CIMB GROUP HOLDINGS BERHAD

KLSE (MYR): CIMB (1023)

21 people like this.

18,525 comment(s). Last comment by Mabel 2 days ago

BN_better

991 posts

Posted by BN_better > 2020-07-21 12:15 | Report Abuse

Najib: Extend moratorium for the sake of borrowers
https://www.thestar.com.my/news/nation/2020/07/17/najib-extend-moratorium-for-the-sake-of-borrowers

Posted by stockraider > 2020-07-21 14:04 | Report Abuse

What is the problem leh ??

Just approach the bank & ask for their help loh...!!
Justify your case mah...!

If your case is hopeless better to sell & foreclose instead of dragging & wasting time & money loh...!!

Posted by BN_better > Jul 21, 2020 12:15 PM | Report Abuse

Najib: Extend moratorium for the sake of borrowers
https://www.thestar.com.my/news/nation/2020/07/17/najib-extend-morator...

NewbiesJC

77 posts

Posted by NewbiesJC > 2020-07-21 17:48 | Report Abuse

Fantastic

getingreal

405 posts

Posted by getingreal > 2020-07-21 18:20 | Report Abuse

Najib: He should bring out a billion or two of the money he is reputed to have stolen and support the poor BMW owners with their HP payments. Maybe sell a few handbags to support a few landlords with their three or four houses mortgage payments as well.

stkoay

6,466 posts

Posted by stkoay > 2020-07-23 17:09 | Report Abuse

Posted by kinuxian > Jul 23, 2020 10:21 AM | Report Abuse

Surprisingly, Maybank IB research had high TP 4.45.

---------------------------------------------------------------------

Any link to the research report?

Thanks.

stkoay

6,466 posts

Posted by stkoay > 2020-07-23 21:56 | Report Abuse

Thanks for sharing, DeepValueInvestor.

Moon1668

70 posts

Posted by Moon1668 > 2020-07-24 09:26 | Report Abuse

Where are all the Shin ka, everyone so quiet today. How come?

choysun

4,394 posts

Posted by choysun > 2020-07-25 08:34 | Report Abuse

@Moon1668 What shin ka? Who did what and bring who to Holland? :p

Moon1668

70 posts

Posted by Moon1668 > 2020-07-27 09:15 | Report Abuse

No use pointing fingers, the shin ka in this forum are very fierce. Anyway, have to buy some popcorn to enjoy the forum.
Peace everybody.

Jason85

652 posts

Posted by Jason85 > 2020-07-28 00:58 | Report Abuse

I still though Cimb will be rm3.30 again

Posted by andrewlow22 > 2020-07-28 07:02 | Report Abuse

CIMB is an ED stock. ED = erectile dysfunction. 阳痿股

masterus

3,600 posts

Posted by masterus > 2020-07-28 11:33 | Report Abuse

As covid-19 moratorium nearly ended. How to do? Gold price is now very high. If holded gold, dump it for cash to rescue ourselves after covid-19 moratorium end.

mobidick

131 posts

Posted by mobidick > 2020-07-28 15:51 | Report Abuse

The optimism is this discussion is too high in my opinion. Cimb revenue is projected to drop by around 3-4% and its profitability is also in high risk of double digit drop. Ending of moratorium is when we can really see how badly affected is the NPL. Im not holding my breath, Banks whole sector is re-rated downward but we can see some banks price recovering but not cimb, why?

Posted by DeepValueInvestor > 2020-07-28 21:54 | Report Abuse

@mobidick
NPLs are expected to reach 1.7%-1.8% this year according to source 1, which is about the same as the NPL ratio in 2013. Lets assume it is worse than predicted (assume 2-3%), which is about the same ratio in 2011-2012.

Banks still functioned quite well at these ratios in the past. Average NPL for the world is 5.06% (source 2).

IMO, loan moratorium hurts banks the most (Instantly wipe out banks' interest income (main income, especially for commercial bank) for 6 months, so Q2 and Q3 financials are going to be very bad); NPL loss is too insignificant compared to moratorium. Once the moratorium is over, the banks' income (especially commercial) will normalise. IMO, this is the perfect opportunity to buy low and hold forever.

I cant deny that the share price might go lower when people see the Q2 and Q3 financials. However, I cant predict the direction in the short term. Buying every dip with my monthly income is my strategy. I am confident that once moratorium is over, banks' financials will normalise (Q4 financials will be spectacular when compared to Q2 and Q3)

https://www.theedgemarkets.com/article/sp-npls-rise-malaysian-banks-political-uncertainty-adds-covid19-blow#:~:text=KUALA%20LUMPUR%20(March%205)%3A,banks%20amid%20challenging%20operating%20conditions.&text=%E2%80%9CWe%20now%20expect%20NPLs%20to,%2C%202019%2C%E2%80%9D%20she%20said.

https://www.theglobaleconomy.com/Malaysia/nonperforming_loans/

Posted by fisherman11 > 2020-07-29 12:24 | Report Abuse

Collect at drop and sell at rise or collect at drop and still collect at rise and sell even higher.

I agree with @DeepValueInvestor

At this price and lower, I am just going to keep accumulating.

limkokthye

6,039 posts

Posted by limkokthye > 2020-07-29 13:18 | Report Abuse

cimb tp 2.70

limkokthye

6,039 posts

Posted by limkokthye > 2020-07-29 14:20 | Report Abuse

keong gan liao, after pm announcement, cimb keong gan d

Posted by DeepValueInvestor > 2020-07-29 14:47 | Report Abuse

@limkokthye, I concur. If pm extends moratorium, not only banks, whole Malaysia economy keong gan d. Because banks will no longer lend

Posted by DeepValueInvestor > 2020-07-29 15:15 | Report Abuse

Only targeted extension.
- Only the unemployed doesnt need to pay for another 3 months.
- Those who suffer reduction in salary will get reduction in loan repayment.

So in summary, most people will have to continue paying as 87% of the unemployed return to work already.
I was going to dump all shares if moratorium is to be extended. Now, can continue to collect safely.

Posted by DeepValueInvestor > 2020-07-29 16:19 | Report Abuse

@kinuxian, true. However, take a look at the past data. NPL really does not affect banks as much as the public thinks. Perfect timing to collect if you follow deep value investing approach: collecting undervalued stocks when no people are paying attention to the counter
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
NPLs are expected to reach 1.7%-1.8% this year according to source 1, which is about the same as the NPL ratio in 2013. Lets assume it is worse than predicted (assume 2-3%), which is about the same ratio in 2011-2012.

Banks still functioned quite well at these ratios in the past. Average NPL for the world is 5.06% (source 2).

IMO, loan moratorium hurts banks the most (Instantly wipe out banks' interest income (main income, especially for commercial bank) for 6 months, so Q2 and Q3 financials are going to be very bad); NPL loss is too insignificant compared to moratorium. Once the moratorium is over, the banks' income (especially commercial) will normalise. IMO, this is the perfect opportunity to buy low and hold forever.

I cant deny that the share price might go lower when people see the Q2 and Q3 financials. However, I cant predict the direction in the short term. Buying every dip with my monthly income is my strategy. I am confident that once moratorium is over, banks' financials will normalise (Q4 financials will be spectacular when compared to Q2 and Q3)

https://www.theedgemarkets.com/article/sp-npls-rise-malaysian-banks-po....

https://www.theglobaleconomy.com/Malaysia/nonperforming_loans/

kyliew

1,397 posts

Posted by kyliew > 2020-07-29 19:33 | Report Abuse

bank sector will bounce stronger in 2021.... just put invest

JacLow

358 posts

Posted by JacLow > 2020-07-29 19:50 | Report Abuse

Need extend means many cannot pay. Waiting any opr drop.

kyliew

1,397 posts

Posted by kyliew > 2020-07-29 20:25 | Report Abuse

Bursa Top 30, if u sort by 3-year past performance, CIMB, Genting, GenM are among those worst performed stocks. just buy and keep for 2-3 years and it will double in value.

PeterPan

1,580 posts

Posted by PeterPan > 2020-07-29 22:12 | Report Abuse

Just buy and walk away

aliyusof

1,393 posts

Posted by aliyusof > 2020-07-30 05:29 | Report Abuse

Kinuxian: your explanation above on effects of moratorium and related modification loss most rational and clear so far! Thanks

Plantermen

2,238 posts

Posted by Plantermen > 2020-07-30 09:01 | Report Abuse

Yesterday Muhyiddin {PM} targeted approach on loan extension come with strings of conditions unlike previous across the board. Impact will be very limited and only a few can qualified

masterus

3,600 posts

Posted by masterus > 2020-07-30 12:15 | Report Abuse

U.S. dollar is on edge of losing its position of world's reserve currency as inflation concern in the U.S. is growing. /Reuters

masterus

3,600 posts

Posted by masterus > 2020-07-30 13:30 | Report Abuse

Physical gold demand drops 11% in Q2 even with record ETF buying
Neils Christensen Neils Christensen
Thursday July 30, 2020 24:02

masterus

3,600 posts

Posted by masterus > 2020-07-30 13:32 | Report Abuse

BANGKOK, July 24 (The Nation/ANN): Like the situation in Laos, Thai gold shops are seeing a surge in customers after prices for the precious metal hit new highs of over Bt28,000 per baht weight for gold bar and over Bt28,500 per baht weight for gold ornament.

The record prices have sent people flocking to gold shops in Bangkok’s Yaowarat area to sell their jewellery and ornaments, the Gold Traders Association reports.

Jeffreyteck

4,247 posts

Posted by Jeffreyteck > 2020-07-30 16:16 | Report Abuse

Still well supported, not bad.

RedEagle

3,194 posts

Posted by RedEagle > 2020-07-30 19:20 | Report Abuse

Modification Loss Impairment

limkokthye

6,039 posts

Posted by limkokthye > 2020-08-01 00:20 | Report Abuse

tp 2.70

Posted by stockraider > 2020-08-01 11:46 | Report Abuse

U will surprise that cimb will surge when close to qtr result despite of bad earnings loh...!!

Posted by CakapSohaiThings > 2020-08-01 21:56 | Report Abuse

Jeffreyteck Still well supported, not bad.

Someone was pushing it up. For the past 2 business days, about the 20% of the total daily volume was transacted at 4.50pm, forming 2 bottoming tail signal (dragonfly doji).

kyliew

1,397 posts

Posted by kyliew > 2020-08-02 14:23 | Report Abuse

bank sector, no matter how, the country needs it. this bank doesn't belong at this price.

Posted by stockraider > 2020-08-02 14:27 | Report Abuse

U need to understand digital bank loh...!!

A digital bank without the ability to manage & allocate the bank resources & lend prudently will not able to carry the bank far loh..!!

A digital bank...without the ability to risk manage & lend, are of no threat to traditional bank like CIMB mah....!!

freddiehero

16,722 posts

Posted by freddiehero > 2020-08-02 16:28 | Report Abuse

Apa itu.. no far different LA.. bank also digital bank, digital bank also bank MA.. aiya Apa sudah oh

IvanC

669 posts

Posted by IvanC > 2020-08-03 11:31 | Report Abuse

Check back history, i post on early May, cimb no good. Glove counter still got 3 months trend. That time got die hard cimb fans attack me. haha.

Posted by alwayspositive > 2020-08-03 11:59 | Report Abuse

knee jerk reaction due to the loan moratorium extension announcement.... sotong bank is one of the most undervalued right now

getingreal

405 posts

Posted by getingreal > 2020-08-03 12:46 | Report Abuse

With the Govt. treating banks like charitable institutions to buy themselves votes, then sorry to say its time to run.

Posted by CakapSohaiThings > 2020-08-03 13:34 | Report Abuse

@IvanC. Cant deny that the gloves' appreciation are way better than the banks (and the entire market) because people are selling all other counters to join the gloves hype, making a lot of the counters in the market significantly undervalued right now.

When the crocs are done distributing and when the retailers need to start paying loan after Sept 30, at the current prices, the gloves depreciation will be messy. At most, glove counters will only last for another 2 months.

Veloster

30 posts

Posted by Veloster > 2020-08-03 13:57 | Report Abuse

ambank tp3.30

Veloster

30 posts

Posted by Veloster > 2020-08-03 13:58 | Report Abuse

any price below 3.30 consider a good buy cheers :)

julian1981

900 posts

Posted by julian1981 > 2020-08-03 15:46 | Report Abuse

TP2.7.shit counter, sell .

mobidick

131 posts

Posted by mobidick > 2020-08-03 17:32 | Report Abuse

I think NPL around 5-6%. Any lower is far too optimistic. KLCI is also not moving because ppl is merely moving funds out of different counter and into gloves and healthcare related. You can see this happening by looking at utility and communication company. Kena shoot down really bad.
Pass 2 week indices are only green on 2 category healthcare and technology, others bright red.
Also dont be too fast to step aside npl, it can go really bad if banks force to consider it as impairment. God knows when can recover impairment for defaulted loan, presumably never.

I have no more holdings on cimb as of last month, but i will keep in watchlist because banks is primary growth indicator of economy but to anyone recommending to collect now, pls dont. Earning reduction is for sure for Q3 maybe even Q4, so down can go even lower, why would you recommend something so risky.

Posted by WarrenPuffet > 2020-08-04 09:03 | Report Abuse

If a bank is consider risky counter then more than 90% of the counter is super high risk bro. Maybe you shouldn't say it risky, instead the banking line will not perform very well in coming few months.