soros228

2,034 posts

Posted by soros228 > 2016-02-19 17:25 | Report Abuse

Well written. Good.

coolinvestor

1,233 posts

Posted by coolinvestor > 2016-02-19 17:32 | Report Abuse

Invest in yourself in investing knowledge

I particularly like this part. Young ppl must have the patience and drive to learn and not be rash in making investment decisions.

I notice majority are just looking for fast gain...and with the dangerous margin loans.

This is not the way to do it. Learn the knowledge first.

thx kc chong for the info. good read for me too

Desa20201956

2,286 posts

Posted by Desa20201956 > 2016-02-19 17:35 | Report Abuse

If I didn't know I could have mistaken you for a unit trust salesman.........lol

KYY is a business, tycoon. Businessmen and tycoons play by a different rule book.

Posted by kcchongnz > 2016-02-19 17:48 | Report Abuse

Posted by Desa20201956 > Feb 19, 2016 05:35 PM | Report Abuse

If I didn't know I could have mistaken you for a unit trust salesman.........lol

KYY is a business, tycoon. Businessmen and tycoons play by a different rule book.

save here first

Posted by duitKWSPkita > 2016-02-19 17:53 | Report Abuse

Happy Monkey kING year Mr. Kc chong....

Thank you veli march ....... As a youngster I absorb round round all ur advice.....

Happy Valentine's day to SIFU & SIMOU

JN88

11,670 posts

Posted by JN88 > 2016-02-19 18:05 | Report Abuse

I told my friends today there is no free lunch in money game!!You want to get the money you must take 'sikit' risk in investment.

I'm very good, I give them the important tips.

Investment for me now is no more called as investment, is a management skill u 'must' to learn how to manage your own money.

Investment need your patient, investment need your work hard to study. They reply me as what Jack Ma said as below:

Tell them it's a small investment, they'll say can't earn much. Tell them to come in big, they'll say no money. Tell them try new things, they'll say no experience. Tell them it's traditional business, they'll say hard to do. Tell them it's a new business model, they'll say it's MLM. Tell them to run a shop, they'll say no freedom. Tell them run new business, they'll say no expertise. They do have somethings in common: They love to ask google, listen to friends who are as hopeless as them, they think more than an university professor and do less than a blind man.

I told them learn to be patient, they only recognize money.

What can I do?? hmmmmhahahahahahahahahahahahahaahah

CKWan11d

567 posts

Posted by CKWan11d > 2016-02-19 18:26 | Report Abuse

谢谢.

Posted by soojinhou > 2016-02-19 18:28 | Report Abuse

Great advice! Compound interest is definitely what young people should know because most do not see the need to invest when capital is small. Small becomes big and then very big with time and persistence

JN88

11,670 posts

Posted by JN88 > 2016-02-19 18:38 | Report Abuse

The most scary person are not the one who had 1 million in pocket from FAMA, but the one who with only 1 k in pocket v full power of learning spirit.

I3 with a lot of this kind of people.

Desa20201956

2,286 posts

Posted by Desa20201956 > 2016-02-19 18:45 | Report Abuse

Compounded interest is some thing no one can do.
Only other people can do.

Posted by PlsGiveBonus > 2016-02-19 19:12 | Report Abuse

Bank also no money, cash is king, buy gold as much as possible rather invest in any good fundamental company, because stock is intangible and it can never too cheap to buy, any buy call is either buying for donation

Posted by PlsGiveBonus > 2016-02-19 19:17 | Report Abuse

There is also time when stock market is never too cheap to enter, accumulate wealth is not about invest good fundamental company, it is about hoe much money is finally in your hand which is tangible asset.

Desa20201956

2,286 posts

Posted by Desa20201956 > 2016-02-19 19:18 | Report Abuse

I think the only workable compounding is MLM and networking.

Or junk mails......they compound very fast one.

Posted by PlsGiveBonus > 2016-02-19 19:33 | Report Abuse

A lot of youngster are very poor in money, they come to look for flash cash, and rush into the stock market, they do not know what is recession, they believe anytime can make more money when tycoon loss their pant, bet their saving into crude oil counter? How many youngster still survive in the crude oil counter?

Posted by PlsGiveBonus > 2016-02-19 19:39 | Report Abuse

Mutual fund agent agressively promoting their product, and the same go to "scam" the youngster, which mutual fund in this country is too cheap to buy? May be it is not a good time to try to fix a collapsing financial system, let it collapse fully, every civilization also come with massive destruction

Posted by PlsGiveBonus > 2016-02-19 19:51 | Report Abuse

Before putting your money at risk
Try to get yourself some good food and some good life style
It is very stupid to rush into it with all money, basically I do not recommend any youngster to invest now, but gold is exceptional, it is tangible and it is all time low. Fundamental of gold? Gold has best fundamental compare to any intangible asset.

Desa20201956

2,286 posts

Posted by Desa20201956 > 2016-02-19 20:00 | Report Abuse

basically I agree with that.
youngsters should not save and invest in other people shares. They may save to invest in themselves or their own business.
I dont even agree to invest in gold, it will be just wasted effort.

invest only when you have spare cash because you cannot spend as fast as you earn.

PlsGiveBonus > Feb 19, 2016 07:51 PM | Report Abuse

Before putting your money at risk
Try to get yourself some good food and some good life style
It is very stupid to rush into it with all money, basically I do not recommend any youngster to invest now

Desa20201956

2,286 posts

Posted by Desa20201956 > 2016-02-19 20:04 | Report Abuse

my 23 years old son is spending as fast as he earns and even more...but its fine with me as long as his earnings will have exponential growth.

JN88

11,670 posts

Posted by JN88 > 2016-02-19 20:26 | Report Abuse

Young generation are poor in attitude no poor in pocket.

JN88

11,670 posts

Posted by JN88 > 2016-02-19 20:36 | Report Abuse

You lost confidence and patience when you treat stock as shares market, you will slowly gain good temper and patience when you look your money in share market as your business.

Desa20201956

2,286 posts

Posted by Desa20201956 > 2016-02-19 20:53 | Report Abuse

why invest in other people shares when can invest in one self?

YOLOOOO

1,676 posts

Posted by YOLOOOO > 2016-02-19 21:16 | Report Abuse

why be a dog when you can be a human?

Desa20201956

2,286 posts

Posted by Desa20201956 > 2016-02-19 22:33 | Report Abuse

yeah why?
============
YOLOOOO why be a dog when you can be a human?

JN88

11,670 posts

Posted by JN88 > 2016-02-20 00:27 | Report Abuse

Why people sell one kopi=RM10 and nomal kopitian only RM2??? also kopi rite?

Kevin Wong

416 posts

Posted by Kevin Wong > 2016-02-20 10:21 | Report Abuse

If good in picking winner stocks, properties, businesses...then anytime is a good time to invest.
Invest for the long term, not only less risky and stressful...but also more likely to make more $$ over the long term.
Good luck everybody!

coolinvestor

1,233 posts

Posted by coolinvestor > 2016-02-20 10:29 | Report Abuse

Unfortunately due to either influenced or ignorance I see very little hope for the younger generation. They are just too rash n impatient.hence majority will go the contra n day trading way.

Even here in i3 I see almost 80% of forumers doing day trading. They rest is perhaps long term investors.

Due to this kind of influence n activity the younger ones tend to be influenced n lean towards day trading. Easy money n fast profits.

Tts why education plays an important part in their lives

soros228

2,034 posts

Posted by soros228 > 2016-02-20 10:32 | Report Abuse

Desa good to hear your son earning exponentially.
Hope he don't need to pay your margin debts later. Hahahaha.

coolinvestor

1,233 posts

Posted by coolinvestor > 2016-02-20 10:33 | Report Abuse

However day traders instill market liquidity like the market makers. Unfortunately they may get caught by Mr. Market lol.

Without these 2 our klse volume will be very very low. So we Shld be thankful to these naive traders..

Desa20201956

2,286 posts

Posted by Desa20201956 > 2016-02-20 10:50 | Report Abuse

I didn't say his earning is growing exponentially.
I say I hope his earnings will grow exponentially in future....more important than trying to save a few miserable few sens.

soros228
1042 posts
Posted by soros228 > Feb 20, 2016 10:32 AM | Report Abuse

Desa good to hear your son earning exponentially.
Hope he don't need to pay your margin debts later. Hahahaha.

Desa20201956

2,286 posts

Posted by Desa20201956 > 2016-02-20 11:53 | Report Abuse

My record the last few months.
At the peak up about 20%, now about break even slight up.

I am quite proud.

Of course up 20% is better but life goes on.

soros228

2,034 posts

Posted by soros228 > 2016-02-20 12:11 | Report Abuse

Not bad Desa.
Stay low profile la.

12,917 posts

Posted by 3iii > 2016-02-20 12:22 |

Posted by PlsGiveBonus > 2016-02-20 16:06 | Report Abuse

Share is practically money that doesn't existed, that is called intangible
IPO and stock market is practically the biggest scam in this world, because it is identical to printing non-existence money in a legal way into the market, they make IPO and share at practically no resource, just pop out from the air, and the share can then trade for money? So how is the money come from to balance the financial system? Basically this financial system is completely failed, too many IPO and "non-existence" money diluting the system into a no value is worth to buy now.
But what about gold? Gold do not pop out from thin air, there is no IPO for any gold because it is existence since the stock market exist, and it fundamental is strongest among all paper share.

Posted by PlsGiveBonus > 2016-02-20 16:11 | Report Abuse

Some policy make special rights to individual to obtain plenty of paper shares at basically no cost, while peasant like investor go and spent money on their "free"shares, how is it worth the money?
Director has the most share at practically no cost? Who is the director and how many director in a company? And how many share can they make by rights issues, bonus issues and whatever finanial terms that is exited to further print money at a legal way?

12,917 posts

Posted by 3iii > 2016-02-20 16:12 |

12,917 posts

Posted by 3iii > 2016-02-20 16:14 | Report Abuse

PlsGiveBonus Investing is most intelligent when it is most businesslike. This was preached by Benjamin Graham and is still true today.

Desa20201956

2,286 posts

Posted by Desa20201956 > 2016-02-20 16:18 | Report Abuse

I am quite proud.

Share market no compounding one.

What compounding?

Share market live day by day.

or what they say, cycle by cycle.

Posted by kcchongnz > 2016-02-20 16:24 | Report Abuse

Posted by Desa20201956 > Feb 19, 2016 05:35 PM | Report Abuse

Your comments are appreciated. However, instead of short sentences which I catch no balls, can you elaborate a little;

What do you mean that you "could have mistaken you for a unit trust salesman"? And anything wrong with a unit trust salesman?

What do you mean by "a different rule book"?

12,917 posts

Posted by 3iii > 2016-02-20 16:25 | Report Abuse

Desa20201956 If only you have owned a long term portfolio that has already captured a lot of returns, you will then realise there is nothing better the wonder of compounding. The ability to compound at a high rate of return for a very long time frame is the path to great wealth. The compounding impact on wealth is most noticeable at the later stages of a long period of investing. Warren Buffett was worth 1% of what he is worth today at the age of 60 years old. The other 99% of his wealth was achieved after the age of 60.

Posted by kcchongnz > 2016-02-20 16:26 | Report Abuse

Posted by Desa20201956 > Feb 19, 2016 06:45 PM | Report Abuse
Only other people can do.

Again don't catch what you really mean by a phrase like that. Can elaborate?

Desa20201956

2,286 posts

Posted by Desa20201956 > 2016-02-20 16:28 | Report Abuse

I will tell you want is printing money.

Warrants are really printing money. That is how directors sees it.

That is why Tek Seng has 240 million shares , 120 million free warrants convertible at 25 sen.

But the warrants are a dampener on future performance of the share.

Posted by kcchongnz > 2016-02-20 16:33 | Report Abuse

Posted by Desa20201956 > Feb 19, 2016 08:00 PM | Report Abuse
basically I agree with that.
youngsters should not save and invest in other people shares. They may save to invest in themselves or their own business.
I dont even agree to invest in gold, it will be just wasted effort.
invest only when you have spare cash because you cannot spend as fast as you earn.

Posted by Desa20201956 > Feb 19, 2016 08:04 PM | Report Abuse
my 23 years old son is spending as fast as he earns and even more...but its fine with me as long as his earnings will have exponential growth.

You have very good advice to your son, congrats. Also congrats that you are so sure that your son's "earnings will have exponential growth.

Take your son as an example, how to follow your advice on "invest in their own business" when he "is spending as fast as he earns and even more"?

Isn't it easier if , and only if, he can save a little and invest in a part business without putting in any effort?

As an accountant, an experienced accountant, tell us how many percent of businesses survive?

Desa20201956

2,286 posts

Posted by Desa20201956 > 2016-02-20 16:34 | Report Abuse

telling a young man to compound his wealth in the share market is the Biggest lie there ever is.

Huge diversified funds that invests across the world, across all continents and across all asset classes....maybe you have a case to talk about compounding...like the EPF.

For individuals, please don't even use the word compounding, it just doesn't apply.

Desa20201956 > Feb 19, 2016 06:45 PM | Report Abuse

Posted by kcchongnz > 2016-02-20 16:39 | Report Abuse

Posted by Desa20201956 > Feb 20, 2016 11:53 AM | Report Abuse
I am quite proud.

I don't know if you come to the right place. This post is about long-term investing and let compound interest has a chance to work out. It is not about making 20% in a month, and then break even another month later.

It is not about looking at the computer screen all the time.

No wonder your statement about compounding won't work.

In long term, we are talking about years, not months, Mr. Compounding is about compounding over a number of years, say 10%-12% over a 20 years period.

Posted by kcchongnz > 2016-02-20 16:42 | Report Abuse

Posted by Desa20201956 > Feb 20, 2016 04:34 PM | Report Abuse
telling a young man to compound his wealth in the share market is the Biggest lie there ever is.
Huge diversified funds that invests across the world, across all continents and across all asset classes....maybe you have a case to talk about compounding...like the EPF.
For individuals, please don't even use the word compounding, it just doesn't apply.

Tell us frankly, are you really an accountant?

Desa20201956

2,286 posts

Posted by Desa20201956 > 2016-02-20 16:43 | Report Abuse

if son needs some some money to do business, give it to him la. Help as much as I can help la.

================
Take your son as an example, how to follow your advice on "invest in their own business" when he "is spending as fast as he earns and even more"?

Posted by kcchongnz > 2016-02-20 16:45 | Report Abuse

Posted by Desa20201956 > Feb 20, 2016 04:43 PM | Report Abuse
if son needs some some money to do business, give it to him la. Help as much as I can help la.

I don't know about it, looking at this comment below:

Posted by Desa20201956 > Feb 19, 2016 08:04 PM | Report Abuse
my 23 years old son is spending as fast as he earns and even more.

Desa20201956

2,286 posts

Posted by Desa20201956 > 2016-02-20 16:47 | Report Abuse

of course, I am an accountant. A CPA to be exact.
There are lots common wisdom and a lot of lies.
Telling a young man to compound his wealth in the share market is a conventional wisdom and is also the biggest Lie there is.

=======================================
Tell us frankly, are you really an accountant?

Desa20201956

2,286 posts

Posted by Desa20201956 > 2016-02-20 16:51 | Report Abuse

There is no compounding unless it is globally diversified, diversified across all asset classes and stay invested at all times and a target return of say 5% pa......then we can talk about compounding.

12,917 posts

Posted by 3iii > 2016-02-20 17:04 |