AGESON BERHAD

KLSE (MYR): AGES (7145)

-0.005 (7.14%)

0.065 - 0.075

34 people like this.

15,190 comment(s). Last comment by N33TCRAZE 1 week ago

BABIKING

180 posts

Posted by BABIKING > 2020-04-15 14:31 | Report Abuse

DatoSeriJohnnyWalker, dangerous, hot and humid environment not suitable for girl working there. BUt do have some girl are engineer, of course very very less, and there have a lot of girls worked as QS.

generally girl is not suitable.

Posted by YoungTycoonWILL > 2020-04-15 14:35 | Report Abuse

ViVaFoReVeRLOVE NancyDrewWhite, Why are subcontractors so terrible?Causing mrt project lots of accident. Why locals dunwan to work in construction?

Not all subcon are bad.

Not only MRT, almost all construction sites got accident occurred, for MRT such huge project just 3-4 cases considered very less d. Other small project maybe ur current house got pipu died during construction period u also dont know.

Cuz will old faster and low pay. Just like Singapore construction always got vacancy for Malaysian or Indonesian engineer. Because Singaporean want work inside office.

FYI there are many type of contractor. like local chinaman contractor, in order to increase profit they usually spend less on preliminary cost. for Japanese and Korean contractor, they care about safety so much. they truly practice safety first profit second kind of concept.

u know what are those cost would be spent in safety issue? there are plenty
1. sufficient scaffolding
2. sufficient guard rail (on high rise building)
3. safety net (those green colour u saw usually from outside)
4. competent safety officer that do his job well
5. well maintenance on machinery especially tower crane, passenger hoist
6. daily assembly to educate those foreign worker on daily basis
7. a lot more..

Posted by YoungTycoonWILL > 2020-04-15 14:38 | Report Abuse

BABIKING I found out that recent quarry materials are hard to secure good grade in compliance with condition of contract. The supplier keeps throwing excused that quarry material in good grade are hard to produce due to irregular mining source or being closed down by authority, but our client not buying this excuse. What way to protect our best interest?

If you insist good grade, supplier will sell you like 30% higher rates. It is common nowaday?

FYI if u work as contractor, what u have to do is very simple, just be genuine and do what is right. this is because contractor just a middle person, u are in between client and supplier.

what u have to do is to get few supplier to get the specific item u want, what grade. and tell them u also get other to quote the same thing. so they will felt pressure and quote u according to market price.

eg. let say got a project demand conquas standard (mean very high quality when come to standard), and u ask a subcon to quote u for let's say plastering work. usually they will tell u "hi mr. contractor, I will give u 2 rate, 1 is conquas rate 1 is normal rate". just reply to them, "hey mr. subcontractor, just quote according to the project specification. i'll get other to do the same thing" so they will felt threaten a bit coz they can't quote high if they want to get the job.

so u just have to get few cost comparison and the market price will surface to u.

true story

Posted by ViVaFoReVeRLOVE > 2020-04-15 14:42 | Report Abuse

YoungTycoonWILL Workmanship and quality issue.

Indonesian workers wont bulge in giving competitive rates for supply of labors. no doubt their workmanship is average satisfy but their high rates nowday are killing the industry. They are very demanding nowday, unlike old day.

If we opted with Bangla or Nepal or Vietnamese as construction workers, although their wages are much cheaper than Indon, but 80% of them are unskilled and lazy.

What would be the best way to overcome this labor issue....

for your info , u get what u pay for. cost of labourer from high to low. skill also from high to low.

1. Chinese labourer (mostly is carpenter (furniture), plasterer)
2. Indonesian labourer
3. Myanmar / Pakistani / Vietnamese
4. Bangladeshi

this u have to control yourself. I can tell u u get an Indonesian worker, ur quality might not be achieve the satisfactory u want. u have to get qaqc to control the quality of work and rectify when it is wrong at the beginning. not just about labourer. qaqc does matter too.

Posted by ViVaFoReVeRLOVE > 2020-04-15 14:44 | Report Abuse

BABIKING HI guys, Main Contractor profit margins. Years before 2008, Main Con still can secure a project at least with 15% profit margin

But nowaday, Main con are suffering thin line of profit margin around 5% to 10%. That if there are no excessive wastage, site corruption and LAD imposed.

Are Main Con business secured nowaday? From my opinion, 8 out of 10 Main Con firms nowaday are poorly performed.

There are no association in malaysia that will safe guard their best interest from these main con. I believe Ageson this year can get BIG PROJECT!

For your info babiking, main contractor have to be competitive to get the job. u mark up 15% how u get the job? a competent contractor that know how to plan the work well, they just mark up 3% to 4% as they already have in mind how the work would look like b4 start the work. able to foreseen what would happen during construction and hence prevent a lot of unnecessary expenses. they get additional profit through VO work.

nowadays, high end project mostly is cost overrun. why? because quality always failed. they have to spend extra cost to rectify those poor quality of works. high end project demand good quality of product. u know u spend 1 million on a unit, how fussy would u be?

Posted by Larrie Chew > 2020-04-15 14:46 | Report Abuse

Yes, i had seen some project with Japanese contractor, they are really discipline and put safety as their first priority, but definitely not mrt project

Posted by UraniumKing68 > 2020-04-15 14:48 | Report Abuse

larrie chew, Japanese contractor got class 1. like first tier contractor, 2nd tier contractor. first tier is like shimizu, takenaka, taisei and etc. they all listed company in Tokyo. 2nd tier are plenty.

Posted by Larrie Chew > 2020-04-15 14:50 | Report Abuse

UraniumKing68

Its langat water transfer
Shimizu nisimasu joint venture (inb4 i don't know how to spell second company name)

Posted by DatoSeriJohnnyWalker > 2020-04-15 14:54 | Report Abuse

Guys just curious to ask,

1. There are many types of concrete, how to order?
Malaysia have which type?
When we buy cement via the concrete truck, how to know if thye give the correct concrete we want?

2. Why always every flats, apartments, condos and high rises have leaking problems from floor above after 10 to 15 years?

BABIKING

180 posts

Posted by BABIKING > 2020-04-15 14:56 | Report Abuse

DatoSeriJohnnyWalker

answer for 2, let the site engineer need to do slump test.

Posted by DatoSeriJohnnyWalker > 2020-04-15 14:58 | Report Abuse

Thanks for the the number 2 answer babiking.

And How long will we know the result of the slump test?

how about the rest of the questions?

BABIKING

180 posts

Posted by BABIKING > 2020-04-15 14:59 | Report Abuse

Slump test can know directly. But need do a few more cube test which required send to lab and wait for report

Posted by ViVaFoReVeRLOVE > 2020-04-15 15:01 | Report Abuse

DatoSeriJohnnyWalker,

concrete is just 1 type. depend what the strength of concrete u want. eg. if u order grade 40N concrete, mean that concrete can stand the force not below 40N/mm2. like he said need send to lab for cube test. however 21 days only u will know the final result as concrete need 21days to achieve that result which is 40N/mm2. usually after u cast a level, consulting engineer not allow u to cast another floor because they want o see the result first. but then also they don't want to hinder the process of work therefore they get the 7 days result. 7th day if got achieve desired strength maybe around 30N then they allow to proceed casting of next floor.

among so many readymix concrete supplier, YTL subsidiary aka buildcon concrete sdn bhd is the smartest concrete supplier. why I said so? the concrete they supply can achieve very close to 40N for 21 days strength maybe like 40.5N or 41N while the rest of concrete supplier achieve more maybe like 44N or 45N. yeah u not heard it wrong, why I said smart that YTL achieve close to 40N which less than other? it's because in concrete, the expensive ingredient is cement. the more cement, the higher the strength. YTL just so precise enough to control the quantity of cement they use so they won't use more but at the same time still can achieve the desire strength. the other supplier will use more because they afraid that the concrete strength will fall below hence they rather spend more cement and subsequently they can't achieve the best optimum qty like YTL do.

to answer ur 2nd question, it is due to the waterproofing layer damaged. it could be many reason, poor workmanship, when owner doing renovation punch through the layer. anyway, only kitchen, toilet and balcony require waterproofing layer on floor.

usually waterproofing vendor will give like 20 years warranty 1.

Posted by ViVaFoReVeRLOVE > 2020-04-15 15:02 | Report Abuse

.......however there are additive can add depend what requirement u need. some additive meant for waterproofing, so by add that u have waterproof on the specific area u use. water very difficult to seep through. usually they apply this on ground floor which expose to weather while below is basement. then they apply 1 more waterproof layer before floor tile or stone so they have double protection.

there are other additive to increase the work-ability of concrete. normal concrete have slump test result 50mm +/- so the concrete will set very fast and can't travel long and flow not so smooth hence less mobility. use to cast the area where travel of concrete is minimal. by add the additive u achieve 75mm+/- and the concrete will not set quickly and flow well. we called it pump mix because when concrete got longer distance to travel, example from ground floor to 15th floor, u need that so concrete can flow well inside the pipe where they use the pump to pump it to higher level.

higher slump test result mean the concrete more watery

Posted by DatoSeriJohnnyWalker > 2020-04-15 15:09 | Report Abuse

What is the difference between marble and granite? where we use this material?

Posted by ViVaFoReVeRLOVE > 2020-04-15 15:11 | Report Abuse

DatoSeriJohnnyWalker

both marble and granite is stone. extract from mountain usually. difference is marble is fragile compared to granite. but marble got vein. the vein on the surface make it so beautiful but at the same time those vein is the thing make it fragile. water might seep in, and also that is the fragile part where crack started.

granite is just one tone, it is very consistent but also boring. some architect want very natural design hence marble give them the natural look which fit their requirement well.

Posted by ViVaFoReVeRLOVE > 2020-04-15 15:12 | Report Abuse

Marble and granite are natural stone hence look aesthetic. use on floor, wall, kitchen counter top, island. no budget then use tile.....

Posted by DatoSeriJohnnyWalker > 2020-04-15 15:15 | Report Abuse

ViVaFoReVeRLOVE,

depend what u want as I said. example floor slab usually require grade 25N concrete. of course u can use grade 40N but for what wasting that money to get more strength than what it require? wall and column require grade 40N concrete. anyway the strength of concrete doesn't support ur house. the 1 which give the strength to support the entire building is the steel bar inside the concrete. concrete just give a little compressive strength and protect the steel from rusty. big-grin

waterproofing which 1 better? of course is membrane type la. abt RM90/m2What thickness or type of re bar is recommended?

Posted by ViVaFoReVeRLOVE > 2020-04-15 15:19 | Report Abuse

we called it diameter of rebar. according to structure drawing. it is the duty of structural engineer to calculate. contractor just follow the drawing. again it's depend on the structural load requirement. if they require 20mm diameter for storage room, u can do 32mm diameter. it just require 20mm diameter of rebar to withstand the load.

Posted by ViVaFoReVeRLOVE > 2020-04-15 15:20 | Report Abuse

Concrete withstand compressive strength while steel rebar withstand tensile strength. Together the two material used together is called Reinforced Concrete. The steel rebar helps resist bending (moment) and tensile actions/force acted upon the component (beam, column and slab), but concrete is the one holding everything together.

O'Brian

96 posts

Posted by O'Brian > 2020-04-15 15:32 | Report Abuse

Lai...lai...lai....

No need talk 3 talk 4...

Long waiting ....

sapu all Ageson 7145 shares while stock last!

Posted by stockjobber > 2020-04-16 10:50 | Report Abuse

Ages-PA : Looks like operator is waiting for some anxious players to sell to them @.01 then only they are willing to push up. The play is on PA as when the mother goes double, the PA might make a few hundred per cent ! Watch out for some big moves

Posted by stockjobber > 2020-04-16 10:54 | Report Abuse

The same operator (Dato' Larry Liew) is in ARBB-PA, from 3 sen he pushed up to 0.295 in a short span of less than 4 months !

Posted by stockjobber > 2020-04-16 11:00 | Report Abuse

With a expiry date of 10 years, this gives the operator free rein to push up with no regards to time decay

BABIKING

180 posts

Posted by BABIKING > 2020-04-16 12:39 | Report Abuse

power

Posted by DatoSeriJohnnyWalker > 2020-04-16 12:40 | Report Abuse

Hello guys, do anyone of you know the difference between RC wall, Parapet Wall and Retaining Wall?

Posted by ViVaFoReVeRLOVE > 2020-04-16 12:42 | Report Abuse

DatoSeriJohnnyWalker

RC Wall is a short form of the phrase Reinforced Concrete Wall, a type of concrete shear wall in which reinforcement bars (a.k.a. rebars) have been incorporated into the concrete matrix to strengthen the tensile strength of the concrete wall that would otherwise be brittle.

Posted by ViVaFoReVeRLOVE > 2020-04-16 12:42 | Report Abuse

Parapet wall is a low wall usually constructed along the edge of a roof, balcony, or walkway. Commonly used to protect people against accidental falls.

Posted by YoungTycoonWILL > 2020-04-16 12:44 | Report Abuse

Recently, i got a dilemma... I want to build a holiday house at my small small land...

But you know lah, now very HING steel structure. Modern and stylish.

So I wonder,

Steel structure vs RC structure
1) what are the pro and con of each
2) if i use steel structure, will i save some cost in foundation? Any estimated cost if there is at all any saving?

Thanks in advance.

Posted by ViVaFoReVeRLOVE > 2020-04-16 12:45 | Report Abuse

Retaining wall is a structural encasement constructed to hold back soil, water, or materials. Retaining walls are used to increase the amount of level usable building area, retaining soil at a higher level, and preventing it from encroaching into the building or another useable area.

BABIKING

180 posts

Posted by BABIKING > 2020-04-16 12:47 | Report Abuse

YoungTycoonWILL

rc structure
pros - cheaper
cons - slower, need time curing

steel structure
pros - faster, can prefabricated in factory and assemble at site without have to wait, stronger because steel have high tensile strength
cons - expensive

nothing to do with foundation. foundation is nothing to do v material, the higher the building, the stronger foundation require. if u use steel structure, cost would be higher. steel is expensive than concrete. the advantage u have is u save time, can build immediately as long as u have the steel material

Posted by KennyDowJones > 2020-04-16 12:50 | Report Abuse

hi guys! asking on behalf of my family....

how much will it cost for piling and foundation in a piece of land size of 4927 sq, maybe around 60 X 95 to withstand respectively:

a) 2 storey shop
b) 3 storey shop
c) 5 storey shop

thank you...

Is it true that to get the relevant authorities for approval and conversion to become commercial areas requires at least 1 year?

Posted by ViVaFoReVeRLOVE > 2020-04-16 12:52 | Report Abuse

KennyDowJones, u can use abt RM175 per square feet to calculate. built up area, not land area. say 5 storey is 5000 build up area, then is 175 x 5000 equal to 875k. thus us just general guild line.

approval from authority u need get runner to do for u. Those quite competent can help u expedite the approval quickly, but u need to pay for it at higher cost. And usually is Malay runner.

Posted by Printing U.S Dollar Dollar Dollar > 2020-04-16 13:00 | Report Abuse

ViVaFoReVeRLOVE I have three questions related to the contractual issues.

(1) Say the Employer is pressuring the Main Contractor to start work. Is there a problem in the issue of a Letter of Intent?

(2) If a Letter of Intent is issued with a limit of RM1 million, is the employer obliged to pay a higher sum after allowing a contractor to exceed the limit?

(3) Can pre-contract minutes during the tender stage form a binding contract?

Posted by ViVaFoReVeRLOVE > 2020-04-16 13:02 | Report Abuse

I assume u are contractor

1. no need to concern on problem issue letter of intent.

2. yes, if beyond 1mil, employer still need to pay. maybe employer might via letter of intent don't wanna pay any amount beyond 1mil, but contractor can use the principle of quantum merit and force employer to pay.

3. pre-contract minutes mean the meeting that carry b4 contract form? or after, kindly elaborate more your case.

Posted by ViVaFoReVeRLOVE > 2020-04-16 13:03 | Report Abuse

Printing U.S Dollar Dollar Dollar

The common excuse for the issue of the letter is that the employer cannot wait the additional few days necessary for the preparation and execution of a formal contract. When requesting for a simple letter of acceptance of the contractor’s tender rather than a letter of intent, we suspect there is something more substantial preventing the issue of an acceptance letter with a few words and sentences. We are unsure whether it may be a delay in obtaining funding for the whole project or perhaps contractor’s tender was “still relatively high” and reduction negotiations with the Employer's in-house contractors are in progress.

Posted by Printing U.S Dollar Dollar Dollar > 2020-04-16 13:06 | Report Abuse

ViVaFoReVeRLOVE
(1a) If the Employer cannot give site possession on the due date, can the matter be resolved by the Architect giving an instruction to postpone the Works as per the Contract?

(1b) If the Architect does not grant Time Extension, and the Contractor is required to perform accelerated Works to catch up with the project’s completion schedule, can the Contractor use the Employer’s delay in giving the site possession as a reason to justify a claim for VO?

Posted by ViVaFoReVeRLOVE > 2020-04-16 13:08 | Report Abuse

Printing U.S Dollar Dollar Dollar, 1a. there are basically 2 type of breach in contract. 1 is conditional breach (can rescind the contract and claim for damages) another 1 is warranty breach (cannot rescind the contract but can claim remedy). not giving site possession is a conditional breach and the contractor can terminate the contract and claim for expenses incurred due to the breach. seems like ur case u accepted the late site possession. architect can postpone the work but it's up to contractor to accept it or not.

1b. yes, but it's has to be done at the beginning. let's say contract duration is May 2014 to June 2016, after u take the possession on July 2014, u should immediately claim for eot until August 2016. but in commercial context, u make employer unhappy especially when starting the work at beginning.

if u said claim vo due to the late sit possession, have to see whether it have direct impact to the vo work. but bear in mine VO is additional work to the project while loss and expenses claim is due to extended period of time.

Posted by DatoSeriJohnnyWalker > 2020-04-16 13:11 | Report Abuse

Again bro, what is the cost to build this house? and market price sold by contractor?

normally how many percents a developer earns from a project? ie. soho commercial condos?

Posted by ViVaFoReVeRLOVE > 2020-04-16 13:12 | Report Abuse

DatoSeriJohnnyWalker ,contractor don't sell the house. it was developer who sell the house. developer engage a contractor to build for them. cost to build hardly determine but generally u can use this ratio to gauge the price and budget. low end use RM150/sf, high end specification use RM300/sf. again this is not accurate, best u budget urself first like RM200/sf x 2000 square feet = RM400k and u build it base on the budget. if budget burst then consider change the type of material, maybe from stainless steel to mild steel, maybe from marble to tile, maybe from timber floor to tile? maybe from MML to white horse tile? maybe from TOTO brand of sanitary wares to zaplang china made fitting?

this is depend from project to project. for a high end service apartment at KLCC area, out of 100% of GDV (Gross Development Value) got 26% is profit after tax.

BABIKING

180 posts

Posted by BABIKING > 2020-04-16 13:14 | Report Abuse

ViVaFoReVeRLOVE, if u check back BS 8110, rebar will tend to buckle subject to compressive force therefore rebar only used to resist high tensile force.

And for most building, local practice is using grade C30 concrete which is 30N/mm2, as far as I know water retaining structure using C35A and MRT segmental box girder using C40

Posted by ViVaFoReVeRLOVE > 2020-04-16 13:15 | Report Abuse

BABIKING

grade 25/30 mostly is on floor slab and beam, internal column is grade 40. of course some case might have exception. like retaining wall grade 60. again, it is all design by conslting engineer as accordance to BS 5950. i understand that in the book it keep tell us concrete have high compressive strength and compensate the steel weak of compressive strength. but rebar have yield stress of 460N/mm2 in contrast of concrete have 40N/mm2 (depend on which concreet u use) it's depend on how u lay the rebar. if u lay the rebar horizontally and the loading in from top to bottom, then it's weak in compressive strength, but if u bend the rebar and let it bulging on top and apply the force again, it have way higher compressive strength than concrete. this is also how pre-stress reinforced concrete work came about.

Posted by UraniumKing68 > 2020-04-16 13:18 | Report Abuse

Hi happy investors of Ageson, just to ask is it

45 X80 (reserving some place for side and back)

if 3 floors + 1 parking facility underneath

45 X80= 3600

3600 X (3+1) = 144000 st built up total

so 144000 x RM175= 2.52 million?

RM175, inclusive of building structure till finish?And is it possible to do piling for 3-4 storey first, but built 2 storey and 1 parking facility, then upgrade somemore?

BABIKING

180 posts

Posted by BABIKING > 2020-04-16 13:20 | Report Abuse

Nice to have you around UraniumKing68, yes, including. but then again the correct way of doing it is set the budget first. say u consider RM175 then overall building cost is 2.52million. then from there u start to monitor. if budget likely to burst, consider do reduce some type of material.

yes, u can do foundation for 3-4 storey and then just build 2 storey and upgrade in the future. but have to consider a lot of factor. when u upgrade in future, the cost would be higher because a lot of temporary work. and summore, when u upgrading, the house have to be vacant and is not habitable.

Posted by UraniumKing68 > 2020-04-16 13:22 | Report Abuse

btw BABIKING do we need any architect to raft the plan before building?

BABIKING

180 posts

Posted by BABIKING > 2020-04-16 13:25 | Report Abuse

Go to DBKL apply and they will assign a planner for u. But usually i don't think it's efficient, and it's quite fussy. Better get a runner to do that. usually some competent engineer can do everything for u, submission and design. they will submit the building plan and get it approve. Those one stop center as they got partner who is architect and also registered planner. can do all the design and submission.

O'Brian

96 posts

Posted by O'Brian > 2020-04-16 13:29 | Report Abuse

Thanks for both of your explanation guys.

Here are some issues related to general contractual matters:

(1) I'm sure you had heard cases where some construction materials were stolen. If the employer has paid for materials on site which are subsequently stolen, who is liable in most cases?

(2) Some contracts call for Contractors to carry out Architect’s instructions forthwith and many Architects think that the Contractor, on receipt of the instruction, must immediately carry it out. If a contractor must do something ‘forthwith’, how quickly should the contractor interpret that?

Posted by ViVaFoReVeRLOVE > 2020-04-16 13:30 | Report Abuse

yo o'brian,

1. contractor is liable. because contractor have the site possession. provided the material is under contractor custody.

2. this happen always and only competent contractor can manage it well. very simple, contractor have to carry out with due diligence and expedite the work. contract term called it "regular and diligent". what exactly it mean? upon receive of instruction, u have to start to begin the necessary work. a program bar chart will always be drafted and submitted in EOT application. u have to justify the thing to Employer on reasonableness by including the program bar chart with event as below,
a) date receive of instruction and drawings
b) production of shop drawing
c) review of shop drawing by consultant
d) construction of work as per instruction

if the date fall into critical path, then there u go, u entitle for EOT. if not then it's concurrent activity and contractor have to stick to the original completion date. the "forthwith" is within the buffer zone of master program

Posted by Larrie Chew > 2020-04-16 13:33 | Report Abuse

Hi,ViVaFoReVeRLOVE ! Can i ask if There is a ‘higher’ clause in the contract saying that, “When the language of a contract does not expressly, or by necessary implication, fix any time for the performance of a contractual obligation, the law implies that it shall be performed in a reasonable time. The rule is of general application...” How ‘reasonable’ is a reasonable time?

Posted by ViVaFoReVeRLOVE > 2020-04-16 13:33 | Report Abuse

Hi there larrie chew, Through the analysis of courts’ judgments, the meaning of “reasonable
time” when time at large occurs was determined. “Reasonable time” means
reasonable under the existing circumstances, assuming that those circumstances, in
so far as they involve delay, are not caused or attributed to by him and excluding
circumstances which were under the control of the contractor, considering what in
ordinary circumstances was a reasonable time for performance and then considering
to what extent the time for performance of the contractor was in fact extended by
extraordinary circumstances outside his control.