RHB BANK BERHAD

KLSE (MYR): RHBBANK (1066)

-0.01 (0.18%)

5.66 - 5.71

Financial

T4Q

31-Mar-2021

31-Mar-2021

31-Mar-2021

31-Mar-2021

31-Mar-2021

Revenue

Revenue

Revenue

Revenue

Revenue

Revenue

Revenue

Revenue

Revenue

Revenue

Revenue

Revenue

Revenue

Revenue

Revenue

3 people like this. Showing 50 of 3,680 comments

Kenanga TP7. 25 for Rhb..for multiple years but yet to able to cross $6..

Madani government helps you la

This week, Rhb up 10c from 5.60 to 5.70
It is considered the higher gain for numerous weeks.
More to go. Hopefully

GreenTrade

RHB = RM5 , RHBC53 = RM 0 (-100%)
RHB = RM6 , RHBC53 = RM 0.135 (+ 107%)
RHB = RM7 , RHBC53 = RM 0.47 (+ 723%)
RHB = RM8 , RHBC53 = RM 0.8 (+ 1230%)

Good luck

Tedinvestor

Those calls warrant are for gambling and not investment

Don't gambling la..
This is for dividend 7%

prudentinvestor

Even at RM6 a share, its PE is still 9, very low by any standard. Its dividend yield is still 6.6%, more than twice 12 month bank fixed deposit rates.

jeffrey1166

coming can boost 6.6 above

DividendGuy67

Guys, avoid warrants. There's really no future for this type of instruments. If your capital is too small to buy the mother shares, then, either save up, put the monies in EPF/FD, or just go and buy lottery tickets or go to the Casino because your long term odds of winning are still better than winning at warrants. Know who you are betting against too, because this is a zero-sum, 2-party game where for you to win, the other side must lose, and the other side almost never lose in the course of every financial year, because their yearly fat bonuses depends on them winning.

https://klse.i3investor.com/web/blog/detail/DividendGuy67/2024-07-21-story-h-156158219-RHBBANK_Should_you_buy_the_C53_warrant

Jack Khan

Not to mention they can manipulate the price of the mother share too! You will notice the share price of the mother share will not go increase nearing warrant expiry date! your only hope is black swan event which is less than 0.1%

GreenTrade

yeap warrant not suitable for everyone. only those with high risk tolerance.

prudentinvestor

I won't buy call warrants but won't write off warrants issued by sound companies that are exercisable within a specified time frame at a fixed price. I made some money in 2006/07 from Perstima warrant and Bonia warrant. Perstima warrant went up two to three times within a year or so but Bonia warrant was spectacular. It went up over 20 times within about two years. The most recent warrant that I bought, EcoWorld W was a big debacle. Sold off far too early and didn't make a single sen. Could have gone up by five times but I just don't bother to know. 🤣🤣

BLee

“prudentinvestor > I won't buy call warrants but won't write off warrants issued by sound companies that are exercisable within a specified time frame at a fixed price. I made some money in 2006/07 from Perstima warrant..”

Both RHB and Perstima give very good Dividend; I am at a paper loss if not considering the Dividend received. I am also Not so lucky with warrants, always expired without a chance to sell. Therefore I will sell the RI-Rights (Offer/Ordinary Rights OR); example Insas-OR at almost double LU price.
Agreed, Call Warrant (CW) is another ball game. If you go-thru the CW Term Sheet; the Market Maker will buy or sell to protect what the issuer ‘released’ in the market. There is no ‘con’ job as suggested by one Forumer…there is so much to learn; that makes investing so much challenging.

DividendGuy67

To me, the reason most warrant buyers lose monies is because they don't know what should be the right price to pay.
It's not about the break-even formula - that's very easy before transaction costs.
The issue at the heart is the "premium" - the question is how much should the premium be.
None of the retailers have actually worked on the proper option pricing model, so, retailers don't really know the answer. Plus they haven't got all the data. And in zero-sum games, the guy without the information is gambling. The other side on the other hand has all the advantages. It's a terrible game to play.

In short, the warrant price may "looks cheap" (a few sen) but retailers just don't know how to value them, and almost always, they will have overpaid for that.

DividendGuy67

And for long term wealth accumulation - warrants have no future. If you aspire to grow your trading account from 10k to 100k and one day to 1 million and more, warrants can't get you there because you can never bet huge amounts. Basically, you have to trade extremely small if you have a 7 digit account and you don't need to.

Derivatives are not investments - they are "side bets" and the danger is when the side bets get too big. The end result to retailers is almost always catastrophic in the long run.

Winning warrant trades making 100% or 1000% gain in that trade only makes it worse in the long run. It's a hard concept to understand, until you have gained "experience" later.

The best warrant experience is to immediately lose small and then not touching it.

DividendGuy67

Buffett is my go to role model to grow monies from 5 digit to 6 digit to 7 digit to 8 digit.
During his formative years (long before he sold puts on S&P500 when he have billions - that's 10 digits or more), he never touched derivatives. He didn't need derivatives during this phase.

Small retailers who thinks they can do better than Buffett will, unfortunately, have a sad ending eventually, if they keep doing this.

The reason Buffett can grow from his account values for many decades is because what he does is sustainable over very long periods of time, using large amounts of capital. Whereas warrants are not sustainable over long periods of time and not suitable for large amounts of capital. In my book, no place for me, and no future for me.

DividendGuy67

Buffett's rule no 1 is "Never lose money". He means permanent loss of capital. Unfortunately, buying warrants often (80% of the time or more) causes permanent loss of capital.

DividendGuy67

Whereas if you buy a good quality high dividend stocks like most banks - even if the stock market crashes 50%, your loss is only temporary. It's not a permanent loss. If the underlying business is intact, it will keep making profits, pay dividends to you and eventually, the stock price will recover and grow and keep making new highs.

Hence, it's not a permanent loss of capital, just temporary.

Temporary losses complies with Buffet's rule no 1.

DividendGuy67

"I made some money in 2006/07 from Perstima warrant and Bonia warrant. Perstima warrant went up two to three times within a year or so but Bonia warrant was spectacular. It went up over 20 times within about two years. "

@prudentinvestor, for bragging rights, I once made more than 50 times in 1 trade decades ago. Even with that kind of win, I still lose monies net net on warrants since inception. The problem is at the later stages, with such huge wins, I didn't stop. I was looking for sustainable way and I keep repeating and repeating what I thought worked much better and the longer you keep playing, eventually, it'll catch up with you and I gave back all the 6 digit gains I had to market. Net Net, I lose monies since inception and that's not counting the tens of thousands of hours I put into the effort.

Contrast my active stock trading and my passive investing. The former pays little, the latter pays the most for hours spent basically doing nothing. As we get older, we value inactivity to make the most monies.

DividendGuy67

Someone told me it's my "money management" fault. Why did I bet 6 digits at the height? Why not? I had successful warrant trades that accumulated to that much?

The alternative I was told is to just keep the account at a fixed value - say RM10,000.

But my question is - if you keep trading every year at RM10,000, how is that going to make you rich over the long term?

Say many years you make 100%. That's great. But let say 5 years later, you lose it all - all 10k. Then what? Stop playing warrants forever?

Then, where's the future in that?

DividendGuy67

This is why I value Buffett's comment about avoiding derivatives.

His point is that mathematically, when you multiply 2 x 2 x 2 x 2 x ..... x 0 - the answer is zero. It doesn't matter how many times in the past that you've doubled your monies. Eventually, one day, you will suffer permanent loss of capital and you will lose it all.

There's really no future in that kind of trading. It's not about money management or position sizing, it's literally no future. Why waste precious limited time trying to learn how to trade derivatives when there's no future in it?

DividendGuy67

When it comes to a lifetime wealth accumulation plan, your plan has to be for a lifetime. Not 1 or 2 years. Not even 5 or 10 years. LIFETIME.

So, your strategy, over your lifetime may start you off with 4 digit capital - we all start from the same place.

But over long periods of time, especially when you are young, your 4 digit will eventually grow with savings to 5 digit. Then, 6 digit. Then 7 digit. And if you are disciplined throughout your life, even 8 digit is possible.

So, your wealth accumulation strategy - over LIFETIME - must avoid permanent loss of capital.

This is the kind of advice I never got when I was younger. I hope everyone will benefit from this advise.

jeffrey1166

no really

prudentinvestor

@DividendGuy67, I actually rarely play warrants. Apart from the names of the three warrants I mentioned earlier, I also have some investments in a loss making company called Jiankun which recently gave some free warrants. I converted my shares into warrants as I believe it could be faster to recoup my losses. Totally no worry about my investment as it constitutes less than 2% of my portfolio. I do take calculated risks.

BLee

“DividendGuy67 > Someone told me..But my question is - if you keep trading every year at RM10,000, how is that going to make you rich over the long term?...Then, where's the future in that?”

Good sharing, that's what I thought when I started my ICPS investment. During the penny stocks rally , I bought each trade at the max per trade, and sold half a sen higher; making 1 or 2k per trade. When the penny stocks mania are over; what next? So I start searching on what stock I can trade with big volume with very low risk. ICPS is my answer. Only recently, I can double my investment value over 4 years; that's around averaging 25% per year; not too bad. That's only paper gain; waiting for further market improvement to monetise my investment…again, thanks for the good sharing; just sharing my side of investment with no prejudice.

DividendGuy67

My new post on the chief problem with warrants in LWAP.
LWAP is Lifetime Wealth Accumulation Plan.
Simply put, warrants are great for leverage, have fund to lose all monies bet, but in my view, has no place in serious LWAP.

https://klse.i3investor.com/web/blog/detail/DividendGuy67/2024-07-21-story-h-156155492-The_Problem_with_Warrants_in_LWAP

DividendGuy67

Hi BLee. I presume ICPS = Irredeemable Convertible Preference Shares? I think whether ICPS or penny stocks or other instrument much depends on whether it can cause a complete and permanent loss of capital. Whatever we do, we must avoid the multiplication of zero in LWAPs. Or serious losses like 50% loss that requires doubling one's monies actively to make it back up again. Whereas temporary losses are completely different - for temporary losses, the beauty is you don't have to do anything - it will go back up by itself if you have found the superior business.

BLee

“DividendGuy67 > Hi BLee. I presume ICPS = Irredeemable Convertible Preference Shares? I think whether ICPS or penny stocks or other instrument much depends on whether it can cause a complete and permanent loss of capital…”

Yes and No, Yes for Irredeemable Convertible Preference Shares and No for causing a complete and permanent loss of capital. Unlike Loan Stock, it is Irredeemable; and unlike warrants it is auto-convert upon maturity.
For example, 11 Fintec-PA will auto-convert to 8 mother shares upon maturity.
Another example, NovaMSC-PA needs min 1 NovaMSC-PA plus 3sen to convert to 1 mother share; recently both methods are still in $.
In the case of Allianz-PA, due to paying a dividend, it is traded higher than its mother share. Good discussion so far..

Good learning

willsmith

@DividengGuy67 thank you for sharing all this "long term" knowledge. would have been good to know all this 20 years ago but still not too late for me to follow the philosophy.

Market in turbulence.
Hide at bluechip the wise choice

11 hours ago

1151 counters drop
51 counter up

This is the effect of trump be the president

10 hours ago

newbiedoobie

How low can rhb go 😈 I want to buy more

10 hours ago

I afraid it can't drp further because most fund will park their earning into Rhb for 7% dividend

9 hours ago

US rate cut may delay by rate hike again under Trump administration.
Bank continues to earn big money instead

9 hours ago

Market uncertainty - > dividend defensive 7% yield (Rhb)
I confidently beat everyone just only invest in 7% yield till end year

9 hours ago

Why? Market crashing mah, 7% still can win 99.9% investors mah

9 hours ago

Bursino

Yeah. Fun and Enetertainment aside, how many of us can make 7% coumpound over the years. Buy RHB shares-lah. If Bank kaput, many businesses in Bursa also gulung tikar.

8 hours ago

It is possible from Jan to Jun for 7% gain.
It is difficult now..
So, I declare I can't make 7% 2H24 so i keep into RHB to realise my dividend earnjng

7 hours ago

Trump will impose another 100 tarrif hike to mess up the entire globe business. including US economy will be affected

7 hours ago

Because, he is giler

7 hours ago

cheeseburger

Trump will push the rate down, that is the only thing good for his business empire. Down, not up. Bank sector will rebound.

6 hours ago

stkoay

https://www.nst.com.my/business/corporate/2024/07/1080092/bursa-hits-three-year-high-foreign-investors-return

The top three net buys by foreign investors were Malayan Banking Bhd, CIMB Group Holdings Bhd and Tenaga Nasional Bhd (TNB), while YTL Power International Bhd, RHB Bank Bhd and Hong Leong Bank Bhd were among the top three net sells by foreign investors.

Local institutional investors focused their net selling in the financial services and construction sectors, with Maybank, CIMB and TNB among their top sells.

Net sell then good lo..cheap price mah
Wait till you net buy, I huat No1

3 hours ago

When angmo panic, I buy more.
When angmo cherish, I sell to them

3 hours ago

Anywhere, just give me 7% dividend will do.
The rest of who buy who sell beyong my control..
I wanna know... I wanna count money only..

3 hours ago

prudentinvestor

Trump isn't even qualified to become an MP in Singapore but he is likely to be elected US President come November.

3 hours ago

So, the lesson learn is you need to put yourself to right place to success

2 hours ago

Maintain OUTPERFORM and TP of RM7.25 based on an unchanged GGM-derived FY25F PBV of 0.93x (COE: 10.5%, TG: 3.0%, ROE: 10.0%) against FY25F BVPS of RM7.75. It is positioned as a leading dividend candidate with yields averaging above 7% at current price levels. This could be further lifted should the group decide to release its hefty CET-1 portfolio to reward shareholders. The stock will still likely be monitored closely as a proxy of Boost Bank’s deliveries. There is no adjustment to our TP based on ESG given a 3-star rating as appraised by us. RHBBANK is one of our 2QCY24 Top Picks.

41 minutes ago

This could be further lifted should the group decide to release its hefty CET-1 portfolio to reward shareholders

DIVIDEND YIELD COULD BE > 7%!!

40 minutes ago