Regarding the ESOS, i feel it is not easy to place a judgement by outsiders who don't know about the company. Companies do reward their employees with ESOS to motivate their employee so that they have the incentives to work harder to improve the operations of the company, its top and bottom lines; and hopefully eventually translate to increase in the share price of the stock, and hence enhance shareholder value. The exercise price I believe was decided long ago when Kfima share price was maybe around 1.60 (not sure of that) and hence the average price of a certain duration was used to determine the exercise price, with a discount, say 10%. The amount of ESOS, I think is capped to a maximum of 3%. ESOS, if done properly, is a win-win proposition and aligning the interest of management and shareholders. As far as I can see, the shareholders' value has been enhanced for the last 10 years continuously.
WB principle can only apply to reit counter? skyboy always screw Genting? How is it related to Kfima? No, I don't know what you mean. Please elaborate.
Hi kcchong no intense to offense,I'm not criticize what you invest.But regarding to investment behavior,please don't idolize the counter since she is not Andy Lau or Sally Yip.Just judge on whether how the management rewards it's investor time by time.i.e. YTL Corp is a huge cash generator,but I'm believe that their investors mostly are not very happy.may be,you can have some conversation with them and get some feed back regarding to the investment return proportion to the time frame they have spend for.
Today (Monday), even a counter with a mere 3 sen gain can be in the Top 10. This is the sharpest and broadest correction I've seen in the past 12 months or so.
Posted by kcchongnz > Jan 21, 2013 04:23 PM | Report Abuse X Posted by Fat Cat Tim Buddy > Jan 21, 2013 04:12 PM | Report Abuse lets just be honest here, i sold kfima at 1.99 around last 2 weeks... anyone else sold kfima too? Nz , kcchong , gark ? Fei mau why u so clever one? No i have not sold any; not a good timer myself. For the rest you mentioned, I think I can safely say that they too have not sold any.
Posted by Najib Zamry > Jan 22, 2013 11:56 AM | Report Abuse whether erection or election for me is a non issue.
Fei mau, See, I told you so. If one knows and appreciates the value of Kfima, he won't sell unless it goes up by at least 50% more.
if i buy back at 1.89 now, i profit from the difference of 10 cents and still get my kfima shares back, so why would i wanna keep holding it when i get 5-10% paper gain? buybackma.. lol
everythings have a price, instead of stubbornly holding on it, why dont benefit from the fluctuation?
fei mau, you happened to do the right thing in selling Kfima at 2.02(?) a few days ago, retrospectively. If I have done that, I would be very happy and probably would have bought Kfima back at around 1.90. But frankly tell me, did you foresee the market would drop so badly these two days that you could make accurate predictions, consistently, and profit like this? If your answer is affirmative, I think fei mau, you have great future and probably can become billionaires soon.
NZ, you are right, im not comfortable with the esos, cpo price, dividend payout ratio and the management team.
i had check hundreds of company website and their annual report, but kfima website does not show it group structure.
They show their subsidiaries and associated company , yes, but it does state how many % of shares they have in all this company. And i cant find the % at their annual report either.
ermm.. if someone find out the info of how many % kfima have in it subsidiaries and associated company, please post the link here ok? :D thx first!
Posted by Fat Cat Tim Buddy > Jan 22, 2013 12:34 PM | Report Abuse NZ, you are right, im not comfortable with the esos, cpo price, dividend payout ratio and the management team.
Yeah, if I am not comfortable with the business of the company or its management, I won't even buy their shares too. But is there really a great concern in Kfima? I want to know badly too if there is.
Regarding the concern of ESOS, I have put forward my points yesterday. I hope others can put forward their points too with his rationales; don't just make a sweeping statement. cpo price, well this is cyclic; good cpo price, make more money, low cpo price, make less money. Every plantation company is affected temporary. For Kfima, palm oil is just 30% of its business. Does it really affect its bottom line that severely? Dividend payout ratio, not my concern, 9 sen gives dividend yield of more than 4%, better than FD. Besides there is growth potential because most free cash flows used for capex, like buying palm oil estate for the future growth. The management team? Yes, that would be the most important thing for me. But I can't find anything wrong with the management, do you? For the last 10 years, shareholders value has been enhanced every year, with higher profit, higher dividend, and also higher share price. I don't see any serious RPT too. Is there something bad about the management which we don't know? I am dying to know this too. Can someone shed some light?
haha .. those investing share for dividend n bonus seem so ... . dont want to offence people . go to unit trust to , give divedend , price adjusted . so dividend is cut off from ur own money to give u back ur money . unless ur stock o unit trust is super bull , give dividend then still fly
Do your research by looking at annual report and company website is applaudable but it is not good enough....
Attend the GM is the only way to get the latest update for small shareholder.
As mentioned in the AGM, Kfima will pay at least 10 sen per share nett dividend this year since they have equivalent 10 sen per share of tax credit. If they do not pay by this year, the whole amount will be forfeited.
Would CPO price affect the result performance of Kfima? check their second quarter result announced in Dec 2011 which actually shows 10% increase in profit. Dun ask me why there was such an increase while the other so called plantation company recorded significant drop in profit? If you still think that Kfima is a pure planatation company than good luck to you man.
One can do creative accounting with their profits but it would be very difficult to manipulate their net cash flow. Just check how Kfima able to record good positive net cash flow for the past 5 years then you will know what I mean.
Again, please do not meddle with this stock if you have no confidence at all as there are still many stocks out there.
Do you know better than Mark Mobius whose Templeton Funds( Emerging Asia Equity funds) quietly accumulating this stock since 1.80? Dun ask me where I get the info and I am sure you have way to find it. If being kampung investor I can find the info, then you can do it too.
hey like i said . if paying dividend n price still keep going up . i believe this stock is a good stock . but if paying dividend price declined ... then not purpose . better put in fd
fei mau, you very good in maths. Maybe for education sake, lets discuss in further details. Company declared dividend has been taxed at 25% and shareholders received the dividend check with tax deducted. Kfima's dividend has been given out with tax imputations. Shareholders have to pay tax on the gross dividend. If a shareholder's marginal tax rate is say 10%, he can claim back 15% (25%-10%). But of course if your marginal tax rate is more than the company tax rate, you won't get back any tax paid by the company. Retirees who has no more income would get back all the 25% paid off by the company. so in this case, the dividend yield is 4.7%, not 3.57%. So it depends on your marginal tax rate. Agreed with you that when one invest in equity, there is risk involved and hence a rational person wold demand a return (not dividend yield) higher than the bank FD rate, which we call it as risk-free rate. Return of investing in shares is made up of two portions, a dividend plus a capital gain in the future. Dividends is made up of dividend next year, the following years with a growth in this dividend (hopefully), and the price of share when you sell it say a few years later. The share price you sell later may be higher (or lower) depending if there is a growth in earnings and cash flows from its business, plus if Mr Market will give it a higher or lower valuation in the future. This will depend on its business and its growth prospect etc. So don't just focus too much on dividend yield. The future growth of the business and hence its share price appreciation is more important. Company pays out too much dividend is because there is no potential of reinvesting its cash flows for future growth.
no , kcchong, we dont need to pay taxes on kfima dividend.
it just that they announce paying 9 cents dividend with a 25% taxes, but what actually go into your bank account is 6.75 cents, it is a fixed 25% taxes.
many listed company practice with the T.E taxes exempt system already, but some company like kfima still use the old system.
im not so good in explaining, i hope u do understand what im try to say here..
Posted by Fat Cat Tim Buddy > Jan 22, 2013 01:34 PM | Report Abuse d.singh is right about the public perspective on some particular company. it is not what you, me or him think, it is what most of the people think, if kfima is such a good stocks, why recently it plunge from 2.11 to 1.85? if the intrinsic value is RM 3 or RM 4.5 (LOL) , why investors still selling it?
Oh i c, you got that statement from d.singh. Yeah I agree with the statement too. It doesn't matter the statement comes from who. But why you still ask this "if kfima is such a good stocks, why recently it plunge from 2.11 to 1.85?"
And why you laugh out so loud that someone says its intrinsic value is 4.50? I think I know who is that someone you are laughing so loud at. I guess my defend for this person is you probably don't know how people compute intrinsic value of a company, the data and assumptions involved etc. Why investors sell it if the IV is so high? Isn't that your statement already preempt it?
Posted by Fat Cat Tim Buddy > Jan 22, 2013 01:42 PM | Report Abuse no , kcchong, we dont need to pay taxes on kfima dividend. it just that they announce paying 9 cents dividend with a 25% taxes, but what actually go into your bank account is 6.75 cents, it is a fixed 25% taxes. many listed company practice with the T.E taxes exempt system already, but some company like kfima still use the old system. im not so good in explaining, i hope u do understand what im try to say here..
fei mau, can you read what i wrote and try to understand what is tax imputation system (the old system which is applicable to Kfima's dividend payment).
From 2013 onwards, there is no more tax imputation system. We call the system as single tier dividend. If then Kfima declares 9 sen dividend, all 9 sen goes to your bank account. No claiming back of tax difference.
hahaha.. i have a slightly dislike feeling toward those ppl that always type their name in the back of every reply.. lol.
intrinsic value improve in time, so it is not important to give stocks a price target that sound so absurd at the moment , it have no Point to do it, just saying man.
and otb the dude, his doji and TA is just ridiculous, i have to balance it out..
fei mau, I respect your view on no point of doing and knowing the value of a company. Many people are like you. There is no right or wrong in investing/trading. But there is a basic behaviour we must have in a civilized society; that is respect others the same as you expect others to respect you.
uying uptrend stock have more potential to go higher . buying downtrend stock will go lower even it cheap . but i think i dont need to explaine for u as i did not earn anything n get scolded by u . jz only his method is different then my happy investing .
As Ben said: "In the short run, the market is a voting machine but in the long run it is a weighing machine." The speed at which a business's success is recognized, furthermore, is not that important as long as the company's intrinsic value is increasing at a satisfactory rate. In fact, delayed recognition can be an advantage: It may give us the chance to buy more of a good thing at a bargain price.
About the Single Tier vs. Section 108 Balance Dividend. Actually, 31.12.2013 is the last day any company can declare "Old" system i.e. Section 108 Dividend.
So, from now till 31.12.2013, KFIMA can still declare 9 sen less 25% tax.
By the way, any news announced on the 9 sen less 25%?
chongknghu, you ar right about the last day of secton 108 divdend, ie nd of ths year. NZ said Kfima has 10 sen section 108 dividend this year and hence it is highly likely that this would be the amount of dividend this year. Sharholders would get 10 sen less 25% or 7.5 sen per share credited ito his account. However, retirees who have no more income would be able to claim back this 2.5 sen from income tax. Others can claim back part of it, depending on his marginal tax rate.
This book is the result of the author's many years of experience and observation throughout his 26 years in the stockbroking industry. It was written for general public to learn to invest based on facts and not on fantasies or hearsay....
Posted by kcchongnz > 2013-01-21 17:31 | Report Abuse
Regarding the ESOS, i feel it is not easy to place a judgement by outsiders who don't know about the company. Companies do reward their employees with ESOS to motivate their employee so that they have the incentives to work harder to improve the operations of the company, its top and bottom lines; and hopefully eventually translate to increase in the share price of the stock, and hence enhance shareholder value. The exercise price I believe was decided long ago when Kfima share price was maybe around 1.60 (not sure of that) and hence the average price of a certain duration was used to determine the exercise price, with a discount, say 10%. The amount of ESOS, I think is capped to a maximum of 3%. ESOS, if done properly, is a win-win proposition and aligning the interest of management and shareholders. As far as I can see, the shareholders' value has been enhanced for the last 10 years continuously.