CAPITAL A BERHAD

KLSE (MYR): CAPITALA (5099)

+0.005 (0.68%)

0.73 - 0.755

127 people like this.

167,774 comment(s). Last comment by Mabel 5 hours ago

Victor Yong

8,271 posts

Posted by Victor Yong > 2020-05-14 14:49 | Report Abuse

but should consider to spin off BigPay after getting the online bank licence. get the money in first while waiting for merger, govt's help, etc.

:p

sampooler

659 posts

Posted by sampooler > 2020-05-14 14:49 | Report Abuse

ourfood is like grabfood, etc but more aggressive because it promote the customer food as well.

www.ourfood.my

Victor Yong

8,271 posts

Posted by Victor Yong > 2020-05-14 14:50 | Report Abuse

regarding flying again, my coming flights are in nov and dec 2020. expecting back to normal.. nobody knows the future. :)

sampooler

659 posts

Posted by sampooler > 2020-05-14 14:56 | Report Abuse

ourfood is like food trading platform. it is very big project... if success will become another alibaba... if fail, nothing to loss, just go back to focus on airlines

Victor Yong

8,271 posts

Posted by Victor Yong > 2020-05-14 15:13 | Report Abuse

pn govt could waive all taxes related to air tickets for MAS, Airasia, Malindo till Dec 2020.

Victor Yong

8,271 posts

Posted by Victor Yong > 2020-05-14 15:14 | Report Abuse

surely, people will fly again but in stages. biz could use zoom, but some meeting with clients still require face2face meeting, etc. sending staff out for regional assignments.

Victor Yong

8,271 posts

Posted by Victor Yong > 2020-05-14 15:18 | Report Abuse

with this crisis, if airasia is able to survive, it will become leaner and lower cost in terms of manpower, etc

Airasia has valuable asset which the data of its passengers........... Big Data for many biz

Victor Yong

8,271 posts

Posted by Victor Yong > 2020-05-14 15:20 | Report Abuse

another boost soon. airasia gets online bank licence :)

Victor Yong

8,271 posts

Posted by Victor Yong > 2020-05-14 15:21 | Report Abuse

BigPay with its app could evolve like kipple pay too

Victor Yong

8,271 posts

Posted by Victor Yong > 2020-05-14 15:21 | Report Abuse

BigPay has bigger potential than GPacket because airasia is supported with Big Data from all its passengers

Victor Yong

8,271 posts

Posted by Victor Yong > 2020-05-14 15:22 | Report Abuse

But investors must have patience and holding power. otherwise, macam berjudi sebagai trader

ocpd

762 posts

Posted by ocpd > 2020-05-14 15:32 | Report Abuse

Delusion in AA is starting to take over, pls keep buying more.

bahai4453

2,297 posts

Posted by bahai4453 > 2020-05-14 15:32 | Report Abuse

yes you are right, I hold my existing shares and waiting for 0.50.

ocpd

762 posts

Posted by ocpd > 2020-05-14 15:44 | Report Abuse

Thai gov is letting Thai Airway go under ... https://www.bangkokpost.com/business/1916860/pm-says-thai-plan-not-yet-on-cabinet-agenda

ocpd

762 posts

Posted by ocpd > 2020-05-14 15:47 | Report Abuse

@bahai make sure you have enough money when AA announces rights issues next quarter. And that time shares will automatically become 0.50, you can buy as much as want. Fat uncle will thank you for your support.

ocpd

762 posts

Posted by ocpd > 2020-05-14 15:55 | Report Abuse

But the above is the best case scenario, only if kimchi wife releases fat uncle’s balls. Otherwise, AA will go under, and shareholders equity wiped out.

28,393 posts

Posted by mf > 2020-05-14 15:55 | Report Abuse

sell

Victor Yong

8,271 posts

Posted by Victor Yong > 2020-05-14 16:07 | Report Abuse

singapore govt was so fast to help the airlines industry. pn govt? :)

Singapore extends support for aviation industry amid coronavirus outbreak
By Cirium
Singapore is rolling out a six-month support package for the country’s aviation industry, with an aim of safeguarding Changi Airport’s air connectivity, reducing business costs, and protecting jobs, amid the coronavirus outbreak that has affected airlines worldwide.

The S$112 million ($80.5 million) package will comprise rebates on aircraft landing and parking charges, assistance to ground handling agents, and rental rebates for shops and cargo agents at Changi Airport, says Singapore’s finance minister Heng Swee Keat, while announcing the country’s budget plan for fiscal 2020, which begins on 1 April.

Airlines that had operated scheduled passenger flights between China and Singapore before the coronavirus outbreak will receive landing credits, Heng says, while those that continue to operate flights to China amid the ongoing outbreak will receive rebates on their landing charges.

A full rebate on parking charges is being extended to all scheduled passenger flights to Singapore. In addition, a 10% landing charge rebate will also be given to all freighter carriers into Singapore, and applied to all scheduled passenger flights from Southeast Asia to Singapore.

Singapore carriers that have obtained a new or renewed certificate of airworthiness for their aircraft from the Civil Aviation Authority of Singapore (CAAS) during fiscal year 2019 will receive a 50% rebate on regulatory fees.

A planned 1% annual increase in landing, parking and aerobridge charges affecting all operators, which was due to start on 1 April, will also be waived off for a six-month period.

The finance ministry adds the package, which is being co-funded by the government, Changi Airport Group, and the CAAS, “will provide immediate relief to affected companies during the [coronavirus] outbreak period”.

The support package comes at a time when the coronavirus outbreak has led to a cancellation of more than 80% of scheduled flights between Singapore and China, says Singapore’s transport ministry.

“There are now fewer than 80 services [to China] per week, compared with over 400 prior to the outbreak. Passenger traffic has dropped,” the ministry was quoted as saying in an 18 February report from Singaporean newspaper Today.

This has also led to a decline in traffic from other regions to Singapore, it adds.

Hours before the budget plan was announced, Singapore Airlines said it will selectively cut flights to points outside of China for the next three months, including those to parts of Asia-Pacific, Europe, the Middle East, and the United States.

Victor Yong

8,271 posts

Posted by Victor Yong > 2020-05-14 16:09 | Report Abuse

pn govt is coming to rescue them :)

AirAsia, Malaysia Airlines merger an option as Covid-19 hits ...www.theedgemarkets.com › article › airasia-malaysia-ai...
Apr 17, 2020 - ... state carrier Malaysia Airlines Bhd with budget airline AirAsia Group Bhd is ... minister Datuk Seri Mohamed Azmin Ali told Reuters on Friday.

Gekzj

138 posts

Posted by Gekzj > 2020-05-14 16:13 | Report Abuse

MCO is killing airline industry. Should allow passenger travel with special condition such as business trip, working aboard, family visit, etc solid reason or open travel at own risk.

Victor Yong

8,271 posts

Posted by Victor Yong > 2020-05-14 16:16 | Report Abuse

go for IPO, Big Pay should fetch good valuation.

AIRASIA’s financial services venture, BigPay, will soon increase its offerings to include loans and remittances in its maiden step towards becoming the region’s largest financial institution operating on a challenger bank model.

BigPay already has the regulatory go-ahead to offer these services in Malaysia, says group CEO and co-founder Chris Davison in an interview. The rollout will come amidst plans to launch its services in Singapore by year-end.

“We already have a lending licence and we’re working on operationalising it ... by the end of the year, we’ll be offering loans. Remittance is coming soon ... in the next few months,” Davison tells The Edge.

“At that point, we’ll be very similar to a bank, except we have no branches and (are) built entirely on your smartphone,” he adds. “This means we can ship faster, better, more secure and customer-friendly products at a lower cost.”

The wider range of offerings is a much-anticipated next step for BigPay, which has grown rapidly since its Malaysian launch in January last year. The launch came less than a year after its beta trial of under 1,000 users, says Davison.

AirAsia Group Bhd (AAGB), the flagship listed vehicle of the budget airline group, became BigPay’s largest investor after the start-up pitched and presented its idea to the board in 2016.

“We saw the early emergence of challenger or new banks in London, with many people disenfranchised from access to banks, and saw the opportunity to bring this model to Southeast Asia,” says Davison, who hails from London where he previously worked in financial services.

Last Thursday, Bursa Malaysia-listed AAGB closed at RM1.83, declining 5.35% over the past 12 months. Its market capitalisation was roughly RM6.12 billion.

AAGB’s management has long decried the market’s zero value pegging of its non-airline businesses — ranging from BigPay to logistics venture Teleport — which seek to leverage its trove of passenger data. Last year, AAGB decided to reorganise its non-airline businesses into a single entity called RedBeat Ventures.

“We [BigPay] are probably worth about a third of AirAsia’s market capitalisation right now,” Davison muses, citing enquiries from private investors interested in the company, but was tight-lipped on other financial details.

“If we wanted, we could be profitable by the end of this year,” he replies when asked if BigPay is in the black — an indication that the company is still investing heavily in scaling up its operations.

As with any other tech company seeking a dominant position in Southeast Asia, large upfront investment to create a product that fits the market is a prerequisite.

“Bluntly, we’re not spending a lot of money on marketing discounts and promotions compared with other companies. We have a lot of customers and a lot of transaction volume and we’ve managed to achieve this with relatively little marketing, but due to a focus on product and customer experience,” he states.

BigPay began operating as essentially an e-wallet for users to store their cash. A key differentiator, however, is its tie-up with MasterCard for payment solutions, which grants access to over 35 million merchants globally.

New users sign up to use BigPay by downloading its mobile app, then going through a registration process that includes recording a short video for verification purposes.

A BigPay card is later mailed to the user, although transactions can take place via the app or the card. Up to July this year, sign-ups had exceeded 750,000 and transactional volume has been growing 20% month on month.

For perspective, there were 9.2 million principal credit cards in circulation as at May 31 , according to Bank Negara Malaysia data. In the same month, 41.9 million credit card transactions were recorded with total domestic purchases by local cardholders amounting to RM10.32 billion, and purchases abroad, RM1.48 billion.

Davison declines to disclose the number of transactions undertaken by BigPay so far, or the total value.

According to the central bank’s website, BigPay is one of 41 non-bank e-money issuers — essentially a stored-value facility provider. Twenty-five banks are listed as credit card issuers, and 29 banks for issuance of debit cards.

“Practically, prepaid and debit are relatively similar. What really makes the difference is what you do with it,” says Davison.

The group CEO feels the one million threshold for signups could be reached by December. According to him, the number of signups thus far puts BigPay well ahead of competing offerings by major conventional banks. “The majority of our volume is domestic and non-travel related, highlighting that we are a top e-wallet of choice for everyday use for many Malaysians.”

A key factor in attracting signups has been word of its relatively cheaper foreign exchange rates. Davison explains, “We do not charge any mark-up fees on currency exchange rates, unlike banks that charge from 2%

Victor Yong

8,271 posts

Posted by Victor Yong > 2020-05-14 16:17 | Report Abuse

leasing planes, less biz, lease less plane, a good proposition too. flexibility of the lease agreement, tak tau :)

Victor Yong

8,271 posts

Posted by Victor Yong > 2020-05-14 16:18 | Report Abuse

endgame for BigPay? :p

Similarly, BigPay does not charge its users fees, except for ATM withdrawals. Its income is derived from a proportion of the transaction fee charged to merchants, plus interest of about 2% gained by parking users’ money in repurchase agreements or repo.

“Money from our customers sits in a segregated trust account and we’re allowed to put it in an overnight repo. We are trying to reduce or remove fees where we can, and where we cannot, be upfront and transparent on what we charge for, and why,” he adds.

Approximately two-thirds of BigPay transactions come from domestic spending while the rest is international. Most of its users are under 35 years of age.

Surprisingly, AirAsia-related transactions only represent roughly a tenth of its overall transaction volume, Davison discloses. This is despite anecdotal accounts of AirAsia imposing an additional charge on passengers who make booking payments online without using BigPay, which could have been expected to push many passengers to sign up for the service.

With a Singapore expansion looming and more offerings for Malaysian users, what is the endgame for BigPay?

ocpd

762 posts

Posted by ocpd > 2020-05-14 16:23 | Report Abuse

Singapore Airlines issued rights issues. Is AA ready to do that? BigPay ipo? You must be delusional. No one uses bigpay outside booking air tickets idiots! Faster go get your meds from shrink, your symptoms are getting out of control.

ocpd

762 posts

Posted by ocpd > 2020-05-14 16:24 | Report Abuse

By the way, how much have you lost for you to lose your mind like that?

bahai4453

2,297 posts

Posted by bahai4453 > 2020-05-14 16:56 | Report Abuse

Just follow SIA, Singapore government is smarter than us. That is why 1.00 dollars is equal to RM 3.00+. Our side dont strictly follow DJ index. Our slogan is "Goreng and Goreng ". Hahahah.... Sorry if I said some wrong and make your angry.

Zuliana

5,395 posts

Posted by Zuliana > 2020-05-14 18:20 | Report Abuse

thivas81 ///so who buy airasia unlimited pass untung lah.no need worried ticket price go up
14/05/2020 8:36 AM

You r clever to buy AA unlimited pass..... We have extended the travel period of the AirAsia Unlimited Pass to 30 June 2021. We hope this gives you more time to prepare for your travels when the time is right. Stay tuned for more travel updates.

Air ticket for this year and next year 2021 are going to be expensive.
People will travel by air, when they realise Covid is here to stay forever la according to WHO. WHO said Covid is here to stay forever la. So people forever avoid air traveling???

I already bought the extended the travel period of the AirAsia Unlimited Pass to 30 June 2021. Nanti mahu air travel, mahal ya.... Jangan marah waktu air ticket mahal ya.

Zuliana

5,395 posts

Posted by Zuliana > 2020-05-14 18:30 | Report Abuse

Next year until June 2021, AA shareholders will scold AA bcos AA will still rugi or bleeding bcos of the extended the travel period of the AirAsia Unlimited Pass to 30 June 2021.

Now, people here still say who need to buy the extended the travel period of the AirAsia Unlimited Pass to 30 June 2021 bcos of Covid.

Zuliana

5,395 posts

Posted by Zuliana > 2020-05-14 18:31 | Report Abuse

WHO said Covid is here to stay forever la. So people forever avoid air traveling???

DannyArcher

1,258 posts

Posted by DannyArcher > 2020-05-14 18:45 | Report Abuse

not avoid air traveling, it will be more expensive and troublesome.

bahai4453

2,297 posts

Posted by bahai4453 > 2020-05-14 18:50 | Report Abuse

No matter how expensive a budget airline like AA, she still cheaper than others. Anyway I still waiting for my dream to come true. Buy at 0.50 and let go at 1.00, just a 50% gain. I'm not greedy.

newbie1111

1,842 posts

Posted by newbie1111 > 2020-05-14 20:59 | Report Abuse

AA just cancelled my flight in June, now i got 4 flight refund pending from AA

Zuliana

5,395 posts

Posted by Zuliana > 2020-05-14 21:06 | Report Abuse

Posted by newbie1111 > May 14, 2020 8:59 PM | Report Abuse

AA just cancelled my flight in June, now i got 4 flight refund pending from AA

Should have bought AirAsia Unlimited Pass to 30 June 2021. So no worry to travel using AA.

sampooler

659 posts

Posted by sampooler > 2020-05-14 21:18 | Report Abuse

@4455 your is 100% gain...haha

bahai4453

2,297 posts

Posted by bahai4453 > 2020-05-14 21:25 | Report Abuse

If you are healthy, travel by air is not a problem. The problem is the other side will impose a quarantine period of 14 days on you. You waste 14 days doing nothing, lockup and worst you have to pay for it. Who want to travel oversea ?

bahai4453

2,297 posts

Posted by bahai4453 > 2020-05-14 21:54 | Report Abuse

According to prophecy, covid-19 will wipe up 50% of the world population before it comes to stop. The virus mutated in a very fast phase and adapted to the geographical condition of the earth. That is why you can find them in desert up to a cold country like Russia. Worst still they can travel in air in a short distant.
You might survived once but you may have them again in diffident mutated form to kill you.
So stay at home and don't fly AA unnecessary. Pray to God for the sins you committed. Remember seeing other women and cheated your wife is also a sin. Peace and plenty of love with you will safe you.
My grandmother said Zuliana recipe is too complicated and take you a day to get it done. Why not just try some sambal belacan with timun to prevent covid-19.
I will survive because I love my brothers and sisters beings of the earth irrespective of your religion and skin colour.

newbie1111

1,842 posts

Posted by newbie1111 > 2020-05-14 22:15 | Report Abuse

Zuliana why buy unlimited pass? so i can get unlimited quarantine?

ocpd

762 posts

Posted by ocpd > 2020-05-14 22:27 | Report Abuse

Fat Tony must have committed a very big sin for dumping his wife and married kimchi slut. Therefore, avoid AA because good Lord will destroy it to punish Fat Tony!

Posted by wutohpakhang > 2020-05-14 22:45 | Report Abuse

collect back at 50 cents hehe

bahai4453

2,297 posts

Posted by bahai4453 > 2020-05-14 22:45 | Report Abuse

A man don't know other man's true story behind. Pls don't comment other's family affair. A very successful businessman will never discard his wife because this is a taboo to the business. Some wives bring you lucks. You throw them , your luck will gone forever.

Elsonng90

Posted by Elsonng90 > 2020-05-14 22:49 | Report Abuse

How guys ,air asia still can hold ?

Elsonng90

Posted by Elsonng90 > 2020-05-14 22:50 | Report Abuse

I average price 1.30

Posted by nicedurians > 2020-05-14 22:54 | Report Abuse

Elsonng can hold. but you need average down

Elsonng90

Posted by Elsonng90 > 2020-05-14 22:56 | Report Abuse

Nicedurians,I will average down again by this two week .next QR report will result on next month right ?

Posted by diuleiloumei > 2020-05-14 23:43 | Report Abuse

Dumppppp

Zuliana

5,395 posts

Posted by Zuliana > 2020-05-14 23:46 |

28,393 posts

Posted by mf > 2020-05-15 00:23 | Report Abuse

Air travel won’t return to pre-crisis levels until 2023, IATA chief warns

bahai4453

2,297 posts

Posted by bahai4453 > 2020-05-15 00:45 | Report Abuse

IATA chief warned ? Is he a God,,? How he work out his theory and how he knows that? Any data or details to prove himself? Any track records for his achievement in his prediction and analysis.
Everybody can say what they liked. But based on what?
Very shameful for him as a IATA chief to give a negetive comment on airline operators.
Anyway we need flights. By sea is too time consuming.

bahai4453

2,297 posts

Posted by bahai4453 > 2020-05-15 01:08 | Report Abuse

Tony is a very generous boss who is willingly to give you good dividend when AA make any amount of money.
This is because bosses also take bonuses and dividend + travel free.
You know what is the impact of dividend on your shares ? That say you bought the shares at 1.30 some years ago, now AA gave you 90 cents dividend. 1.30-0.90=0.40. You cost price now is only 0.40 cents. If the shares prices are above 0.40 you lost nothing ! Why can't hold and take the gamble that AA will be better after they dropped to 0.50 and later rebound to 1.00 ,++ within 6 months.