JAKS RESOURCES BERHAD

KLSE (MYR): JAKS (4723)

0.13 - 0.135

41 people like this.

64,887 comment(s). Last comment by Mikecyc 7 hours ago

14,184 posts

Posted by i3lurker > 2021-11-30 21:12 | Report Abuse

those who want to know more can refer here
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cost_of_electricity_by_source

hydro => USD72.00 per MWh
vs
Coal => USD88.00 per MWh

The US economy really expanded after Niagara Falls
thats why China government tried to duplicate with 3 Gorges

Jaks cannot compete with Laos Hydro power and thats why share price went into free fall.

When share prices nose dived, there is usually a very sound financial reason why it happens.

14,184 posts

Posted by i3lurker > 2021-11-30 21:14 | Report Abuse

for INSAS I have totally no idea,
just not interested at all.

=> you must ask the married couple sslee and Leno

Posted by mita29 > Nov 30, 2021 9:11 PM | Report Abuse

What happened to insas, from 1.2 to 1.0, what's the reason behind the drop? Why does market give Insas such low PE? there must be a sound financial reason behind the ultra low PE ratio.

14,184 posts

Posted by i3lurker > 2021-11-30 21:25 | Report Abuse

it does not mean that I am interested in Jaks at all.

I had done some power plant deals before.

I had looked at cash flows for coal, hydro, gas turbines, solar and also bio gas plants from palm oil before

Thats why all this are just old data to me

mita29

1,064 posts

Posted by mita29 > 2021-11-30 21:26 | Report Abuse

I don't know if you have amnesia but Jaks has a 25-year concession with fixed capacity payments convertible to US dollars guaranteed by the Vietnamese government, The recurring income is predictable and sustainable. The dive could be due to other reasons (eg the one time 100 million loss in Q4 last year, PP, unreasonable fear of coal price hike, the recent Omicron scare, etc).

https://www.theedgemarkets.com/article/recent-coal-price-fluctuations-wont-hit-vietnam-power-plant-profits-says-jaks-resources-ceo

If you check other power plant counters (Malakof, MFCB), they also drop lah..

mita29

1,064 posts

Posted by mita29 > 2021-11-30 21:29 | Report Abuse

Even your RHBbank also drop 10% plus thanks to omicron and the glorious prosperity tax despite a good QR. Market sentiment is also important.

14,184 posts

Posted by i3lurker > 2021-11-30 21:35 | Report Abuse

few years ago many calculations used 100% utilisation rate
which I had pointed out many times to "God" cult head was unrealistic.

now you are talking ONLY capacity payments
so you are actually agreeing with me?

wow!

excellent!

at last I found another person that is anti-"God" cult head from amongst all these "God" cult groupies.

kakakakakaka

Posted by mita29 > Nov 30, 2021 9:26 PM | Report Abuse

I don't know if you have amnesia but Jaks has a 25-year concession with fixed capacity payments

mita29

1,064 posts

Posted by mita29 > 2021-11-30 21:43 | Report Abuse

What's your point? That doesn't mean the lower utilization rate was the main reason behind the dive. #facepalm

mita29

1,064 posts

Posted by mita29 > 2021-11-30 21:44 | Report Abuse

If you have no interest in Jaks stop spreading FUD here and fuk off lah, So annoying

14,184 posts

Posted by i3lurker > 2021-11-30 22:02 | Report Abuse

being paid ONLY capacity payments is totally different from "God's" calculation of 100% utilization.

Those with any business or accounting knowledge at all will understand.

the extra 15% utlization above current 85% is where the profits come from

so 30 sen could be possible
especially with the new PP gonna happen

mita29

1,064 posts

Posted by mita29 > 2021-11-30 23:28 | Report Abuse

30 sen? Tell me how did you come up with such a number. They already did half in June, https://klse.i3investor.com/additionalListing/4723/30-Jun-2021/29438_2303660845.jsp

I doubt the remaining PP alone would send it to 30 sen. You would need to have some sort of global stock market crash to do that loh, that means your stocks that you long would also dive.

Pray that omicron is really evil and destructive, then you and your kawan can cover at 30sen.

Aseng

8,633 posts

Posted by Aseng > 2021-11-30 23:55 | Report Abuse

KEY HIGHLIGHTS OF JAKS RECENT qr

• PBT surged by 59.6% year-on-year to RM27.5 million.
• PATAMI improved by 19.1% year-on-year to RM31.9 million.
• 9MFY2021 PBT returned to the black to RM66.7 million.
• 9MFY2021 PATAMI rose by more than 100% to RM80.4 million.

PETALING JAYA, 30 NOVEMBER 2021 – JAKS Resources Berhad (“JAKS” or the “Group”), a construction and power holdings company specialising in water and other infrastructure projects and energy development, today announced its third quarter results for the financial year ending 31 December 2021 (“Q3FY2021”).

For the current quarter under review, JAKS posted revenue of RM30.6 million. Profit before tax (“PBT”) was RM27.5 million, which is higher by 59.6% year-on-year, as compared to RM17.2 million generated in thecorresponding quarter last year.
The profit after tax and minority interests (“PATAMI”) was up by 19.1% to RM31.9 million versus RM26.7 million a year ago.
The increase in earnings was mainly attributed to its 30%share of profit in JAKS Hai Duong Power Company Limited, in relation to the 1,200-megawatts JAKS HaiDuong Power Plant in Vietnam, which amounted to RM43.4 million.

For the first nine months of the financial year, PBT was RM66.7 million against a loss before tax of RM8.0 million. PATAMI grew by more than 100% to RM80.4 million in contrast to the previous year’s corresponding period of RM22.7 million.
The significant earnings turnaround was also due to its share of
the profit from JAKS Hai Duong Power Company Limited of RM110.7 million, coupled with lower ‘otheroperating and administration’ expenses by RM35.0 million.

“We are pleased that our financial performances have been on track thus far. It is reassuring to see that our investment in JAKS Hai Duong Power Plant is reaping in the benefits as reflected in our improved financial performance since the commencement of its full operation in the beginning of this year where it is expected to provide a stable recurring income to JAKS’ earnings.

Meanwhile, our LSS4 renewable energy project in Penang is progressing well, where we have signed the power purchase agreement with TNB and also appointed an EPC contractor for the development of the project.

On the construction segment, we remain cautiously optimistic as we continue to selectively secure new infrastructure construction projects to replenish our order book. Although the outlook of the economy remains uncertain in view of the pandemic, we are hopeful of a full economic recovery following the transition to Phase Four of the National Recovery Plan which began on 18 October 2021 with the reopening of the economic and social sectors,” commented JAKS Chief Executive
Officer Andy Ang Lam Poah.

He further added that JAKS will continue to focus on its core infrastructure construction business and also strengthen its power-energy segment. The Group is exploring infrastructure related projects in Malaysia, as well as seeking out potential new renewable energy projects, including solar farms, hydroelectric dams and liquified natural gas (LNG) facilities in the Southeast Asia region, particularly in Malaysia and Vietnam.

Aseng

8,633 posts

Posted by Aseng > 2021-12-01 00:02 | Report Abuse

Share of profit from JHDP

Q2 FY2021 = RM37.5 M
Q3 FY2021 = RM 43.4M

is there any possibility for higher contribution from the power plant

read this :

https://klse.i3investor.com/blogs/jennylohsharing/2020-12-17-story-h1538277157-Jaks_Resources_The_Most_Reliable_Earnings_Guidance_for_JHDP.jsp

Aseng

8,633 posts

Posted by Aseng > 2021-12-01 00:09 | Report Abuse

Why I am so confident my investment in JAKS is right ?

1. The power plant is real
It had started contributing income to the company
From today onwards you will never see Jaks reporting a negative income any more .Based peer comparative valuation , the expected net income can be as high as RM196M for the stake of 30%. what about when it is 40% later?

what is the fair value ?
Based on the calculation done by DK , the fair value is RM1.50, derived after the conversion of all the warrants plus a 30M per year for domestic business loss for a period of 5 years
so it is a right decision for me to do nothing but enjoy my days talking to my good friends here for 2 years and expected to make a return of not less than 300%

2. The company is moving in the right direction . The future expansion into solar , hydro and LNG energy is timely and a right investment choice.. This will contribute another consistent income and further strengthening of the strong recurring income of the company. more important it is a very strong catalyst for the rerating of the current ESG score

3. based on the management guidance , disposal or discontinuation of the loss making domestic business is ongoing. any good news , anytime from now or after the lock down recovery will serve as a strong catalyst to push the shares price sky high

4. Is fund raising no good ?

it depends whether it is value accretive or value destructive . if your biased common sense is true , the IPO is the biggest value destructive and we have no good share to buy .

5. IS COMMON SENSE A TRUE KNOWLEDGE ?

Then recent speculation on the rising coal is a good example

THE FOLLOWING IS THE MANAGEMENT REPLY OF OUR QUERRY.

KUALA LUMPUR (Oct 11): JAKS Resources Bhd has given investors assurance that the recent fluctuations in coal prices will not impact the group’s profit generated from one of its power plants in Vietnam.

This is because coal prices for JAKS Hai Duong Power Plant in Vietnam are passed through to the off-taker, Vietnam Electricity, said JAKS chief executive officer Andy Ang Lam Poah in a statement on Monday.

“The coal supplied to the power plant is entirely sourced locally, via the coal supply arrangement signed with Vietnam National Coal-Mineral Industries Group, commonly known as Vinacomin, to ensure a stable supply of coal for 25 years. In light of this, JAKS is not exposed to the risk on the global coal price fluctuations,” he said.

Aren't these not good enough reasons to boost my confident . And this confidence is not built on sand but supported by valid facts.

shares trading is a game of confidence
but when the confidence must be derived from facts and data
then success is just a matter of time
so waiting is the only strategy

kayu

Posted by kayu > 2021-12-01 00:12 | Report Abuse

paper earning only, dont have real cash come in yet, never confirm its real profit

14,184 posts

Posted by i3lurker > 2021-12-01 00:55 | Report Abuse

I dun think this Jaks deal will be any different from other power plant deals I had seen before.

If the usual dividend payment takes 2 to 3 years later.

Then Jaks deal may take 4 to 6 years later.

of course, if "God" cult head does not understand then naturally I do not expect groupies to understand as well.

then sslee punya dream of Jaks running out of money might just come true.

The other possibility is that the power plant company can borrow money to pay dividends but I highly doubt it. If this happens, Jaks will get its dividend in 2022, quite soon.

hao091194

17 posts

Posted by hao091194 > 2021-12-01 08:07 | Report Abuse

You buy because of what? Earning? Dividend?
If you calculate the earning of the pp with pe 10, thats 80 sen

hao091194

17 posts

Posted by hao091194 > 2021-12-01 08:08 | Report Abuse

If local business not incur loss and get new project, thr might add 10-20 sen value

hao091194

17 posts

Posted by hao091194 > 2021-12-01 08:09 | Report Abuse

If want dividend after few year then u buy at the time they paid u might get it at RM 1, if they paid 5 sen dividend which mean 5%, or now buy then can get 10 %

hao091194

17 posts

Posted by hao091194 > 2021-12-01 08:10 | Report Abuse

When everybody know the dividend come soon, is it possible could get it at a low price?

14,184 posts

Posted by i3lurker > 2021-12-01 08:18 | Report Abuse

only people buying Jaks will be Malaysians and some say Vietnamese

National, Regional and International Funds will not be caught dead buying Jaks.
Those with existing shareholdings are selling on a steady basis.

All global coal power plants of any type are expected to be mandatory shut down before 2040 or refitted to gas.
Thats around 18 years from today.

btw Listed global coal power plants generally trade at below 6

firehawk

4,782 posts

Posted by firehawk > 2021-12-01 08:30 | Report Abuse

i3lurker being paid ONLY capacity payments is totally different from "God's" calculation of 100% utilization.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Thanks for the highlight ..... i think all their calculations before was base on maximum capacity ......

Maybe they do not know the capacity payments that gov agree to ... thus they didn;t use the figure.

56,242 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2021-12-01 08:34 |

6,462 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2021-12-01 08:40 | Report Abuse

If investment is so easy then you may as well buy Insas. NTA RM 3.23,
Cash and bank deposits RM 948.7 million and holding 535.79 million Inari share as one of its associate company

https://www.theedgemarkets.com/article/epf-ceases-be-substantial-shareholder-inari-amertron?type=malaysia
The largest shareholder of Inari is Insas Bhd, with an indirect interest of 14.52% or 535.79 million shares as of Nov 18.

qqq3333

2,263 posts

Posted by qqq3333 > 2021-12-01 08:52 | Report Abuse

jaks....all the promoters also cabut already. back for more private placements.

qqq3333

2,263 posts

Posted by qqq3333 > 2021-12-01 08:53 | Report Abuse

where is jaks guy who got private group?

paktua73

18,288 posts

Posted by paktua73 > 2021-12-01 09:07 |

firehawk

4,782 posts

Posted by firehawk > 2021-12-01 09:13 | Report Abuse

@Sslee pls check yr mssg

paktua73

18,288 posts

Posted by paktua73 > 2021-12-01 10:08 |

qqq3333

2,263 posts

Posted by qqq3333 > 2021-12-01 10:12 | Report Abuse

Ss. Bursa no light yet.

6,462 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2021-12-01 10:14 | Report Abuse

Haha qqq3,
Sometime you must try doing without light.

paktua73

18,288 posts

Posted by paktua73 > 2021-12-01 10:19 |

qqq3333

2,263 posts

Posted by qqq3333 > 2021-12-01 10:30 | Report Abuse

I don't do no light stuffs. I only do stuffs I can win

mita29

1,064 posts

Posted by mita29 > 2021-12-01 10:30 | Report Abuse

I believe the latest PP (129.52mil) was taken up by local/regional fund, 40% of which will be utilized for Solar project, the rest as working capital and acquisitions I also think the remaining PP will be taken up by fund again and some of which will be utilized for the natural gas project that will generate more value for shareholders.

Expected 2040 to mandatorily shut down all coal plant? That's not a realistic target given a few large nations like China & India were not willing to commit to the "phase out" plan.

PHASE DOWN not phase out.
https://www.reuters.com/business/cop/china-india-will-need-explain-coal-move-sharma-says-2021-11-14/

qqq3333

2,263 posts

Posted by qqq3333 > 2021-12-01 11:03 | Report Abuse

Looking at the wrong things...right approach, just ignore....China even wall Street is better hunting ground

qqq3333

2,263 posts

Posted by qqq3333 > 2021-12-01 11:06 | Report Abuse

Talk value investing stuffs don't work unless in right circumstances

qqq3333

2,263 posts

Posted by qqq3333 > 2021-12-01 11:07 | Report Abuse

Don't work in Malaysia Yet.

paktua73

18,288 posts

Posted by paktua73 > 2021-12-01 11:10 |

mita29

1,064 posts

Posted by mita29 > 2021-12-01 11:57 | Report Abuse

Oh by the way I think there is way to save your kids future.

"It's too late to focus on CO2"

Dr. Ye Tao ~ COP26 Glasgow ~ MEER:ReflEction
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=adZhB8jwKsY

Prof. Dr. Peter Wadhams on MEER:ReflEction ~ COP26 Glasgow
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Cwc276s9Fgl

When I see Dr Ye Tao, I see hope, do you see hope with him?

qqq3333

2,263 posts

Posted by qqq3333 > 2021-12-01 12:03 | Report Abuse

don't work........capitalism took over already.

qqq3333

2,263 posts

Posted by qqq3333 > 2021-12-01 12:05 | Report Abuse

best advise...buy a piece of land in Siberia.

mita29

1,064 posts

Posted by mita29 > 2021-12-01 12:28 | Report Abuse

As a start we can start painting our house the whitest color, better invest in paint company before it blows up? :)
https://www.theguardian.com/environment/2021/apr/15/whitest-ever-paint-could-help-cool-heating-earth-study-shows

qqq3333

2,263 posts

Posted by qqq3333 > 2021-12-01 12:47 | Report Abuse

by mita29 > Dec 1, 2021 12:28 PM | Report Abuse

As a star
=========

its helps but cannot change the big picture

mita29

1,064 posts

Posted by mita29 > 2021-12-01 12:59 | Report Abuse

Don't be so gloomy and pessimistic, engineers & scientists are WIRED to solve problem even though the odd are stacked against them, they will keep working hard to find a solution until SHTF. NEVER GIVE UP until the last moment.

qqq3333

2,263 posts

Posted by qqq3333 > 2021-12-01 13:05 | Report Abuse

Heroes never up

I don't want to be hero, I just want to align myself with what is natural and easy.

gunter

191 posts

Posted by gunter > 2021-12-01 14:45 | Report Abuse

good QR is an opportunity for ppl to take 1 or 2 bids profit ... knn this counter is for beggars

Posted by software guy > 2021-12-01 15:33 | Report Abuse

still long way to go.....this stock is not yet off HOOKED by RSS Team.

Sunny77

7 posts

Posted by Sunny77 > 2021-12-01 18:31 | Report Abuse

The COP26 agreement that major economies will phase out in 2030s and the rest of the world in 2040s for coal fire plants.

https://www.spglobal.com/platts/en/market-insights/latest-news/electric-power/110421-cop26-poland-vietnam-chile-among-signatories-to-phase-out-coal-power

6,462 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2021-12-06 10:05 | Report Abuse

All those 51% subsidiary companies have one common 49% shareholders and previously sold JIC to ICD for RM 1.00 and reported huge quarter profit but when come to 4th quarter reported huge impairment losses.

mita29

1,064 posts

Posted by mita29 > 2021-12-06 13:26 | Report Abuse

Sslee I will buy insas <80 cents.