SAM ENGINEERING & EQUIPMENT

KLSE (MYR): SAM (9822)

5.60 - 5.80

12 people like this.

4,836 comment(s). Last comment by Eggplant 1 week ago

voon1900

714 posts

Posted by voon1900 > 2016-12-03 18:39 | Report Abuse

sorrylo dompeilee...u r better than fund manager

Posted by KLCI King > 2016-12-04 23:40 | Report Abuse

Boeing shares fall as United Airlines defers $5 billion order
http://www.reuters.com/article/us-ual-strategy-boeing-idUSKBN13A27P

Posted by KLCI King > 2016-12-04 23:40 | Report Abuse

Boeing 2016 plane orders lag estimates
http://www.heraldnet.com/news/boeing-2016-plane-orders-lag-estimates/

Victor Tan

117 posts

Posted by Victor Tan > 2016-12-05 00:03 | Report Abuse

BNM just released that 75% foreign currency of firm's profits should be converted to Ringgit to increase liquidity. Expect a boom. Hopefully fundamendal stock get a boost back to where it should be

Hk Wong

420 posts

Posted by Hk Wong > 2016-12-07 08:55 | Report Abuse

Trump's latest tweet has attacked Boeing's plan to replace Air Force One with a new 747; specifically the "$4bn" he says it will cost.This tweet has caused Boeing's shares to slide, and reportedly wiped more than $1bn off the company's stock marketvalue.His statement on the cost of replacing Air Force one also seems to be inaccurate. The Air Force has earmarked $1.65bnfor two Presidential planes, each a four-engine Boeing 747-8.

Victor Tan

117 posts

Posted by Victor Tan > 2016-12-09 23:51 | Report Abuse

http://www.sam-malaysia.com/sam/pdf/THE_STAR_SAM_Set_to_begin_Ops_at_new_plant-1.pdf

A good company going through transition. The airline slowdown is just temporary due to uncertainty. Ultimately share price is cheap now and production will double once plant is ready. Keep and collect

FairTalk

376 posts

Posted by FairTalk > 2016-12-14 14:10 | Report Abuse

Saw in the recent news that Iran has just signed a $16.6 billion deal with Boeing for 80 new aircraft. Wow. Agree with Victor Tan this is a good counter.

FairTalk

376 posts

Posted by FairTalk > 2016-12-14 14:19 | Report Abuse

Thanks Brother Victor Tan for posting the above link for the excellent articles on SAM. Encourage everyone to read.

FairTalk

376 posts

Posted by FairTalk > 2016-12-16 17:18 | Report Abuse

read that a Asian Airline will be replacing 23 Airbus narrow body jets. If it is true then more business for aircraft manufacturers.

Victor Tan

117 posts

Posted by Victor Tan > 2016-12-19 09:50 | Report Abuse

One thing that the analysis has miss out is that SAM is expanding on different product range, hence it doesn't need additional boost in aircraft sales to boost SAM sales. Eg. Previously if they make part A for 10 planes, soon they will be making part A, B and C for 10 planes. Hence sales will up even if the number of planes doesn't increase.

CFTrader

812 posts

Posted by CFTrader > 2016-12-21 00:15 | Report Abuse

The problem arise is on their Semi-Conductor side business... it slow down too much ...

Posted by RonnieKimLondon > 2016-12-24 15:36 | Report Abuse

SAM Engineering

Dividend yield (TTM): 8%
ROE: 12%
ROA: 12%
Net gearing: 0
PER (TTM): 13.5x

These are excellent numbers. Numbers do not lie.

Op3rs

397 posts

Posted by Op3rs > 2017-01-03 15:07 | Report Abuse

basically i3 saved SAM from further dropping

Victor Tan

117 posts

Posted by Victor Tan > 2017-01-03 21:52 | Report Abuse

Based on current order book and expansion, plus future positive prospect of travel industry... SAM is just in transition to higher capacity. Once the dust is cleared, blue skies ahead. Collect and hold while price is cheap.

Posted by Icon8888 > 2017-01-04 15:28 | Report Abuse

I am in

No hurry

Will slowly build up a big stake throughout the year

11,887 posts

Posted by dompeilee > 2017-01-05 15:13 | Report Abuse

Well...whaddayaknow...this is back to my average cost price from November :D

11,887 posts

Posted by dompeilee > 2017-01-05 15:25 | Report Abuse

5.42....in profit already :)

Posted by RonnieKimLondon > 2017-01-05 22:25 | Report Abuse

Icon8888 is my sifu in investment.

SAM has honest and capable directors. A very strong business franchise in manufacturing aircraft components. The manufacturing process has to be very precise and of the highest standards. It takes years to be an accredited supplier.

Temasek of Singapore has a 70% stake.

11,887 posts

Posted by dompeilee > 2017-01-06 09:34 | Report Abuse

Go....GOOO my beautiful SAM!! Rise quickly to your first target of 6.00 :D

Victor Tan

117 posts

Posted by Victor Tan > 2017-01-06 13:07 | Report Abuse

I think price will settle around 5.8, if hit 6 will be good

Posted by SouthernQueen > 2017-01-10 21:34 | Report Abuse

Another 4 booming years is enough for me. Trading at 15x is reasonable. Will it continue at 15x, i think so but the bonanza from the new aerospace projects will create indigestion to many

Victor Tan

117 posts

Posted by Victor Tan > 2017-01-11 11:13 | Report Abuse

Price at 5.8, break break break

11,887 posts

Posted by dompeilee > 2017-01-11 11:43 | Report Abuse

6.00 coming!!! :D

ft80

50 posts

Posted by ft80 > 2017-01-11 13:32 | Report Abuse

any news?

Victor Tan

117 posts

Posted by Victor Tan > 2017-01-11 15:35 | Report Abuse

its not news.... its called proper valuation

11,887 posts

Posted by dompeilee > 2017-01-11 15:59 | Report Abuse

I told u guys 6.00 right? I bet very few ppl believed me when I said that on the 6th of Jan :D

Posted by Icon8888 > 2017-01-11 20:43 | Report Abuse

This stock can potentially go 20 after new factory churning out additional profit

SALAM

1,054 posts

Posted by SALAM > 2017-01-12 09:28 | Report Abuse

You sounds very optimistic,Sifu Icon, are you not worried of TPPA on this stock ????

Victor Tan

117 posts

Posted by Victor Tan > 2017-01-12 15:26 | Report Abuse

I agree with Icon, niche markets are less susceptible to risk such as TPPA. Furthermore this is not trade, this is manufacturing subcontracting. I'm not sure about 20, but 10 is still very conservative judging that they will double in production.

FairTalk

376 posts

Posted by FairTalk > 2017-01-13 16:51 | Report Abuse

Just read that a major US plane manufacturer wins a big order of US22 billion from a airline from India.

Victor Tan

117 posts

Posted by Victor Tan > 2017-01-17 15:24 | Report Abuse

2nd round coming.... up up

Posted by enjoyinglife > 2017-01-17 15:55 | Report Abuse

Hopefully can be up again

Victor Tan

117 posts

Posted by Victor Tan > 2017-01-18 15:18 | Report Abuse

Wait for inauguration speech

manji

223 posts

Posted by manji > 2017-01-19 20:46 | Report Abuse

dompeilee dont b happy too early lol
later drop below 4.9 tio si liao lo~~~

Posted by enjoyinglife > 2017-01-19 22:04 | Report Abuse

Hopefully won't happen

shan75

319 posts

Posted by shan75 > 2017-01-24 08:05 | Report Abuse

'Aerospace is the right place to invest'

CFTrader

812 posts

Posted by CFTrader > 2017-01-25 15:43 | Report Abuse

I would like to express some of my view about SAM.

- Aerospace is never a concern for SAM. It runs at a near full capacity as shown in the latest QR or previous few QR. The Aerospace segment contributes approximate 55% of the revenue.

- The latest factory will be opened and commence their operation by February 2017. With their orderbook of 3.5billion ringgit which gives approximate 3.5 years burn rate (post-expansion) , and strategic partner with Aviation GE, Pratt and Whitney, I see no problem in Aviation /Aerospace segment.

- The problem , short term will arise at the Semi-Con part... it slows down too much. With recent exposure of news, they have NO intention to inject capex into the semi-con segment as there are NO or LITTLE demand.... If the semi-con segment can't pick up, SAM at most will probably rely on the Aerospace segment for revenue , which you will see flattish or reduction in revenue and profit... The difference ? The ratio of Aerospace segment contribution will sky rocket, while contribution from Semi-con shrink.

- Neverless, I am optimistic on their aerospace segment, but kinda flattish or disappointed with their Semi-con segment.

- Guidance was given for RM 1 billion revenue, 80% from Aerospace, 20% from semi-con @ 2020.

Sincerely
CFTrader

fattycat

689 posts

Posted by fattycat > 2017-02-07 18:50 | Report Abuse

Result out
Eps 7.71 sen

Posted by shareinvestment7 > 2017-02-07 19:02 | Report Abuse

Decreased in both revenue and net profit despite of strengthening of USD for the past 3 months, not a good sign.

YiStock

1,984 posts

Posted by YiStock > 2017-02-07 19:07 | Report Abuse

I think the obvious impact is from higher tax rate. PBT quite good

vitac

520 posts

Posted by vitac > 2017-02-07 19:12 | Report Abuse

If next quarter nett profit only few million, then this share can consider overvalue.

Posted by Jon Choivo > 2017-02-07 19:13 | Report Abuse

Your're delusional. Its deferred tax.

If one goes by that logic, one could say that previous year quarter did not do well, due to gain from deferred tax.

What is important is the operational aspect of the company, not whether deferred tax go up or down.

Performance is not good at all. But I'm happy, if it crashes, ill be there to pick it up monday. Its still a good company.

4,305 posts

Posted by Up_down > 2017-02-07 19:17 | Report Abuse

EPS won't be better for the next 6 months due to impact of taxation. SAM'PBT is subjected to normal tax rate of 24% started from the last 2 quarters. Bear in mind, QR30Mar16 & QR30Jun16 PAT were higher mainly due to tax incentives.

Remarks: AR 2016 - Taxation

* Certain subsidiaries were granted 100% tax exemption ranging from five to ten years under the Promotion of Investment
Act, 1986 (as amended) and Section 127 (3)(b) of the Income Tax Act, 1967. The tax exemption periods for these
subsidiaries expired on 31 December 2014 and 31 December 2015 respectively.

# The Malaysian Budget 2014 announced the reduction of corporate tax to 24% with effect from year of assessment 2016.
Consequently, the deferred tax assets and liabilities which are expected to reverse in 2016 and beyond are measured
using the tax rate of 24%.

Posted by Jon Choivo > 2017-02-07 19:26 | Report Abuse

Next 2 quarters going to be non stop smacking.

I wont be surprised next 31 Mar 2017 and 31 Mar 2018 Years earnings less than 40 mill each year, before picking up again early 2018.

YiStock

1,984 posts

Posted by YiStock > 2017-02-07 19:29 | Report Abuse

Based on Q4 16 and Q3 16, deferred tax liability actually increased. So, the tax rate change carried significant weight.

Posted by Jon Choivo > Feb 7, 2017 07:13 PM | Report Abuse

If one goes by that logic, one could say that previous year quarter did not do well, due to gain from deferred tax.

What is important is the operational aspect of the company, not whether deferred tax go up or down.

Performance is not good at all. But I'm happy, if it crashes, ill be there to pick it up monday. Its still a good company.

YiStock

1,984 posts

Posted by YiStock > 2017-02-07 19:31 | Report Abuse

I believe you try to say" previous year DID well is due to deferred tax liability."

Posted by Jon Choivo > Feb 7, 2017 07:13 PM | Report Abuse