BRAHIMS HOLDINGS BERHAD

KLSE (MYR): BRAHIMS (9474)

4,992 comment(s). Last comment by chinaman 2 months ago

Posted by Nononsense > 2014-06-01 13:34 | Report Abuse

Will MAS stop operation if MAS go bankrupt?

Posted by mrchuckle363 > 2014-06-01 14:06 | Report Abuse

here comes the famous kk123...everywhere talk cock..

RedEagle

3,194 posts

Posted by RedEagle > 2014-06-01 18:56 | Report Abuse

Hope everybody start q sell higher next week...

Posted by localmotive > 2014-06-01 19:51 | Report Abuse

Don't think MAS will stop operation even if they seek bankruptcy protection from creditors.

Posted by Nononsense > 2014-06-01 21:20 | Report Abuse

If MAS wont stop operation and have to source in-flight meals from Brahims, where is the problem then?

RedEagle

3,194 posts

Posted by RedEagle > 2014-06-01 21:39 | Report Abuse

Beriani Gam Brahims...

Clayton

46 posts

Posted by Clayton > 2014-06-01 21:50 |

RedEagle

3,194 posts

Posted by RedEagle > 2014-06-01 21:51 | Report Abuse

Good.... thumb up..

Tina Khoo

223 posts

Posted by Tina Khoo > 2014-06-01 23:41 | Report Abuse

Have faith....brahims will comes back.

CT Ong

90 posts

Posted by CT Ong > 2014-06-02 00:31 | Report Abuse

@Brahims

MAS has been a 5-Star ranked airline since 2005.

ONLY five other airlines in the world are ranked 5-Star
– Asiana Airlines, Cathay Pacific Airways, Hainan Airlines, Qatar Airways and Singapore Airlines.

The World Airline Award are the global benchmark for airline excellence,
with over 18 million travellers from over 160 countries and 100 different nationalities taking part each year in the world’s largest independent passenger satisfaction survey to decide the winners.

In Farnborough, UK, 2012 MAS was Awarded 5-Star Status at Skytrax Awards.
Not one but TWO awards :
‘World’s Best Airline Cabin Crew’ and
‘Best Airline Signature Dish’ for its Satay.

In 2013 Le Bourget, France, MAS again received the prestigious accolade of ‘Best Airline Signature Dish’ for its Satay, a traditional Malay dish, served in the First and Business Class cabins. This is the airlines’ second year running to win this award.

These awards are significant achievements for MAS and MAS has already built it's brand as an airlines icon throughout the world , so do you think MAS wants to lose the 5 star status from SKYTRAX by serving passengers cheap meals or cutting corners on the service?
Definitely it is a No, No!
So be assured that BRAHIMS will get a good deal from MAS.
So, to tell WSJ that the pride of the nation going Bankrupt and beyond redemption is just senseless uttering.
Some people just like to shoot one's mouth off without using their brain.
It's so pathetic!

@Tornado
MAS needs to 'DETTOL' away the underperformed and unproductive managements , only then we will see the DAYLIGHT
Iin MAS !

CT Ong

90 posts

Posted by CT Ong > 2014-06-02 00:37 | Report Abuse

@Nononsense

Yes you are right, the government link companies and institutional funds are fighting tooth and nails to be on BRAHIM's Board.
Finally, Tabung Haji was chosen.
You need to have more than 35 000 lots or more than 15% , Tabung haji has 14.9% and is approaching soon.
Tabung Haji was chosen because there's synergy within these 2 companies. Tabung Haji will bring business to BRAHIMS.
Tabung Haji is going to Blessed Brahims.
Tabung Haji bought 4000 lots at 2.15
Second tranche of the private placement was at the price of 2.339 = 10 500 lots.
Bought form open market at the price ranging from 2.21 to 2.55 =more than 10 000 lots.

So, you figure out the average price Tabung Haji has committed for the 15% stake?
I leave it to you.

Posted by mrchuckle363 > 2014-06-02 00:49 | Report Abuse

News said visit malaysia promotion in China resume.

CT Ong

90 posts

Posted by CT Ong > 2014-06-02 01:08 | Report Abuse

@mrchuckle363
Yes, you are right!
Nazri just make the announcement and that 's the reason our PM is still in China.

MAS has managed to bounce back as far as bookings are concerned, mainly for travel within Southeast Asia, Australia and New Zealand in the past several weeks.

kenlee123

143 posts

Posted by kenlee123 > 2014-06-02 09:05 | Report Abuse

@CT Ong, thanx for the comments, i will there during the AGM.
Hope to see u there to share opinion.. Cheers!

Posted by maldivesholiday > 2014-06-02 12:47 | Report Abuse

brahims still cooking nasi lemak telanjang ah???? hehehe

Posted by maldivesholiday > 2014-06-02 12:49 | Report Abuse

or better de? enter now good or poor time?

Posted by maldivesholiday > 2014-06-02 12:50 | Report Abuse

brahims confirm got business in future, i wanna keep long-term, wat u say???

jerome888

32 posts

Posted by jerome888 > 2014-06-02 13:26 | Report Abuse

Run before it drop below 1.00

Brahims

113 posts

Posted by Brahims > 2014-06-02 15:27 | Report Abuse

Brahims having a Halal talk at Japan today. Ex-PM Batawi and top guy of Jakim chair the talk. They run to Japan today :)

Brahims

113 posts

Posted by Brahims > 2014-06-02 18:38 | Report Abuse

KLIA visitors will not reduce if MAS bankrupt. MAS customers will go for other airlines which most of the airlines are serve by Brahims as well. The number of meal sets per day will remain and continue to increase with expected strong grow from AAX in 2014 onward. Just the profit margin will reduce but will increase back to Q1 2014 level from month to month. Once the sugar factory start to operate on 2016, worth RM400mils revenue will add into their financial sheet. These will diversify Brahims business and not too depending on Airline catering business. Always keep in mind, cancellation of contract, Brahims will get 318mils from MAS. For long term, the business will continue to grow and move to more diversify businesses. Further more, there may have more developments in next 2 years which will contribute positive revenue and profit of the company, who know. The fundamental is there, why bother with Mas issue alone, look on the overview.

RedEagle

3,194 posts

Posted by RedEagle > 2014-06-02 20:18 | Report Abuse

Tomorrow hope green....

iwtbsi

58 posts

Posted by iwtbsi > 2014-06-03 08:13 | Report Abuse

Morning guys :) Another day already.

CT Ong

90 posts

Posted by CT Ong > 2014-06-03 08:51 | Report Abuse

Malaysian Airline System Bhd (MAS) is currently holding talks with its catering partner Brahim’s Holdings Bhd, in a bid to reduce the cost per meal and thus help contain the carrier’s high operating cost.

Brahim’s executive chairman Datuk Ibrahim Ahmad Badawi said discussions have been underway since a fortnight ago, on ways to reduce the average RM260 million that MAS pays Brahim’s annually for in-flight meals.

He rubbished talks that MAS might seek to end its 25-year-old concession pact with Brahim’s, to control the carrier’s operating overflow.

“All MAS is interested to do is to get the meal’s cost down and that is what we are doing now. We are only the supplier who can serve the large meal base that MAS needs,” he told The Malaysian Reserve in an interview recently.

Brahim’s now produces an average of 50,000 to 55,000 meals daily, with 70% of the meals taken by MAS. Brahim’s closest competitor is airport ground-handling service provider KL Airport Service Sdn Bhd, a subsidiary of DRB-Hicom Bhd, which has a maximum production capacity of 5,000 meals a day.

Ibrahim said the meal cost-cutting programme for MAS had been in place since 18 months ago, which was all started by the airline cutting down groundnuts and anchovies for its in-flight local delights and nasi lemak.

“They saved five sen per meal as a result of the reductions. Now, they are talking to us to further reduce the cost of maybe, other food items,” he said.

Ibrahim, who has been involved in the catering business for some two decades, opines that MAS’s method of focusing on reducing meal cost is not “very laudable”, especially being in the airline industry.

“I don’t think that is the way to cut cost. Food is very essential in a premium flight because it involves the health and comfort of the passengers. MAS should take example of some Middle Eastern airlines, which are very particular about food in the sense they don’t mind paying more for quality food for their passengers,” he pointed out.

Ibrahim also dismissed claims that MAS’ poor fiscal performance is due to extensive payment dished out to Brahim’s for in- flight meals.

He said catering only makes up between 1.6% and 1.8% of the airline’s annual operating cost, thus it is utter “foolishness” to suggest Brahim’s dragged MAS down financially.

“We are not making excessive profit. Our turnover last year was close to RM400 million and the profit was about RM39 million. In the catering business, 20% to 25% margin is the norm. We are not even there.

We are only making 10% profit margin. So why the question of excessive profits always crops up when MAS reports bad financial quarters? Mamak shops are probably seeing 200% profit margin,” Ibrahim said.

He also questioned how much more MAS can save from the RM260 million average or 1.8% of annual operating cost it pays for the catering service.

“You can remove all the food, but might as well you close the airline because it is near impossible you can run a premium airline without food,” he stressed.

Ibrahim said the 25-year supply deal with MAS is related closely to Brahim’s takeover of the loss making operations of MAS Catering back in 2003.

“Not many people realise that we paid RM175 million cash when we took over the catering business from MAS Catering and we inherited accumulated losses of RM240 million,” he said.

That was the only reason why Brahim’s was served with a 25-year agreement, enabling the in-flight caterer to recover the debt and investment it took over upon purchase.

Brahim’s only cleared the debt and returned to black in 2012, after it started reporting operating profit since 2004.

“The business had negative shareholders fund and 1,750 workers who we were not supposed to lay off in the first three years. So, it was actually a rescue mission — a bailout.

“People think I got the deal on a silver platter. MAS Catering was to be sold as the prime minister at that time opined MAS should concentrate on its core flying business,” he said.

Ibrahim’s brother Tun Abdullah Ahmad Badawi was the Malaysian prime minister in question.

kenken85

724 posts

Posted by kenken85 > 2014-06-03 08:55 | Report Abuse

CT ong.. that is a nice news. =) where do u got this news anyway.

CT Ong

90 posts

Posted by CT Ong > 2014-06-03 09:05 | Report Abuse

This article came out in : All Business Daily
The Malaysian Daily
Heading:
Brahim's , MAS in talk to cut meal cost.

kl25

14 posts

Posted by kl25 > 2014-06-03 09:49 | Report Abuse

CT Ong.... is mean good news to Brahim ?

CT Ong

90 posts

Posted by CT Ong > 2014-06-03 09:53 | Report Abuse

In fact I have mentioned all what Datuk said months ago
in my previous postings
What Datuk said was spot on!
The deal dun fall fr the sky n if it is so lucrative
then let Chef Wan n Wee Choo Keong run the
Catering business in MAS
THEY will run down MAS in no time!
The problem with MAS is the Management n they
Still dun get it!
Pea Brain!

CT Ong

90 posts

Posted by CT Ong > 2014-06-03 10:34 | Report Abuse

@Kl25
Well, no good no bad n BRAHIMS business as usual
Intense negotiations going on BRAHIMS will roar again!
Let the storm in the teacup settle as there were some bad news
Circulating around. That's the reason it suddenly drop
fr 1.77 on Friday and the investors are digesting it.
I will disclose it in due time.
This is BRAHIMS classic movements n do not worry too much.

kl25

14 posts

Posted by kl25 > 2014-06-03 10:54 | Report Abuse

thx CT Ong..... I keep it for long time ..... my average cost is RM2.40

Tina Khoo

223 posts

Posted by Tina Khoo > 2014-06-03 14:50 | Report Abuse

Thks again CT Ong for providing the articles.

HC Lee

1,518 posts

Posted by HC Lee > 2014-06-03 18:17 | Report Abuse

Ha ha MAS failure blame on Brahim. This Wee no brain one arr?? Always complaining about 25 years agreement only..

zylkron

91 posts

Posted by zylkron > 2014-06-03 18:22 | Report Abuse

hey man. be an encourager. the world already has enough critics. Hold his hand, lead him.

RedEagle

3,194 posts

Posted by RedEagle > 2014-06-03 18:40 | Report Abuse

Sleep @ 1.7+.. collect....

Tornado

1,938 posts

Posted by Tornado > 2014-06-03 21:40 | Report Abuse

I am waiting for a reversal signal to top up .... I believe @Johny will monitor the technical chart and provide the clues when the right timing come, right ?

Posted by Nononsense > 2014-06-03 21:50 | Report Abuse

Where are all the sellers?? so less volume now, please dont stop dumping cuz i am accumulating... a lot

Brahims

113 posts

Posted by Brahims > 2014-06-03 23:37 | Report Abuse

i also cum 10lots by 10lots once have extra money

Posted by msandroidmz > 2014-06-04 09:00 | Report Abuse

Yet, revisiting the 150m plant?

RedEagle

3,194 posts

Posted by RedEagle > 2014-06-04 13:28 | Report Abuse

Cancel 150Mil sugar? Good or bad news?

kl25

14 posts

Posted by kl25 > 2014-06-04 14:26 | Report Abuse

where is the news come from?

CT Ong

90 posts

Posted by CT Ong > 2014-06-04 15:11 | Report Abuse

Unfounded!
It's a FIGMENT of Imagination from the Analyst.
I am not free to detailed you now.
Stay tuned .

Brahims

113 posts

Posted by Brahims > 2014-06-04 15:30 | Report Abuse

http://www.mole.my/content/brahim%E2%80%99s-having-second-thoughts-about-sugar-project

Sound terrible, on hold to cum first :)

kl25

14 posts

Posted by kl25 > 2014-06-04 15:46 | Report Abuse

thx Brahim, from the article,they just abandon the sugar project............ they may expand for other project in future

Brahims

113 posts

Posted by Brahims > 2014-06-04 16:02 | Report Abuse

Mas issue still not yet clarify clearly, suddenly the CEO having second thought. It sound like purposely want to push down the price further. Wait until the reverse signal is clear before cum again.

kl25

14 posts

Posted by kl25 > 2014-06-04 16:06 | Report Abuse

should i sell or hold

Posted by mrchuckle363 > 2014-06-04 16:17 | Report Abuse

Suddenly, i got a second thought too....

RedEagle

3,194 posts

Posted by RedEagle > 2014-06-04 16:45 | Report Abuse

Alamak.. x sempat buy 1.67...

kansan5423

279 posts

Posted by kansan5423 > 2014-06-04 16:47 | Report Abuse

Sekarang boleh beli tak ???

Posted by cheeselord > 2014-06-04 17:01 | Report Abuse

shoot back up! interesting

slts

2,235 posts

Posted by slts > 2014-06-04 17:16 | Report Abuse

cut ur losses
best strategy

RedEagle

3,194 posts

Posted by RedEagle > 2014-06-04 17:56 | Report Abuse

@ 4p.m^ can get best price lor this counter.. next morning sell early.. then after 4p.m buying time.. main2 ini counter.. if wait too long then need to think cut loss.. ;)