SAM ENGINEERING & EQUIPMENT

KLSE (MYR): SAM (9822)

5.60 - 5.80

12 people like this.

4,836 comment(s). Last comment by Eggplant 1 week ago

Posted by HoldingKing > 2020-01-16 11:14 | Report Abuse

Vitrox already break new high. But SAM still nt moving. Wtf

blackchicken

1,220 posts

Posted by blackchicken > 2020-01-16 15:10 | Report Abuse

The freshly signed US-China trade agreement could benefit Boeing and the broader US aerospace sector in the next 24 months, with Beijing committed to buying $77.7 billion worth of US manufactured goods during a two-year period.
https://www.flightglobal.com/us-china-trade-pact-likely-a-boon-for-boeing/136166.article

Posted by HoldingKing > 2020-01-21 17:42 | Report Abuse

Yo smlj? Keep dropping

uptrending

1,852 posts

Posted by uptrending > 2020-01-22 09:48 | Report Abuse

Temasek should take it private.
Share price lack luster and thinly trader.

blackchicken

1,220 posts

Posted by blackchicken > 2020-01-22 20:45 | Report Abuse

Reuters
KUALA LUMPUR: Malaysia's central bank unexpectedly cut its key interest rate by 25 basis points to 2.75% on Wednesday, aiming to spur private spending and protect economic growth.

Bank Negara Malaysia (BNM) said it expects growth to gradually improve with support from private spending, improved external demand and a modest recovery in overall investment activity underpinned by ongoing and new projects.

Posted by Fabien "The Efficient Capital Allocater" > 2020-02-03 23:29 | Report Abuse

Bought 7.68

More sell down pls.

santocs

17 posts

Posted by santocs > 2020-02-05 08:07 | Report Abuse

Just all in during 7.68 & 7.69 too...

Nepo

3,359 posts

Posted by Nepo > 2020-02-07 11:46 | Report Abuse

I think this counter also affects by Coronovirus, but why all in and not waiting first?

miketyu

464 posts

Posted by miketyu > 2020-02-07 12:24 | Report Abuse

Airbus plant shutdown in china. Becareful

Posted by enigmatic ¯\_(ツ)_/¯ > 2020-02-07 12:38 | Report Abuse

I think SAM is down bcause it supplies part to Airbus. https://www.thestar.com.my/business/business-news/2019/02/22/sam-engineering-plant-to-supply-parts-to-airbus/

Market is pessimistic over Airbus' business now and towards SAM too.

But if Airbus China is closed, wouldn't they transfer their parts-making operations to SAM?

I think SAM would benefit.

Posted by HoldingKing > 2020-02-08 02:39 | Report Abuse

everyone calm the fak down. Let the result speaks~

Posted by Icon8888 > 2020-02-11 16:00 | Report Abuse

Slurp

My core holding apart from alliance bank

Shinnzaii

3,114 posts

Posted by Shinnzaii > 2020-02-12 09:22 | Report Abuse

https://www.theedgemarkets.com/article/malaysia-well-positioned-capitalise-aerospace-industry-says-matrade-ceo

Aerospace equipment and manufacturing can see some growth...

blackchicken

1,220 posts

Posted by blackchicken > 2020-02-12 11:21 | Report Abuse

TOKYO: Japan is ready to take Malaysia to a new frontier in space exploration and technology, via collaborative initiatives.

Japan Aerospace Exploration Agency (JAXA) international relations and research department director Yoshikazu Shoji said Malaysia already has a head start by having its first astronaut flown to the International Space Station (ISS); its involvement in the Malaysia East Asia Satellite (Measat) and micro-satellite programme; and aviation and aerospace industries.

"With Malaysia's experience in these sectors and the decades-old strong bilateral relationship between both countries, I reckon Malaysia can forge ahead in space science and beyond.
https://www.nst.com.my/news/nation/2020/02/564524/japan-offers-malaysia-new-frontier-space-exploration

Rwkl

216 posts

Posted by Rwkl > 2020-02-12 17:44 | Report Abuse

Finally producing some show here. Buying frenzy in the morning. After lunch it was a selling spree.
Panic buying in the last hour

Posted by Fabien "The Efficient Capital Allocater" > 2020-02-12 19:48 | Report Abuse

This is a high growth stock in an industry with high barriers of entry. Yet, it is trading at trailing PE of 13x. Not even 15x.

While market is unrealistically valuing, even smallish tech stocks at 50x PE.

leekh5555

544 posts

Posted by leekh5555 > 2020-02-13 10:16 | Report Abuse

that provide opportunity of accumulation.

Posted by Choivo Capital > 2020-02-13 13:46 | Report Abuse

This one and 5G what relationship ah

flykly

Posted by flykly > 2020-02-13 22:14 | Report Abuse

file:///Users/KhooLinYuan/Downloads/Airbus-GMF2019-presentation-Christian-Scherer.pdf

flykly

Posted by flykly > 2020-02-13 22:16 | Report Abuse

fabien, spot on...total addresable market by airbus in next 15 years is USD5 trillion. Sam market cap USD220million. Virtually no other stock in Bursa has this playing field. If Sam were to expand 5 factories at one time, capacity would be full too.

flykly

Posted by flykly > 2020-02-13 22:20 | Report Abuse

on top of this, in the semicon division, they have a Prototype. read their annual report they mentioned. blue ocean guys

Posted by Fabien "The Efficient Capital Allocater" > 2020-02-13 22:24 | Report Abuse

Airbus Global Market Forecast 2018-2037 report estimates that over the next 20 years, 37,390 new passenger and freight aircraft will be needed. Of these, 10850 are to replace old aircraft and the remaining 26,540 new aircraft to cater for rising demand.

Posted by Fabien "The Efficient Capital Allocater" > 2020-02-13 22:25 | Report Abuse

Currently, there is an average order backlog of 7-9 years for Boeing and Airbus aircraft.

RainT

8,448 posts

Posted by RainT > 2020-02-14 18:50 | Report Abuse

is it all is SAM?

means the 7-9 years order backlog frm Boeing n Airbus

RainT

8,448 posts

Posted by RainT > 2020-02-14 18:51 | Report Abuse

or have other supplier share with SAM as well?

Posted by Icon8888 > 2020-02-16 06:58 | Report Abuse

Currently 50% revenue from aviation 50% from semicon related

It is a semicon play left behind

Posted by Philip (Can I advise you?) > 2020-02-16 08:29 | Report Abuse

90% of the 50% revenue from aviation is building engine cases for A320 neo and B737 max, which is the cheap medium range planes designed for shorter commercial routes with lower fuel and more seating space.

90% of the other 50% from semicon related is mainly for HDD supply, with lower concentration is SDD.

What is the long term prospects of these two divisions? Highly specialized machinery and plant equipment with high capital costs, a niche product and a specific group of customers.

The 2 bigger player comparisons of suppliers to Boeing and Airbus, and hard disk space

Liebherr aerospace ( parts construction, including engine casing for 777 etc) space
Western digital ( HDD) space

7-9 backlog of plane deliveries. 2.8 billion in book orders. Airbus corruption case. B737max grounding worldwide. Quarterly report guidance on next quarter increase in HDD parts orders.

What second level thinking can we apply here?

Air_Asia

266 posts

Posted by Air_Asia > 2020-02-18 21:31 | Report Abuse

AA many empty flights lately due to coronavirus why aviation industry still good?

Posted by enigmatic ¯\_(ツ)_/¯ > 2020-02-18 23:03 | Report Abuse

I'll try to answer Philip's question, I think the short term is not looking good for SAM's two divisions. Specialised machinery is a double-edged sword, I suppose, as SAM can only manufacture a certain kind of products. The pros would be economies of scale in products, while the cons would be inability to diversify into potentially more profitable products in future? But I remember SAM's business having high barriers of entry, shouldn't its business be sustainable in the long run, despite the slight negative outlook of the industry?

The negative news from the A&B planemakers seems to pose a danger to SAM's business, but SAM's recent track record suggests it is quite resilient. I think SAM would continue to grow, albeit at a much slower pace, as I trust this Singaporean management team.

I'd like to hear your views, Philip. Your analysis of businesses is very intricate.

Posted by Philip (Can I advise you?) > 2020-02-18 23:27 | Report Abuse

I concur. And I think this is excellent 2nd level thinking.

>>>>>>>>>>>

I think SAM would continue to grow, albeit at a much slower pace, as I trust this Singaporean management team.

Posted by Fabien "The Efficient Capital Allocater" > 2020-02-18 23:45 | Report Abuse

What makes u think it will grow at MUCH (emphasis) slower pace.

The noise surrounding Boeing 747? or the coronavirus?

Posted by Philip (Can I advise you?) > 2020-02-18 23:50 | Report Abuse

What does Corona virus have to do with the long term prospects of Sam? Similar to sars, I predict the virus is contained and will disappear by June,

Posted by Icon8888 > 2020-02-19 06:43 | Report Abuse

To those who claimed SAM non aerospace business is mainly from HDD, you don’t know what you talking

But all these actually doesn’t matter, people can say whatever they want in this forum, at the end of the day, it is the PLC that matters. If SAM can deliver good result in the future its price goes up if not it will underperform

Just like Petronas chemical. People said how good how good, but the analysis later turned out to be wrong, and all pchem shareholders go Holland

Posted by Philip (Can I advise you?) > 2020-02-19 07:44 | Report Abuse

Since you know what you are talking, where does it come from? Like some Jokers who buy lctitan at high price with one hand behind the wheel. Unlike some who don't even bother understanding a company and just buy first think later, I try to understand the business first. Buy the ctos reports, get the industry journals.

FABRICATION OF PRECISION TOOLS AND MACHINERY PARTS AND MANUFACTURE OF AIRCRAFT AND OTHER EQUIPMENT PARTS, SPARES, COMPONENTS AND PRECISION ENGINEERING PARTS

https://www.ctoscredit.com.my/business/SAM-PRECISION-%28M%29-SDN-BHD-0043230K

I try to understand what it is that Sam precision, Sam tooling, Sam technologies what exactly that they do. Last year when Sam was brought to my attention by another investor, I went to Penang to have a visit. Their main locations are in Penang and Thailand. Aerospace in Singapore and Penang. With their latest Bukit minyak facility.

Like some idiot reply,
"Sam Engineering derived a significant amount of profit from semiconductor equipment manufacturing. " Funnily enough she lump everything under semiconductor equipment manufacturing.

If you go through the breakdown of companies revenue and earnings ( I did) from the ctos reports ( only a few ringgit per report), you can see how the breakdown of earnings come from their subsidiaries.

https://klse.i3investor.com/blogs/icon8888/2019-10-21-story231104-_Icon_Sam_Engineering_An_Overlooked_Semicon_Play.jsp this is the article where someone lumped all earnings as semiconductor equipment manufacturing.

You have Sam precision, Sam tooling, Sam precision Thailand and meerkat.

You will quickly notice they are a die and jig manufacturer ( which coincides with their speciality in aerospace CNC and 5axis precision cutting).

Do you think they are a semiconductor OSAT maker on the scale of inari? No, they supply precision equipment to them.

They do tooling and jigs for globetronics in Penang (LED), they supply equipment and support to ASE electronics. They supply obviously to manufacturer of HDD and SSD ( Thailand). I mean come on, they are a member of the fmm in Penang. So many ways to scuttlebutt and get info on what exactly they do and what are the limits of their production capacity. Why lie and lump all under semiconductor equipment manufacturing?

But lumping everything into one and calling it semiconductor equipment manufacturing, that is brilliant.

As for Holland in Pchem, it remains to be seen. My timeline is different from yours. If you bought Sam at 8.5 and saw the price today you will say Holland. But those who bought PCHEM with a 3-5 year view and bought rm6 million of shares during discount day at 6.2? Come back to me next year when PIC is in full production, if the earnings and revenues drop then, then you can say whatever you want.

Until then, YOU do not know what you are talking.

>>>>>>>>

Posted by Icon8888 > Feb 19, 2020 6:43 AM | Report Abuse

To those who claimed SAM non aerospace business is mainly from HDD, you don’t know what you talking

Posted by Philip (Can I advise you?) > 2020-02-19 07:49 | Report Abuse

Armchair analysts just talk nonsense from computers and buy with one hand behind the wheel and the other frantically pressing buy button on the phone.

Real investors go down to Penang to enjoy prawn mee and visit the factories to get a better understanding of the companies before deciding whether or not to buy and sell.

FYI, my remark was a sarcasm because someone lumped all earnings under semiconductor equipment.

>>>>>>>>>>>

Philip (Can I advise you?) I totally did not know they did semiconductor business. All this while when i visited their plant in penang I only thought they did fabrication of the hard disk drive pins and metal spring miniature steel fabs.

which part of semiconductors do they produce?
23/10/2019 7:27 PM

Quincy

46 posts

Posted by Quincy > 2020-02-19 09:53 | Report Abuse

Philip, which of the following Ctos report do you purchase for purposes you mentioned?

Sample:
https://businessreport.ctoscredit.com.my/oneoffreport/single-report?comp=TONG-LEE-TRADING-SDN-BHD-1085713X&_ga=2.262054669.1426025393.1582073721-326479210.1582073721

RainT

8,448 posts

Posted by RainT > 2020-02-24 11:41 | Report Abuse

wah

queue some at RM7.45 today

at low

Posted by HoldingKing > 2020-02-24 12:37 | Report Abuse

every quarter breaking new record in revenues n profits. today drop to 7.50. dividend almost 4%.
TIME to collect.

Posted by Icon8888 > 2020-02-25 19:00 | Report Abuse

So Philips visited pengerang to check out pchem ?

How come still laosai ?

LOL

Nepo

3,359 posts

Posted by Nepo > 2020-02-27 21:05 | Report Abuse

Aiyoyo also lausai here..

Posted by Icon8888 > 2020-02-28 17:37 | Report Abuse

19 Sen EPS

Posted by HoldingKing > 2020-02-28 17:38 | Report Abuse

Fuh nice profits.

Posted by Fabien "The Efficient Capital Allocater" > 2020-02-29 09:47 | Report Abuse

11th consecutive quarterly profit growth. impressive

19.34sen EPS, highest recorded over the last 3 years. 30% y-o-y growth

20x PE is not unreasonable

Rwkl

216 posts

Posted by Rwkl > 2020-02-29 10:35 | Report Abuse

Airlines, hotel etc companies top and bottom lines will be badly battered this quarter. Interesting to discover how Sam will perform

bukithot

457 posts

Posted by bukithot > 2020-02-29 15:57 | Report Abuse

Slow down in revenue for Aerospace segment is expected for next quarter. Hope it is temporary as COVID-19 is hitting airlines industry really hard.