TELEKOM MALAYSIA BHD

KLSE (MYR): TM (4863)

-0.15 (2.28%)

6.40 - 6.58

13 people like this.

9,932 comment(s). Last comment by Lai Peng Chin 1 hour ago

yourpal

71 posts

Posted by yourpal > 2012-08-07 12:46 | Report Abuse

hoyt, thanks for sharing. Say, u initially invested RM10K and the stock has gained 50% (gain is RM5K). Then you invested another RM10K at the higher price. Say, gain is now reduced to 25% (but the gain value is still RM5K). However you are investing more capital to get the same amount of gain. This is what bothers me with the averaging method. Pls help me understand.

yourpal

71 posts

Posted by yourpal > 2012-08-07 12:49 | Report Abuse

i think it doesn't matter anymore if we continuously invest over the long-run. The dividend income will be increasingly significant as we pump in more capital. I'm a newbie trying to learn :)

kcfan

1,881 posts

Posted by kcfan > 2012-08-07 23:38 | Report Abuse

The current technical rebound is likely to retest the previous high of 6.00 on after capital repayment.Keep it up....

kcfan

1,881 posts

Posted by kcfan > 2012-08-15 08:59 | Report Abuse

Let's go further "Team Malaysia". sebelum Raya.

gajah

204 posts

Posted by gajah > 2012-08-15 09:14 | Report Abuse

TM will go up when they announce their 2Q results and 1H dividend on 29Aug

kcfan

1,881 posts

Posted by kcfan > 2012-08-15 11:38 | Report Abuse

Team Malaysia won the games for today ? Scope 5 points as of now.Excellent.

kcfan

1,881 posts

Posted by kcfan > 2012-08-15 17:55 | Report Abuse

TM - NOTICE OF BOOK CLOSURE

Contents: Capital repayment to shareholders of RM0.30 per share ("Capital Repayment").

Kindly be advised of the following :

1) The above Company's securities will be traded and quoted [ "Ex - Repayment" ]
as from : [ 27 July 2012 ]

2) The last date of lodgement : [ 31 July 2012 ]

3) Date Payable : [ 15 August 2012 ]

Did you received the Capital Repayment who hold the share before Ex=repayment date as from 27July2012 ? Or any further advice ?

hoyt

92 posts

Posted by hoyt > 2012-08-15 19:36 | Report Abuse

Fully agree with you KC. Been ascending steadily since ex (27July). Those who reentered on that date easily scoop an additional 30sen till today. Havent received my payment yet. Maybank usually takes >5 days to bank in.

yourpal

71 posts

Posted by yourpal > 2012-08-16 06:19 | Report Abuse

Haven't received mine too. Usually paid exactly on the stated payment date.

kcfan

1,881 posts

Posted by kcfan > 2012-08-16 16:04 | Report Abuse

Besides of Digi ,TM also not bad as of now.Touch to RM6 today closing.

kcfan

1,881 posts

Posted by kcfan > 2012-08-16 21:01 | Report Abuse

Technically on long term uptrend.If break RM6.01 will more more better.Let's wait and see.

kcfan

1,881 posts

Posted by kcfan > 2012-08-17 22:23 | Report Abuse

Telekom Malaysia (TM, 4863, Main Board of Trade and service group), announced its latest submarine cable systems "Sunshine Malaysia" (Cahaya Malaysia) since August 20, carrying Internet traffic linking Malaysia to Japan Malaysia to Hong Kong networking will be the first quarter of 2013 to complete.
The sun commenced since January 2011, the Malaysian system, fiber-optic cable system is wholly owned by Telekom Malaysia, the system is one part of the Asian submarine cable high-speed system (ASE) to join Malaysia to Japan, Hong Kong, the Philippines network and Singapore.
Telekom Malaysia's global executive vice president Mohamed Lo Mai said in a statement, the launch of the latest submarine cable systems very encouraging, this is not just Telekom Malaysia is the Malaysian telecommunications industry milestone.
Sunshine Malaysia Telekom Malaysia's largest investment to date in a single international submarine cable system.
Telekom Malaysia is currently owned and leased more than 10 submarine cable systems. (Sin Chew Jit Poh / Finance)

kcfan

1,881 posts

Posted by kcfan > 2012-08-22 09:42 | Report Abuse

Possible to break RM6 ?

ledzepp

372 posts

Posted by ledzepp > 2012-08-22 09:58 | Report Abuse

Sure break 6.00. Market leader in broadband for retail and wholesale market. Broadband a necessity in life. Competitors do not have the fiber, have to buy from TM. Results next thursday. Half year dividend at least 10sen. Those who sold and bought back when price adjusted for capital repayment would have made 60 sen at least. Lucky for those who already have TM in their portfolio.

kcfan

1,881 posts

Posted by kcfan > 2012-08-22 21:15 | Report Abuse

Thanks ledzepp on hard sell on TM.Expecting high improving on earning forecast and brighter outlook on bz progress.High dividend yield declaration on interm period.Is high expectation on my hope.Let's wait on the coming announcement soon.

Posted by amsharazzi > 2012-08-23 10:04 | Report Abuse

Reached 6 = Will continue to catch up alongwith Maxis & Axiata... Just sharing that DIGI might also "bull"ing up to 6... What say U?

kcfan

1,881 posts

Posted by kcfan > 2012-08-24 23:27 | Report Abuse

Capital repayment RM0.30 per share in my pocket already.How about you ?

hoyt

92 posts

Posted by hoyt > 2012-08-26 10:31 | Report Abuse

Same here. TQ TM. Love this cap repayment thing :D

Posted by liew kimguan > 2012-08-26 10:55 | Report Abuse

actually i refer TM annual report for past few years, their profit margin around 10% and not so attractive compare to other similar field of competitor like Maxis (around 28%), Digi (around 21%) and Axiata (around 18%)

kcfan

1,881 posts

Posted by kcfan > 2012-08-27 13:53 | Report Abuse

What are your expectation on coming TM earning announcement ???

kcfan

1,881 posts

Posted by kcfan > 2012-08-28 21:39 | Report Abuse

Telekom Malaysia
Dialing a Larger Number
We are raising our FY12/13 core earnings forecasts for TM by 22-24% on the back of (i) a lower projected depreciation expense, (iii) higher growth assumed for its ICT related business (BPO and cloud computing projects under VADS), (iii) the continuing robust Unifi take-up, and (iv) an improved margin outlook as HSBB spending eases. Despite the 27% YTD share price gain, which has been driven by investors flocking to safer haven investments, we believe there is further upside from the likelihood of better earnings going forward and an increase in TM’s dividend payout. Our FV is upgraded to RM7.00, from RM5.90 previously, based on revised 7x FY13 EV/EBITDA (6x previously). TM remains our top Malaysian
telco pick.
(From OSK.FV is RM7.00)

hoyt

92 posts

Posted by hoyt > 2012-08-28 22:49 | Report Abuse

Promising projections indeed. Lets see the 1H results tomorrow. >10sens dividend?

ledzepp

372 posts

Posted by ledzepp > 2012-08-28 23:15 | Report Abuse

How's this for a strategy - sell on H1 results, buy back ex dividend?

kcfan

1,881 posts

Posted by kcfan > 2012-08-28 23:38 | Report Abuse

On my opinion,the best way to maximize your long term investment returns is to optimize your buy and hold stock strategy. To do this, will need to understand the difference between growth and value stocks.For sure TM is the growth and value stock.Right ?

ledzepp

372 posts

Posted by ledzepp > 2012-08-29 05:40 | Report Abuse

Are you saying keep TM as a core stock in the portfolio? But at some point you've got to take profit. It's a problem to get the perfect timing. I've sold before only for it to go higher. Regret regret. Now I look for sudden dips to enter such as last adjustment for cap repayment or ex-dividend or market meltdown.

hoyt

92 posts

Posted by hoyt > 2012-08-29 12:48 | Report Abuse

To me TM is for long term holding. Have taken profit before but only seeing it inches up progressively. There are small dips now and then but as long as its trending up its ok to enter. Will be an option to reenter after ex div.

passerby

2,877 posts

Posted by passerby > 2012-08-29 18:22 | Report Abuse

Dividend 9.8 sen...
Result here : http://www.bursamalaysia.com/market/listed-companies/company-announcements/1049865

kcfan

1,881 posts

Posted by kcfan > 2012-08-29 20:49 | Report Abuse

TM DELIVERS SOLID ALL ROUND 1H 2012 PERFORMANCE: REVENUE GROWTH OF
9.7% TO RM4.8 BILLION; PROFIT DOUBLES TO RM599 MILLION FOR 1H 2012
Strong PATAMI growth of 106.2% YTD to RM599.1 million; Normalised PATAMI improved 57.8%

EBITDA improved 6.9% YTD to RM1.58 billion; Normalised EBITDA margin stood at 32.3%

Broadband customers increased 9.9% YoY to 2.011 million, maintaining leadership position.

Internet revenue growth of 21.7%

UniFi take up remains strong at 33% with more than 420,000 customers activated to date.

Declares single-tier interim dividend of 9.8 sen per share

shirley1

1,141 posts

Posted by shirley1 > 2012-08-29 20:57 | Report Abuse

Your broadband champion. Are you unified yet ?

ledzepp

372 posts

Posted by ledzepp > 2012-08-29 21:12 | Report Abuse

TM was once almost a dodo, relying on voice revenue when everyone switched to mobile. Similar to JCY banking on HDD instead of flash memory. But Unifi transformed the company. I got myself the 20Mbps package. Everything moves so fast

kcfan

1,881 posts

Posted by kcfan > 2012-08-30 09:18 | Report Abuse

Break year record high after capital repayment on good earning announcement.Excellent growth and value counter.

zack_liza

1,560 posts

Posted by zack_liza > 2012-08-30 10:22 | Report Abuse

GOOD PERFORMANCE AFTER CAPITAL REPAYMENT ON 27/7/2012.DOWN AT RM5.66 (CLOSED PRICE) ON 27/7/2012AND NOW RM6.08 TODAY.ONE MONTH LATER PROFIT PERSHARE RM0.42.. PLUS CUM DIV RM0.098 ON 12/9/2012.

yourpal

71 posts

Posted by yourpal > 2012-08-30 10:40 | Report Abuse

led zeppelin, there are people who after they buy shares they wish it won't go down. After they sell shares, they wish it won't go up. think about it, possible? invest as per your investment objective, there be no regret. just my 2cents

shirley1

1,141 posts

Posted by shirley1 > 2012-08-31 18:19 | Report Abuse

Anyone here with Maybank account ? Have the capital repayment bank into the account ? Thank in advance.

shirley1

1,141 posts

Posted by shirley1 > 2012-08-31 18:23 | Report Abuse

Kcfan, yours is it Maybank account. ? Thanks

hoyt

92 posts

Posted by hoyt > 2012-08-31 20:40 | Report Abuse

shirley1: already in Maybank ac on 22/8

shirley1

1,141 posts

Posted by shirley1 > 2012-09-01 10:10 | Report Abuse

Thank you hoyt. They havent transfer to my account yet, will call the registrar to check.

kcfan

1,881 posts

Posted by kcfan > 2012-09-01 14:56 | Report Abuse

Direct debited to my eboking investment account.You have to check it on situation understanding.Take your time please.

onekane

8 posts

Posted by onekane > 2012-09-02 21:29 | Report Abuse

Normally I get TM dividend direct debited to my account but for this capital repayment, they posted a cheque to me.

josh

311 posts

Posted by josh > 2012-09-03 11:19 | Report Abuse

Iphone 5 will launch this October 2012, more ppl will change to MAXIS and DIGI!! Let's buy MAXIS and DIGI ;)

kcfan

1,881 posts

Posted by kcfan > 2012-09-03 14:18 | Report Abuse

Can consider ECS counter on main supplier of top seller smartphone stes and ICT equipment for the local Telco sector user as Digi.maxis.celcom and other.

shirley1

1,141 posts

Posted by shirley1 > 2012-09-03 15:07 | Report Abuse

above 6.2 now.

kcfan

1,881 posts

Posted by kcfan > 2012-09-03 15:35 | Report Abuse

Yes.I see it.Good is always to be best.Congrat all TM share holder.

Posted by KC Loh > 2012-09-03 20:00 | Report Abuse

OTK...OTK...hehe

kcfan

1,881 posts

Posted by kcfan > 2012-09-03 20:16 | Report Abuse

Bro kc,I use your words"steady steady".Let's we waiting for bear come and targeting to buy on potential grow and value stocks.ok

Posted by KC Loh > 2012-09-03 20:17 | Report Abuse

Sure bro. Must work out a strategem! :)

kcfan

1,881 posts

Posted by kcfan > 2012-09-03 20:25 | Report Abuse

Sure with you !

Posted by KC Loh > 2012-09-03 20:32 | Report Abuse

We do together and more OTK! LoL

kenlee

2,808 posts

Posted by kenlee > 2012-09-03 23:09 | Report Abuse

still can enter ? haha

kcfan

1,881 posts

Posted by kcfan > 2012-09-04 09:27 | Report Abuse

Good opening day a head.Above RM6.20 again.