GAMUDA BHD

KLSE (MYR): GAMUDA (5398)

-0.06 (0.75%)

7.91 - 8.03

6 people like this.

17,345 comment(s). Last comment by VeneerWood 2 hours ago

godhand

1,899 posts

Posted by godhand > 2018-10-09 10:37 | Report Abuse

of course gamuda can spike up the price cause they are the only local player.
stockraider if u say like that tnb also must kena chop is it because they monopoly

Posted by stockraider > 2018-10-09 10:40 |

Victor Yong

8,271 posts

Posted by Victor Yong > 2018-10-09 10:41 | Report Abuse

many government linked funds had invested in gamuda e.g. epf, kwap, etc, just nationalize gamuda if think appropriate :)

8u29song

2,707 posts

Posted by 8u29song > 2018-10-09 10:42 | Report Abuse

Now is opportunity for those with no shares in hand to invest.....golden years ahead...2020.......

Posted by stockraider > 2018-10-09 10:43 | Report Abuse

U need to understand between abuse power of pakat to take advantage of rakyat v monopoly business mah.....!!

Posted by stockraider > Oct 9, 2018 10:30 AM | Report Abuse X

What if Gamuda one of the party pakat with najib to take advantage of the rakyat leh ??

Posted by godhand > Oct 9, 2018 10:37 AM | Report Abuse

of course gamuda can spike up the price cause they are the only local player.
stockraider if u say like that tnb also must kena chop is it because they monopoly

8u29song

2,707 posts

Posted by 8u29song > 2018-10-09 10:44 | Report Abuse

Legend of RAHMAN fulfilled..........next is 2020 with the return of TUN.......Tentu Untung Nanti....

Posted by steven223838 > 2018-10-09 10:45 | Report Abuse

government linked funds are supporting the share price .the downside is limited.buy now or never.

Posted by Kendo Ken Hz > 2018-10-09 10:46 | Report Abuse

========JV Co also listed several other reasons why the termination may not be the best solution.

Among them are:

> During the initial tender process, MMC-Gamuda had submitted a proposal with a lower cost without compromising the safety, performance and functionality of the operational railway. It said that however, MRT Corp opted not to accept the alternative offered by MMC-Gamuda. The reductions currently on offer to the MoF include some of these alternatives, but only those applicable to the balance of the underground works.

Read more at https://www.thestar.com.my/business/business-news/2018/10/09/mmcgamuda-holds-out-for-solution/#aTmwcV6mk0cwLK87.99

striker888

245 posts

Posted by striker888 > 2018-10-09 10:48 | Report Abuse

If the contract was constructed competently, there would be clauses covering compensation in case any party abiding. Those who say contracts cannot be changed show their sheer ignorance. It's all come down to $$$, and in this case LGE thinks the benefits outweigh the costs.

Buns

165 posts

Posted by Buns > 2018-10-09 10:48 | Report Abuse

Yes raider that's what I mean. To cancel contract must have breach of trust. There wasn't any from Gamuda.

godhand

1,899 posts

Posted by godhand > 2018-10-09 10:50 | Report Abuse

buns

all this isnt important. the boss is always right, the paymaster is always right. they need to preserve the contract to build long term relationship

sjwee3

529 posts

Posted by sjwee3 > 2018-10-09 10:50 | Report Abuse

Reopen the new tender for others more competent and efficient company. That 20,000 worker can swift to that new company.

stephyclq

15 posts

Posted by stephyclq > 2018-10-09 10:53 | Report Abuse

compensation of 16.6b myr

https://www.malaysiakini.com/news/446515

einvest88

416 posts

Posted by einvest88 > 2018-10-09 10:53 | Report Abuse

Too many MRT station very close to each other. Why never drop some to further reduce the cost. Take eg Kepong road, from Kepong Sentral, Metro Prima, Kepong Baru, Jinjang and Delima...all together 5 staions but the distance only 7.3km. That is really mad with less than 1km in btw u have 1 station. The same apply to SK, total 7-8 station in btw. Sickening when taking the MRT 1 and also the LRT in Puchong, the train simply cant run smoothly and it all run like turtle. In btw u can just offer free bus service for the passengers to run along the road.

striker888

245 posts

Posted by striker888 > 2018-10-09 10:55 | Report Abuse

Buns you have thick skull that can't listen to others, must have lost tons of money in gamuda. If I signed a contract, I can cancel anytime as long as I can pay the compensation. What? people need to die for cancelling contracts? How old are you?

Victor Yong

8,271 posts

Posted by Victor Yong > 2018-10-09 10:55 | Report Abuse

gamuda mmc dah kowtow, govt will reconsider, etc ... I think so :)

Buns

165 posts

Posted by Buns > 2018-10-09 10:56 | Report Abuse

You can cancel only if the cooling period hasn't passed or there was a breach or some unfair practice collided with the best interest of each party. Meaning, their respective duties were not fulfilled.

Of course contracts are broken all the time. Everyone knows that contracts are not rightfully fulfilled all the time. This is not a proper practice but it happens.

But the point I'm alluding to is : LGE the leader we looked up to like a shining star cancelled the contract. Not any random person, but our leader.

I thought he would have better optics than that. Again, bring it down to a layman level. If you got a job contract to build a house-and the developer suddenly said-sorry our deal if off. Would you call this action a respectable move?

godhand

1,899 posts

Posted by godhand > 2018-10-09 10:57 | Report Abuse

yeah well but what can u do? this is how the world works

sjwee3

529 posts

Posted by sjwee3 > 2018-10-09 10:58 | Report Abuse

Don't overlook MMC Gamuda. And other company can offer one stop services.

kaliaoki

674 posts

Posted by kaliaoki > 2018-10-09 10:58 | Report Abuse

15k Bangla will ta pau and go home & the ZH permit for foreign worker kaput

Buns

165 posts

Posted by Buns > 2018-10-09 10:59 | Report Abuse

Stiker, if you took time to scroll above you would have noticed that I put a disclaimer saying I didn't have any exposure in Gamuda.

The reason why I said that was because I knew there would be people like you who instantly characterizes anyone that is damning the stock as a short seller and encouraging the stock as a bull.

Would it occur to you as I am voicing an impartial and neutral view? You know you can have a view on something without being invested right? Just like we can say Facebook did a bad move with their data breach without us being invested in Facebook.

It isn't about money and cents. It's about right and wrong.

Anyway,

Yes you are right! Only is they pay compensation. That is the key word. Compensation. But LGE didn't say that did he?

Victor Yong

8,271 posts

Posted by Victor Yong > 2018-10-09 11:00 | Report Abuse

govt will always emerge as winner.. maybe, announcement later will be after further appeal from mmc gamuda, the cost savings will be % more, win for the rakyat again :)

Victor Yong

8,271 posts

Posted by Victor Yong > 2018-10-09 11:01 | Report Abuse

govt shows the rakyat more cost savings, gamuda mmc still making profit although lower , win2 for all, hope4happy ending :)

striker888

245 posts

Posted by striker888 > 2018-10-09 11:03 | Report Abuse

LGE already cancelled the contract, it's a fact, get over it. So gamuda can follow up with seeking compensation and that's that. Respectable? You think the way the contract was awarded was respectable?

geraldt9

904 posts

Posted by geraldt9 > 2018-10-09 11:06 | Report Abuse

striker888 is right ! :-))

sjwee3

529 posts

Posted by sjwee3 > 2018-10-09 11:06 | Report Abuse

For sure there is company offer more attractive good deal than MMC Gamuda.

Buns

165 posts

Posted by Buns > 2018-10-09 11:09 | Report Abuse

I know it's a fact. Don't be so prickly. I'm just discussing business. If the fact was the final pitstop, then there wouldn't be any post-mortem analysis which is important. We can't just stop at event based facts and not discuss further.

Yes they get the compensation-if they do-and that's that. If they don't , then LGE would not be respectable.

In terms of the award. The value may have been inflated, but that was an agreed upon deal. So coming back full circle. Okay, if you are a business owner and took over the company, after reviewing the contracts you disagreed with the value, then yes you may cancel and compensate.

But just cancelling like that. That is not respectable.

cpng

1,575 posts

Posted by cpng > 2018-10-09 11:09 | Report Abuse

Flash: Guan Eng hints everyone will have to sacrifice in upcoming Budget

Again! And again! Hantu pun talut!
天天快讯,瘟神呱呱叫!
鬼都怕!

sjwee3

529 posts

Posted by sjwee3 > 2018-10-09 11:10 | Report Abuse

Govt can create new job for that 20k worker, not a big deal.

cpng

1,575 posts

Posted by cpng > 2018-10-09 11:11 | Report Abuse

Everyday flash news!
FFms initializing new freah selling.
Wakaka!!!

tt101

1,298 posts

Posted by tt101 > 2018-10-09 11:12 | Report Abuse

Y no money?
GST 0% 3 months already lost 11 billion
all the stock in trading company, wholesaler, retailer as at 31 Aug 18 are no GST and also no SST, at least another 1x billion lost.
Sept 18 only practice SST, manufacturer only paying the SST on end of Nov 18. At least 5 billion delay in receiving money.

The issue is do you get any discounted price for your purchase recently?

some more, many ppl buying new and big car before 31 Aug 18, a big value item but no GST or SST. dun know how much lost in this portion.

Got money don't want to collect and than shout for no money.

Money is making and not cutting.

Mizi Fas

25 posts

Posted by Mizi Fas > 2018-10-09 11:12 | Report Abuse

buns, you must have a lot of gamuda share. ask kyy to push up gamuda

cpng

1,575 posts

Posted by cpng > 2018-10-09 11:13 | Report Abuse

Belum mati?!
Guan Eng hints everyone will have to sacrifice in upcoming Budget
Must sacrifice until mati.

375 posts

Posted by 5354 > 2018-10-09 11:14 | Report Abuse

Tun M can I suggest ask Gamuda pay loh.

375 posts

Posted by 5354 > 2018-10-09 11:14 | Report Abuse

Govt needs other sources of funds to pay debt, says Tun Mahathir
Read more at https://www.thestar.com.my/business/business-news/2018/10/09/govt-needs-other-sources-of-funds-to-pay-debt-says-tun-mahathir/#CKTjcGTPZ7ubVSlC.99

Cindybull

1,123 posts

Posted by Cindybull > 2018-10-09 11:16 | Report Abuse

I think I leave this group chat too many novice and nonsens people like stock raider don't even know what these he talking about...creat 20k jobs this one halitosis...all want country to die this people hopeless bye he'll he talking about...Think he deserve a

cpng

1,575 posts

Posted by cpng > 2018-10-09 11:17 | Report Abuse

You belum mati mean not sacrifice enough!Must sacrifice until mati.

Guan Eng hints everyone will have to sacrifice in upcoming Budget.

Victor Yong

8,271 posts

Posted by Victor Yong > 2018-10-09 11:17 | Report Abuse

:)

AmInvestment upgrades Gamuda to hold following plunge in share price
ANALYST REPORTS
Tuesday, 9 Oct 2018

9:02 AM MYT

KUALA LUMPUR: The 24% plunge in Gamuda Bhd's share price yesterday has reflected the news of the government's decision to terminate the MMC-Gamuda joint venture as tunneling contractor of the MRT project.

AmInvestment Research upgraded its call on the counter to hold from underweight given the steep slide in sare price as well as MMC-Gamuda's highly conciliatory tone in a media statemet, which may lead to an amicable solution to the impasse.

In the statement, the joint venture said it remained open to further discussin with the Ministry of Finance and is willing to cooperate in reaching an agreeable reduction in project cost.

It added that its offer of reducing the cost by 24% or RM2.3bil for the remaining 60% dof the underground works amounting to RM9.6bil was not accepted by the MoF.

However, MMC-Gamuda appears ready to make a deal with the MoF, which has conveyed an acceptable target figure.

"MMC-Gamuda appears ready to make a deal with the MOF by announcing that “our perception of the latest cost gap is that it is an amount which is not unbridgeable”. The ball is now in the government’s court," it said.

Victor Yong

8,271 posts

Posted by Victor Yong > 2018-10-09 11:18 | Report Abuse

:)

MMC-Gamuda appears ready to make a deal with the MOF by announcing that “our perception of the latest cost gap is that it is an amount which is not unbridgeable”. The ball is now in the government’s court," it said.

375 posts

Posted by 5354 > 2018-10-09 11:18 | Report Abuse

20K jobs; 15K foreign workers what big deal? Ask them go back Bangla, Myanmar so what?

imoogi99

1,640 posts

Posted by imoogi99 > 2018-10-09 11:18 | Report Abuse

Re-tendering....am not surprise that MMC-Gamuda will get it back. For other players to come in definitely will not be lower cost. This is due to the gigantic boring machine and you need to bring in few and not just one. Beside that who knows the ground well if not for MMC-Gamuda....new players will have to come and do the study again. The other way for international players will be to sub it out to MMC-Gamuda as their machine is still underground. Well, MMC-Gamuda definitely will be compensated with the 40% works done.

Pilotsport

1,064 posts

Posted by Pilotsport > 2018-10-09 11:19 | Report Abuse

Lim guan eng comfirm cancel project,short lah....short short short

375 posts

Posted by 5354 > 2018-10-09 11:20 | Report Abuse

No need pay RM 5.2 billion so no need GST. Ask PH supporters happy or not?

Cindybull

1,123 posts

Posted by Cindybull > 2018-10-09 11:20 | Report Abuse

the price not attractive at all don't think oversea tender will be so stupid like PH

propsushi

111 posts

Posted by propsushi > 2018-10-09 11:21 | Report Abuse

Gone up in smoke just like that. Credits to PH

Posted by Kendo Ken Hz > 2018-10-09 11:21 | Report Abuse

Wayamgkulit, buy for those who have ball n bullets, why not

Cindybull

1,123 posts

Posted by Cindybull > 2018-10-09 11:21 | Report Abuse

country became hopeless because of these bunch of blind ph supporter

trulyinvest

2,370 posts

Posted by trulyinvest > 2018-10-09 11:24 | Report Abuse

lge good job. only cut spending n cost can make country richer.. if not hutng hutang hutang… if 2020 market crash n country a lot of hutang, bankrap lagi cepat...

sjwee3

529 posts

Posted by sjwee3 > 2018-10-09 11:24 | Report Abuse

Don't undermine the potency of company CCCC.

375 posts

Posted by 5354 > 2018-10-09 11:29 | Report Abuse

CCCC not CRCC-Vivo?