MYNEWS HOLDINGS BERHAD

KLSE (MYR): MYNEWS (5275)

-0.005 (0.95%)

0.515 - 0.525

1,859 comment(s). Last comment by goldmanbull 1 day ago

MoneyShow3

538 posts

Posted by MoneyShow3 > 2021-09-23 23:16 | Report Abuse

Waiting for the QR, very thin trading, not many sellers, so generally a bad QR could mean a 1 day drop and then as ppl read and digest the recovery potential, might buy up and hold this stock for some nice quarters ahead.... Am more interested in the number of stores they managed to open and of they can hit more than 20 CU stores by year end..

Posted by OldWiseMan100 > 2021-09-27 19:46 | Report Abuse

Bursa style, bad qr = tomorrow up.

Posted by OldWiseMan100 > 2021-09-27 20:15 | Report Abuse

genm... airasia.... bad qr.... up up and up

Posted by abang_misai > 2021-09-27 20:16 | Report Abuse

No need to cheat yourself. Don’t ever invest in this type of traditional business

bose00

1,034 posts

Posted by bose00 > 2021-09-27 20:24 | Report Abuse

Expected bad qr. bet on next 2 qtrs

Posted by OldWiseMan100 > 2021-09-27 20:24 | Report Abuse

oh well, maybe the q for their new CU opening will be long.
https://www.facebook.com/Malaysia.CU/videos/1041763303235674/

Posted by OldWiseMan100 > 2021-09-27 20:25 | Report Abuse

@abang_misai

You invested in Serba?

MoneyShow3

538 posts

Posted by MoneyShow3 > 2021-09-27 22:01 | Report Abuse

Cu ioi mall opening this weekend. Big QL - rm15m and hope it's all back to normal soon. Only way to recover is to open more CU outlets. Seems to improve margins... CU at 1.50

Posted by OldWiseMan100 > 2021-09-27 22:29 | Report Abuse

CU RM1.50

Gannina

70 posts

Posted by Gannina > 2021-09-27 22:32 |

Posted by EatCoconutCanWin > 2021-09-27 23:02 | Report Abuse

Results negative is buy call

doll

78 posts

Posted by doll > 2021-09-27 23:09 | Report Abuse

i told you all already but dowan listen. mco or not this stock is overvalued. management is not what it appears to be. borrowings getting more & more, first time i monitor this stock it was net cash.

Posted by millionology > 2021-09-28 00:12 | Report Abuse

haha, so many people don't like this company but spend time coming to this thread advising
people people.

Posted by millionology > 2021-09-28 00:15 | Report Abuse

you guys really good heart. I shame on myself. I never so good heart advising people don't buy if I never lose money from this stock before or I am waiting to biy

Keyman188

5,968 posts

Posted by Keyman188 > 2021-09-28 00:27 | Report Abuse

Amboi...another bleeding quarterly performance...

Since last onward already 6 Conservative quarterly losses...

As expected...latest quarterly performance more worst by RM 14 mil losses...

Adui...

Really only look see look see 1st...

Posted by Keyman188 > Sep 8, 2021 9:14 AM | Report Abuse X

This co. already incurred 5 consecutive quarterly losses...

Every quarter incurred losses become more serious...

Last time this stock is part of Keyman188's darling but after Keyman188 sold all during Mar'21 then only look see look see...

Totally no improvement...

This month another bleeding quarterly report coming out...

Aiyo...Keyman188 really forgotten...

Last time Keyman188 recall...there was 1 fellow "Choivo Capital" keep on promoting but now disappear or MIA !!!...

Adui...Kesian for those listened to this fellow...

Posted by OldWiseMan100 > 2021-09-28 09:42 | Report Abuse

Green now. Even AirAsia (not AAX) green today.
This is Bursa, we invest (or bet) based on future.

More CU shops open, CU RM1.50

Posted by millionology > 2021-09-28 09:48 | Report Abuse

All Mynews / Airasia and many other recovery stocks that people bought are expecting the result is making loss. Who will dream of a sudden shoot in profits when the MCO situation is similar with previous quarter? Most real investor park money in recovery stocks is to diversify their fund for mid to long term play instead of focusing high PE fast reward tech industry

bose00

1,034 posts

Posted by bose00 > 2021-09-28 09:56 | Report Abuse

The worst is over already. Clear blue sky is coming.

Posted by wallstreetrookie > 2021-09-28 10:31 | Report Abuse

MyNews is slightly overvalued at this price. This stock will perform similarly as Air Asia. If international borders remain closed, this means that the MyNews outlets at Malaysia airports will remain out of business. Also, the CU shops only contribute partially to the company earnings.

We are bearish on MyNews in the short term.

Posted by valueplayer > 2021-09-28 11:24 |

Posted by OldWiseMan100 > 2021-09-28 12:31 | Report Abuse

@wallstreetrookie

Majority of their stores are in Klang Valley and rely on locals, AirAsia need to fly people to point A to point B (or sell planes). 2 different thing. Genting also need Chinese gamblers from China. myNews is different.

Singaporean come to malaysia and buy stuff from CU and myNEWS?

profitgrow

773 posts

Posted by profitgrow > 2021-09-30 09:52 | Report Abuse

rubbish stock.. sell

Posted by millionology > 2021-09-30 15:27 | Report Abuse

profitgrow still cheap now
24/08/2021 4:28 PM

profitgrow this stock is 50% upside potentil. by end of this year. Congraz to all the early shareholder.
26/08/2021 12:06 PM

Posted by millionology > 2021-09-30 15:32 | Report Abuse

When you will see someone cursing the stock , it must be someone is waiting to buy. or his cut loss price is still lower than the current price.

MoneyShow3

538 posts

Posted by MoneyShow3 > 2021-10-01 02:35 | Report Abuse

A little bit disappointed that mynews will only manage to open 30 CU stores in total by year end. Ioi mall open... Go see the crowd this weekend, gonna be massive que.... CU at 1.50.... But I still can't buy volume.... Maybe after a spike to 1.20 will have sellers come out....

DreamEmperor

3,340 posts

Posted by DreamEmperor > 2021-10-01 04:07 | Report Abuse

yah gah

DreamEmperor

3,340 posts

Posted by DreamEmperor > 2021-10-01 04:07 | Report Abuse

sure boh

Posted by OldWiseMan100 > 2021-10-01 23:55 | Report Abuse

Very disappointed with the AGM. They still plan to open myNEWS store? and go into grocery+mini convenient store in myNEWS Supervalue?

They should focus on CU and close down as many myNEWS or convert existing myNEWS to CU. Once this is done, they can venture into grocery.

Look at Supervalue. Aircond, close glass door, big tiles, bright lighting, got mini maru cafe... wtf man. it is going to flop. not exactly premium, not exactly cheap, not enough choices, too many choices for a minimart. wtf and wtf. It is like a hybrid car, not here not there.

they really have sentimental value for the myNEWS brand. Is it so hard to let go? I am willing to bet they will continue to report losses for the whole 2022 and will be forced to do PP or RI.

They cannot accept MaruCafe and myNEWS is not working. if there is a FamilyMart besides myNEWS, nobody will go to myNEWS Maru Cafe and buy an Ice Cream..... nobody. They cannot accept this is a reality and now want to do Supervalue store with mini maru cafe in it? Food wastage will go thru the roof.

hopeless.

Posted by OldWiseMan100 > 2021-10-05 11:39 | Report Abuse

@Gley

That is because their cash and short term investment amounted to RM14.3m, and their debt is RM74.4m. It cost them RM400K to open each new CU outlet, and if they plan to open more, they will need more money as they are still losing money operating existing myNEWS outlet and their kitchen is also losing money due to wastage and etc.

I think it is a matter of time, not if but when.

If you read the AGM transcript, they too says they dont discount the fact they might do a PP or RI in the future but currently no plans as they have access to bank credit line.

It all goes down to execution. Every new CU will take time to recoup the investment, and if myNEWS is bleeding money, that is double trouble.

Therefore I am somewhat disappointed. The right move is to close down as many myNEWS and convert good myNEWS location to CU. Do it gradually, but they refuses to let the myNEWS brand name dies.

I'll did kill it asap. that brand name is useless. sorry to say this. If Dang or any of the board read this, you know what I am saying is the truth. 腾龙换鸟

Posted by Lightofheaven > 2021-10-05 11:50 | Report Abuse

Maru cafe provide good coffee at affordable price.

Rm4 coffee better than starxxxk coffee believe me.

Posted by OldWiseMan100 > 2021-10-05 20:34 | Report Abuse

@Lightofheaven

And yet people rather pay RM15-RM20 for a cup of coffee in Strabucks. Why?

I tell you why, and if the CEO and retail CEO from myNEWS reading this, this is because the myNEWS brand name sucks. Outdated, cold, cheap, poor services, lousy food, etc.

Like what Chovio said in his article, myNEWS should rebrand all myNEWS to MaruCafe and offer Malaysian food at good price. CU for Korean and Maru for Malaysian.

RM2 Nasi Lemak, RM2 Coffee or Tea. Go head to head with the mamak store. Kuih and malaysian delights ready to eat at an affordable price. ditch trying to be Japanese when myNEWS is not. myNEWS is Malaysian and should act like one.

Thorman

100 posts

Posted by Thorman > 2021-10-05 20:39 | Report Abuse

MAMAK coffee much cheaper!

Posted by Lightofheaven > 2021-10-06 13:20 | Report Abuse

I mean mynews should at least trying to advertise on their coffee..this shop got nothing to attract me except the rm4 latte coffee.
One thing i must praise is i enjoyed the pretty cold aircon brreze while waiting for my coffe to be brewed. Wonder how high the electric bills will be..the shop is occupied only with 2 staff and me, how ro survived lah wei.

MiaoMiao7

449 posts

Posted by MiaoMiao7 > 2021-10-10 12:37 | Report Abuse

am willing to bet next quarter will be in the red too, then the next next quarter and until the end of 2022 also in the red.

doll

78 posts

Posted by doll > 2021-10-11 09:39 | Report Abuse

it will just be red, lack of originality. always couple steps slower than family mart. Now family mart has mini family mart which i think will be a hit. whats your move mr luk? mini mynews too?

Posted by Gabriel Khoo > 2021-10-16 14:47 | Report Abuse

From cimb

Moving forward, we expect MNHB to resume its store expansion drive as the lifting of movement restrictions nationwide enables construction and refurbishment activities to resume. MNHB opened only four CU-branded stores in 9MFY21. We gather that MNHB is looking to accelerate the opening of CU-branded outlets and is hoping to cross the 50store mark by Dec 2021F. It targets to open more than 15 CU outlets in Oct 2021F alone across identified locations in the Klang Valley. The group shared that metrics for the first four stores opened up to 3QFY21 exceeded expectations, and our on-the-ground checks found large crowds for some of the newly-opened outlets, suggesting strong reception and potentially shorter gestation periods for the early outlets.

Accelerating CU store expansion After months of not being able to open new outlets due to the movement restrictions nationwide, MNHB is looking to aggressively resume its CU store expansion rollout. We gather that MNHB is targeting to open c.50 CU outlets by December, after having managed to open only four up to 3QFY10/21. MNHB at its recent analyst briefing also shared that it has secured more than 100 sites nationwide for its CU outlets and targets to have a CU store count of at least 150 stores by end-FY22F. We believe the bulk of the initial store openings will be in the Klang Valley, and will be supported by its own FPC. We think the key store metrics for its CU outlets, such as average revenue per store, gross margin and footfall, greatly outpace those of its existing myNEWS-branded outlets, supported by CU’s novel ready-to-eat (RTE) food offerings.

doll

78 posts

Posted by doll > 2021-10-18 09:54 | Report Abuse

Aberdeen is slowly selling off too. CU's income is not that tempting, probably has high franchising fee or share of profit thing? it's eating up the original 'malaysia homemade' brand. so saddening

6,066 posts

Posted by Michael Kwok > 2021-10-18 23:23 |

Posted by alvisgoh99 > 2021-10-19 13:46 | Report Abuse

Surprise!!
We've heard many of you requesting for more CU outlets so we're excited to announce that we will be having 18 brand new CU outlets launching this month!!
What's more is that we are finally launching our CU Oulets out of the Klang Valley starting with Ipoh and Seremban!
We are so grateful for all the love and support you have given us, we look forward to continue expanding so that we can be in your area!
Save the date & we hope to CU soon!

Posted by awankign007 > 2021-10-19 13:57 | Report Abuse

Margin low la this business. Keep burning more money at mynews.. breakeven only happen in end of 2022. Start profit only start 2023. omg

MoneyShow3

538 posts

Posted by MoneyShow3 > 2021-10-19 14:56 | Report Abuse

18 new CU outlets opening by end October.... At last it's moving and hope still on track to 50 outlets by year end.

Transformation begins.... See U at Rm1.50

thesteward

6,757 posts

Posted by thesteward > 2021-10-19 20:19 | Report Abuse

This week hope can break 1.10

Posted by millionology > 2021-10-20 11:35 | Report Abuse

When you see someone cursing the stock , it must be someone hoping the price to go down so that he can buy or current price is higher than his cut loss price so he is emotionally disturbed.

newbie8080

2,729 posts

Posted by newbie8080 > 2021-10-20 11:42 | Report Abuse

Sounds like a war between family mart vs CU

Who will prevail?

Where 7-11 will be?

Lioncity

293 posts

Posted by Lioncity > 2021-10-20 17:18 | Report Abuse

CU Coming Thick & Fast!
http://bursadummy.blogspot.com/2021/10/cu-coming-thick-and-fast.html

Lioncity

293 posts

Posted by Lioncity > 2021-10-20 17:18 | Report Abuse

Look at the number of outlets coming up! Woohoo fasten your seat belt tight!

MoneyShow3

538 posts

Posted by MoneyShow3 > 2021-10-20 21:29 | Report Abuse

50 cu outlets =rm1.50 share $, 500 outlets =rm 5??
Shld change Mynews to Maru Express and operate both the Japanese and Korean retail concept.... Waiting for the next spike up...

profitgrow

773 posts

Posted by profitgrow > 2021-10-22 16:52 | Report Abuse

do not buy this stock... the 50 CU outlet is a dream... but its actually not earning money

Nepo

3,290 posts

Posted by Nepo > 2021-10-22 19:29 | Report Abuse

https://youtu.be/toYCdTobYgU
Try try these Korea food