Highlights
KLSE: AFFIN (5185)       AFFIN BANK BERHAD MAIN : Finance
Last Price Today's Change   Day's Range   Trading Volume
3.23   -0.11 (3.29%)  3.23 - 3.35  5,629,100
Trade this stock and win a FREE I3investor T-shirt after 5 trades. Find out more.

Overview

Market Cap: 7,754 Million
NOSH: 2,400 Million
Avg Volume (4 weeks):6,364,890
4 Weeks Range:2.85 - 3.43
4 Weeks Price Volatility (%):
65.52%
52 Weeks Range:1.90 - 3.43
52 Weeks Price Volatility (%):
86.93%
Average Price Target: 2.05
Price Target Upside/Downside: -1.18

Financial Highlight

Latest Quarter | Ann. Date 30-Jun-2024 [#2]  |  23-Aug-2024
Next QR | Est. Ann. Date: 30-Sep-2024  |  17-Nov-2024
T4Q P/E | EY: 21.03  |  4.76%
T4Q DY | Payout %: 1.71%  |  36.06%
T4Q NAPS | P/NAPS: 4.6151  |  0.70
T4Q NP Margin | ROE: 18.57%  |  3.33%

Headlines

Date Subject
23-Aug-2024 MQ Market Updates - 23 August 2024
05-Aug-2024 Daily Market Commentary - 5 Aug 2024
01-Aug-2024 Banking Sector - Loan Growth Jumps 6.4% YoY in June
31-Jul-2024 Daily Market Commentary - 31 Jul 2024
31-Jul-2024 Daily Newswatch - 31 Jul 2024
30-Jul-2024 Marine & General's Chairman Exercise Call Option to Acquire Preference Shares in 70%-owned Jasa Merin
29-Jul-2024 Daily Market Commentary - 29 Jul 2024
21-Jul-2024 Sarawak's strategic investment in Affin Bank could be a 'double win'
19-Jul-2024 MQ Market Updates - 19 July 2024
19-Jul-2024 Daily Market Commentary - 19 Jul 2024
19-Jul-2024 Sarawak and LTAT to Delay Inking of S&P Agreement in Affin Bank Deal, Sources Say
16-Jul-2024 Arul Kanda Sues 1MDB for Loss of Salary and Bonus
11-Jul-2024 Daily Newswatch - 9 Jul 2024
10-Jul-2024 MQ Market Updates - 10 July 2024
10-Jul-2024 Affin Bank Gains Amid Reports Sarawak Close to Acquiring Major Stake
10-Jul-2024 上升股:艾芬控股 上探RM2.90
09-Jul-2024 MQ Market Updates - 9 July 2024
09-Jul-2024 Affin one of the market's top gainers today on Sarawak's possible stake hike
09-Jul-2024 Affin Bank gains amid reports Sarawak close to acquiring major stake

Business Background

Affin Holdings Berhad is a bank headquartered in Kuala Lumpur and operating in Malaysia. Under the name Affinbank, the company provides consumer banking, car hire purchase, mortgages, credit and debit cards, and wealth management. Under the Affin Islamic name, the bank provides Shariah-compliant services to clients. The company offers investment banking services under the name Afiin Hwang Capital, along with securities services and asset management. The majority of the group’s revenue comes from Commercial Banking within Malaysia.
Analyze this stock with MQ Trader system

Bursino The market is dynamic. Irrational. Affin can be a profitable top tier bank, it will take some time to realize. It may or may not happen. Meanwhile make the best out of the present. 😁
01/08/2024 9:01 AM
Plantermen A bank profitability really lies on its own ability to tap into the "Casa" deposit base against the spread in the bank's lending rates. With the State backing the capacity to increase its "Casa deposit ` is enormous. Look at PBB operations their huge 'Casa deposit ` is always a plus for their profitability. Not a buy call on Affin just my 2sen own view on Sarawak State share buy on Affin acqusition. Remember in the past Sarawak have 6 local popular bank operating prior to BNM/MOF countrywide merger and consolidation
01/08/2024 10:01 AM
klee Sarawak,Johor,Penang n Selangor...the 4 tigers of Msia.Any banks with full backing of any of these 4 will naturally do very well.
01/08/2024 10:25 AM
Plantermen Panic selling. Red sea across the board.
05/08/2024 9:38 AM
edithcapital Someone just bought a big chunk of Affin shares at 3.11.
06/08/2024 5:06 PM
edithcapital My personal target would be 3.33
06/08/2024 5:06 PM
Jonathan Keung Noticed the $3.11 trade. Can be a direct block trade buying for his client account
06/08/2024 10:36 PM
Plantermen Sarawak has 4.95% or below the mandatory disclosure holdings of any one party holding > 5.0 %. Premier Abang Johari has make public to acquire 30% stake in Affin Bank. LTAT has inked the MOU to sell part of their stake to Sarawak. The largest shareholders of Affin is LTAT 24% { minus 4.95% sold} HK based Bank of East Asia 23 %. Boustead holds 20%., KWSP 5% and other Glic linked funds holds 2 or 3%. We cannot rule out other friendly based parties to the Sarawak State has acquired more stakes in Affin Bank. It's always a number games to have majority stake in any companies
07/08/2024 8:53 AM
Plantermen Not a buy call. Just my own take how the 30% or more is coming from. Please do your research before you buy or invest
07/08/2024 8:58 AM
Jonathan Keung Sarawak business tycoons ( timber , oil palm & shipping } are backing for a local Sarawakian bank. They lost 6 Sarawak banks thru the bank consolidation merger and acquisition in the 90's.. They are happily backing Abang Johari for the Affin bank acquisition.
07/08/2024 12:18 PM
LubeTrader If not for the boo-boo that occurred about 2 weeks ago and the memorable meltdown on Monday, I wonder how much it's worth now per share. Such are the hurdles it has to endure.
08/08/2024 1:55 PM
Plantermen Look at how YTLP perform {never a straight line} on /off pull back. Set your target price and trust your own judgement.. Banks in Malaysia are said to be resilent and closely monitor by BNM.. Stability and most of all risk adverse vs banks operating in UK or EU
08/08/2024 4:14 PM
Bursino In Premier we rest our hopes.
The Borneo Premier.
No, not the Premier products manufactured in Peninsula.
09/08/2024 12:26 PM
LubeTrader Plantermen, I understand your explanation. I just that I couldn't accept the self-inflicted damage to the good reputation of the bank. I can't tolerate people labeling it as a 'pump & dump' counter. It's just not.
09/08/2024 12:28 PM
LubeTrader Bursino, don't forget to also pray hard no more surprises. Just smooth sailing all the way.
09/08/2024 12:31 PM
Plantermen Me too are puzzled why certain individual label it " pump & dump". Reminds me of YTLP in their early bull run { a few individuals keep asking people to sell and dump the shares } from the 2.10.... right to 2.50.....3.50.....4.00..... Now the price is 4. 35 { even after the pull back}
09/08/2024 2:24 PM
Bursino Ditto @LubeTrader and thank you.
Digress from Affin
Artificial Intelligence will be the next big thing in Sarawak. Abundant natural resources and political stability. No earth quakes. Cheap Environmental Friendly Electricity ✔ Clean crystal clear water ✔ Vast tracts of land ( which can be cheap). Already in motion to groom talents - top scholars from Malaya are welcome to pursue their tertiary education in Sarawak FOC. UEC recognised. In fact there should be no worries on talents (unlike in Malaya) because Sarawak controls its immigration. Import from China and the whole ecosystem will be inundated with Engineers. Customs and Culture sensitivities are not an issue, can designate free zones like Dubai. I don't know, but I am invested in some Hornbill companies to preserve and growth wealth for the next 2 generations. 😁
09/08/2024 2:55 PM
Plantermen Just to add on Sarawak State is the largest producer of natural gas in Malaysia. Previously sale of natural gas is channel directly under Petronas but now the distribution of natural gas is reverted back to the Sarawak State government under the purview of Petros { the gas aggregrator for the state licensing, distribution and retail} 13 multi national companies have received their licence from Petros. Another 3 more applications is still pending.
09/08/2024 4:22 PM
LubeTrader Buyers are super confident, defying the strong sell call.
12/08/2024 10:02 AM
edithcapital LTAT selling shares to Sarawak now
12/08/2024 11:23 AM
LubeTrader Why is it done on the open market? Not direct transaction at fixed price? Between 11.20 to 11.22am just now, I noticed several blocks of 500k units changed hands.
12/08/2024 11:42 AM
Jonathan Keung LTAT sold 4.95% to Sarawak state. Additional 20% comes likely from thier Boustead own shares portfolio. Abang Johari wants 30% stake in Affin. Strong possibility he collecting from the open market
12/08/2024 11:48 AM
edithcapital LubeTrader, it's not done in the open market, 20 transactions of 5k lots transacted using otc
12/08/2024 11:54 AM
Plantermen Just wait for the official acqusition announcements from Abang Johari. Sarawak and Sabah asking the 35%quota in Parliament. Currently they holds arounds 26 %
12/08/2024 1:45 PM
ZenSen What will be the likely acquisition price?
12/08/2024 4:42 PM
Plantermen Million dollar question.?
12/08/2024 5:31 PM
ScotFree Wahh! Huat ka siao
14/08/2024 3:36 AM
14/08/2024 9:54 AM
LubeTrader Rally cooling off. Now begins the period of waiting for the signing of the purchase agreement.
14/08/2024 10:31 AM
Jason Lee Chinhan Deep dive again tomorrow. Red Sea all the ways. 😂
14/08/2024 8:43 PM
Bursino You good-lah. You can know what is going to happen tomorrow. You should have let us know earlier. Now cannot do anything-lah.
14/08/2024 9:02 PM
Jason Lee Chinhan It's too late should have run when green green day 😂
14/08/2024 9:29 PM
Jonathan Keung Market overall showing weakness chart wise showing price consolidation
15/08/2024 9:52 AM
Bursino I am convince Bursa has peaked. I am putting in motion, actions to mitigate events that in the likelihood will bring about unfortunate consequences.
15/08/2024 10:30 AM
Bursino it takes a ความมหัศจรรย์ (kwarm mahat satjan) to breach 1700 by end year as touted by the optimists.
15/08/2024 1:08 PM
Plantermen Affin closed at the day low 3.10/3.11
15/08/2024 5:46 PM
Jason Lee Chinhan It will get lowered. Better switch to CIMB which more stable day day green green.
15/08/2024 6:24 PM
Jonathan Keung Strong pick up on Friday. Hopefully can sustain the price upward momentum
16/08/2024 9:05 PM
Jonathan Keung Sustain buying across all 9 banking stocks. The big 4 { MBB+30, CIMB +33 , PB+25 & HLB+55 } all traded higher today. RHB ,Affin, ABMB , Ambank all play catching up.
19/08/2024 4:32 PM
Plantermen JP morgan and Goldman sachs { Both the 2 iconic US heavyweights IB } have upgraded Malaysia equity market after 6 long years. This has attracted inflows & a relook in our local market scene
19/08/2024 5:06 PM
turbochart I'm sorry. I quit already 😁. Today small gain 700 only
19/08/2024 6:23 PM
Jonathan Keung Road block at 3.30
19/08/2024 9:16 PM
turbochart Ppl angry I happy 😂
Ppl hungry I worry 😜
19/08/2024 11:00 PM
turbochart Ppl turun interest Malaysia Naik interest😀
20/08/2024 12:06 PM
LubeTrader Too many retail buyers playing contra. Buy solely for capital gain then spread false info hoping for price to drop to buy in again, bragging at each successive cycle.
20/08/2024 12:19 PM
Plantermen Market is open. We have day or flip players, short term and long term. Warren Buffet says buy the shares is liking buying the business. Let it grow
20/08/2024 1:39 PM
Plantermen The 3 mid tier bank's listed share price on Bursa. Affin at $3.33, Ambank $ 5.01 and Alliance bank at $4.46. In terms of bank assets, network, EPS or loan growth. Affin is quite close to their peer. But when come to share pricing. Affin as a group is a poor cousin vs it's peer. Not a buy call just my own view looking at the statistics
21/08/2024 8:55 AM
Bursino Noted. Confidence deficit. A new owner and management can help mitigate long held stigma attached. Continue to hold.
21/08/2024 9:08 AM
Jonathan Keung Today Affin bank $3.40 +7 Ambank $5.17 + 16, ABMB $4.47 +1. Still lots to catch up
21/08/2024 1:40 PM
ScotFree Huat Ah!!! Hehehe
21/08/2024 8:02 PM

APPS
I3 Messenger
Individual or Group chat with anyone on I3investor
MQ Trader
View candlestick stock charts with Technical indicators
MQ Affiliate
Be rewarded by being an MQ Affiliate

340  545  637  983 

ActiveGainersLosers