CAPITAL A BERHAD

KLSE (MYR): CAPITALA (5099)

+0.005 (0.68%)

0.73 - 0.755

127 people like this.

167,778 comment(s). Last comment by Pandu1 1 hour ago

Victor Yong

8,271 posts

Posted by Victor Yong > 2020-05-08 09:48 | Report Abuse

unless the minister abandon social distancing in the plane, otherwise, the airlines fly also die, not flying also die unless the fare is doubled and the passengers are willing to pay double

newbie8080

2,748 posts

Posted by newbie8080 > 2020-05-08 09:55 | Report Abuse

@ Victor Yong

You are right. It's very difficult to find a balance for social distancing in the plane and still manage a profit.

I would believe those require to fly are very desperate ppl that cannot do without face to face meeting.

Sadly, if your neigbouring seat is having cough or flu symptoms, he or she may need to sit it out throughout the journey. Imagine flying to Melbourne, 8 hrs flight.

Anyway, I do not think AA will make any profit for 2020.

Probably breakeven for 2021 and profitability in 2022 onwards can be expected.

However, with online meeting or webdinar seems to be the trend moving forward, there is a slight glimpse that airline will soon be a sunset industry.

Kakaktua

55 posts

Posted by Kakaktua > 2020-05-08 10:10 | Report Abuse

50 cents i buy

Victor Yong

8,271 posts

Posted by Victor Yong > 2020-05-08 10:29 | Report Abuse

Operations halted: An Air France aircraft near Air France-KLM headquarters at Roissy-Charles de Gaulle Airport, north of Paris. The airline has opted for bailouts as it faces its worst-ever crisis. — AFP

PARIS: Air France-KLM has warned that demand for air travel will take several years to recover, hammering home the devastation being wrought on the aviation industry by the coronavirus pandemic.

The Paris-based carrier scrapped its full-year outlook yesterday and forecast a “significantly higher” loss in the second quarter than in the first three months of the year. The impact of fuel “over-hedging” drove the first-quarter net loss to €1.8bil (US$1.94bil), according to a statement.

“We are very uncertain about what lies ahead, ” chief financial officer Frederic Gagey said on a conference call. The carrier is expecting capacity to remain down 95% this quarter and 80% lower in the third quarter, as travel slowly starts to resume during summer.

For 2020, Air France-KLM expects earnings before interest, taxes, depreciation and amortisation to be “significantly negative, ” likely marking the first full-year loss by that measure since the French and Dutch airlines combined in 2004.

The carrier, which ranks second in Europe after Deutche Lufthansa AG in terms of passenger traffic, is poised to receive as much as €11bil in loans and guarantees from state shareholders France and the Netherlands.

The bailout offers a lifeline as the industry faces its worst-ever crisis, which the International Air Transport Association estimates could lead to half of the airlines worldwide going bankrupt without government help.

While Gagey said the state loans and guarantees will provide a “relatively large” margin of comfort for the carrier, a prolonged and deep crisis would “necessarily evoke questions about our equity”.

Air France-KLM said last month it may raise new equity once it has better visibility on post-crisis traffic levels, and the French state has indicated its intention to examine the conditions under which it might participate in such an operation to increase its capital.

The European Union has approved €7bil in funding from the French state, which is destined for Air France.

The Dutch government has said it plans to provide between €2bil and €4bil to the KLM arm, with specifics still being worked out.

Among Air France-KLM’s European peers, British Airways parent IAG SA is also due to report earnings soon, followed by Lufthansa later this month.

These are its earnings highlights: a first-quarter operating loss of €815mil versus a loss of €286mil a year earlier. Its operational cash burn was brought down to about €400mil a month in the second quarter.

Fuel “over hedge” is expected to be at a loss of €455mil for the remainder of 2020, caused by capacity reductions and lower fuel consumption forecasts.

A fleet repositioning, including a structural capacity reduction of at least -20% in 2021 compared to pre-crisis 2019 levels, is expected. — Bloomberg

Zuliana

5,395 posts

Posted by Zuliana > 2020-05-08 10:49 | Report Abuse

newbie8080 ///...However, with online meeting or webinar seems to be the trend moving forward, there is a slight glimpse that airline will soon be a sunset industry.
08/05/2020 9:55 AM

So,
No more tourists?
People visit any country ... Online tour? Webinar tourists?
Mati lor visit Malaysia promotion.

Zuliana

5,395 posts

Posted by Zuliana > 2020-05-08 11:22 | Report Abuse

I always tell my fren & relatives... No need to visit any country.
Just visit a country online la.

The big effect of online tourism are : No tourists, so no need all of the following...
Save money,
no kena diseases,
no need passport,
No need foreign currencies,
No need hotels or bnb,
No need transports aka cars, buses, trains, taxis, airplane, tour ships etc,
No need restaurants,
No need to buy souvenirs,
No need to print photos,
No travel planners aka tour guide,
No need theme parks,
No need casinos,
No need national parks,
No need underwater diving, underwater aquariums,
No need museums,
No need sims card for communication for tourists,
No need entertainment aka tiger shows, dancing shows,
No need sports aka Olympics, World records,
No need Geylang aka Lorong Haji Taib,
No need golf courses for competition,
No need cultural village,
No need circus,
No need to maintain world class nature sites,
No need all types of concert,
No need Formula one, Le tour de Langkawi,
All above companies have to close shops.

salman

1,554 posts

Posted by salman > 2020-05-08 11:29 | Report Abuse

WARNING BUY!! Merger coming

wees123

460 posts

Posted by wees123 > 2020-05-08 11:47 | Report Abuse

i see warning buy i happy, but from salman i need to think properly. coz u always warning buy warning buy macam tak kena 1 hahahahah, elaborate abit can ? :)

Jeffreyteck

4,246 posts

Posted by Jeffreyteck > 2020-05-08 12:02 | Report Abuse

Merger solution:
Negative x Negative = Positive.
Trading play only. Lenders are the most happiest one if guaranteed by G.

sampooler

659 posts

Posted by sampooler > 2020-05-08 13:14 | Report Abuse

actually the social distance in the restaurant same like in airplane.. as long as ppl still cannot eat in restaurant comfortably... until everyone is allow to eat in restaurant without social distancing, there is no question for airlines.

newbie8080

2,748 posts

Posted by newbie8080 > 2020-05-08 13:29 | Report Abuse

@ Zuliana

Tourism will be impacted for this year. No doubt.

It should have better recovery next year 2021.

Would you risk your life for beautiful scenery?
eg: Japan, UK, Europe, Middle East, Russia.

Tourism confidence will likely full recover when there is a commercial vaccination is made available.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Posted by Zuliana > May 8, 2020 10:49 AM | Report Abuse

newbie8080 ///...However, with online meeting or webinar seems to be the trend moving forward, there is a slight glimpse that airline will soon be a sunset industry.
08/05/2020 9:55 AM

So,
No more tourists?
People visit any country ... Online tour? Webinar tourists?
Mati lor visit Malaysia promotion.

Zuliana

5,395 posts

Posted by Zuliana > 2020-05-08 13:31 | Report Abuse

All type of businesses also need social distancing la.
So all businesses are affected not only airline.

Only online businesses no need social distancing.

ocpd

762 posts

Posted by ocpd > 2020-05-08 14:04 | Report Abuse

social distancing is one thing, being able to travel and holiday is another thing. Who wants to travel and then gets quarantine for 14-day free?

Live4Tea

144 posts

Posted by Live4Tea > 2020-05-08 14:18 | Report Abuse

Painful but sure death. No govt will bailout a dying company in a dying industry. So many other things with upside to save. The world has changed. There is now a Killer Virus in the Air. So no one will take to the Air anymore.

Lanesra

1,118 posts

Posted by Lanesra > 2020-05-08 14:57 | Report Abuse

Aiyo, sifu lanesra used to support this counter. But listen to sifu lanesra now, forget airines stock bah. Tourism and hospitality is going down for a long ride. AA has been good to me , knowing they might go down into history books makes sifu lanesra sad

tsyon1

Posted by tsyon1 > 2020-05-08 15:05 | Report Abuse

heard my friend working in AA mgmt team saying the government willing to become guarantor of AA.. Huattt ahhh

tsyon1

Posted by tsyon1 > 2020-05-08 15:05 | Report Abuse

news release soon.. stay tuned

Alfonso

3,116 posts

Posted by Alfonso > 2020-05-08 15:10 | Report Abuse

huat ah jom judi kawkaw but no warranty + guarantee

Lanesra

1,118 posts

Posted by Lanesra > 2020-05-08 15:13 | Report Abuse

Why would government bailout AA when they have decided not to bailout MAS? tsyon1 dont simply spread fake news oh. Karma is a bitch

Elmerbaby

67 posts

Posted by Elmerbaby > 2020-05-08 15:46 | Report Abuse

MAS is hopeless, no?

Lanesra

1,118 posts

Posted by Lanesra > 2020-05-08 15:49 | Report Abuse

How much hope do you see for AA first? And when do you think things will be normal? 2 years? 3years? If you tell me 1 year . You are in lalaland

Live4Tea

144 posts

Posted by Live4Tea > 2020-05-08 16:24 | Report Abuse

Govt has to standby to help Petronas first. MAS not vital. So AA also not in the picture. There is no vaccine. So there is no upside. So there is no point of any bailout. And the Virus is still going to be out there for many years at the very least. So price will drop a lot more. Just wait for the blip and exit get a few sen more.

LohNewbie

66 posts

Posted by LohNewbie > 2020-05-08 17:31 | Report Abuse

Live4Tea is always very negative about AA.. there must be a good reason behind it

Zuliana

5,395 posts

Posted by Zuliana > 2020-05-08 17:49 |

Zuliana

5,395 posts

Posted by Zuliana > 2020-05-08 17:53 | Report Abuse

famous katsu curry for u all to try. Stony Santan also can try this recipe.
Don't fight here. Be happy always.

BATFLY

722 posts

Posted by BATFLY > 2020-05-08 18:00 | Report Abuse

Airviation counter is always high risk but if drop below 50 cents can gamble to collect.. Ha Ha..

Posted by EdenOfSaudi > 2020-05-08 19:15 | Report Abuse

50 cents ? Lol water sperm

Zuliana

5,395 posts

Posted by Zuliana > 2020-05-08 19:26 | Report Abuse

50 c? Lelong b iji Stony lor.

Louis7777

171 posts

Posted by Louis7777 > 2020-05-08 19:41 | Report Abuse

when every1 throw drop to 50 cents u stil dare to buy? haha

wees123

460 posts

Posted by wees123 > 2020-05-08 20:02 | Report Abuse

yeah lor, follow ppl old step.. WB throw then u throw, Warren buy then u buy meh ?? we dont worship WB also, we worship our self n our GOD and warren is not a GOD, this is new era, new era for younger generations, their time has passed, now is the era for younger generations to unleash full power, might not be in stock market, just like the old traditional way of doing business is no longer effective as last time already, you re the young generations in this era.. is ur era now, do something different n out stand the rest of the ppl here,
majority sked to buy airline now... we take the risk to buy hahahah, is just abit of money anyway.. see not good ma sell lor if it goes below 50 or 60 sen.. rugi abit only wad, not rugi 100% also

iFag

71 posts

Posted by iFag > 2020-05-08 20:50 | Report Abuse

When someone throw, someone is picking up too :)

scholez18

87 posts

Posted by scholez18 > 2020-05-08 22:28 | Report Abuse

Buffett been investing for over 60-70 years averaging 20% per annum. It’s 20% increase of his portfolio worth billions every year. Not per with small rm500 per trades ya.

His airlines sold at a loss of US2 billion plus. Big for normal people like us. But 2 billion loss is merely 1% out of his portfolio and 0.44% of his company worth. Important to understand total context for him lol.

Not saying people should copy either. His disposal or airlines is purely consistent with his principles. At the moment he doesn’t hv visibility on how airlines will make money. N something that he cannot fully understand, he doesn’t want to own. Simple as that.

bahai4453

2,297 posts

Posted by bahai4453 > 2020-05-08 22:51 | Report Abuse

Today , my fello east Malaysians tell me that, they start to learn how to become a good swimmers in case AA is gone and they have to take boats or ships to balik kampung.

Zuliana

5,395 posts

Posted by Zuliana > 2020-05-09 00:55 | Report Abuse

Like last time east Msian used Ferry Msia to cross South China Sea .
Now Ferry Msia long gone...
Have to use Airplane... AA gone later? East Msians have to use Cruise Ship or Submarine lor?
Or we make tunnel linking Kuching to Johor Bahru???
High time we make world history by building tunnel from Kuching to Johor Bahru?

Zuliana

5,395 posts

Posted by Zuliana > 2020-05-09 01:04 | Report Abuse

bahai4453>>> Today , my fello east Malaysians tell me that, they start to learn how to become a good swimmers in case AA is gone and they have to take boats or ships to balik kampung.
08/05/2020 10:51 PM

Can also say, Today , my fello West Malaysians working in Sabah n S'wak tell me that, they start to learn how to become a good swimmers in case AA is gone and they have to take boats or ships to balik kampung.
Can look at both ways la, why must say only East Msian must swim across South China Sea meh...

Zuliana

5,395 posts

Posted by Zuliana > 2020-05-09 01:07 | Report Abuse

By the way there are no sharks attack for those who need to swim across South China Sea in both directions lah.
Don't worry.

Zuliana

5,395 posts

Posted by Zuliana > 2020-05-09 01:17 | Report Abuse

The number of coronavirus cases in Saudi Arabia exceeded 35,000 on Friday as the kingdom struggles to get to grips with rising numbers of new infections.

Officials reported 1,701 new cases , taking the total to 35,432. The kingdom has recorded a daily average of around 1,500 new cases over the past week.

Despite the rising number of cases, the kingdom's death toll has remained relatively low. It increased by 10 on Friday to 229 - Reuters

The myth of hot weather in hot country can kill Covid is proven untrue in Saudi Arabia 35,000 cases of Covid.
Covid mutation kah???

Zuliana

5,395 posts

Posted by Zuliana > 2020-05-09 11:37 | Report Abuse

More2it,,,,,
I tak faham APA yang you pukul di sekitar semak (beating around the bush). APA sebenarnya you nak cakap?
Berkali kali aku baca pun tak aku faham. Kikiki.
Siapa yang faham cuba translation? Thanks.

Zuliana

5,395 posts

Posted by Zuliana > 2020-05-09 11:43 |

Gn021

566 posts

Posted by Gn021 > 2020-05-09 18:03 | Report Abuse

Tuesday beware of PH stock, i guess many PH stock will bull, Vizione, Opcom, Vertice, Ewein all PH stock

Muhidin stock GG, haha

Panorama1

971 posts

Posted by Panorama1 > 2020-05-10 09:03 | Report Abuse

AA will need to recapitalize via Rights Issue to mitigate against the “cash burn” situation to survive Covid-19 pandemic impact on Aviation sector. Previous cash fortress have been distributed out via 0.90 Special Dividend.

Zuliana

5,395 posts

Posted by Zuliana > 2020-05-10 11:35 | Report Abuse

Given dividends then make RI for cash call... Buruk Siku lah.

bahai4453

2,297 posts

Posted by bahai4453 > 2020-05-10 15:04 | Report Abuse

Liana, last night I had a dream. I dreamed that Tony reminded me to get some extra cash to buy AA shares. He's going to press down the share to 0.50. He then will push up to 1.00.

keonkx123

186 posts

Posted by keonkx123 > 2020-05-10 16:10 | Report Abuse

I think you all really should all in AA. If not now then when? After 3-5 years the price will reach rm1.5 i think. “Good” long term investment. Gamble big big small money also mah

Panorama1

971 posts

Posted by Panorama1 > 2020-05-10 16:31 | Report Abuse

Has anyone computed the cash burn rate for AA & AAX in relation to existing Covid-19 pandemic cashflows ? I would have thought AA recapitalization process should have already been initiated and implemented before it is too late based on the projected Q1 & Q2 2020 results. Even SIA had already completed their massive Rights Issue exercise and mandatory convertible bonds issuance in order to shore up its Balance Sheet as Covid-19 pandemic is not expected to go away anytime soon.

ocpd

762 posts

Posted by ocpd > 2020-05-10 16:42 | Report Abuse

Seriously since interstate travel ban still in place? AirAsia is open for who now?

28,393 posts

Posted by mf > 2020-05-10 16:50 | Report Abuse

sell