325 comment(s). Last comment by Jon Choivo 2018-08-28 17:02

Posted by Flintstones > 2018-08-25 08:34 | Report Abuse

Lmao. This article does not show any of the fundamental or technical skills required to trade profitably for the long term. It sounds like my grandma story. I can copy and paste the same article, swap out the cut loss percentage and people would still believe it.

12,593 posts

Posted by Alex™ > 2018-08-25 08:36 | Report Abuse

You pay me 5k I tell you stories~

12,593 posts

Posted by Alex™ > 2018-08-25 08:37 | Report Abuse

Flint boss, no worry la. I3 free speech area ma... Anyone can talk.

14,786 posts

Posted by CharlesT > 2018-08-25 08:48 | Report Abuse

500% return in 2017???

Ada betul kah?

Unless he sailang in JHM in 2016 and managed to sell all at the peak...but looks like he trades very often...

(So for the JHM, basically I rode it up during that 3 to 4 quarters where earnings exploded. I traded by selling the tops and buying the bottoms, usually ill make like 5% to 10% each round. I got out of the position at some point when it became too high. It was then Hengyuan came up.)

Even his entry price in Hengyuan was Rm7 to RM9...if he could make 100% return in Hengyuan also considered damn good oredi

12,593 posts

Posted by Alex™ > 2018-08-25 08:50 | Report Abuse

Ah Charles... Hengyuan ch I enter 13.5sen...u check the peak is 99sen...u guess how much Alex earn

Posted by Flintstones > 2018-08-25 08:51 | Report Abuse

Grandma story mah. When property agents try to sell me properties, they also tell me this property good that property good. Once you sign the s&p, they bye bye already.

14,786 posts

Posted by CharlesT > 2018-08-25 08:51 | Report Abuse

"I traded by selling the tops and buying the bottoms, usually ill make like 5% to 10% each round"

each round make 5% to 10%...u need to trade say 10 to 20 rounds to make 100% or 50 to 100 rounds to make 500%, basing on simple calculation, assuming 100% winning probability

Posted by Flintstones > 2018-08-25 08:53 | Report Abuse

Charles bro, didnt you see the author practice a 15% cut loss policy? He told you already ma. Once the stock drop he cut loss ma. Maybe Jon Choivo is a disciple of cp teh ma. Cut loss is the sure way to success ma

12,593 posts

Posted by Alex™ > 2018-08-25 08:53 | Report Abuse

Haha flintstone.. No choice la... Agent also need to put food on table ma... This is persuasive skill lo... But must be ethical la... Don't just keep telling good only

14,786 posts

Posted by CharlesT > 2018-08-25 08:55 | Report Abuse

Posted by Alex™ > Aug 25, 2018 08:50 AM | Report Abuse

Ah Charles... Hengyuan ch I enter 13.5sen...u check the peak is 99sen...u guess how much Alex earn

Yes, in call warrant may be possible...provided he dare to sailang all in CW

Posted by Flintstones > 2018-08-25 08:55 | Report Abuse

Yaya. No doubt alex bro. I am here not to shoot down Jon Choivo. He is a good writer. I am only here to remind many other i3 members to selectively absorb information on this platform, filtering what is doable and what is not doable to avoid being sweet talked into an investment trap.

14,786 posts

Posted by CharlesT > 2018-08-25 08:55 | Report Abuse

And can be so patient and calm to hold all till he see 500% return

LOLANTO

126 posts

Posted by LOLANTO > 2018-08-25 08:58 | Report Abuse

Jon, a great piece, thank you for sharing!

14,786 posts

Posted by CharlesT > 2018-08-25 08:58 | Report Abuse

To me the whole story of the trader is more like a mythos...

I wonder what is the result of Rich (whom i personally think is the best trader in I3, as far as I observed)'s result in 2017..I meant for overall result (increase in his capital in 2017)...not on a single CW's result

12,593 posts

Posted by Alex™ > 2018-08-25 08:59 | Report Abuse

I ask ah Jon give me stock buy call, he said pay him 5k first wor... I pay otb sifu better, he minta 1k only, can last 5 years some more... Hehe

14,786 posts

Posted by CharlesT > 2018-08-25 09:00 | Report Abuse

Posted by Alex™ > Aug 25, 2018 08:59 AM | Report Abuse

I ask ah Jon give me stock buy call, he said pay him 5k first wor... I pay otb sifu better, he minta 1k only, can last 5 years some more... Hehe

Seriously? He asked for RM5K???????

Posted by Flintstones > 2018-08-25 09:00 | Report Abuse

Wow, Jon Choivo charges RM 5k? True or not? RM 5k is like more than his one months accountant salary leh!

12,593 posts

Posted by Alex™ > 2018-08-25 09:00 | Report Abuse

Ah Charles... Hrc is my biggest winner last year. My capital doubled. Yes, din get 500% coz Alex also scare sailang into it... That day 29dec 2017 afternoon I was in front of my computer.

Posted by Flintstones > 2018-08-25 09:00 | Report Abuse

Like this pay OTB better lah!

12,593 posts

Posted by Alex™ > 2018-08-25 09:01 | Report Abuse

Ah Jon is fun manager ma... He also offer me alternative... Parking 50k in his fund lock 5 year... But din tell me fund performance? Can 20% pa or not? Haha

12,593 posts

Posted by Alex™ > 2018-08-25 09:02 | Report Abuse

Alex so kiamsiap... Last year already want enrol otb subscription d... But Alex tot he himself is genius so in the end din join... Now still free bird... Haha

14,786 posts

Posted by CharlesT > 2018-08-25 09:03 | Report Abuse

Posted by Alex™ > Aug 25, 2018 09:00 AM | Report Abuse

Ah Charles... Hrc is my biggest winner last year. My capital doubled. Yes, din get 500% coz Alex also scare sailang into it... That day 29dec 2017 afternoon I was in front of my computer.

Even u traded in Heng Yuan's CW which goes up to as high as 500% yr overall capital is only doubled...whereas that young supertrader recorded 500% return in 2017, and he didnt mention of trading in CW

14,786 posts

Posted by CharlesT > 2018-08-25 09:04 | Report Abuse

Alex, did Jon really charge RM5K????

12,593 posts

Posted by Alex™ > 2018-08-25 09:04 | Report Abuse

Yes ah Charles... My trading rule does not allow me to sailang... Trader must obey position sizing rules...

If sailang, you can see me in tanjung rambutan soon

12,593 posts

Posted by Alex™ > 2018-08-25 09:06 | Report Abuse

Ah Jon will clarify here... I saja kacau him only ask him give buy call... Lazy dig my past i3 comments.

Maybe ah Jon kolian me poor fellow and give me discount leh? Hehe... Must be less than 1k la... If more than 1k, Alex will still choose otb sifu

Posted by Flintstones > 2018-08-25 09:07 | Report Abuse

Thats why. When people post articles on i3, readers must figure out their agenda. Some accumulated a big position in the stock and inviting you to push the share price up. Some try to sell you a subscription. Either way, you guys are screwed!

14,786 posts

Posted by CharlesT > 2018-08-25 09:09 | Report Abuse

Posted by Flintstones > Aug 25, 2018 09:07 AM | Report Abuse

Thats why. When people post articles on i3, readers must figure out their agenda. Some accumulated a big position in the stock and inviting you to push the share price up. Some try to sell you a subscription. Either way, you guys are screwed!

Now i knew why of late Jon is so high profile in I3....

Harry No 2??

CPTeh better learn something....always posting cut loss or mkt crash in I3 tak dapat cari makan lah

12,593 posts

Posted by Alex™ > 2018-08-25 09:09 | Report Abuse

Hehe... Since when bursa is friendly to retailer one? Newspaper also... Aiyo... Alex so innocent trust newspaper and go buy.... Haha

12,593 posts

Posted by Alex™ > 2018-08-25 09:10 | Report Abuse

With due respect, ah Jon willing share article here... Gooding also la... But yes still need to exercise discernment. Sounds too good like jjptr. Can help me manage fund or not?

12,593 posts

Posted by Alex™ > 2018-08-25 09:11 | Report Abuse

Ah Jon track record mana? Can post here?

14,786 posts

Posted by CharlesT > 2018-08-25 09:12 | Report Abuse

500% return in 2017....

Anybody here can share their result if they can make more than 200% in 2017?

I meant overall result...not a single CW result..

Rich how's yrs result in 2017? Got 200% or not?

12,593 posts

Posted by Alex™ > 2018-08-25 09:15 | Report Abuse

I think rchi sifu can..momentum trader, very one of a kind, and very consistent result. And give public buy call also. At least 300% last year?

12,593 posts

Posted by Alex™ > 2018-08-25 09:18 | Report Abuse

Rchi sifu public buy call help me to breakeven from down -10%, and then end result is doubled capital.

Posted by Koon Bee > 2018-08-25 09:20 | Report Abuse

Murali aka Charles sifu very sharp. 500%? Imposssible. Either Jon kena cheated or TTT create story. Haha. Jon ah, wake up la.

14,786 posts

Posted by CharlesT > 2018-08-25 09:24 | Report Abuse

Posted by Koon Bee > Aug 25, 2018 09:20 AM | Report Abuse

Murali aka Charles sifu very sharp. 500%? Imposssible. Either Jon kena cheated or TTT create story. Haha. Jon ah, wake up la.

Aiyo..even an ordinary investor/ trader will know 500% in a year is highly impossible lah...only outsider or newbie may believe

newbie911

1,111 posts

Posted by newbie911 > 2018-08-25 09:26 | Report Abuse

Wtf 500% roi in 2017.....
kc, otb and kyy can balik kampumg.
Or tis 3 need pay tuition fee to learn.

lizi

1,968 posts

Posted by lizi > 2018-08-25 09:29 | Report Abuse

nothing special to me...all smart trader do this...wisdom is all u need.

Posted by Koon Bee > 2018-08-25 09:29 | Report Abuse

2011 to 2015 30% p.a for initial capital 20k

By end of 2015 should have rm75000

2015 start working and put all his earning in
We assumed his salary 2.8k and he put 2k a month for 12 months = 24k

By 2016 the total investment port 75k + 24k (I assumed he just park the 24k as cash in 2015 to make it easier for calculation)

2016 100% = 99k become 200k (assum3d he disnt continue to put in 2016/2017/2018 salary into the investment accountt)

2017 500% = rm1 million

2018 YTD 10% = rm1.1 million

How come ah Jon say rm750k only har?

14,786 posts

Posted by CharlesT > 2018-08-25 09:31 | Report Abuse

lol...Bro Koon Bee I also did a backward calculation on that...

Anyway my main interest is still how he made 500% gain in 2017...

lizi

1,968 posts

Posted by lizi > 2018-08-25 09:37 | Report Abuse

i means his thought process is nothing special...about his result, i not sure though..

Posted by Koon Bee > 2018-08-25 09:42 | Report Abuse

Interesting to know how can made 500% gain. Hengyuan highest RM40 meh? I tot only RM19+

uptrending

1,852 posts

Posted by uptrending > 2018-08-25 09:46 | Report Abuse

Jon
Thanks for the good article.
It is possible for the super performance but must have consecutive good lucks apart from the skills and strong psychology.. It may not happen often unless in super bull market

lizi

1,968 posts

Posted by lizi > 2018-08-25 09:53 | Report Abuse

maybe jon end up paying 5k to TTT to follow his trade after believing 500% return?...hahaha...just kidding.

uptrending

1,852 posts

Posted by uptrending > 2018-08-25 10:05 | Report Abuse

I seen someone made rm400K in 1 month by trading contra. Betting size less than 500K. It takes 4 consecutive successful quarters with average return of 50% each to make up 500% per annum. Is possible but rarely...

13,017 posts

Posted by 3iii > 2018-08-25 10:11 | Report Abuse

Yes, would be interested to know how the 500% return was achieved or calculated.

Here is an extreme example of how a 500% return maybe calculated:

Initial investment amount $100,000
The stock rose 50%, and the portfolio amount reached $150,000
Sold $90,000 to get back his own capital, leaving only 10,000 of initial capital in the portfolio.

Calculation of return

Capital invested $10,000
Gain $50,000
Final value of portfolio $60,000

Investment return = $50,000 / $10,000 = 500%.

:-)

uptrending

1,852 posts

Posted by uptrending > 2018-08-25 10:17 | Report Abuse

Not wise to use Margin. Usually most people ended up with rubbish shares with huge losses in the Margin Account. Cut lost is easy said than done. In a crisis, no chance for you to execute your cut loss points... The share prices just dived to levels far far below your cut loss points... It can wipe you out in a prolonged and severe bear market if you move your cash account after losing 30% to your margin account..

13,017 posts

Posted by 3iii > 2018-08-25 10:17 | Report Abuse

>>>Jon: One of the things I found interesting, is how you didn’t use margin. I mean, most traders use margin, and like the stockraider argument, it only cost 5%, given you CAGR of probably higher than 40%, why didn’t you take it?

TTT: Well, I prefer learning from other people’s mistake. And listening to people speak about crisis in hong kong etc, its clear that margin is the problem. If I had margin when I started, I think I would have lost a lot of money due to calls.

Jon: What is the risk for you? For me it’s the ability for someone else to sell your stock, at precisely the moment I don’t want to, that is a huge risk for me.

TTT: Yeap exactly that. Also, it can be really tempting to sailing in stocks when it’s really cheap on margin, but in recession, it can drop from RM7 to RM2. You think its cheap, you sailing, and it drops to RM1 and wipe out your capital. Just too dangerous.<<<<

Good points.

Posted by Koon Bee > 2018-08-25 10:25 | Report Abuse

For that father of 3, I advice dont risk yourself too much in your account 2 which for trading if not later need to sell account 1 to pay for account 2 end up both account gone. Always invest with solid cash wei!!

Posted by stockraider > 2018-08-25 10:25 | Report Abuse

AGAIN 3iii TRY TO MANIPULATE FIGURE & TRY TO IMPLY DISHONESTY LOH...!!

THE 500% RETURN PA....COME FROM THE BASED CAPITAL OF RM 20K 7 TO 8 YRS AGO MAH....!!

Posted by 3iii > Aug 25, 2018 10:11 AM | Report Abuse

Yes, would be interested to know how the 500% return was achieved or calculated.

Here is an extreme example of how a 500% return maybe calculated:

Initial investment amount $100,000
The stock rose 50%, and the portfolio amount reached $150,000
Sold $90,000 to get back his own capital, leaving only 10,000 of initial capital in the portfolio.

Calculation of return

Capital invested $10,000
Gain $50,000
Final value of portfolio $60,000

Investment return = $50,000 / $10,000 = 500%.

Ayoyo

379 posts

Posted by Ayoyo > 2018-08-25 10:25 | Report Abuse

Thanks Jon for the inspiring article.... Contrary to what most people think, there are successful traders around.. And their success is much less about technical capabilities than it is about having a plan and sticking steadfastly to it...

I trade for a living and have been very profitable and I can vouch that making 100% returns pa is not far fetched if you know what you are doing... Unless a speculator has the conviction of milking the wave for months ahead by holding positions, , traders seldom get the multi baggers because trading short term is essentially, taking food off the shark's mouth... Take too large a position and the syndicates have a repertoire of tricks to rattle and roll your emotions in the short term (you can only trade very largely during a bull run)

But To compensate for modest position sizing and returns per trade, you have the peace of mind of holding minimal positions and are usually, high in cash..

Of the recent 4 years, this year had been the poorest record for me..even then, it's at Around 80% returns so far, with 80% cash holdings .. I had an exceptional return last month but a very modest profit or even a small loss this month... Earnings season is bad for trading from my experience..

However, I don't regard trading as gambling... Gambling is where the result depended entirely on chance and cannot be replicated with a any degree of consistency.. Trading is just like any business, you buy a product for resale... Some of your stocks will sell well, some won't (and you lose some money)... Your acumen is in selecting and peddling the right products which in your opinion will be resale-able to your customers for a profit... That is the fundamental of all business