ALAM MARITIM RESOURCES BHD

KLSE (MYR): ALAM (5115)

0.03 - 0.035

44 people like this.

15,211 comment(s). Last comment by Robert Waters 1 week ago

Posted by KC Loh > 2012-08-17 14:42 | Report Abuse

Cannot say. I think best ask the residential experts here! They may know something i don't! :)

Marcus Beh

2,483 posts

Posted by Marcus Beh > 2012-08-17 14:48 | Report Abuse

Jupiter qout baru 063 so What about your tp?

Posted by KC Loh > 2012-08-17 15:22 | Report Abuse

With the latest additional work it states with affect earnings positively. So have to recalculate.

If I say something else, people will say I am jealous! Hahaha what crap!

Posted by KC Loh > 2012-08-17 15:24 | Report Abuse

I would just say advocate a cautious stance if Maybank's analysis is proven true.. give yourself plenty of margin for safety!. As you note, things can turn around very quickly in a bullish sentiment

Marcus Beh

2,483 posts

Posted by Marcus Beh > 2012-08-17 15:27 | Report Abuse

Ok ok Kc love u so much...haha

willyy

200 posts

Posted by willyy > 2012-08-17 15:43 | Report Abuse

Mrcus,do u buy at 0.57?

Marcus Beh

2,483 posts

Posted by Marcus Beh > 2012-08-17 15:45 | Report Abuse

No I scare drop more... I lock 056....

Marcus Beh

2,483 posts

Posted by Marcus Beh > 2012-08-17 16:10 | Report Abuse

Willy you have any idea...?

willyy

200 posts

Posted by willyy > 2012-08-17 16:11 | Report Abuse

I queue at 0.54

Marcus Beh

2,483 posts

Posted by Marcus Beh > 2012-08-17 16:18 | Report Abuse

This counter very hot now I thinêtre can't get this prize....

willyy

200 posts

Posted by willyy > 2012-08-17 16:25 | Report Abuse

vol. drop already,can reach that price

Posted by Anua Bin Ahmad Rosdi > 2012-08-17 16:29 | Report Abuse

selepas raya anda boleh dapatkan harga yg sesuai or.......tertinggal bas.

Marcus Beh

2,483 posts

Posted by Marcus Beh > 2012-08-17 16:29 | Report Abuse

Ok ok I cancel 056 try lock on next week ....

scott

418 posts

Posted by scott > 2012-08-17 16:54 | Report Abuse

no tell early i just sold at 1.400

willyy

200 posts

Posted by willyy > 2012-08-17 16:57 | Report Abuse

1.4 ,when is it fly to 1.4 recently? =.=

Ram Cheong

450 posts

Posted by Ram Cheong > 2012-08-17 16:58 | Report Abuse

aiya kc , don't be bother about that very few person talking against you mah . ........... think of those many more and many more newbies who is waiting to see your valueable contribution mah . ........... peace to the world , peace to all , love .

Posted by KC Loh > 2012-08-17 16:59 | Report Abuse

ok Ram Cheong! :)

Marcus Beh

2,483 posts

Posted by Marcus Beh > 2012-08-17 17:03 | Report Abuse

Ram cheong mi is newBies.....

joseph2321

175 posts

Posted by joseph2321 > 2012-08-17 17:04 | Report Abuse

Wish everyone happy holiday and Selamat Hari Raya Aidilfitri

Ram Cheong

450 posts

Posted by Ram Cheong > 2012-08-17 17:27 | Report Abuse

marcus , next time don't play play like this , should have confidence in what u buy and should have more patient to wait for the rise . ................

Marcus Beh

2,483 posts

Posted by Marcus Beh > 2012-08-17 18:59 | Report Abuse

Ok ok thanks..... Enjoy your holiday....!

Posted by KC Loh > 2012-08-17 19:01 | Report Abuse

Alam Maritim announced that it has secured a 18’’ diameter shore approach pipeline installation job for SKO PL364 pipeline replacement project from a local O&G company. The contract is estimated at RM50m and includes two optional scopes of work covering partial commissioning and rock dumping at additional value of RM0.91m and RM6.82m, respectively.

The 30-day contract will commence in mid-Aug12 and complete in mid-Sep12. Alam is likely to deploy its pipelaying vessel, 1MAS300 for the job. We maintain our forecast at this juncture as we have imputed additional works for its vessel in FY12. Alam is currently executing its RM115m Sabah O&G Terminal contract which is scheduled for completion by 3Q12.

We do not foresee any strong catalyst for Alam in the near term given its poor operating profit. While there are increased activities for OSVs, daily charter rates have not seen a strong improvement, likely due to huge supply of low-end vessels. Maintain HOLD with RM0.60 TP, based on 10x FY13 EPS.

Source: HwangDBS Research - 17 August 2012

if HwangDBS is maintaining 10x FY13 EPS for TP at 60sens, try figuring out what is FY12 EPS and prorate accordingly.

ashrizal1

426 posts

Posted by ashrizal1 > 2012-08-17 19:20 | Report Abuse

i see many TP announced by many analys from february praising this counter, since average price around RM0.8 but still this counter continue downtrend untill RM0.49 at early August but still many Analys give positive view on this counter. even now its start to rebounce but for how long?

Posted by KC Loh > 2012-08-17 19:36 | Report Abuse

hence, marcus beh, you should be queuing below 52 sens to have some safety!

Posted by KC Loh > 2012-08-17 19:41 | Report Abuse

please note, i didnt impute any expenses to the 50m, because that can only be seen later. so, give yourself plenty of margin of safety! that is why do your homework, and don't main bantai want to queue at 0.56 for no apparent reasons! :)

Marcus Beh

2,483 posts

Posted by Marcus Beh > 2012-08-17 20:58 | Report Abuse

Thank q very much Kc see next the weather ....!

kcfan

1,881 posts

Posted by kcfan > 2012-08-17 23:37 | Report Abuse

在过去两年中,中国股市火红,指数翻了数番,
但打工仔炒股,70 巴仙赔本。
大牛市中尚且赔本,则在熊市中岂不亏得更惨?
大马的散户也好不到那里去。
散户人人希望买到有人炒作的股票。
但是,他们从来没有去计算在1 千1 百家上市公司中,有多少家被炒作?
相信不到10 家。
你能猜到被炒作股票的机会,跟中千字票不相上下。
你有那么幸运吗?
绝大部份股票,都是因为业绩改善而上升的。
勤做功课赚钱机会高.
股市不可预测,即使是理由具足,也可能出现“意外”。故投资者必须坚持只买好股,并作长
期投资打算以防“万一”。切勿投机取巧,冒不必要的风险。
“稳扎稳打”
“保本至上”。
Just for sharing without other objective purpose.

kcfan

1,881 posts

Posted by kcfan > 2012-08-17 23:38 | Report Abuse

建议选股标准:
1.股价合理(本益比8倍以下)
2.盈利有增长(来年盈利可望比往年高)
3.债低,若债高则必须现金流平稳。
4.周息率高於银行定存利息。
5.行业景气走上坡。

Posted by KC Loh > 2012-08-17 23:40 | Report Abuse

i like the capital preservation first part! :)

kcfan

1,881 posts

Posted by kcfan > 2012-08-17 23:55 | Report Abuse

A company would have to meet seven of the following ten criteria (as laid out in Security Analysis) before would consider it a cheap stock:
1. An earnings-to-price yield (the opposite of the price-earnings ratio) that is twice the current yield of an AAA (top-rated) bond. If bonds are yielding 5 percent, the earnings yield of a stock should be 10 percent. In other words, you could get 5 percent fairly safely; to take on the risk of a stock, you want twice the possible reward.

2. A p-e ratio that is historically low for that stock. Specifically, it should be two-fifths of the average p-e ratio the shares had over the past five years.

3. A dividend yield of two-thirds of the AAA bond yield. (Obviously, stocks that don’t pay dividends wouldn’t qualify under this rule.)

4. A stock price that is two-thirds of the tangible book value per share.

5. A stock price that is two-thirds of the net current asset value or the net quick-liquidation value.

6. Total debt lower than tangible book value.

7. A current ratio of two or more.

8. Total debt that’s not more than net quick-liquidation value.

9. Earnings that have doubled within the past ten years.

10. Earnings that have declined no more than 5 percent in two of the past ten years.

In current market is very hard to meet 7 out of 10 criteria on value or cheap stock in M'sia market.Who can tell us with one or more you intent to share for discussion ?

Posted by KC Loh > 2012-08-18 00:06 | Report Abuse

Sound like strict Grahamite from security analysis. This made stocks very safe but buying very difficult with the strict criteria.

Sorry I can only remember a few, and may not be from Ben all of it!

kcfan

1,881 posts

Posted by kcfan > 2012-08-18 00:19 | Report Abuse

Yes,From one of the investment book.Named:Pick stock like Warren Buffett.Hard to read in English version.

Posted by KC Loh > 2012-08-18 00:56 | Report Abuse

Buffett abandoned a lot of these criterias after meeting with Fisher and Munger!

but the one he held true to, was Graham's Mr Market analogies, investor discipline and margin of safety!

Eden Thean

133 posts

Posted by Eden Thean > 2012-08-19 04:22 | Report Abuse

kc loh, do you have facebook acc? can i add you as my fren? :D

Posted by KC Loh > 2012-08-19 04:32 | Report Abuse

Sorry, dont have!

Posted by EzaidyGan > 2012-08-19 10:37 | Report Abuse

I"m newbie here

Marcus Beh

2,483 posts

Posted by Marcus Beh > 2012-08-20 23:05 | Report Abuse

Kc I got listen to my friend about alam this counter...! They said well be stronger...

Posted by KC Loh > 2012-08-20 23:07 | Report Abuse

ok. you can go ahead if they are getting stronger. there is no harm if you have done your homework. Sometimes the analysts get it wrong too! proceed with caution!

Marcus Beh

2,483 posts

Posted by Marcus Beh > 2012-08-20 23:18 | Report Abuse

Kc thanks I well take a looks....

CP TEH

Posted by CP TEH > 2012-08-21 00:21 | Report Abuse

hi KC bro

The analysts are 'wrong' most of the time. We should not blame them as they are just following instructions and employed to 'do' their jobs.

It is also interesting to note that many newbies and novices WILL read those reports to buy-sell. So, we could get to know the market/stock sentiments and trade accordingly, normally ... just go against the herd, we should be alright.

So, I do not read analysts reports.

TEH

Posted by KC Loh > 2012-08-21 00:48 | Report Abuse

I will read all materials i can get my hands on, just to know the state of the company. to get a "feel" if you know what i mean. I always take analysts report with a pinch of salt - in this case as mentioned by you of following instructions and job consideration! Sometimes they are paid to say what needs to be said, we all know that! :)

The priceless part here is, they have the ability to gain access to management people, company information, direction, materials and the biggest advantage they have large following of ready both retail and institutional investors. So why fight them? As Soros said, just stay in the race, and when the right moment comes, just sprint ahead of the pack! That, i personally believe, is how to get into Malaysian stocks!

'Risk comes from not knowing what you're doing. If you don't know jewelry, know the jeweler.' ~ Warren

Ram Cheong

450 posts

Posted by Ram Cheong > 2012-08-21 00:52 | Report Abuse

analysts are wrong most of the time ??? this is their job n rice bowl , if they are wrong then maybe on certain purpose or careless . .............

CP TEH

Posted by CP TEH > 2012-08-21 00:59 | Report Abuse

Well, randomly keep 100 analyst reports. Check them after a year, as most of the target prices are meant for a year. Then, check the validity. Check the percentage of those get even near to the target prices.

Repeat that for five years.

Take the average percentage. Analyse which broker house reports have highest accuracy level.

Try that. It will be interesting topic. Then, make a survey, ask how many of them buying into stocks reading broker reports and their performances.

We could be surprised.

TEH

Posted by KC Loh > 2012-08-21 01:08 | Report Abuse

nah... i have my own targets both buying and selling after calculating their value and apply some margin of safety before buying. The analysts targets are way off and usually comes with caveat. How can one predict the future and sit behind a desk drawing salaries still baffles me!? :) To me, the greatest disadvantage is most analysts are using TA as barometer! I think efficient theory is still not the way to go! But that's just me!

I utilize their researches in what we learnt in science stream as "control" factor. a few analysts telling the same thing, as in this case with Alam about their old vessels will merit some consideration on my part after checking their account reports as to why gearing is so high! that's what i meant by "feel"

I believe each investors will need to have their own "control environment" and research tools to test their premises. So far, Graham's and Fisher's works for me. very safe and stress free! :)

Eden Thean

133 posts

Posted by Eden Thean > 2012-08-22 08:29 | Report Abuse

u mean they use the debt finance to their old vessels asset? So u think they are doing in the right way with their money??

Marcus Beh

2,483 posts

Posted by Marcus Beh > 2012-08-22 10:00 | Report Abuse

I thing well return to 055..

Marcus Beh

2,483 posts

Posted by Marcus Beh > 2012-08-22 10:12 | Report Abuse

Ha ha drop Liao...,!

Posted by Anua Bin Ahmad Rosdi > 2012-08-22 13:00 | Report Abuse

jika sabar menunggu, sure dapat.

Posted by Feizal Mazlan > 2012-08-22 14:51 | Report Abuse

I guess it would goes up this week based on historical diagram align with the Q. result last week

Marcus Beh

2,483 posts

Posted by Marcus Beh > 2012-08-22 14:55 | Report Abuse

Alam can make it.....!