279 comment(s). Last comment by signalmw 2020-03-15 14:19

12,847 posts

Posted by 3iii > 2019-07-04 15:43 | Report Abuse

>>>

Posted by Ricky Kiat

Jan 7, 2014 9:16 AM | Report Abuse

Mr koon ,before read your article,i thought that best oil palm stock must have very very large land bank ,so we must keep it for very long term(10 - 20 year) to wait those land fully planted & wait the value come out. Now my mind are more clearer bcos finally i realize that i must count the average age of oil palm tree to know % grow of FFB. More FFB mean more ROI .

First time i buy a oil plam stock bcos of Mr Fong Si Ling,he highly recommend us to buy oil palm stock bcos of speciality of it. No other stock can compare with oil palm stock bcos value of land grow every year & become scarity . i plans keep oil palm stock for my future retirement & my kids education fee.

>>>>

Oil palm was the golden crop in the 80s.

It was also fantastic investment in the 90s.

Has it lost its shine this decade?

CPO price is cyclical. In this very poor CPO price market, many plantation stocks are sold down a lot.

Those wishing to be in this sector, it is for the cyclical play.

Posted by stockraider > 2019-07-04 15:49 | Report Abuse

NOT WRONG LOH....INVESTMENT IN PALMOIL STOCK AT ITS LOW WITH BIG MARGIN OF SAFETY IT WILL DEFINITELY COMEBACK LOH....!!

GOOD N BUY A FEW GOOD ONE FOR YOUR CHILDREN EDUCATION ESPECIALLY WHEN THEY ARE STILL YOUNG LOH...!!

LONGRUN IT RETURN DEFINITELY BETTER THAN MOST BANK PRODUCTS LIKE FIXED DEPOSITS, UNIT TRUST OR INSURANCE ANNUITY LOH....!!

Posted by 3iii > Jul 4, 2019 3:43 PM | Report Abuse
>>>

Posted by Ricky Kiat
Jan 7, 2014 9:16 AM | Report Abuse

Mr koon ,before read your article,i thought that best oil palm stock must have very very large land bank ,so we must keep it for very long term(10 - 20 year) to wait those land fully planted & wait the value come out. Now my mind are more clearer bcos finally i realize that i must count the average age of oil palm tree to know % grow of FFB. More FFB mean more ROI .

First time i buy a oil plam stock bcos of Mr Fong Si Ling,he highly recommend us to buy oil palm stock bcos of speciality of it. No other stock can compare with oil palm stock bcos value of land grow every year & become scarity . i plans keep oil palm stock for my future retirement & my kids education fee.

Oil palm was the golden crop in the 80s.

It was also fantastic investment in the 90s.

Has it lost its shine this decade?

CPO price is cyclical. In this very poor CPO price market, many plantation stocks are sold down a lot.

Those wishing to be in this sector, it is for the cyclical play.

Posted by stockraider > 2019-07-04 15:53 |

12,847 posts

Posted by 3iii > 2019-07-04 16:26 | Report Abuse

>>>

Posted by CaptainVeryKeng > Jul 4, 2019 4:00 PM | Report Abuse

Looks like Stockraider is a troublemaker here

>>>>

raider is recalcitrant.

Posted by stockraider > 2019-07-04 16:30 | Report Abuse

Raider just do good deeds but got insulted by 3iii loh...!!

RAIDER IS JUST SAYING A FEW FAIR & KIND WORDS MAH....!!

NOT SIDING ANYONE LOH....!!

Posted by stockraider > Jul 4, 2019 3:36 PM | Report Abuse X

Otb was provoke mah....!!

If u don stir the hornet nest u will not get bitten loh...!!

Posted by CaptainVeryKeng > Jul 4, 2019 3:33 PM | Report Abuse

I am only stating facts...evrytime otb comments he create argument in the forum which disrupts the discussion

Posted by 3iii > Jul 4, 2019 4:26 PM | Report Abuse

>>>

Posted by CaptainVeryKeng > Jul 4, 2019 4:00 PM | Report Abuse

Looks like Stockraider is a troublemaker here

>>>>

raider is recalcitrant.

Posted by CaptainVeryKeng > 2019-07-04 16:59 | Report Abuse

Hope Admin stop Stockraiders spamming and troublemaking

Posted by SuperKengHappy > 2019-07-04 18:01 | Report Abuse

OTB memang a troublemaker. Now stockraider also

Posted by (US/CHN trade war doesn't matter) Philip > 2019-07-04 21:11 | Report Abuse

I have no issue with cash call if it is used for business expansion or to increase cash levels for hunting big game.

I have a problem with cash call if it is used to pay debt it interest covers. It shows that management has not yet learned their lesson and expects father mother to pay for their mistakes while they proceed
to make more mistakes at your cost.
>>>>>

Posted by Icon8888 > Jul 4, 2019 11:25 AM | Report Abuse

fools and the mass knee jerk reaction every time there is a cash call

a contrarian investor that can think independently will see the nuances

and act differently

12,847 posts

Posted by 3iii > 2019-07-04 21:21 |

Posted by witchslayer > 2019-07-04 21:25 |

12,847 posts

Posted by 3iii > 2019-07-04 21:31 |

12,847 posts

Posted by 3iii > 2019-07-05 11:47 | Report Abuse

>>>
https://klse.i3investor.com/servlets/stk/7293.jsp

Jason Gilbert Ho
Thanks Mr Philip for the good investment idea since january. I followed you to buy at RM4.09, now am reaping all the rewards! averaging up with each quarter results!
05/07/2019 10:25 AM

>>>>

Well, I have to praise Philip too.
Good selection based on superior philosophy (based on my observation of his investing.)

12,847 posts

Posted by 3iii > 2019-07-05 11:49 | Report Abuse

>>>>

https://klse.i3investor.com/servlets/stk/7293.jsp

(US/CHN trade war doesn't matter) Philip Stockraider and Calvin tan says YINSON is overvalued and you should sell it to buy sapura and bumi Armada. Not much difference between those companies except luck. Well I should thank me lucky stars. A stock that is not a small cap that can be easily manipulated by kyy and influenced by otb and fooled by calvintaneng.

A wonderful company succeeds not because of share price manipulation, but because experts realize the future earnings and growth of YINSON is there. Who needs local buyers when foreign institutions and funds are buying in bulk. EPF can sell every share and still will not effect YINSON business in the future.

But maybe you should listen to stockraider and sell yinson to buy sapura and Armada.
04/07/2019 5:29 PM

>>>>>>

Well said.

12,847 posts

Posted by 3iii > 2019-07-05 11:52 |

Posted by stockraider > 2019-07-05 12:17 | Report Abuse

Most importantly raider insas is beating Philip QL mah....!!

Posted by Jason Gilbert Ho > Jul 5, 2019 12:07 PM | Report Abuse

i think stockraider here is not so smart to challenge philip with his not so satisfactory return on results. Even if QL is something that is taking time to consolidate due to high PE, the revenue and earnings is growing year after year. Sifu Philip did say he bought it in 2009.

WAIT UNTIL THIS YINSON CRASH & TRADE AT ARMADA PRICE TODAY LOH...!!
REMEMBER FEW YEARS BACK ARMADA TRADE AT RM 4.00 LOH...!!
YINSON HAS NO MARGIN OF SAFETY RIGHT NOW LOH...!!
BETTER SELL YOUR YINSON & BUY ARMADA NOW A BETTER INVESTMENT LOH..!!
His investment in Yinson though is even more exemplary. stockraider says it is a overvalued company, but philips share of the company is very impressive, considering that yinson is now a 7.4 billion dollar company.

Posted by stockraider > 2019-07-05 12:20 |

eskaylien

84 posts

Posted by eskaylien > 2019-07-05 18:42 | Report Abuse

EPF buying..... Maybe a deal is being discussed?

One easy way for Armada to alleviate its liquidity problem and boost investor confidence is:

Issue a RM 1 billion convertible bond to EPF, at, say, 5% coupon, and convertible only on the fifth year at 35 sen a share.

EPF gets a 5% yield yearly, and reap capital gains 5 years later when Armada should be out of the woods by then. A win-win .

To be fair, Armada should also issue free 5-year warrants, exerciseable at 35 sen, to all shareholders.

Posted by witchslayer > 2019-07-06 11:59 |

Posted by stockraider > 2019-07-06 13:44 | Report Abuse

Armada a potential Rm 10 billion company in the making mah...!!

The former glory of armada is in the making loh...!!

Better get in b4 too late loh...!!

But must have patience loh....!!

Posted by (US/CHN trade war doesn't matter) Philip > 2019-07-07 08:09 | Report Abuse

Does stockraider even understand balance sheets?

Armada 10 billion in loans, with average rates around 4.85%
Yinson 3.6 billion in loans, with average rates around also around 4.8%

And the difference of the loans are the main think that allow ynson to make money and high profit while Armada has to keep taking lousy projects just to do the interest payments for OSV that is sitting at home rusting with no orders (40% utilization rates) and no one willing to buy it.

Talking cocktail is raider, why not go back to your sapura rm3 in 3 years instead? I heard it's dropped back again and not up half a cent every day like you talk cock said.

>>>>>>>>>>>

stockraider SOHAI 3iii Yinson balance sheet not much better than Armada loh...!!
Yinson has a disguise perpetual bond classify as equity, just becareful b4 u talk too much cock loh...!!

Posted by stockraider > 2019-07-07 10:46 |

Posted by stockraider > 2019-07-07 10:49 |

Posted by stockraider > 2019-07-07 11:02 |

Posted by stockraider > 2019-07-07 11:20 | Report Abuse

I forget to tell u that armada already making profit based on latest qtr armada make Rm 62m v yinson make Rm 62m loh. Same same profit mah..!

Posted by stockraider > Jul 7, 2019 10:46 AM | Report Abuse X

Why u need to becareful of Yinson ??
This is bcos the gearing high & not much diffent from armada loh..!!

Yinson borrowing April 2019 as follows:
{In million Rm}
1. Perpetual Bond............1847.
2. Loan & borrowings.........3308.
3.Lease........................13.
4.Loan & Borrowing.............346.
5.Put option liability.........460.
6.Derivative...................61.
Total loan exposure............6039.

Total shareholder fund.........1791.

Total Assets...................8948.

Revenue(qtr)...................209.

Profits (qtr}..................62

Armada borrowings March 2019 as follows:

{In million Rm}
1.Perpetual Bond...............0.
2.Loan & borrowings..........6786.
3.Lease........................29.
4.Loan & Borrowing......... .3194.
5.Put option liability.........414.
6.Derivative...................0.
Total loan exposure...........10423.

Total shareholder fund.........3363.

Total Assets...................15540

Revemue(Qtr)...................491.

Profits {QTR}...................62

From the above u notice Armada is 2x bigger than yinson, thus Yinson Gearing is not much different from armada.

Posted by Mr Jho Sailang Petron & GCB > Jul 7, 2019 11:11 AM | Report Abuse

but your armada loss making, yinson is profitable leh

Unk

21 posts

Posted by Unk > 2019-07-07 11:26 | Report Abuse

Agreed

Posted by (US/CHN trade war doesn't matter) Philip > Jul 7, 2019 8:09 AM | Report Abuse

And the difference of the loans are the main think that allow ynson to make money and high profit while Armada has to keep taking lousy projects just to do the interest payments for OSV that is sitting at home rusting with no orders (40% utilization rates) and no one willing to buy it.

Unk

21 posts

Posted by Unk > 2019-07-07 11:26 | Report Abuse

Yinson is currently fully valued la, not overvalued

Posted by stockraider > 2019-07-07 11:28 |

Posted by (US/CHN trade war doesn't matter) Philip > 2019-07-07 11:42 | Report Abuse

Stockraider analysis of yinson had so many holes a jumbo jet can fly right through. While raider dream dreaming about his sapura rm3 in 3 years. And his initial analysis of hengyuan worth rm35.

And his initial analysis of dgsb is share price went up from 4.5 cents and jump up to 9 cents in one month.

So how to explain to him his analysis is dead wrong leh? I hope he continue to think this way with his office boy mentality.

His accounting method is so kampung that I feel like want to help him explain part by part like a little boy how to look at balance sheets.

But I have better things to do on a Sunday than waste time with a troll. Let him look at the numbers properly himself.

When stockraider is wrong he will never admit. So wasting time trying correct his analysis. Let him enjoy his own world.

>>>>>>>>>>>>>

Posted by stockraider > Jul 7, 2019 10:49 AM | Report Abuse

Ask yourself yinson is how much overvalue compare to armada, but its balance sheet are still craps leh ??

When there of reckoning come for Yinson, u cry also no tears loh..!!

YINSON IS ACTUALLY HYFLUX IN THE MAKING LOH...!!

Posted by stockraider > 2019-07-07 11:47 | Report Abuse

USE UR BRAIN RIGHT LOH....!!

Do not get it wrong....we are not talking of eps loh....we r saying profit the same mah...!!

same in this case in the latest qtr Armada make Rm 62m n yinson make Rm 62m profit mah..!!

THIS HOW U MAKE MONIES LOH..!!
"But..but...Armada mkt cap Rm 1b v Yinson Mkt cap Rm 7b woh....!!"

Big appreciation opportunity for armada loh...!

Posted by Mr Jho Sailang Petron & GCB > Jul 7, 2019 11:41 AM | Report Abuse

you lying again where got same, you know how to calculate EPS kah?

EPS = Earnings / Total shares outstanding

if one company has 1 billion shares, make 10 million profit also, EPS is 1 cents , but another company has 10 million shares and 10 million profit , EPS is 100 cents or RM 1.00, where got same?

you think i young and dumb meh? I am young but not dumb lah

Posted by stockraider > 2019-07-07 11:49 |

14,395 posts

Posted by DickyMe > 2019-07-07 12:16 | Report Abuse

The title explains "A Not So Good Company Selling At Cheap Price Can Be A Good Buy"

Guess, the author suggest never mind fundamental, integrity, competitiveness and relevance of the company in current business environment. The criteria of "cheap" is enough for a GAMBLE. In that case, there are almost 85% companies in KLSE which fits that criteria. So, please gamble because it is cheap.

Posted by stockraider > 2019-07-07 23:32 | Report Abuse

Don get principle wrong loh....!!
It is not gamble mah.....!!
It is intelligent investment with big margin of safety with great prospect of big profit from upside rerating Loh...!!

Posted by DickyMe > Jul 7, 2019 12:16 PM | Report Abuse

The title explains "A Not So Good Company Selling At Cheap Price Can Be A Good Buy"

Guess, the author suggest never mind fundamental, integrity, competitiveness and relevance of the company in current business environment. The criteria of "cheap" is enough for a GAMBLE. In that case, there are almost 85% companies in KLSE which fits that criteria. So, please gamble because it is cheap.

12,847 posts

Posted by 3iii > 2019-07-08 08:09 | Report Abuse

>>>

>>>>

Thanks for highlighting.

Posted by qqq3 > 2019-07-08 08:55 | Report Abuse

=========

contrarian plays are for the pros.

14,395 posts

Posted by DickyMe > 2019-07-08 09:57 | Report Abuse

One who sells dignity, ethics and moral values in exchange of money are also called "pros".

12,847 posts

Posted by 3iii > 2019-07-08 10:55 | Report Abuse

A good company deserves a higher valuation. It is possible that you paid a slightly higher price than you wanted to pay for the stock, which lowers your overall rate of return, but time is on your side and your long holding time minimizes the impact of the higher purchase price to your overall return. Also, you will always find the opportunity to add to your position at lower valuations, though not necessarily at lower prices.

Deep value investing investors need to be cautious and aware of this approach's inherent problems. Those companies dropping and appearing in the deep-bargain screener probably deserved to be traded by low valuations. Their stock prices were likely low for the right reasons, and buying these would likely have resulted in steep losses.

Posted by Icon8888 > 2019-07-08 10:59 | Report Abuse

both my detractors and supporters, we come back again in one year and see whether Armada is more than 22 sen

time will tell who is Warren Buffett who is Moron Buffalo

argue so much no use

lurhays

182 posts

Posted by lurhays > 2019-07-08 11:07 | Report Abuse

i thinks it's not about good or bad company and it's not about buying actually... just a lower price stock is good for trader gain fast profit in more quantities shares in hand to gain in single movement uptrend per day...

Posted by stockraider > 2019-07-08 11:17 |

Posted by qqq3 > 2019-07-08 11:21 | Report Abuse

lurhays > Jul 8, 2019 11:07 AM | Report Abuse

i thinks it's not about good or bad company and it's not about buying actually... just a lower price stock is good for trader gain fast profit in more quantities shares in hand to gain in single movement uptrend per day...
======

I can support that.

Posted by Icon8888 > 2019-07-08 11:29 | Report Abuse

without sochais like 3iii and Philips that cannot differentiate good buys from good companies, when will we have chance to make money ?

we should welcome their existence

12,847 posts

Posted by 3iii > 2019-07-08 12:17 |

Posted by stockraider > 2019-07-08 12:26 |

12,847 posts

Posted by 3iii > 2019-07-08 13:11 | Report Abuse

>>>

Posted by stockraider > Jul 8, 2019 12:26 PM | Report Abuse

I thought u r the real SOHAI....!!

>>>>

Alright, what raider is pointing out is he is the smart ass.

Investing requires the qualities of temperament way more than it requires qualities of intellect.

Posted by MahjongAuntie > 2019-07-08 14:27 | Report Abuse

Its not being evaluated in such a way. Different price offer of different company cannot determine which one is better off than one another

Posted by stockraider > 2019-07-09 23:00 | Report Abuse

Posted by Mabel > Jul 8, 2019 12:03 AM | Report Abuse

So it's pretty clear that Armada is oversold and Yinson has done a great job selling perception.

Let's give this train until end of this year and look for the thing that was advice earlier...

For this coming Quarter Report, we should be looking at 4 things:

1) Profit growth
2) Debt reduction with cashflow generated
3) Restructuring of ST debt to LT debt
4) Impairment reversal as highlight by stockraider.

At this rate with 0.3x P/B, I would say very limited downside risks for Princess Armada.

With the latest data we received from stockraider, I'm beginning to believe that it's not going to be gradual climb. It will rocket like KNM..

Hence either you HOLD or accumulate when the trading starts tomorrow.

Posted by stockraider > 2019-07-09 23:02 | Report Abuse

FOR ARMADA THE FOLLOWING ARE THE GOOD NEWS;

1) Debt has been restructured from ST to LT
2) Kraken is improving
3) Significant OPEX cost reduction
4) Winning the huge ONGC contract
5) Profit is expected to grow next the next few quaters

AT THE MOMENT ARMADA OUTSTANDING ORDER BOOKS RM 21B LOH...!!

Posted by stockraider > 2019-07-09 23:05 | Report Abuse

Correctloh...opportunity to collect cheap cheap loh...!!

Without epf dumping, u cannot collect cheap cheap mah...!!

Once dumping over, shoot up like rocket mah...!!

Posted by InvestorKING > Jul 9, 2019 7:01 PM | Report Abuse

Be careful EPF will have big dumping soon....

Posted by stockraider > 2019-07-09 23:06 | Report Abuse

U don understand loh....!!

It depend on whether oil major commit on business expansion and capex loh....!! They decide on their business plan on long term basis about 5 yrs ahead and commit & implement way ahead of oil price movement mah.....!!

But armada order books in Rm 21 billion todate, that means revenue generation no problem for armada loh....!!

Good prospect & strong turnaround play for armada mah...!!

Posted by SuperPanda > Jul 9, 2019 8:17 PM | Report Abuse

pearlwhite has a point on the debt vs profit, you cant the deny some of the facts she brought up

thats why its very important to note the recovery for o&g company like armada is all depends on oil market

if oil market continue in slump anytime from now towards next year, then most o&g not only in msia but across the globe will be dead

Posted by stockraider > 2019-07-12 10:06 | Report Abuse

ARMADA IS ANOTHER CLASSIC INVESTMENT BASED ON MARGIN OF SAFETY LOH..!!

IN ARMADA CASE THE INVESTMENT ANCHOR ARE ;

1. TUNAROUND PLAY
2. HUGE NTA DISCOUNT
3. STRONG EARNINGS RECOVERY LOH...!!

ARMADA IS MUCH BIGGER COMPANY THAN YINSON AND ITS LATEST QTR EARNINGS IS SAME AS YINSON AT RM 62M...BUT YET YINSON IS VALUE AT RM 7.0 BILLION WHEREAS IS ONLY AT RM 1.2 BILLION.

U CAN ACTUALLY TAKE ADVANTAGE OF COMING RERATING OF ARMADA TOO