Posted by 3iii > 2018-08-12 08:05 | Report Abuse

My Golden Rule of Investing: Companies that grow revenues and earnings will see share prices grow over time.

Posted by stockraider > 2020-09-18 20:13 | Report Abuse

This Sohai 3iii keep talking cock loh...!!

Just tell lah...clearly , precisely & concisely to buy or sell gloves stock lah....!!

Posted by Integrity. Intelligent. Industrious. 3iii (iiinvestsmart)$€£¥ > Sep 17, 2020 6:59 AM | Report Abuse

Topglove to release quarterly results today.

What is the market expecting?

Will it be above, be below or meet Ăľhis market expectation?

Growth stock, as a group, will always be very volatile.

Germany is doing 1 million Covid tests per day.

UK is hoping to test 500,000 per day.

Each test uses a new pair of gloves.

Hartalega is right. The demand for glove will still outstrip supply for next 3 years or so.

The Topglove CEO guided that the next FY earnings will be at least RM 6 billion.

With its market cap at RM 69 billion, it is trading at a forward 2021 PE of 11+.

Of course, the next FY earnings will be an exceptional one. Projecting its future normalised sustainable earnings and fiture growth have led to marked price volatility.

Remember Mr. Market. Price volatility is your friend. Take advantage of Mr. Market.

Price 6.43
Market Capital (RM)
: 68.873b
Number of Share
: 8.170b

Price 8.43
Market Capital (RM)
: 68.873b
Number of Share
: 8.170b

Errata

Posted by Integrity. Intelligent. Industrious. 3iii (iiinvestsmart)$€£¥ > Sep 18, 2020 7:49 PM | Report Abuse

Topglove

Maintain BUY with a revised TP of RM9.63 (previously RM9.31). Our adjusted TP is based on PER of 38.0x pegged to FY22F EPS of 25.3 sen. Our PER valuation of 38.0x is based on +1 SD of its 10-year mean, which we think better portrays its long-term prospects and vast improvement in the near-term outlook. We also think the premium is justified for its leading position, market share and business upcycle. We think that demand for gloves are likely to remain strong in the coming quarters due to unabated number of active cases and higher hygiene awareness. We also like Top Glove for its product and geographical diversification, which allows it to mitigate any potential business risks in any particular market or product segment. As such, we keep our BUY recommendation. Risks to our call include plunge in ASP and overcapacity of production in gloves.

Source: MIDF Research - 18 Sept 2020

Posted by Integrity. Intelligent. Industrious. 3iii (iiinvestsmart)$€£¥ > 2020-09-26 18:31 | Report Abuse

Why free trading tips are dangerous?

In your real life, do you get any quality products/service at free of cost? Nowadays, you need to pay even for pure drinking water!

1. Why someone will provide money making ideas (stock tips) at free of cost?

Their motive is to bring back their existing customer.
None of them are doing charity.
None of them have the motive of making you rich.

2. You will get dozens of free trading tips each day.
Your broker is also eager to provide trading tips at free of cost.
Moreover, dozens of websites offer bunch of new trading ideas everyday totally free of cost.
Including Facebook and Whatsapp groups, the list of free trading tips provider would be very long.

3. Let’s have a detailed look on their motive –

Motive #1 – Many operators provide free trading tips after offering the same to their paid clients.

Thus, stock price gets manipulated which in turn helps only their paid clients. Suppose I have two websites; freetips.com and paidtips.com. One is for providing tips to paid clients and another for free clients. However clients don’t know that both the websites are operated by the same person (or same group of people). So, what I am doing is, I am offering tips to my paid clients first. After their purchase, I am distributing the same to free subscribers.

While, free subscribers start buying the same stock, the price starts moving in upward direction. Exactly at the same time, I am recommending “Profit Booking/Exit” call to paid clients. Thus, free subscribers get stuck at the top. So, my paid subscribers are getting good return at the cost of free clients. My motive is to collect more subscription fees from paid clients! This way one can easily manipulate the price of lesser known stocks (specially, midcap and small cap stocks).

Motive #2 – Operators often offer free tips just to have a smooth exit at hefty profit.

The company is in microcap category and I didn’t hear the name before than that. Trading volume was much higher on both the days and stock price appreciated a lot. The pattern suggested that the operator had sent the same SMS to thousands of retail investors and many of them purchased the stock. The most surprising fact is that on those days three operators sold quantities worth of the same stock. So, operators were selling a particular stock and simultaneously sending SMS to thousands of retail investors to buy for “sure-shot” target of doubling the money!

In the next 10 days the stock was hitting lower circuit continuously and stock price reached to below a fraction of the previous price. There were no buyers for the same and as a result it got stuck in lower circuit. Thousands of retail investors got stuck lost around 90% or more and expressed their anger.

Nobody is there to save them. With the advent of mobile phone and internet such practice is quiet common. Be careful from the next time if you receive such SMS!

4. Why paid trading tips are sometimes more dangerous?

You can lose your investment amount from free trading tips but what about paid tips. Surprisingly paid tips can make you suffer more because in this you not only lose your invested amount but also your subscription amount.

Regards

Posted by Integrity. Intelligent. Industrious. 3iii (iiinvestsmart)$€£¥ > 2020-10-09 20:24 | Report Abuse

Year to date (from 1.1.2020 to today)

My portfolio has shown a capital gain of 10.4%.

It is a difficult year. Shares tanked hugely in March and many have remain at low prices to date.

My portfolio has 26 stocks.

10 stocks constitute 92% of portfolio value (top 6 stocks account for 78.7% of total portfolio value).

The next 16 stocks make up 8% of the rest of the portfolio value.

Thus, this is a concentrated portfolio where a few stocks account for the 90% of the total value.

Results:

Of the top 10 stocks:

8 losers: ranging from -4.6% to -27.8%

2 winners: 69.6% and 1187%

Of the lower 16 stocks:

14 losers: ranging from -0.7% to -78.5%

2 winners: 19.4% to 28.2%.

Like many in Bursa, a single stock in the right sector provided all the superb gains for this year, erasing the losses in the other stocks. Nevertheless, with all the stock prices of the other stocks in the doldrum, this portfolio has potential upside more than downside in the years ahead, when economy recovers.

4,669 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2020-10-09 20:27 | Report Abuse

Mind sharing your top 2 winners?

Posted by Integrity. Intelligent. Industrious. 3iii (iiinvestsmart)$€£¥ > 2020-10-14 20:50 | Report Abuse

Please skip if you don't like it.

https://www.nst.com.my/business/2020/10/632205/hartalegas-glove-capacity-booked-till-end-2021

Hartalega's glove capacity booked up till end-2021
By NST Business - October 14, 2020 @ 12:01pm
Hartalega Holdings Bhd is confident of sustained strong demand for its gloves with capacity having booked up till end of 2021, according to Kenanga Research. NSTP/FILEPIX

KUALA LUMPUR: Hartalega Holdings Bhd is confident of sustained strong demand for its gloves with capacity having booked up till end of 2021, according to Kenanga Research.

The firm "strongly" reiterated its positive view on Hartalega's prospects for the next few quarters following a meeting with its investor relations staff recently.

Kenanga Research said Hartalega had reassured that the lagged impact from average selling price (ASP) hike would be felt in the second half of financial year 2021 (FY21).

The firm highlighted that industry ASP had risen for September to November delivery, suggesting that the robust demand would continue over the next few quarters.

In line with higher industry ASP, Hartalega is expected to raise ASP by 30 per cent and 40 per cent in the second quarter of FY21 (Q2FY21) and third quarter of FY21 respectively.

"We expect a hike in raw material prices and potential tight supply in formers due to supply constraints forming a potential potent combination for higher ASPs," the firm said today.

Kenanga Research expects Hartalega's Q2FY21 net profit, due to be released by end-October, to be higher quarter-on-quarter and year-on-year.

This will be in tandem with solid sector growth due to higher volume from new capacity expansions of Hartalega's Plant 6 and 7 and better margins due to higher ASP and operating efficiencies from new plants.

"While we raised our FY21/FY22 net profit by 45 per cent/106 per cent to account for higher ASP assumptions, our target price is unchanged as we lowered our target price earnings ratio rating to -0.5SD (standard deviation) below five-year mean (compared to above mean previously) to reflect a moderation in earnings growth towards more sustainable levels beyond FY22."

Nevertheless, there remains ample upside to its target price of RM26.22, said Kenanga Research, which reiterated its "outperform" call on Hartalega.

Posted by Integrity. Intelligent. Industrious. 3iii (iiinvestsmart)$€£¥ > 2020-10-15 13:55 | Report Abuse

LPI Group, despite the challenges, has managed to report a creditable performance for the 3rd Quarter of 2020.

Posted by Shirley6866 > 2020-10-15 13:59 |

Posted by Integrity. Intelligent. Industrious. 3iii (iiinvestsmart)$€£¥ > 2020-10-15 16:21 | Report Abuse

Individual investors can spot a good growth company quickly.

By arranging the fundamental data in a way, individual investors can see a company’s growth and management performance as well as the stock’s investment possibilities in just a few minutes.

The work required to spot a good value stock is a little more complex.

Regards

Posted by stockraider > 2020-10-15 16:25 |

Posted by stockraider > 2020-10-17 13:09 |

Posted by stockraider > 2020-10-17 13:10 | Report Abuse

VERY DISHONEST 3iii LOH...!

NO INTEGRITY LOH...!!

Posted by Integrity. Intelligent. Industrious. 3iii (iiinvestsmart)$€£¥ > Oct 16, 2020 1:01 PM | Report Abuse

:-)

maybe we should get off dishonest raider's back for the next month, unless he continues to promote incessantly.

Posted by Integrity. Intelligent. Industrious. 3iii (iiinvestsmart)$€£¥ > Oct 17, 2020 12:55 PM | Report Abuse

stockraider is so stressed. Money does not buy happiness. Mental health is important too. Have a nice weekend. Walk the park. Kick the ducks. You will feel better and realise your inner self more rationally.

Posted by stockraider > 2020-10-17 14:16 | Report Abuse

An extraordinary investor has the following qualities:

1 He must be intelligent with good business sense.

2 He must have a good foresight to be able to see ahead of other investors.

3 He must be able to control his emotion of fear.

4 He must be prepared to take some calculated risk.

5 He can make his own decision and not easily side-tracked.

6 He knows the basic share selection fundamentals.

DON BE CON BY SOHAI....NETX RI SUBSCRIPTION HAS SO MUCH MARGIN OF SAFETY, THAT IT EVEN DROP TO 13 SEN...U STILL MAKE MONIES FROM THE FRE WARRANT MAH!!

VERY IMPORTANT TO U DO YOUR BASIC MATHS AGAIN LOH..!!

Lets do the maths again loh...!!

1.5m share excess rights at 13 sen = cost Rm175000

Raider will get 1.5m @ 15 sen = Mkt value Rm 225000
Raider will get 750k free warrant wort 3.5 sen = Rm 26250 say Rm 26000

So Raider overall mkt value Rm 225k pus Rm 26k = Rm 251k
But Raider overall cost amounting to = Rm 175k

Raider overall profit is cool Rm 76k

The unique part is raider only spend Rm 500 to get next & even consolidated Raider make a loss of Rm 250.

But Raider can easily make back Rm 76k from this exercise loh...!!

Thats why Raider tell u must take the RI plus excess RI applications of NETX loh...!

Posted by Sslee > Oct 17, 2020 1:53 PM | Report Abuse

Haha,
Calvin at less know that Netx did not work out for him and move on.
Only stockraider is still everyday in Next and day dreaming.

Posted by stockraider > 2020-10-18 16:22 |

Posted by stockraider > 2020-10-18 16:23 | Report Abuse

REMEMBER GENERAL RAIDER ALSO ADVICE SOUNDLY AN EXIT THE STRATEGY FOR PANICKY INVESTORS AS FOLLOWS MAH:

Posted by stockraider > Jan 10, 2018 10:43 PM | Report Abuse X

Don be a pondan loh.....!!

General Raider said the current normal trading range of Hengyuan is Rm 15.98 to Rm 18.98 loh.....!!

So today down Rm 0.08 is very normal....it is still under consolidation mah..!!

The TP of hengyuan is Rm 22.00 to Rm 42.00 loh....!!

If u r panicky...raider advice u this loh....if hengyuan drop below Rm 16.00, u lari kuat kuat loh...!!
If hengyuan by 31-3-2018.. still cannot exceed rm 19.00, u also lari kuat kuat loh..!!

Other than these conditions, u just dumb dumb hold....it will exceed rm 20.00 to reach rm 22.00 to rm 42.00 loh....!!

Trust the china fund buying power loh....!!

RAIDER SAY VERY IMPORTANT NOTE;
THUS IF U HAD HEEDED RAIDER ADVICE U HAVE SOLD EARLIER AT RM 16.00 BUT IF U DID NOT SUBSEQUENTLY RAIDER MAKE A VERY VERY IMPORTANT LARI KUAT KUAT AT RM 13.00.

THERE ARE NO REASONS IF U R RAIDER STAUNCH LOYAL FOLLOWERS, DID NOT RUN HENGYUAN AT RM 13.00 LOH...!!

Posted by Integrity. Intelligent. Industrious. 3iii (iiinvestsmart)$€£¥ > 2020-10-21 07:35 | Report Abuse

QVM

Quality first, then Price

Always ensure Quality and Management criterias are met.

If not, discard the stock and don't even waste time on its valuation.

Your time is better spent on finding another stock.

Always look at RISKS first, then the potential reward.

Below captures an example to illustrate all the above points.

NETX

If only conman calvin and dishonest raider have been honest and truthful, they would not be swimming naked in Netx today. Scenery, Mikecyc and 3iii have all kindly highlighted the risks in this company.

Pride, stupidity and greed have blinded conman calvin and dishonest raider. Looking at these duo's posts, they are deplorable indeed. Are they kidding?

Their followers have evaporated and walked away with losses and shame. Shame because many participated in deleting the posts that were posted by the naysayers to warn them of the risks in this stock.

God forgives but the stock market can be most unforgiving. Stripped naked maybe painful but hopefully learning some valuable lessons will place them better to handle their next stock investment.

Good morning to all.

Posted by Integrity. Intelligent. Industrious. 3iii (iiinvestsmart)$€£¥ > 2020-11-04 11:20 | Report Abuse

Another very good investing book written by a fellow Malaysian.

Investing Made Easy
by Gan Kok Ann
Kanyin Publications
RM 62.80

Gan Kok Ann shares his lifelong investment insight in the form of 195 essential precepts, covering a diverse range of down-to-earth investment topics, touching on his personal successes and bitter failure.

Gan Kok Ann, a former Asean Scholar and British High Commissioner's Award recipient, graduated with a First Class Honours degree in computer engineering from King's College London, University of London.

He holds a CITP (Chartered IT Professional) title and was a software development manger, prior to his early retirement at the age of 47, as soon as he secured financial independence via stock investment.

Posted by Integrity. Intelligent. Industrious. 3iii (iiinvestsmart)$€£¥ > 2020-11-10 12:42 | Report Abuse

V-shaped recovery of many stocks' prices in my portfolio today.

akc008

54 posts

Posted by akc008 > 2020-11-17 21:23 | Report Abuse

How will the mkt reacts on coming Monday ? Strong rally or strong

Posted by Integrity. Intelligent. Industrious. 3iii (iiinvestsmart)$€£¥ > 2020-11-24 11:50 | Report Abuse

Vaccines are welcomed. The true results have yet to be released. Efficacy of 90%: what does this mean? We are still awaiting the full trial reports, especially with regards to the safety issues at 2 months. The safety issues long-term will not be known from these trials.

Also, the pandemic will not be controlled by vaccination alone. There will still be a lot of unknowns, surprises and uncertainties.

More importantly, the public health measures continue to be observed: wash hands, wear mask, social distancing.

4,669 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2021-03-10 12:22 | Report Abuse

Dear 3iii,
Your student is using your name to promote pump and dump at PA forum.
Do you want to comment: Is PA a gruesome company?
Can you sleep well with inner peace when your name is throw under the bus?

Mikecyc Do refer to ethical Sifu , learn n investing with ethical Sifu 3iii with inner peace of investing ...
10/03/2021 3:09

Posted by enigmatic [hodl your shares] > 2021-07-07 21:52 | Report Abuse

Anymore golden rules to share, 3iii?

Posted by Integrity. Intelligent. Industrious. 3iii (iiinvestsmart)$€£¥ > 2021-08-31 15:55 | Report Abuse

Short-cut to figure out fake stock tips provider

Be aware of tips provider.

Be aware of high return promises. 50%+ monthly return promise is the almost sure-shot sign of fraud.

You should only choose equity advisors who provide investment tips with detailed logic and proper report on the company.

Most tips providers don’t provide any logic. They just mention “Buy with target and stop loss”. Ask them what is the rationale behind the call? Find out whether you are getting any satisfactory answer or they are just avoiding it?

Don’t get fascinated by the fabulous past records and few clients’ testimony. Those can be false also.

Various new methods are coming day by day to trap innocent investors. So, always be aware.

Posted by Integrity. Intelligent. Industrious. 3iii (iiinvestsmart)$€£¥ > 2022-01-26 09:35 | Report Abuse

The S&P 500 has gone up a lot over the last 2 years. Yet, the whole index was rocketed upwards by 5 technology stocks. Excluding these 5 stocks, the S&P "500-5" has not risen the last 2 years.

These 5 technology stocks have since corrected. Those who got in early into these 5 technology stocks are still having gains in their book. Those who were late into the game would have realised or unrealised losses.

I have been looking at NVIDIA and monitoring this stock for many months now. Its price kept going upwards and it was painful not to have bought some initially. NVIDIA is in the forefront of the new technology required for the metaverse environment. It is growing its business fast. Its price peaked at US 346 per share in November 2021. Today, it is priced at US 223.24 per share, PE of 68.2x. It has corrected 36% from its peak.

What lessons can a long-term investor learn from this?

You will need to understand its business. Understand its products and services provided. Get as much information about its business from its annual reports and financial reports. Go through its accounts to understand the business. Then do your own valuation of its future free cash flow. Discount these by a discount factor that you wish to have. Derive your own intrinsic value for this company. All the above has nothing to do with its stock price.

Price tells you little about the company. It only tells you the price Mr. Market wishes to buy or sell to you. If you just look at the price only, you can never be safe in your investing.

Posted by Integrity. Intelligent. Industrious. 3iii (iiinvestsmart)$€£¥ > 2022-01-26 16:13 | Report Abuse

To maintain your portfolio at peak performance.
To pick the right stock for the long term, you should keep to:

1. Buying quality companies
2. Buying at the right price - potential return > 15% at acceptable risk (where the potential return to potential loss of >3x.)

Your ability to do the above is all you need to build a great portfolio that will meet your expectations.

To maintain your portfolio at peak performance, you will need to manage it well, optimizing its performance and preventing the companies that occasionally go south from damaging it.

Portfolio management chores take a minimal amount of time.

Posted by Integrity. Intelligent. Industrious. 3iii (iiinvestsmart)$€£¥ > 2022-01-27 13:35 | Report Abuse

It’s better to buy a wonderful company at fair price than a fair company at wonderful price.

1. Understand the business
2. Business must have DCA
3. Management with integrity
4. Buy at a sensible price

Posted by Integrity. Intelligent. Industrious. 3iii (iiinvestsmart)$€£¥ > 2022-04-15 12:46 | Report Abuse

We can learn a great deal about the quality of the businesses through comparative analysis using 2 companies.

Nestle
All values MYR Thousands.

Sales/Revenue

Net Income before Extraordinaries

Net Operating Cash Flow

Capital Expenditures
(274,758.0)
(294,553.0)
(183,253.0)
(151,645.0)
(164,455.0)

Cash Dividends Paid - Total
(544,040.0)
(656,600.0)
(656,600.0)
(644,875.0)
(633,150.0)

Free Cash Flow

POH KONG
All values MYR Thousands.

Sales/Revenue

Net Income before Extraordinaries

Net Operating Cash Flow
(7,789.7)

Capital Expenditures
(1,412.2)
(3,942.2)
(6,126.3)
(4,717.5)
(6,958.0)

Cash Dividends Paid - Total
(4,924.2)
(4,924.2)
(4,103.5)
(4,103.5)
(4,103.5)

Free Cash Flow
(12,507.2)

Posted by Integrity. Intelligent. Industrious. 3iii (iiinvestsmart)$€£¥ > 2022-05-19 17:30 | Report Abuse

https://www.cnbc.com/pre-markets/

Futures indicating the US markets will open down tonight.
Value investors should be excited.

Posted by Integrity. Intelligent. Industrious. 3iii (iiinvestsmart)$€£¥ > 2022-05-19 17:34 | Report Abuse

In a bear market, you buy. In a bull market, do you need to sell? Yes and no.

Anyway, you can make money in both the bear and the bull market.

The most important thing is to stay focus, true to your investing principles and maintain discipline in your investing.

Posted by Integrity. Intelligent. Industrious. 3iii (iiinvestsmart)$€£¥ > 2022-06-13 16:48 | Report Abuse

Last Price Change Volume
1463.79 -30.16 (-2.02%) 3.009b
Open: 1483.76 Day Range: 1458.85 - 1483.76 Prev Close: 1493.95
Value: 1.951b Year Range: 1458.85 - 1620.44 Year Change: -7.07%

Top Losers
Stock Last Change
MPI 30.340 -1.600
BKAWAN 25.300 -1.200
DLADY 32.700 -0.760
F&N 19.820 -0.680
KLK 24.380 -0.600
PETRONM 6.400 -0.590
SP500-C14 0.885 -0.555
HENGYUAN 5.290 -0.510
SOP 4.750 -0.460
HEIM 24.040 -0.440
VITROX 7.250 -0.380
GREATEC 3.420 -0.380
HLFG 18.820 -0.380
MSC 2.780 -0.370
TEXCHEM 3.280 -0.350
TAANN 4.550 -0.350
PANAMY 26.980 -0.340
AEONCR 14.420 -0.320
SP500-C12 0.360 -0.305
AJI 12.520 -0.280
BJFOOD 4.590 -0.270
HSI-CJO 1.100 -0.260
MISC 6.950 -0.250
COMPLET 3.800 -0.250
HARTA 3.350 -0.250
KFIMA 2.600 -0.250
DUFU 2.650 -0.250
KESM 7.370 -0.250
PPB 15.640 -0.240
HSI-CJC 0.895 -0.235
HONGSENG 1.640 -0.230
HSI-CJR 1.470 -0.230
METFUS50 1.700 -0.225
IHH 6.230 -0.220

Posted by Integrity. Intelligent. Industrious. 3iii (iiinvestsmart)$€£¥ > 2022-06-13 16:59 | Report Abuse

When stock market crashes, your cash buying power appreciates, as you can buy more units of stocks now than before the crash.

But the outlook for the stock market, at present, is very negative. So much negative economic news projected.

For a long term investor, you need not have to buy at the lowest price. One should buy a stock when it is already obviously cheap (related to its intrinsic value). Of course, it may still get cheaper but you would have already have a margin of safety at the price you bought.

Posted by Integrity. Intelligent. Industrious. 3iii (iiinvestsmart)$€£¥ > 2022-06-13 20:26 | Report Abuse

My first bear market was in October 1987. My stockbroker revealed to me that morning that many brokers worldwide would be in trouble. I did not have any money in the market then.

My next bear market was in 1997/1998. I had started investing since 1993, but stopped putting money into the market in 1995/96. My portfolio value went down with the severe bear market. The value dropped below my invested capital, but I was sure the intrinsic value of my portfolio was higher than the quotational values and thus, did not sell. By 2002, perhaps earlier, my portfolio value was higher than my invested capital. I was surprised and gained a lot of valuable lessons from this bear market.

The next market was the tech bubble bursting in 2000. In Malaysia, many were riding on the 2nd tier local market which was definitely in a bubble. When this burst, many saw their portfolio values decimated. Many did not recover after this. I stayed clear of the lesser quality stocks and was spared the ordeal here.

Another ferocious bear market occured in 2008. The subprime crisis reared its ugly head in the US and the West. From early reports, this was not going to be a concern and could be contained easily. Alas, this was not the case and the subprime crisis led to the fall of markets worldwide. Many markets dropped 40% or so. Yet, I was in the market and did not sell. It was painful seeing your stocks going down with the market. But knowing the intrinsic values of the individual stocks and the overall portfolio value based on these intrinsic values, it would be crazy to sell just because the prices had dropped. Once again, good luck smiled on my portfolio. The capitulation point occured when Lehman collapsed. The market tanked and reached its lowest point. The recovery was not immediate. It was another 6 months when the V-shaped recovery. This occured in March 2009 and my porfolio value galloped upwards till today.

The next shocked was March 2020 when the market collapsed due to the Covid pandemic. However, though well prepared to take advantage of a possible bear, the collapsed quickly reverted due to massive quantitative easing, various stimuli by the government and lower interest rates. The recovery was just too fast and the market shot upwards, not because the companies were doing better, but the market was being pushed up by expanding PE. Market players were willing to price the shares at higher multiples. Some businesses that benefited from the pandemic were hyped up due to high demands for their products and services during the lockdown. Now that the lockdown is over for most countries, and the world is adopting to opening up their economy and society, these hyped up counters have fallen substantially. Yet, this did not count as a bear market, but just individual companies collapsing for earnings reasons.

The last 6 months, we have seen so many news coming out on so many projections of the economy. Inflation has reared its ugly head, but for many months, those in power had reassured that this is not a problem and can be easily controlled. Increasingly, it looks like they are wrong. Inflation is now the main enemy to be tackled by the central bankers ahead of ensuring employment at a reasonable level. Due to a confluent of many geopolitical factors, supply chain disruption, and actions by the central banks to counter inflation through increasing interest rates and quantitative tightening, the economies are expected to cool down. When the CPI of US recently released showed it to be higher, it looked like inflation has yet to reached its peak. Further actions by the Fed are needed and quickly too. Thus, the fear of a possible recession is now feared. Perhaps, a recession is the only means to control inflation today. We are now in the latest bear market.

Are you well positioned to benefit from this latest bear market?

6,059 posts

Posted by ahbah > 2022-06-13 21:57 | Report Abuse

Today, I oredi pengsan !

No eye see !

The_JQuestion

1,516 posts

Posted by The_JQuestion > 2022-06-13 22:26 | Report Abuse

another day tomorrow or whole week to come.... best position urselves

Posted by Integrity. Intelligent. Industrious. 3iii (iiinvestsmart)$€£¥ > 2022-06-13 23:23 | Report Abuse

Cryptocurrencies crashing. Soon, this will affect the main markets too. Contagion effects.

nicholas99

9,844 posts

Posted by nicholas99 > 2022-06-14 09:54 | Report Abuse

practically.. bitcoin referred as safe haven is crashing.. the traditional market also diving in result.

6,059 posts

Posted by ahbah > 2022-06-14 10:11 | Report Abuse

3i is spreading fright n fear to the main mkt, exposing his long n sharp fangs, readi to pounce on any helpless n delicious meals.

Posted by Integrity. Intelligent. Industrious. 3iii (iiinvestsmart)$€£¥ > 2022-06-14 17:32 | Report Abuse

What I observed the last 2 years in the stock market?

Many newcomers into the stock market. Especially the younger investors who had a lot of time during the lockdown. They had little to do and the "only interesting game in town" was the stock market. Also, many stock promoters organized free or next to free seminars on trading and investing.

Nothing excites the newcomers than a rising market. The stock markets were all at the lowest in March 2020. Then something "miraculous" happened. There were so much money created and given freely to tom, dick and harry, and these free or virtually free money found their ways into the stock market and the cryptocurrencies. A bull run occurred which was fast and furious in both markets. Everyone in the market felt they were geniuses!

I could feel the elation in the whatsapps messages I received from new players. "I had invested into glove stocks. I am thinking of adding more." " I bought some bitcoins and I think it will reach a US1m per bitcoin. When I have the money, I hope to add more."

However, the last 6 months, reality strikes. These stocks have corrected severely. Those who rode up the technology stocks in US too have seen their stocks dived precipitously.

For those who have learned the lessons of the volatility of the stock markets, hopefully these lessons will guide them well in their future investing. For those who failed to learn, well, the smarter thing is to realise these lessons and continue to invest in educating themselves on investing to be better investors.

Referring to ahbah that 3iii is spreading fear to the main market, this is only his impression. The biggest enemy in investing is yourself; yourself alone and no others. Invest, equip and educate yourself to profit from the stock market over the long term.

6,059 posts

Posted by ahbah > 2022-06-14 18:40 | Report Abuse

3iii is an invincible red mkt expert. No challenge him during such mkt condition, no one can beat him !

6,059 posts

Posted by ahbah > 2022-06-15 10:37 | Report Abuse

Main mkts now oredi affected. 3i wish now come true, so he is veri hapi now ?

Posted by Integrity. Intelligent. Industrious. 3iii (iiinvestsmart)$€£¥ > 2022-06-15 10:44 | Report Abuse

Top Losers
Stock Last Change
NESTLE 132.900 -2.500
PETDAG 20.280 -0.780
BKAWAN 24.100 -0.540
CARZO 1.220 -0.510
KLK 24.300 -0.400
HEIM 24.060 -0.400
PETGAS 16.160 -0.380
CARLSBG 22.480 -0.300
PPB 15.780 -0.260
HENGYUAN 5.200 -0.250
MPI 29.620 -0.220
PETRONM 6.510 -0.200
TM 4.950 -0.200
HLFG 18.580 -0.180
YNHPROP 3.110 -0.180
TAANN 4.390 -0.170
MSC 2.660 -0.160
PMETAL 4.830 -0.150
AXIATA 2.720 -0.140
HARTA 3.030 -0.140
CANONE 3.300 -0.140
IHH 6.170 -0.130
FBMKLCI-CFP 0.030 -0.120
HARTA-C95 0.030 -0.120
KESM 7.230 -0.120
SIMEPLT 4.670 -0.120
AEONCR 14.280 -0.120
HSI-HEO 1.110 -0.100
MAXIS 3.180 -0.100
DIGI 3.150 -0.100
MISC 7.060 -0.090
HAPSENG 7.270 -0.090
HSI-HB6 0.850 -0.085
KOBAY 3.090 -0.080

10.43 am 15.6.2022

Posted by Integrity. Intelligent. Industrious. 3iii (iiinvestsmart)$€£¥ > 2022-06-15 10:45 | Report Abuse

I get excited when a good company dropped 20% or more, below its intrinsic value.

markgold

312 posts

Posted by markgold > 2022-06-15 11:15 | Report Abuse

Could you name a few in your opinion is 20% below its intrinsic value.

6,059 posts

Posted by ahbah > 2022-06-15 14:35 | Report Abuse

Mkt now is exciting mode for 3i but in painful mode for ahbah !!!

3i ... the undisputed winner !

Posted by Integrity. Intelligent. Industrious. 3iii (iiinvestsmart)$€£¥ > 2022-06-17 06:16 | Report Abuse

Stock prices dropping due to central banks increasing bank interest rates.

Are you selling in anticipating of further falling prices ahead or are you buying great companies that are already cheap and that their prices may get even lower?

Be greedy when others are fearful.

Posted by Integrity. Intelligent. Industrious. 3iii (iiinvestsmart)$€£¥ > 2022-06-17 07:13 | Report Abuse

CPI in US is 8.6%. The US Fed rate is still far behind the curve.