopstick, another mouth to feed

3,219 posts

Posted by chinaman > 2021-06-07 14:36 | Report Abuse

if alcohol is non essential, cigarette is essential, can still be opened?? double standard miti. wakaka

IronShirt

3,178 posts

Posted by IronShirt > 2021-06-07 14:44 | Report Abuse

The sale of alcoholic beverages is banned at all premises during the current "total lockdown" period as it is not an essential item, said Deputy Minister of Domestic Trade and Consumer Affairs Rosol Wahid.

However, he said cigarettes - while also not an essential good - can still be sold to avoid "problems" with addicts.

This is after confusion arose on whether hypermarkets and grocers...

Posted by MalaysiaKini / 577590

williamh

822 posts

Posted by williamh > 2021-06-07 14:49 | Report Abuse

Those IB who push down last few days is into our radar now,its just too small those funds for us and we will make Known to them to hardly see the light soon

batman666

407 posts

Posted by batman666 > 2021-06-07 17:07 | Report Abuse

Thanks ironshirt, found it.

JJchan

7,182 posts

Posted by JJchan > 2021-06-07 17:59 | Report Abuse

Bank Negara rate is now 1.75%---with MCO, most Co. can stay 25% above waterline. With Lockdown 90% are Below WaterLine ( you can feel it so chaotic in SOP minister bcos they are
trying to save a Drowning Man )

June ----Bank Negara will announce Next Rate. My Bet is 1.50%. It will pull Down to 1.0% if
LockDown continues. Bank FD rate will be 1.75---2.0. BAT Dividend will Stay above 7%( annual--
2021 )

wkc5657

282 posts

Posted by wkc5657 > 2021-06-08 16:54 | Report Abuse

There is unlikely interest rate will go down, inflation is on the way. Even if lock down continues, interest rate will more likely stay put and slight uptick starting next year maybe 2nd half.

1.5% is the lowest for the foreseeable future (even though i don't think it will happen), going to 1% is impossible. Foreign money will run faster which the our government don't want to happen as US will likely see sentiment of interest rate rising pressure. Double whammy, almost like when 1mdb imploded time, so again unlikely in my opinion.

UncleFollower

1,111 posts

Posted by UncleFollower > 2021-06-08 18:02 | Report Abuse

A government for the people will slash rates and worry about inflation later.

Foreign money has been on the run not because of rates but because of political instability and poor visibility in recovery.

Then look at how the BNM governor and Finance Minister are talking

Thats why wkc is probably right because we have a heartless government right now

batman666

407 posts

Posted by batman666 > 2021-06-09 00:33 | Report Abuse

agree with wkc5657. 1.5 percent impossible lah jjchan.

batman666

407 posts

Posted by batman666 > 2021-06-09 00:34 | Report Abuse

Good news is mco or not sales still okay for bat

wkc5657

282 posts

Posted by wkc5657 > 2021-06-09 09:19 | Report Abuse

the sundry shop that i go usually still sells black market cigs, but another contact says that their side wine and cig smuggling business getting slow....

So at least got some optimism....

Petronas

815 posts

Posted by Petronas > 2021-06-09 09:46 | Report Abuse

Buy?

JJchan

7,182 posts

Posted by JJchan > 2021-06-09 10:02 | Report Abuse

First of All there is hardly any foreign Funds in Malaysia. 15 of JPMorgan FF has no BAT.
By comparsion Malaysia Bank Rate is atleast 200 basis point Above EU and USA. So Bond
Holders has No where to Go. Of Course Afghanistan offer 15% Bank Rate if you want to deal
with Taliban

Posted by auditorandconsultant > 2021-06-09 12:41 | Report Abuse

Finally, I have decided to join BAT this big family after studying since Jan 2021. Yesterday, I bought some at the entry price of RM14.32.

I trust the top management from BAT.

EPS - 2018 (164.20 cents), 2019 (121.00 cents), 2020 (84.70 cents)

FCF per Share - 2018 (161.77 cents), 2019 (108.57 cents), 2020 (62.09 cents)

I am not too worried about the decreasing EPS and FCF because the above result has not taken E-Cigarette sales in future into consideration.

With the Company's plan to cut cost (plan to move some services to Pakistan for Shared Services) and business expansion, I have no worry about this counter.

Happy to join this big family with everyone here.

williamh

822 posts

Posted by williamh > 2021-06-09 13:56 | Report Abuse

Welcome to the big family,united is strength ,sail smoothly

williamh

822 posts

Posted by williamh > 2021-06-09 14:04 | Report Abuse

These was how it works lately…firstly the local IB sold down their portfolio at recent high and buy back at manageable low,so stage 1 was sell high buy back low,stage 2 is to push up again and after collecting the dividend on x date,sell down again that will be stage 2,therefore they c made twice..no big deals

Posted by auditorandconsultant > 2021-06-09 14:12 | Report Abuse

I foresee BAT to become a multibagger soon. I believe in 2 years time, BAT could go up RM30

I am very positive and will hold tightly.

开番,指日可待。

Ntpboon

663 posts

Posted by Ntpboon > 2021-06-09 15:27 | Report Abuse

闲来无事..................
来打油.....................

----------------------------------

英美烟草出业绩,
公司照样给股息。
股价却跌不给力,
为何重来再起立?

--------------------------------------

lskmgnt

Posted by lskmgnt > 2021-06-09 18:03 | Report Abuse

Auditorandconsultant. Welcome on board

williamh

822 posts

Posted by williamh > 2021-06-09 20:52 | Report Abuse

业绩好你追我跑,双向出擎拿股息,高卖底買才夠力,別再停留拿股息,數據游戲把你气,从此坐上雲端上天去。

61 posts

Posted by 240902 > 2021-06-10 09:36 | Report Abuse

direct translation from si fu Williamh......If you have a good performance, you chase me, and you can get dividends in both directions. Selling at a high bottom is enough to buy. Don't stop to get dividends. Data games will piss you off, and you will go to the sky from now on.

Pinky

3,214 posts

Posted by Pinky > 2021-06-10 11:45 | Report Abuse

Hmm @auditor, 5.94% yield at current price, quarterly dividends. Interesting...

But no growth to be had here la...

Posted by auditorandconsultant > 2021-06-10 14:38 | Report Abuse

@Pinky,

I am parking my money in BAT in view of the future plan of BAT to expand into E-Cigarette upon granting of licence to operate E-Cigarette business after the resumption of Parliament.

There is a solid potential fundamental in near future because it is the trend for E-Cigarette now.

Look at RLX Technology listed in Nasdaq.

Posted by fengpinglangjin > 2021-06-10 14:43 | Report Abuse

The research house said that the management also shared that there were progressive discussions with Malaysian authorities to set regulations over nicotine vape products. Some of the items highlighted by industry players include the need to establish a list of banned ingredients and dosage of ingredients in vape liquids, standard of devices alongside requirement for players to obtain approvals around the sale of nicotine vape products.

The framework is still subject to finalisation, nevertheless it reckoned there was a chance that the government may introduce regulations on nicotine vape products as early as the second half of the year.

Posted by auditorandconsultant > 2021-06-10 15:03 | Report Abuse

@fengpinglangjin

Thank you for your sharing.

I am positive towards the future development and growth of BAT. Top management will do something to drive result for the next few quarters.

UncleFollower

1,111 posts

Posted by UncleFollower > 2021-06-10 15:06 | Report Abuse

Updates on nicotine-based vape framework

Discussions with regulators for the legalisation of nicotine-based vapour
products are in the final stages, we understand. Details are scant at the
moment, but BAT hopes to launch its own vapour product by end-2021.

Lanmum

360 posts

Posted by Lanmum > 2021-06-10 17:59 | Report Abuse

@auditorandconsultant, nice sharing. Thanks

Lanmum

360 posts

Posted by Lanmum > 2021-06-10 18:02 | Report Abuse

Bat or vape is not pekebun taste. Finally you able to ditch him. Congrats..

Posted by auditorandconsultant > 2021-06-11 01:03 | Report Abuse

@pang72,

Part of my principles, bankers who made sell or buy call would normally make call in favour of their own interests because I believe in share market there is no free lunch. In other words, HL IB would like to collect cheap tickets. My two cents.

I ignore the Sell Call of TP RM11.75 set by HL Investment Bank.

This is part of my principles and I will continue to hold tightly BAT at this juncture.

However, I do respect your stand. You can use HL Investment Bank's advice as the basis of your decision in investment.

Good luck.

Pinky

3,214 posts

Posted by Pinky > 2021-06-11 11:17 | Report Abuse

@auditor I love you

I'm getting into BAT with you today

Lanmum

360 posts

Posted by Lanmum > 2021-06-11 11:20 | Report Abuse

@auditorandconsultant, the HLB target and price now is big big gap. A bit scare. Good, Pinky you add on

Pinky

3,214 posts

Posted by Pinky > 2021-06-11 11:23 | Report Abuse

@Lanmum, for example, IBs punya TP for TNB is always way above traded price

And when you look at the fundamentals, and current economic climate...

When things are normal, all people go to work, residentials consumption go down, commercials and industrials consumption go back up

Now FMCO, many people WFH, the situation terbalik

Some IBs got vested interest (they want u to buy to push up price)
Also, some IB analysts are armchair analysts really

I'd rather buy BAT with generous dividend payout, and little to no capital expenditure requirement. At least I'm assured that the dividend is sustainable

No smoking? People will always smoke wan la!

Stay at home, bad economy, lagi mau rokok lebih! XD