AGESON BERHAD

KLSE (MYR): AGES (7145)

-0.005 (7.14%)

0.065 - 0.075

34 people like this.

15,190 comment(s). Last comment by N33TCRAZE 1 week ago

Posted by KennyDowJones > 2020-04-09 14:55 | Report Abuse

It has been a stony 2-month road. But we have together managed to climb that mountain with success and satisfaction. For sure we did experience fits and starts especially at the beginning, there were some who were ignorant, a few dangerously irresponsible. To our immense gratitude, there also were so many who were selfless, sacrificing time and comfort, risking health and safety in commitment to serve the public.

Yes, we still have daily fresh cases, and regrettably, deaths also. Yet looking at the wider picture we have done more than reasonably well, we have reason for pride and relief. Many of us believe we seem to have crossed the crest, the remaining journey ahead is downwards, it is smoother, the light at the end brighter and so much closer. Do we now say we have slain the foe, we can remove our guard? Do we end MCO?

Right now our greatest concern should be towards the roadside trader and the daily-paid worker. How did they cope each day for 60 days? How will they manage if the MCO is extended? A mosque near my area made an appeal for donations and it broke my heart to learn that “RM50 can feed a family for 2 weeks.” RM50! How wasteful I must have been, where a meal or even a dish would cost more than RM50.

Then we have our frontline heroes. How tired they must be by now, serving the ill, manning the roadblocks, attending to our essential needs. Their bodies and spirits must be crying out silently for rest. How can they pause if duty summons with an extended MCO? The icon for this surely must be Noor Hisham Abdullah, meeting the media each evening, spending the whole day toiling over reports and plotting fresh strategies.

If somehow the interests of these 2 groups could be protected stronger, then the obvious vote would be to let MCO remain a while longer. We may already be home safe even now, yet there is that possibility that things may take a sudden savage turn. Why take that chance?

MCO will bring continued challenges, difficulties, and inconveniences. But let us not spoil the ship for a ha’porth of tar. MCO must be extended until certainty is at hand.

Posted by DatoSeriJohnnyWalker > 2020-04-09 14:56 | Report Abuse

Who wants MOC to be extended beyond 14th April ? The government employees and salaried staff of commercial enterprises would want MOC to be extended . WHY ? They are still being paid and do not suffer any loss of income ? What about hawkers, daily paid workers and small businesses ? These unfortunate categories have to work in order to earn wages to buy food to feed their families .

There are some many heartless people who only care for themselves . What about the jobless ? Where to get money to pay rent & food ?
So don’t scream for MOC to be extended . Not all Malaysians are in government civil service . Have a heart for the jobless & those not in Govt service

Posted by Larrie Chew > 2020-04-09 14:57 | Report Abuse

lai lai lai, don't say bojio! Ageson price is stably up up and up!

Posted by 靓女 phoon phoon > 2020-04-09 14:59 | Report Abuse

YES Larrie Chew! Ageson plane is on the move! Ready to fly.............zooooooooom

happylucy

198 posts

Posted by happylucy > 2020-04-09 15:02 | Report Abuse

TP 0.50! BEHOLD>>>>>>>>> powerpowerpowerful Ageson is here! Don't miss Ageson plane guys!

Posted by UraniumKing68 > 2020-04-10 15:20 | Report Abuse

Top physicians pen letter to PM calling for gradual relaxation of MCO

The president of the Malaysian Medical Association and 12 predecessors have penned an open letter to Prime Minister Muhyiddin Yassin calling for a gradual relaxation of the movement control order (MCO) measures currently being implemented to combat the spread of Covid-19.

“To Malaysia’s credit, the measures taken by the government, guided by professionals and the best available knowledge, have so far managed to prevent the sort of runaway increase in cases and deaths that we have seen in some other countries,” read the letter.

However, they say it is likely that a stepwise relaxation of movement control will be the way forward.

“For instance, businesses may be allowed to operate with strict guidelines on how many people can be on the premises. Public transport may have to operate with limited loads and with frequent disinfection. Solitary public exercise will have to be permitted, to allow for mental and physical health issues.

“Large group congregations for places of worship, celebrations (e.g. weddings) unfortunately will have to be restricted until the likelihood of community viral spread comes down consistently. This might take upwards of months to years.

“All such measures will need enforcement, and enforcers must be given very clear guidelines so they do not exceed the limits of the regulations or their powers. The public likewise must be well informed about the practical effects of such regulations – what is and is not permissible,” reads the letter.

The letter is signed by the current president of the MMA Dr N Ganabaskaran and 12 past presidents including Dr Ashok Philip, Dr David Quek Kwang Leng, Dr H Krishna Kumar, Dr A Krishnamoorthy, Dr N Arumugam, Dr Milton Lum Siew Wah, Dr RP Lingam, Dr John Chew Chee Ming, Dr Ravindran Naidu, Dr Subramaniam Nadarajan, Dr Abdul Hamid and Dr Mohamed Namazie Ibrahim.

In making this call, the physicians acknowledge that the coronavirus is not going to disappear anytime soon but asked if this means that all Malaysians have to cower at home until the “all clear” is declared.

“There are many strategies that can support community resilience and mental health, protect access to essential goods and services, and limit the economic impact of stay-at-home measures where these are deemed necessary.

“For example, organising work-sites to ensure physical distance between persons, such as staggering shifts over time, or converting on-site service to home delivery may help to keep more businesses open.

“Tele-working and tele-schooling strategies in different contexts demonstrate innovation and the role of technology in supporting business continuity and sustaining social connection within families and communities.

“In general, implementation of distancing measures should also aim to sustain personal and professional community connections by virtual means and technology, including widely accessible means such as radio and mobile phones.”

“Therefore, disruption of social activities, gainful employment, job losses and bankruptcies will have to be tempered with strong tangible ground level people to people, as well as small enterprise/small business support.

“No jobs means no income – many would be hard-pressed to survive a prolonged MCO or long-term lockdowns. Thus, it is extremely critical to plan the long-term easing of these movement control and social distancing efforts,” added the physicians.

Safeguard healthcare professionals

The physicians say that while relaxing movement control, we cannot afford to let up on diagnosis, isolation and treatment of Covid-19 patients.

“We will need to get a point of care rapid tests such as we have for dengue and influenza, which we hope will be evaluated and available within a few weeks.

“We will need to look into those who have been cured or who have protective antibodies so that perhaps these convalescent people might get ‘certificates of infection and cure’, and therefore, be allowed to return quickly to society – to work, to pursue business, to study et cetera.”

They also warned against any sort of monopoly on the manufacture, import, distribution and sale of such tests or economic incentives.

“These should benefit all our rakyat equitably and fairly without losses from leakages and unnecessary bureaucracy. The government must exercise financial prudence, power restraint as well as great transparency so that the rakyat can have confidence in the government’s management and control of this Covid-19 pandemic.”

The physicians also called on authorities to take measures to safeguard the health of rest accorded to healthcare professionals.

“Globally, hundreds of doctors and nurses have already died looking after Covid-19 patients. This should not be allowed to happen here. If doctors and nurses get sick, that places even greater strains on the healthcare system. Worse, this will seriously undermine the morale and confidence of frontline healthcare workers here,” they said.

‘Public’s health precious’ – former minister wants MCO to continue
Former education minister Mahdzir Khalid believes the government should extend the movement control order (MCO), stressing that the public’s health is precious.

His assessment was based on the daily briefings by Defence Minister Ismail Sabri Yaakob and Health Ministry director-general Dr Noor Hisham Abdullah on the Covid-19 pandemic.

The Umno leader proposed several initiatives which could be implemented if Prime Minister Muhyiddin Yassin, who is scheduled to address the nation at 4pm, announces an extension for the MCO.

As for education with regard to the primary and secondary levels, Mahdzir said the Education Ministry must encourage more online learning.

“Using an interactive platform can motivate teachers and students to continue the syllabus. This would also prevent students from becoming dull after sitting at home for a long period of time.
“The education slot on RTM can also be extended and this can also include private networks,” he added in a Facebook posting this morning.

Whereas, Mahdzir said the Higher Education Ministry should urge universities to conduct online lectures in order for courses to be completed according to schedule.

“The advantage of students owning smartphones coupled with the initiative by telecommunication companies offering free internet data can help realise this proposal,” he added.

Who knows, we may find the vaccine?

Research universities, the former minister said, can use this opportunity to strengthen the research and development (R&D) sector.

Mahdzir urged these universities to conduct research into the Covid-19 virus to understand its characteristics and the findings can be shared with the public for their well-being.

“The R&D group can also look for a vaccine. Who knows, the vaccine for Covid-19 could come from our laboratories?

“To realise this, the government must provide the appropriate research grants to these universities to produce impactful studies,” he added.

Mahdzir also urged the government to launch a specific initiative for SME entrepreneurs, which would allow for their businesses, including those in rural areas, to operate during the MCO.

“How long can the government afford to dish out aid in the form of cash?

“The online business platform must be expanded for their use. Or in other words, the implementation of the 5G network must be expedited,” he added.

As for life in the post-MCO period, the former minister suggested that social science experts conduct a specific study to identify the new norms to be observed.

“The public can use the findings of this study to adapt to the situation after the government lifts the MCO. It would also be crucial for the public to help rehabilitate the national economy,” he added.

The MCO was implemented on March 18 to flatten the Covid-19 infection curve. It was scheduled to end on March 31 but was extended until April 14.

As of yesterday, Malaysia recorded 4,228 Covid-19 cases and 67 deaths. A total of 24 districts nationwide have been classified as red zones for having more than 40 positive cases.

Posted by DatoSeriJohnnyWalker > 2020-04-10 15:22 | Report Abuse

Unbelievable!

I would have thought that AFTER new cases of the virus had been on the decline for 10-14 days would be the time to start lifting the CMO

Maybe these guys need a holiday in Wuhan to help straighten out their thinking

More by good luck than good management. Malaysia is faring pretty well in comparison with other countries.

It’s my opinion that it would be insane to relax restrictions until our gains are consolidated

The economy will recover...dead people won’t

Posted by NancyDrewWhite > 2020-04-10 15:22 | Report Abuse

Then you disregard the achievements in countries like Korea or Taiwan. There is a way out of it and it has to be gone now. Extending the MCO just blindly will destroy more even more lives. Just blindly screaming “stay at home” isn’t going to help.

Posted by NancyDrewWhite > 2020-04-10 15:23 | Report Abuse

When everyone eats and consumes but few people work, who is going go foot the bill?

Where is this country going to earn the money to pay for all the freebies for the B40 should this thing drags on and we never get to zero infection?
Just print more ringgit?

There are certainly better and more logical ways than just lock down everyone.
Some parts of the country can be freed while some could be placed under curfew.

Let's believe in science, like the Chinese or the Koreans.

Posted by Umbrella Corp > 2020-04-10 15:24 | Report Abuse

But the Chinese lock down in Wuhan was for 3 solid months???

Posted by NancyDrewWhite > 2020-04-10 15:24 | Report Abuse

76 days

O'Brian

96 posts

Posted by O'Brian > 2020-04-10 15:26 | Report Abuse

remove the MCO!!! Put on control for RED and ORANGE Zone. We must remove the MCO on 14/4/2020 before nation economy is collapsed and it will be hard to recover. Our Covid19 data shows that the key Covid19 contributors are those 5 major groups of gathering such the Sri Petaling Muslim group etc. Government can just focus and keep tracking down those groups. Dont let the whole nation collapse and pull down

Posted by NancyDrewWhite > 2020-04-10 15:27 | Report Abuse

But they have not successfully traced those from these groups. Many are still roaming out there. This will give them a free pass to move and start infecting again. May get worse and than may be too late. Look at Italy, Spain and now UK.

UK has learnt its lesson and has today imposed a continuation of a further 7 weeks of lockdown. Surely they must know sometime we don't to continue the lockdown.

Posted by YoungTycoonWILL > 2020-04-10 15:28 | Report Abuse

Government servants are smart adult already. They can take care of themselves from this Bug@C-19 .They must go back to work for shorter hours at least >> 5 hours 8 AM to 1 PM .
Most of them are praying hard for extended MCO . This Laidbackers with guaranteed pay $ won't think about the nation economy at all . They are not retirees after all .
# Go back to work !! you madafakas

O'Brian

96 posts

Posted by O'Brian > 2020-04-10 15:29 | Report Abuse

Mark the RED zone areas. And put them on enhanced MCO. Road blocks the access and exits of such areas . The rest of Malaysia can have a slow easing of the restrictions.
And should things changed , we put back the MCO.

GodOfWar

128 posts

Posted by GodOfWar > 2020-04-10 15:42 | Report Abuse

Hello doctors, I disagree with all of u, knowing Malaysians u give them betis they will take peha. U let public transports to operate, then It’s going to go beyond control. The current method of MCO is lenient enough. We can only relax it when the whole country don’t record anymore new cases for 14 days. Look at China, the moment they relaxed it, it started again. No outsiders allowed into Malaysia until there is a vaccine. Don’t worry doctor nobody is dying of hunger now but only dying of Covid -19

Posted by Umbrella Corp > 2020-04-10 15:43 | Report Abuse

Godofwar, these doctors have now emerged as Economists. Please stick to yr field as most of u live in ivory towers.

BABIKING

180 posts

Posted by BABIKING > 2020-04-10 15:44 | Report Abuse

Clueless backdoor government needs to be taught at every damn thing! And yet we have to fill their pockets, with such a bloated good for nothing cabinet, only to create jokes, fun and laughter to the world at this critical pandemic period, and ever ready to start their 'inherited' habit of stealing shamelessly from the rakyat! It's a real insult to mankind !!

Posted by Printing U.S Dollar Dollar Dollar > 2020-04-10 15:45 | Report Abuse

Keep the politician at bay

No interference from any politician

Let the expert do their work without any interference from them

Let's leave it to the DG Datuk Noor Hisham. He has eyes on the current situation and our preparedness to a surge in cases and management.

We are in the catch 22 situation. The only way we can beat this is the people. They will have to observe strict hygiene

JessicaTan

127 posts

Posted by JessicaTan > 2020-04-10 15:47 | Report Abuse

hihi, All views have to be taken into account and debated. Health DG is not God.
PM is not Sole decider. All views have to be taken into account as decision made affects all our lives whether health wise, finances, mental or emotional.
In a war you do not only play safe as you can be defeated in other ways.
Victory comes with a costs and only to those who think strategically and are bold to act to preserve their assets instead of being drained by the enemy when you are afraid and listen only to one view which you think is the only safe option.
Do we have a battle tested General leading us ?

JessicaTan

127 posts

Posted by JessicaTan > 2020-04-10 15:48 | Report Abuse

This letter is being written by business persons rather than doctors. Many businesses, including clinics, are suffering but this lockdown which is for the greater good of all. Lockdowns have been known to break the the uncontrollable spread of the virus and any relaxation of the rules will only restart the spread. Start behaving as doctors and stop thinking like profit driven individuals. Even a tiny nation like New Zealand has gone on complete lockdown, what more Malaysia, whose standard of personal hygiene is questionable?

Posted by ViVaFoReVeRLOVE > 2020-04-10 15:50 | Report Abuse

Agreed with you jessicatan. These doctors have emerged now as economists. Whats the difference to them? they sit in ivory towers. Its people like us who will pay the heavier price if MCO is lifted.

Even UK has continued the lockdown for 7 more weeks. We are not out of the woods yet. The tabligh group has not been fully accounted for. Some pain now for the greater good for all of us later.

If this virus comes back we will be dead ducks and you can forget the economy all together then.

Posted by Larrie Chew > 2020-04-10 15:56 | Report Abuse

Current Covid19 statistics shows Malaysia herd immunity level is above global average, by comparing the recovery and death cases with other countries. The statistics is a good indicator for the above recommendation to be considered. Since Malaysians have learned hard lesson from the current MCO, they will appreciate more their movement freedom by self-regulatory approaches needed to prevent covid19 spread.

GodOfWar

128 posts

Posted by GodOfWar > 2020-04-10 15:57 | Report Abuse

Larrie Chew! Do you understand statistics?I said herd immunity level determined from statistics of Covid patients. Statistics is used to infer population mean of immunity level. You have little understanding on immunity for me to discuss this topic. Period.

Posted by Larrie Chew > 2020-04-10 15:58 | Report Abuse

godofwar

Do you even know what herd immunity is? It won't happen with most viruses until you hit somewhere between 40-70 of the population infected and recovered, if we have that many infected the death toll will be huge!

BABIKING

180 posts

Posted by BABIKING > 2020-04-10 15:59 | Report Abuse

well guys, I have never seen any statistics on herd immunity level for any country, leave alone Malaysia.

In fact such data would be impossible at this stage, because already recovered people have been found to be reinfected

Posted by UraniumKing68 > 2020-04-10 16:00 | Report Abuse

These doctors are not infectious disease specialists. Further they do not consider the bigger picture many things the Agong appointed Prime Minister has done must go through Parliament otherwise there is anarchy. Absence of open consultation between representatives of the people in times of emergency is an absolute essential in a democracy.

BABIKING

180 posts

Posted by BABIKING > 2020-04-10 16:01 | Report Abuse

uraniumking68, That’s true. In fact they are doctors with a political bent

BABIKING

180 posts

Posted by BABIKING > 2020-04-10 16:01 | Report Abuse

Muhyiddin should consult infectious diseases experts in University of Malaya and in the HKL

BABIKING

180 posts

Posted by BABIKING > 2020-04-10 16:02 | Report Abuse

Just hope this PM is wise enough to listen to health experts and learn from countries that fail to address this covid19 crisis. There should not be any political consideration at all.

Posted by YoungTycoonWILL > 2020-04-10 16:13 | Report Abuse

There must be areas where Govt servants can take the lead to start working. Examples are areas of online applications and services which can be done online. If bureaucracy is a constrain , it can always be overcomed by group chat through skype or zoom. The technology is there for us to exploit. A little bit of critical thinking can go a long way to help the nation at this critical moment and not just staying at home and doing nothing.This will also help to clear backlogs when MCO is lifted.

Posted by NancyDrewWhite > 2020-04-10 16:15 | Report Abuse

This covid virus is deadly and are not the prerogative of just 12 so called ‘experts’ to make a decision.This is not like politics where you can play ‘clever’ in front of the rakyat.Only KKM will have the final say after consultation with the MKN.Please dont try to be clever.This is a national issue and not a hospital issue.

Posted by Printing U.S Dollar Dollar Dollar > 2020-04-10 16:16 | Report Abuse

They are worried about their clinics, properties, side businesses, and investments.

New Zealand saw good progress. But still Jacinda Arden, PM of New Zealand said they must maintain vigilance:
"Despite these promising signs, urged greater vigilance especially over the Easter holidays. Now is NOT the time to change any of our behaviors"

Posted by Printing U.S Dollar Dollar Dollar > 2020-04-10 16:17 | Report Abuse

The MCO should be extended until a strategy to govern and monitor it's impending relaxation is drawn up and communicated to the people for clarity and understanding.

Posted by Printing U.S Dollar Dollar Dollar > 2020-04-10 16:17 | Report Abuse

Until contact tracing can be perform for all new infections, MCO should go on.

Posted by Printing U.S Dollar Dollar Dollar > 2020-04-10 16:18 | Report Abuse

meaning the tablihg and tahfiz fellas

Posted by KennyDowJones > 2020-04-10 16:19 | Report Abuse

A slow or step by step easing of MCO is the best way forward. You cannot just stay at home forever. Otherwise might as well get the farmers fisherman etc to stay at home....see you got food to ear or not.

Posted by KennyDowJones > 2020-04-10 16:20 | Report Abuse

The relaxation of MCO will come with heavy costs if not handle properly. Social distancing, limiting passengers travelling in public transports, observe personal hygience, wearing of mask. The exit should be gradual. Probably according to the present zoning. Red zone areas should be strictly monitored closely.

Posted by KennyDowJones > 2020-04-10 16:20 | Report Abuse

this is the best option for the people and the economy as well. but all have to be obedient of the ruling to ensure safe approach is accomplished..

Posted by Larrie Chew > 2020-04-10 16:22 | Report Abuse

I am stunned that doctors proposed a relaxation, makes you wonder their motive, business or public health? We cannot afford a major pandemic, most countries are doing it and the only way to control the infection rate, Malaysia is not unique in this situation, it is unfortunate the impact, but lives is of paramount importance now, more than ever.

Posted by DatoSeriJohnnyWalker > 2020-04-10 16:23 | Report Abuse

larriechew, We can look at what other countries are doing. Some relaxation is necessary, for example in the supply chain for food manufacturers, where their supplies of raw materials and packaging are stopped because they are not deemed essential industries. Some types of exercising should be allowed, it's necessary for our physical and mental well being.

BABIKING

180 posts

Posted by BABIKING > 2020-04-10 16:25 | Report Abuse

look at singapore, germany, japan and new zealand...
oops we cant follow becos they are 1st world country of civilized folks... we are third world baboon...

Posted by NancyDrewWhite > 2020-04-10 16:26 | Report Abuse

You have missed the point. A situation which leads us into abject poverty will have its own heath implications. Even if 10% of our poor fall into extreme poverty due to the lack of work this will have its own implications on their health and survival. The key word here is balance. We are not a rich developed country that can guarantee every jobless individual 70 to 80% of their salary for the next 3 to 6 months. So please . . . . . have a heart for our poor.

Posted by DatoSeriJohnnyWalker > 2020-04-10 16:27 | Report Abuse

These suggestions by the physicians seem a reasonable fine-tuning of the necessary restrictions at this time. No one is suggesting that we abandon the need to social distancing and isolation of people at risk. That remains necessary. However, there have been practical problems and trying situations behind the “All Stay at Home” order. It would be naive to believe that there has been 90% compliance, more likely the real and worrying non-compliance is just not seen.
In any emergency it is normal for top down orders to be issued initially. These often lack consideration for full implementation down the line. Where people are allowed to return to work, e.g. part-time, there should be a concerted effort to get bottom-up suggestions as to how individual employees can lessen their exposures. For example, an employee may suggest need for protection or that he/she only needs to be in the office once per week and that peak hour travel can be avoided. Or some meetings may be possible between less people at more convenient and suitable meeting places. Some high exposure tasks may be deferred until safer/better methods are available. With sensible implementation, continued oversight and the momentum of community awareness, the battle against Covid-19 can become more effective, not less.

Posted by YoungTycoonWILL > 2020-04-10 16:28 | Report Abuse

It appears that these doctors' motivation is commercial. It is a selfish suggestion. Let one of them tell us that they have an effective vaccine or they really do understand the psyche of violators.

The Govt was understanding enough to initiate a relaxed enforcement through the MCO when the numbers were growing as a result of the recalcitrant behaviour of some and notedly this "some" would be enough to create fifth-generation patients.

The Govt was in a dilemma and may be even confused, as has been the general pattern around the world. There are two important overriding factors that would or should have made it abundantly clear on what the next step should have been:

First, it has a ASYMPTOMATIC period of between 4 to 14 days and this vulnerable period has been the major cause of the spread. It is this vulnerability that poses a threat of a major disaster.

Secondly, an effective vaccine against Covid-19 is not available. Even the countries noted for their advanced standing in medicine have been like brought down to on their knees. UK and US and not forgetting Italy and Spain have seen the spike in deaths. That the aged and those suffering from chronic diseases are vulnerable may mean we haven't yet seen the end of the tunnel.

What we are left with is the control of movement and lockdown. It is certainly going to rock off balance on the economics of the country but it is a choice, a hard choice that we have to make. The aforesaid information on the asymptomatic vulnerability and the unavailability of an effective vaccine should have been the guided symptoms to go for a complete lockdown immediately when the numbers started increasing. It may have been possible to have come out of the quagmire by now and then impose strict controls on borders and the incoming and outgoing traffic.

May be the Govt has its own reasons for this piecemeal EMCOs but our resources, particularly our frontliners, are being stretched and our economy has come almost to a standstill with dire consequences. We all hope it will fade away but hearing new red areas with clusters emerging as down-the-line contractions, it will be hard to rationalise the request of the doctors. When we are it, complete the job.

There are those who still believe that they won't be affected. With such twisted logic wandering around, the Govt should be firm in enforcing strictly movements, save for the presently existing guidelines on getting basic/necessary items and food and those who need their monthly medication and emergency medical treatment.

Doctors cannot pretend that they are gods. They simply have no answer to Covid-19 and all that is available is "quarantine/isolation/strict enforcement of MCO". The DG and his lieutenants have been on their toes and it is important and necessary for them to clear the already positive cases instead of battling to face new cases piling up.

Posted by KennyDowJones > 2020-04-10 16:29 | Report Abuse

youngtycoonwill,You have no understanding of what the poor are experiencing with this MCO. Your accusation that these "doctors' motivation is commercial and selfish" is uncalled for although you claim to be a "Fair Malaysian". I do not belong to their group but find your comments completely illogical. Your ideas would suggest a complete lock down until the virus vanishes! Yes, "twisted logic" would indeed be the right term for that.