ECO WORLD DEVELOPMENT GROUP BERHAD

KLSE (MYR): ECOWLD (8206)

1.72 - 1.80

24 people like this.

18,587 comment(s). Last comment by Aati99 1 day ago

Posted by Fongfeikei > 2015-01-23 19:10 | Report Abuse

Come to me 2.20 I can buy

Posted by bullrun_star > 2015-01-26 08:33 | Report Abuse

will this counter fly higher today?

cheeseburger

2,798 posts

Posted by cheeseburger > 2015-01-26 11:18 | Report Abuse

those bought in RM5 should split to half of the value with double of the units. i.e. you'll breakeven at $2.50 today

cheeseburger

2,798 posts

Posted by cheeseburger > 2015-01-26 11:27 | Report Abuse

@limayseng
all problem listed above will only push up the property price. Xpecially those property in good position, reputable developer
In the past the world face a lot of problem like diseases, subprime crisis, gold price crash, economy slow down etc and now oil issue.
Take a look on housing index of Klang valley, JB and Penang. What was the price per sqft then and now.
Why did Tan Sri LKS bought the London prop even before the eco SPAC approval issued? why dont he wait if there is a concern with all the problem there.
Something cannot wait and for sure will go up. That is his view and he dont wait.

Posted by masterpeace > 2015-01-26 15:28 | Report Abuse

He is a ego man. He think his bet is always right.Tragically, there is always cycle in everything. Likewise to gold, oil n everything... One day we will lose everything becos of his act pro attitude.
Yes, he made tonnes of money before this. Bt not everytime he will so lucky. Mark my words.
I dont look good to this monkey face.

Posted by richienexus > 2015-01-26 16:39 | Report Abuse

Is he creating false hope?

robertzz

974 posts

Posted by robertzz > 2015-01-26 22:04 | Report Abuse

bro... do you think he and the partners will just simply fork up own $$$ and go ahead???? just to sharing, when they start the project at setia alam what did the others think? awhhh... so far.. but end of the day, it was a brilliant project with master plan. The other developers start to copy the idea. personally they already employed specialist to do some research before make such a big move..

cheers

kt99

404 posts

Posted by kt99 > 2015-01-27 13:23 | Report Abuse

He just set his target to over take sp setia, to prove that pnb did a wrong move for take over sp setia, setia will become another sunrise and i n p soon. Start only using bumi contractor, bumi consultant, and more quota for bumi high rank staff. What the hack their r injecting racist ideology in a corporate world. Succeed of eco world not only mean the success of tan sri lks only, we should please if eco world grow stronger.

hankc

182 posts

Posted by hankc > 2015-01-28 18:46 | Report Abuse

Our bumeeee entrepreneurs don't care for anyone or anything that proves them wrong. If you listen carefully to their mantra, it says "Wa sala Lu Mai Gong" and "Mai Gong Wa Sala".

Yuming

548 posts

Posted by Yuming > 2015-01-29 13:46 | Report Abuse

I run at 2.29 level....will keep monitor..Yeah

Posted by masterpeace > 2015-01-29 15:10 | Report Abuse

yea yuming! good!
I wait it drop under rm2

JN88

11,670 posts

Posted by JN88 > 2015-01-29 18:40 | Report Abuse

2.2 can collect lo....RM 2 very hard to reach..

Posted by Fongfeikei > 2015-01-30 16:07 | Report Abuse

Cannon out again

JN88

11,670 posts

Posted by JN88 > 2015-01-30 18:19 | Report Abuse

last minute drop back..haiz..

Posted by Fongfeikei > 2015-01-30 18:27 | Report Abuse

Thinking of swapping my E&O for Eco next week

genesis81

348 posts

Posted by genesis81 > 2015-01-30 20:14 | Report Abuse

Next wednesday a joint press conference on the pudu jail redevelopment

JT Yeo

Posted by JT Yeo > 2015-01-30 20:32 | Report Abuse

I wonder why is everyone willing to pay a price at a PE of 180? Because of Tan Sri?

genesis81

348 posts

Posted by genesis81 > 2015-01-30 21:09 | Report Abuse

JT Yeo, same reason as why Yahoo invested USD1 billion for Alibaba stake in 2005. Today their investment value is worth USD40 billion (which is 8 times higher than the value of Yahoo today). Time will prove everything.

JN88

11,670 posts

Posted by JN88 > 2015-01-30 21:41 | Report Abuse

Once the total market capital reach rm2 billion...the shares price will be RM 4.....Tan Sri is selling his creativity and innovative idea on property product ...not like other developer simply build the house and look like factory... This is how he can success within a very short period like Jack Ma... Even until now still many business man dunno why they so successful ...hahaha

JT Yeo

Posted by JT Yeo > 2015-01-30 22:19 | Report Abuse

Interesting you are trying to compare 1 company, largest and leader in it's industry, population of over 1 billion, over 100 billion market potential, largely untapped market, with another company, in a population of 20+ million, over 20+ competitors, and a very saturated market.

Lets do some fun calculation, current earning yield at PE 180 is 0.56%. Means you 'think' buying Ecoworld is actually 'safer' than FD, because FD is giving you 3-5%, but you say nope, im willing to accept 0.56%. I didn't know there is anything safer safer than FD.

Another calculation, comparing to all other developers, most are trading at PE10, even heavy weights like IJM, I will factor in Tan Sri goddess brilliant that can turn land into diamonds and gold, I give him a PE20 (A deep deep respect consider Public Bank only has a PE 16, although they are in different industry). To bring PE 180 down to 20, EPS needs to grow 893%, and that is if the market price remain the same as of today, means you are not making any money on your investment yet.

So how long will you think it takes to grow 893%? If you say 100% a year, thats very aggressive, still you need 9 years to hit the target before you start making money. This is the super best case scenario, not the average or worse case scenario. This is not the question of landbank, Tan Sri can own the whole Malaysia yet he won't be able to grow that fast because to grow that fast you need money, be it equity or debts, and you simply don't have the human resources to handle a growth of 100% a year for 9 years.

Lastly, you will say you will make money because the PE of 180 will either maintain or go up. But you see this is chicken and egg, people like you expect Ecoworld should be growing like the caliber of Alibaba since you are comparing them. Yahoo investment grow 40x (1mil to 40mil) in 9 years, or 440% a year, your expectation that Ecoworld should grow at least 100% a year i guess is the minimum requirement, anything less is unacceptable, or else why/how would future investor justify paying PE of 180 if the company can only grow 10-20% a year? You pay such a high PE precisely because of the growth potential, correct? So now the question goes back to the top, can Eco grow at 100% non stop for 5 years or above? Tan Sri or no Tan Sri, I have never seen a property stock can grow at that rate in long term. Time will tell.

cheeseburger

2,798 posts

Posted by cheeseburger > 2015-02-01 01:36 | Report Abuse

i just knew my investment in Ecowld so far is much better than putting money in FD...

cheeseburger

2,798 posts

Posted by cheeseburger > 2015-02-01 01:39 | Report Abuse

you'll see how far it will go once the SPAC is approve...take today price as $2.25

malaysian

93 posts

Posted by malaysian > 2015-02-01 04:59 | Report Abuse

Big con job beware DONOT touch this con stock

malaysian

93 posts

Posted by malaysian > 2015-02-01 05:01 | Report Abuse

Pls refer to JT Yeo posting he has valid points . Be careful con by Tan Sri...

JT Yeo

Posted by JT Yeo > 2015-02-01 09:02 | Report Abuse

cheeseburger - thats for sure with the high expectation everyone is pushing the share price up, that's why it is at 180 pe. I have no idea where the share price will go in short term, it can easily go RM5, but im very confident 99.9% you will lose money if you hold it above 3 years.

JT Yeo

Posted by JT Yeo > 2015-02-01 10:07 | Report Abuse

Nothing to do with Tan Sri, it is simply as: There's is nothing in this world that can be called a good investment regardless of the price you pay, just like there is no bad investment when the price is too low/cheap, it all comes down to how much you pay for it.

Take Tambun, a reputable Penang small developer, selling at PE 8, that means you are willing to spend $8 to buy $1 of earnings. For Ecoworld, you are spending $180 to buy $1 of earnings. What can explain the big gap? Why everyone wants to pay extra $172 to Ecoworld? Because Tan Sri, Tan Sri is worth that extra $172?

How about all other good developers in Malaysia? IJM, Sunway, MahSing? Everyone is only paying them $8-10 for every $1 profit. You are saying all these talents in these companies are not smart enough compare to Tan Sri & his management? Mahsing might not be long in the property field, but IJM, Sunway all have been developing properties for more than 20 years, their know-how is very much as good as Tan Sri, although I might be wrong.

So what explains the $172? Property industry has low entry to barrier, anyone with enough money to buy a piece of land and get a loan from bank to finance the construction or just using the downpayment from buyers can become a developer, thats why there are 20-30 companies that develop properties, even if their core business isn't in property.

Wingtai has always been in retail, now shift into property, property contribute biggest profit percentage. Hapseng a conglomerate always involve in auto sales (Mercedes ), plantation, fertilizer, now property arm contribute more profit than the rest.

Why everyone is pilling into property? Because it is good and easy money. Most developers have 20% profit margin. Who wants to go and tanam palm tree and wait 4-5 years for the tree to mature and make money, and rely on CPO price. Property, take downpayment in advance, landed or high rise, complete in 2 or 3 years. Good, fast, easy money, as long there are buyers.

So what is the advantage Tan Sri have? Yes he has the expertise, good with township development, for example Setia alam, The reputation, buyer is probably willing to pay more for houses developed by Ecoworld compare to other developer, if in the same location. How much more, I don't know, 10-20%?

But no matter how you slice it, I just dont see how his company can command a $172 gap with other developer, unless he has some secret recipe like coca cola that makes people addict to it's product. Even coca cola dont have such a gap with Pepsi cola.

With Tan Sri capability paying $15-20 (PE 15-20) for every $1 profit is a very good investment. And it also make sense because I am very confident Ecoworld can grow at 15-20% a year for next 3-5 years, their target is 67% a year for next 2 yrs. That is a premium of $5-10 compare to other developers. But $172? This is building castle in the sky.

One last thing, if lets say you are building a software like Microsoft, the advantage is scalability. Means after you develop the software, high upfront cost to invest in research & development, but after that you just need to produce the next copy at very low cost and you can produce alot of it very fast, that is call scalability, you can sell your software to anyone in the world really fast. The cost of producing the next copy is close to nothing.

Consider Ecoworld, you pay 180 pe because you expect Ecoworld to grow superfast right, like Alibaba, maybe around 100% a year, if they only can grow 20% a year might as well buy Huayang or Tambun correct? Since Tambun Huayang are selling at pe 8-10. So to grow at 100% you need scalability, the ability to expand your operation and do sales very fast, like software. But can a developer do that?

Developer need to: Search for land, studies, buy land, development planning, marketing and advertising, open sales gallery, advertise and attract buyers, launching, begin construction, hand over keys, after sales service etc. So a huge township like Setia Alam took 8-10 years just to fully develop the whole piece of land. Everytime you need to build a house the process is the same, so do you think developers has scalability? If not how the hell can they grow at 100% a year?

Ecoworld sales as of 2014 is $3bil, and they have a sales target of $7bil in 2 years, 133% growth or 67% a year, if they can grow at 67% a year, do you think 9 years later they can push growth to 100% a year? Growth slow down the bigger you get.

voonyoke

1,036 posts

Posted by voonyoke > 2015-02-01 13:02 | Report Abuse

Let it drop.let it drop.i would accumulate more

Hopeman

187 posts

Posted by Hopeman > 2015-02-02 09:36 | Report Abuse

Conclusion good PE not guarantee investor sure made money all very much depend on the management and prospect of the company,currently quite number of listed company with very low PE yet the company share price as dead wood ,what ever PE 180 just refer to last report ,all their new sales haven't enter to their record ,so how to compare so much now?time will proven happy trading God blessing

limayseng

2,076 posts

Posted by limayseng > 2015-02-02 10:12 | Report Abuse

Many punters believed that he can do wonders!

JN88

11,670 posts

Posted by JN88 > 2015-02-02 14:03 | Report Abuse

RM 3 ringgit easy can reach.....what PE what NTA la .... Sometimes counter with negative net profit also can up like hell...... Just follow you town method... If not work with your own method ...chanege again ...this is why I love stock market so much .......

Posted by CheeBaiTat > 2015-02-02 22:04 | Report Abuse

highly speculative stock, not good

cheeseburger

2,798 posts

Posted by cheeseburger > 2015-02-03 00:35 | Report Abuse

KUALA LUMPUR (Jan 30): UDA Holdings Bhd (UDA), Eco World Development Group Bhd (EcoWorld) and the Employees Provident Fund Board (EPF) will seal a tripartite agreement to jointly develop the RM8 billion Bukit Bintang City Centre (BBCC) project on Wednesday, Feb 4, a press invite issued jointly by the three parties revealed.

The redevelopment of 19.4 acre Pudu Jail site will contain a mixed residential and commercial development with a proposed world-class master plan, consisting strata offices, office towers, a hotel and serviced residences; and a Lifestyle Centre which will include a Malaysian Grand Bazaar, a retail mall, F&B and entertainment components.

cheeseburger

2,798 posts

Posted by cheeseburger > 2015-02-03 00:56 | Report Abuse

the thing about share is, the moment you buy after the news out then is too late...i'm not referring this stock or hint anything but *as general*...Pudu Jail is not the only thing in their plan. Is just one out of many.

I dont usually take price target from analyst but as a general guideline all given in range of $6-$7 or today's $3-$4. I dont see any analyst showed single concern over the high PE, pls share the link if there is one. Therefore i believe the sale number has not been captured that probably do not reflect the true number.

I missed the chance to collect when it was at $2 last time , and it raised all way till $5 April last year. The stock may fluctuate in short term but as i'm still hold profit there is no urgency to let go and let's see how far it will go.

Posted by truthseeker1 > 2015-02-03 02:45 | Report Abuse

Tan Sri Liew Kee Sin has sold SP Setia before. If there anything prohibit him from selling EcoWorld if he is sitting on huge gain?

cheeseburger

2,798 posts

Posted by cheeseburger > 2015-02-03 10:19 | Report Abuse

I think you need to go and do some homework to understand why he left SP Setia. what makes a founder leave the company he setup and start another company all over again.
And please go to find out how many staff resigned and followed him to this Ecoworld.
If we said ppl is the best asset of a company then the SP under PNB lostmany.

Seilok

54 posts

Posted by Seilok > 2015-02-03 10:35 | Report Abuse

Aiya Steve Job also got kick out of the company he started

Seilok

54 posts

Posted by Seilok > 2015-02-03 10:41 | Report Abuse

PE vely high lor.

Seilok

54 posts

Posted by Seilok > 2015-02-03 10:44 | Report Abuse

I also interested but if anything happen in Malaysia sure die

choolooi

310 posts

Posted by choolooi > 2015-02-03 15:32 | Report Abuse

The views put out by JT Yeo is worth reading .
Thanks JT Yeo for the write up.

Seilok

54 posts

Posted by Seilok > 2015-02-03 16:09 | Report Abuse

Why everyone buying land? Huayang also the same. I think got market if so many party keep buying and buying

Xen Z

29 posts

Posted by Xen Z > 2015-02-03 16:22 | Report Abuse

Once ECSB has been fully acquired, PE will become another story

robertzz

974 posts

Posted by robertzz > 2015-02-03 22:20 | Report Abuse

PETALING JAYA: Eco World Development Group Bhd (Eco World), UDA Holdings Bhd (UDA) and the Employees Provident Fund (EPF) board will be signing a tripartite agreement tomorrow to jointly develop the Bukit Bintang City Centre (BBCC) project with a gross development value of RM8bil.

The BBCC project, a redevelopment of the 19.4-acre former Pudu jail site, will comprise a mixed residential and commercial development with a proposed world-class master plan, consisting strata offices, office towers, a hotel and serviced residences.

There will also be a lifestyle centre which will include a Malaysian grand bazaar, a retail mall, food and beverages as well as entertainment components.

When contacted, Eco World non-executive director Tan Sri Liew Kee Sin said Eco World and UDA would hold a 40% equity stake each in the consortium, while the EPF would hold the remaining 20%.

“No stigma issue,” he said, when asked if the consortium would face any issue selling the properties given that it once housed the Pudu jail.

Liew also disclosed that the consortium would also be signing a memorandum of understanding with Mitsui Fudosan Co Ltd of Japan to jointly develop the shopping and retail component of the project.

“I don’t think it will be biggest (mall) but it will definitely be well-designed and managed by Mitsui Fudosan,” he added.

The Pudu jail redevelopment is part of the Economic Transformation Programme (ETP) under the New Economic Model to turn the Klang Valley into the Greater Kuala Lumpur economic district and Malaysia into a high-income nation by 2020.

Despite being made an ETP project, the Pudu jail site has been left idle since the demolition of the prison complex in 2010.

In 2011, China-based developer Everbright International Construction Ltd was tipped to secure the project with a RM2bil investment into UDA. However, the plan fell through.

Last June, UDA Holdings chose Eco World to be part of the redevelopment project due to the expertise of the latter’s key personnels who were involved in the London-based Battersea project while they were with SP Setia.

UDA Holdings chairman Datuk Johari Abdul Ghani said the company invited Eco World to participate in the project after it could not find a suitable partner.

“When we did the RFP (request for proposal), we found that the companies did not fulfil our requirements.

“So we started looking for the expertise, which was the experience of developing a project of similar size, as well as having the financial strength,” he was quoted as saying.

genesis81

348 posts

Posted by genesis81 > 2015-02-03 23:25 | Report Abuse

cheeseburger, i am wondering why JT Yeo and Masterpeace hate Tan Sri so much. hahhaa..

genesis81

348 posts

Posted by genesis81 > 2015-02-03 23:28 | Report Abuse

JT Yeo, you really gave the best comment all the time. My sincere opinion though we are in different opinion

voonyoke

1,036 posts

Posted by voonyoke > 2015-02-04 00:00 | Report Abuse

genesis81, I don't think they hate Tan Sri. They just don't know how Eco World works. They just judge a company from PE, not from company future.

cheeseburger

2,798 posts

Posted by cheeseburger > 2015-02-04 10:34 | Report Abuse

@masterpeace, i'm not sure if you are telling a true story. Let me share with you what i knew.

Buying a property is not like you buy vege from market. If you paid down payment for a property, and decided to make a U turn, it usually you can take back full refund, only if your loan was unsuccessful with bank and got denied.
It otherwise there could be penalty, which follow what the agreement stated.
Even there is refund, it will take minimal few months which through the developer's finance procedure.

If you suspect the developer took longer time than it should, by any means do not hesitate to approach your lawyer to assist on this.

what you have said above is baseless and please give more concrete evidence rather simply say something that there is no actual fact to support.

cheeseburger

2,798 posts

Posted by cheeseburger > 2015-02-04 10:36 | Report Abuse

@voonyoke, i agreed somebody make noise here just because the PE. If stock just view from this single indicator the trading game will be much easy and straightfwd.

JT Yeo

Posted by JT Yeo > 2015-02-04 18:08 | Report Abuse

Voonyoke & cheeseburger, you are both right, PE is a very 'crude' number, can be misleading, for example, a bad business with low PE. Just like we shouldn't judge someone base on appearance, but that doesn't mean we should ignore what the appearance is telling us correct? I hope you can differentiate what I am saying.

Normally before I invest I would look at things like ROE, Cash flow, EV, Ratios, Debt, Management etc. PE and ROE are the the first thing I filter, and Ecoworld fail both, doesn't mean it is a bad company, just that I think current price is bad investment.

My apology of being skeptical so I hope you can explain more about how Ecoworld works, it will benefit everyone in this forum and allow us to understand more about the company and business. I am being a bit too skeptical sometimes because:

1. I wrote 500 words of facts and reasoning, you wrote 7 words - They just don't know how Eco World works.

2. Those 7 words are very vague and doesnt explain anything about why Ecoworld is a good investment. It is like when at interview, they ask "Why should I hire you?", I answered "Im good la, believe me", "Trust me, dont regret later", "I can make a lot money for your company".

-------------- Break time ------------

Back in 2012, I visited Geneva branch at Kuchai Lama, the gold trading company. I wanted to find out what is it about and planning to invest in it. I sat down in a room with another gentleman, in his 40s from another company nearby. He asked for my name card, I was in sales. A young lady executive came into the room and explain to us about the investment. That was close to Father's day around May, they are having promotion, 2% per month (24% per annum) return. We asked all those general questions, price of gold, investment period etc. Then I asked how does Geneva invest our money to generate a return of 24% per year? She said she wasn't sure.

After that we left the branch and back to office, the gentleman gave me a call to hear my thoughts. I told him i don't feel good about it and it's too good to be true return. Mind you, back then Geneva is already in operation for over 2 years and everyone is able to get their money back from the investment. He told me he might just try investing for a 3 months period, the minimum period, and cash out after that, if my memory is right about $10 or $20k. The last thing I told him is, be careful. BNM shut down Geneva and freeze all its assets that August, the rest is history.

--------------- ----------------------------

I am sharing this not because I think you are lying or anything. I just want to share that if i dont have a skeptic mind back then, I would be holding Geneva gold bar today.

Back to investment, normally when you say that 7 words, that only means 2 things, that is either:

1. The person is very knowledgeable that he think it is a waste of time for him to explain such a simple and common sense thing to normal people, like me and other ppl here that don't understand.

OR

2. That person is clueless. When you ask pasar aunti what stock to buy today, she will say "xxx stock good, gone up so much, I made so much vegie money already, quick you are missing out leh". When you ask more probing questions like adding more Whys she will scold you "Tell you good is good la, ask so much, dont ask me next time.."

I sincerely hope you are example 1 not 2. If I write 500 words of bullshit or blow water here you can ignore me any day, but I wrote everything down in calculation, facts and reasoning, I don't pluck numbers from the sky. And I expect you more than 7 words, if you felt that my calculations, facts, reasoning are misleading, please feel free to correct me and state your facts. We are here to learn about investing after all. No one can learn anything from 7 words.

Posted by norsafiq017 > 2015-02-05 08:20 | Report Abuse

Great words JT Yeo :)

Madd

79 posts

Posted by Madd > 2015-02-05 13:58 | Report Abuse

Maybank Research has downgraded Eco World Development Group after it entered into a joint venture to redevelop the old Pudu jail site, over the higher debts the group will assume.