TELEKOM MALAYSIA BHD

KLSE (MYR): TM (4863)

-0.15 (2.28%)

6.40 - 6.58

13 people like this.

9,931 comment(s). Last comment by MrPandaPanda 23 hours ago

yonex

39 posts

Posted by yonex > 2013-02-26 00:40 | Report Abuse

result will out on 1/3/2013. ('.')v

soosuan

122 posts

Posted by soosuan > 2013-02-27 14:20 | Report Abuse

declared 12.2 cts dividend today!

Mat Cendana

2,336 posts

Posted by Mat Cendana > 2013-02-27 14:23 | Report Abuse

That's great! Hopefully it will go on an upswing and move towards 6.00 again. If it does, there should be enough momentum to make some profit from the warrants... -CU especially.

soosuan

122 posts

Posted by soosuan > 2013-02-27 14:38 | Report Abuse

Hope so, Mat Cendana! Wish you (and me) all the best!!This share has been very consistent in its dividend payments. A good share to keep..

Mat Cendana

2,336 posts

Posted by Mat Cendana > 2013-02-27 14:43 | Report Abuse

For institutions, when a company gives this kind of dividend, they HAVE to buy... especially if they had sold earlier. No signs yet of them coming in like yesterday - maybe they don't want the price to go up too high (and thereby having to pay more). But once the upward momentum starts, TM - like the other telco counters - will go up and up. This is one of those counters which you simply must have regardless of the GE Factor or whatever.

nubhan .

892 posts

Posted by nubhan . > 2013-02-27 14:44 | Report Abuse

ohhh, no wonder tm-cu gaining interest.

Posted by Fat Cat Tim Buddy > 2013-02-27 14:57 | Report Abuse

anyone with a rational brain also wont buy tm-cu now, even if it is 1 cent.

7 more months before expire, exercise price is RM 6 , convert ratio is 4 : 1

that means, even if you buy the tm-cu at 1 cents, tm mother share have to higher than RM 6.04 for you to profit from issuer.

TM release their quarter report at yesterday, the quarter profit is lower than the last corresponding quarter.

now tm trade at around 5.3, and that is some 70 more cents to catch up, with GE around the corner, the price might tumble even more.

so, buying tm-cu now is a sure losing investment.

better believe fat cat this time.

Posted by kcchongnz > 2013-02-27 15:57 | Report Abuse

MC, my call warrant kaki (forgot myself a gambler too, called other people gambler pulak), how is your call warrant punting doing? Aiyah market sentiment not conducive lah. My call warrants mostly koyak already. But never mind lah, can we still discuss about TM call warrants? The table below shows some information about some CW of TM.

Warrants Price Expiry date Premium Gearing
CT 0.080 31/07/2013 4.3% 14.0
CU 0.030 30/09/2013 14.8% 44.4
CV 0.050 26/08/2013 18.2% 17.8

I can see why you kaki judi like CU, high gearing. But I prefer CT with lower premium as shown.

Uly Price 5.33 5.47 5.56 6.12 6.38 7.00
TM 0.0% 2.6% 4.3% 15% 20% 31%
CT -60.3% -23.5% 0.2% 148% 216% 379%
CU -100.0% -100.0% -100.0% 0% 217% 733%
CV -100.0% -100.0% -100.0% -60% 27% 233%

From the table above, you would be able to see why I prefer CT, can't you? At expiry date, for CU to break even if you buy it at 3 sen now, TM has to rise up to 6.12 from 5.33 now, or 15% in 7 months. Is it probable? I would say it is reasonably possible which I would explain later. But if you buy CT at 8 sen now and for CT to break even at expiry, TM just need to go up to 5.56, or just 4.3% in 5 months which is a lot more probable. Whereas TM at 5.56, you still lose all your money in CU. Only if TM can rise up above 20%, or 6.38, then the payoff for CU is higher, even double if TM can go up to 7.00 as shown. So this high gearing of CU is a double-edge sword, and at this type of situation now, I think that edge is a sharp one. So this is actually a risk-reward considerations.

Can TM go up by 15%, 20%, or even 30%? It is hard especially of the election fear now. But after that nobody knows. If one looks at the price chart of TM, he can see TM was at its high at 6.30 in last October, and four months later, it is only 5.33 now, for a drop of about 1.00. Who can for sure say TM can never go up by 70 sen in seven months time in reverse, or even 1.00? There are a lot of fat tail events in equity investment, you know. So if fei mau wants to sell his TM CU at 1 sen, I will grab all. Any offer, fei mau?

Posted by Fat Cat Tim Buddy > 2013-02-27 16:03 | Report Abuse

fei mau not touch call warrant, he dont eat rotten fish.

bluebird

87 posts

Posted by bluebird > 2013-02-27 16:13 | Report Abuse

lol, tua pui miao, only "sultan" & "soon hock " fish in his menu. other fish tarak pandang .kikikikiki

if can reach 1 sen, it is as good as coffin warrant already...better donate your excess $$$ to charity...

azta12

5,594 posts

Posted by azta12 > 2013-02-27 17:41 | Report Abuse

result good, cash 3.7 bil,awaiting dividend announcement. http://www.theedgemalaysia.com/business-news/231713-tm-targets-growth-of-6-in-revenue-3-in-profit-in-fy13.html

Mat Cendana

2,336 posts

Posted by Mat Cendana > 2013-02-27 18:03 | Report Abuse

@kcchongnz, I don't have too many CWs or even ordinary shares right now due to this GE Factor thing discouraging me from being more committed. But I did buy a few positions just in case the market springs a surprise and I don't want to go chasing them. The best is AirAsia-CY - didn't expect the mother to go this much in one day. But it did. Gamuda-CX - I actually managed to `makan' this one three times Heheh! MRCB-CN Bought at 0.01, still holding because I'm expecting something to happen. TM-CU average at 0.03 - this one still has seven month left to expiry so one can reasonably expect something to happen in between then. But I have one real loser in my portfolio: Apple-C6. Bought this donkey at 0.04 and it's now 0.005.

Posted by quyen850906 > 2013-03-13 13:37 | Report Abuse

y this stock drop

rupert

281 posts

Posted by rupert > 2013-03-16 00:23 | Report Abuse

Steady lah....this one must buy keep for GE one!

shirley1

1,141 posts

Posted by shirley1 > 2013-04-11 09:09 | Report Abuse

money.. money.. come pls...

Posted by jay_dreamerz > 2013-04-11 15:03 | Report Abuse

MA100 broken..any news?

iafx

4,632 posts

Posted by iafx > 2013-04-11 15:04 | Report Abuse

today a telecom counters' day :D

joncsk

100 posts

Posted by joncsk > 2013-04-12 11:48 | Report Abuse

can still go in for this counter??

kerengga

345 posts

Posted by kerengga > 2013-04-12 15:12 | Report Abuse

HOOWAAA..12.2 sen..oklaa...

shirley1

1,141 posts

Posted by shirley1 > 2013-04-17 10:00 | Report Abuse

加油 加油 加油

Posted by lotsofmoney > 2013-04-17 10:11 | Report Abuse

If you examine your Telekom bills, you will find all sorts of charges and the excuse is they are standard add-ons unless you write in to say you do not want the extras. Legally it is wrong to simply charge a customer to generate profit. Hopefully, some sensible lawyers will take on this sort of case and really teach the big bully a lesson they will never forget.

shirley1

1,141 posts

Posted by shirley1 > 2013-05-06 21:19 | Report Abuse

ex on 8 May ...

shirley1

1,141 posts

Posted by shirley1 > 2013-05-10 15:57 | Report Abuse

still hibernating ?

Posted by Yao Kang > 2013-05-10 20:07 | Report Abuse

I am really impress. HyppTV provide the world class entertainment video channel as low as RM 1/day. Looking forward to this year financial earning report.

fishbone

120 posts

Posted by fishbone > 2013-05-13 20:27 | Report Abuse

why its price doesn't move?

Feimaw

1,161 posts

Posted by Feimaw > 2013-05-13 20:34 | Report Abuse

Still zzzzzzzzz mah

Posted by Yao Kang > 2013-05-14 17:41 | Report Abuse

I heard,because the gov plan to reduce 20% of the internet fees. But I got confidence the price will move,I can seeTM is changing their business model.

fishbone

120 posts

Posted by fishbone > 2013-05-14 22:35 | Report Abuse

Agree. Good dividend yield renders it a defensive stock.

shirley1

1,141 posts

Posted by shirley1 > 2013-05-14 22:44 | Report Abuse

next month window dressing.. wait for big fish to come, let hope they come..

necro

4,726 posts

Posted by necro > 2013-05-14 22:48 | Report Abuse

Shirley next month is favourable to BLUE CHIPS...
Focus2...

shirley1

1,141 posts

Posted by shirley1 > 2013-05-14 22:51 | Report Abuse

Haha okok let hope they come for their year end bonus...

Amir Is

Posted by Amir Is > 2013-05-15 08:46 | Report Abuse

if don't move, just hold lah, at least dividen coming...

5,851 posts

Posted by yfchong > 2013-05-16 14:21 | Report Abuse

still solid ah...

azie99

52 posts

Posted by azie99 > 2013-05-16 22:42 | Report Abuse

This is a long term counter.. I've been enjoying the dividend for how many years already :-)

Hustle

3,615 posts

Posted by Hustle > 2013-05-17 13:03 | Report Abuse

Accumulate when discount :) dividend soon

Posted by amsharazzi > 2013-05-20 06:23 | Report Abuse

By trend of previous years, between now till July, there's one more 'Entitlement' to be announced... Hopefully its another Capital_Distribution/Repayment of .30!

nubhan .

892 posts

Posted by nubhan . > 2013-05-20 08:53 | Report Abuse

slow nya ini TM

shirley1

1,141 posts

Posted by shirley1 > 2013-05-20 15:45 | Report Abuse

knock knock

Bryan Ng

107 posts

Posted by Bryan Ng > 2013-05-21 12:24 | Report Abuse

Any idea ... Wats the entry price ?

soosuan

122 posts

Posted by soosuan > 2013-05-21 13:30 | Report Abuse

Axie99,agree with you 100% this is a very good long term counter to keep. They consistently give dividends and also capital repayment. Hopefully, next change! I bought 3 years ago, and made more than 100% returns already, inclusive of dividends and capital repayment and share price increase. Never disappoint long term investors! Just invest and have good sleep!

azie99

52 posts

Posted by azie99 > 2013-05-27 21:03 | Report Abuse

Received 12.2c div today...

dr_jogho

486 posts

Posted by dr_jogho > 2013-05-27 22:55 | Report Abuse

entry price price now rm5.45

Posted by behindthescene > 2013-05-28 22:10 | Report Abuse

amanahraya continue to collect the mothers share. hmmmmm.

Posted by behindthescene > 2013-05-30 20:02 | Report Abuse

good quarter?

shirley1

1,141 posts

Posted by shirley1 > 2013-05-30 20:10 | Report Abuse

I think only huh.. no harm keeping..

azie99

52 posts

Posted by azie99 > 2013-06-01 17:16 | Report Abuse

Long term investor no need to worry about TM

Bryan Ng

107 posts

Posted by Bryan Ng > 2013-06-03 13:33 | Report Abuse

Seems no catalyst to push it up .....

dr_jogho

486 posts

Posted by dr_jogho > 2013-06-05 11:44 | Report Abuse

agreed with azie99

Posted by Darren Loke > 2013-06-05 14:57 | Report Abuse

clearly Amanah and EPF is keeping it flat at the moment. Volume is still there but price stalling. Guess we are subjected to their will after all.