MALAYAN BANKING BHD

KLSE (MYR): MAYBANK (1155)

+0.01 (0.10%)

9.76 - 9.81

38 people like this.

22,625 comment(s). Last comment by prudentinvestor 18 hours ago

linges

2,689 posts

Posted by linges > 2023-03-11 20:19 | Report Abuse

Exactly @pang72…young bloods understandable will tends to gamble..but if after 40s still gambling and never to starts to invest..tu sudah chronic case ready..

masterus

3,533 posts

Posted by masterus > 2023-03-12 14:44 | Report Abuse

Contagion spreads: Desperate customers line up outside First Republic Bank to take their money out - after SVB bank collapsed and sent shockwaves through market

https://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-11849049/Customers-line-outside-Republic-Bank-money-SVB-bank-collapsed.html?ito=facebook_share_article-top

masterus

3,533 posts

Posted by masterus > 2023-03-12 14:45 | Report Abuse

Contagion spreads: Desperate customers line up outside First Republic Bank to take their money out - after SVB bank collapsed and sent shockwaves through market

First Republic Bank customers lined up to withdraw their money Saturday

This comes a day after the collapse of Silicon Valley Bank on Friday
Both banks are associated with California's wine and tech industries

Posted by i3lurker > 2023-03-12 14:51 | Report Abuse

Its 100% true
coz once interest rates goes up, then old Treasury bills could even less than halve their old values, bankrupting all repeat ALL US Banks immediately.

I am still waiting for Bank Negara to increase interest rates to bankrupt all Malaysian Banks.
Do you think it will happen?
Is Bank Negara that stupeeed?

Yawn !!!

TanDavid88

1,077 posts

Posted by TanDavid88 > 2023-03-12 14:51 | Report Abuse

All banks in Malaysia are performing well, BNM is doing a good job.

stkoay

5,862 posts

Posted by stkoay > 2023-03-12 15:42 | Report Abuse

NEW YORK, March 11 — The surprisingly rapid implosion of Silicon Valley Bank (SVB) has markets jittery over a potential sign of widespread turmoil, but analysts see only a limited risk of financial contagion.

SVB’s woes are the result of “idiosyncratic stresses and not one that we see as systemic that would affect the banking industry,” said CFRA Research’s Ken Leon, saying stricter US regulations enacted after the 2008 financial crisis have helped contain trouble.

A note from analysts at Morgan Stanley put it simply, saying, “We want to be very clear here ... we do not believe there is a liquidity crunch facing the banking industry, and most banks in our coverage have ample access to liquidity.”

Treasury Secretary Janet Yellen described the US banking sector as “resilient,” while Cecilia Rouse, chair of the White House Council of Economic Advisers, also cited US reforms in arguing disaster would be averted.

“Our banking system is in a fundamentally different place than it was a decade ago,” Rouse said yesterday at a White House briefing.

Following the 2008 demise of Lehman Brothers and the ensuing financial meltdown, US regulators required major banks to hold additional capital in case of trouble. US and European authorities also organise regular “stress tests” designed to uncover vulnerabilities at the largest banks.

Following SVB’s disclosure on Wednesday, investors punished the banking sector in total on Thursday. But by yesterday, shares in some larger banks posted gains.

https://www.malaymail.com/news/money/2023/03/11/analysts-say-svbs-demise-a-sign-of-worry-but-limited-contagion-risk/59077

yesAH

14 posts

Posted by yesAH > 2023-03-12 17:24 | Report Abuse

Elon Musk is ‘open to the idea’ of buying Silicon Valley Bank

https://sg.finance.yahoo.com/news/elon-musk-open-idea-buying-200617653.html

25,079 posts

Posted by speakup > 2023-03-12 17:28 | Report Abuse

Yah ke? Besok limit up?

masterus

3,533 posts

Posted by masterus > 2023-03-12 21:15 | Report Abuse

Signature Bank Down 22.87% as 2 Banks Collapse in as Many Days

zhen wei & JP

1,169 posts

Posted by zhen wei & JP > 2023-03-12 22:39 | Report Abuse

May need to withdraw some fund to cover NYSE losses.

25,079 posts

Posted by speakup > 2023-03-12 22:41 | Report Abuse

u panic sell, mbb hardcore supporters will punish u kaw kaw (in the longer term)

masterus

3,533 posts

Posted by masterus > 2023-03-13 05:34 | Report Abuse

Working to address SVB collapse, but not looking at bailout, says Yellen

REUTERS

Cslee1215

427 posts

Posted by Cslee1215 > 2023-03-13 09:08 | Report Abuse

SVB tutup, get ur bullet ready lor.

nicholas99

9,844 posts

Posted by nicholas99 > 2023-03-13 09:10 | Report Abuse

SVB. gg.

25,079 posts

Posted by speakup > 2023-03-13 09:10 | Report Abuse

Maybank ada exposure kat SVB ke? Kalau rak, kenapa panic sell?

nicholas99

9,844 posts

Posted by nicholas99 > 2023-03-13 09:11 | Report Abuse

elon musk word cannot trust. last time buy twitter also ding dong so long.

LossAversion

1,684 posts

Posted by LossAversion > 2023-03-13 09:11 | Report Abuse

pick-up MBB again for next round/future dividends. Today exdate/collect dividends

25,079 posts

Posted by speakup > 2023-03-13 09:24 | Report Abuse

Ini kalilah

Posted by prudentinvestor > 2023-03-13 09:50 | Report Abuse

Wow! Maybank is still up 4 sen despite failures of two US banks. As it always does on the day when it trades ex-dividend, trending upwards.

YouWin

248 posts

Posted by YouWin > 2023-03-13 10:22 | Report Abuse

Rich people are withdrawing money from Malaysia bank now because their money excess the PIDF protect limit

YouWin

248 posts

Posted by YouWin > 2023-03-13 10:24 | Report Abuse

Financial disaster is coming

YouWin

248 posts

Posted by YouWin > 2023-03-13 10:28 | Report Abuse

Correction##PIDM not pidf

Posted by prudentinvestor > 2023-03-13 10:34 | Report Abuse

"Financial disaster is coming"
Better withdraw all your money from the banks and keep cash at home.

Posted by goldenegg454 > 2023-03-13 10:43 | Report Abuse

maybank is strong and stable

YouWin

248 posts

Posted by YouWin > 2023-03-13 10:48 | Report Abuse

*Chatgbt answer*

Protecting Money with PIDM.

If I have 100 million ringgit, what should do to get all the money protected by pidm Malaysia

If you have 100 million ringgit and want to protect your money through PIDM (Perbadanan Insurans Deposit Malaysia), there are several things you can do:

Open accounts in multiple banks: PIDM covers up to RM250,000 per depositor per member institution. By opening accounts in multiple banks, you can spread out your deposits and ensure that each account is covered up to the maximum insured amount.

Check if the bank is a PIDM member: Not all banks in Malaysia are PIDM members. Before opening an account, check if the bank is a PIDM member to ensure that your deposits are covered.

Keep your deposits within the insured limit: If you have more than RM250,000 to deposit, consider spreading out your deposits across multiple banks to ensure that each deposit is within the insured limit.

Keep your account information updated: Make sure that your account information with the bank is accurate and up-to-date. This will help PIDM to identify your deposits in the event of a bank failure.

Understand PIDM's coverage: It is important to understand the scope and limitations of PIDM's coverage. PIDM covers deposits in savings, current, fixed deposit, and foreign currency accounts. However, PIDM does not cover investments such as stocks, bonds, and mutual funds.

It's important to note that PIDM coverage is not a guarantee that you will receive all of your money in the event of a bank failure. In some cases, you may receive less than the insured amount depending on the bank's financial position and the amount of deposits held by other depositors.

Posted by prudentinvestor > 2023-03-13 11:28 | Report Abuse

Totally no sign that rich people are withdrawing money from the banks as claimed by someone as is evidenced by the performance of bank counters this morning.

25,079 posts

Posted by speakup > 2023-03-13 11:48 | Report Abuse

Ya withdraw from bank and put money under your bed. Tomorrow get robbed, all gone. Smart move dude!

anthonytkh

1,802 posts

Posted by anthonytkh > 2023-03-13 11:52 | Report Abuse

She won :)

YouWin

248 posts

Posted by YouWin > 2023-03-13 11:57 | Report Abuse

250k USD insured by America FDIC , Malaysia PIDM only insured 250k rinngit

25,079 posts

Posted by speakup > 2023-03-13 12:01 | Report Abuse

Of course Ringgit lor. Our currency is not Dollar mah

YouWin

248 posts

Posted by YouWin > 2023-03-13 12:03 | Report Abuse

Is 250k a fixed number to all countries? Imagine you only got 250k protection in Indonesia lol lol

Posted by prudentinvestor > 2023-03-13 12:28 | Report Abuse

You are so rich, I don't even have RM10,000 in the banks!

LossAversion

1,684 posts

Posted by LossAversion > 2023-03-13 12:30 | Report Abuse

@prudentinvestor, no cash in bank is ok as long as there are many other valuable assets!

linges

2,689 posts

Posted by linges > 2023-03-13 12:52 | Report Abuse

anyone was not happy with 30sen div..boleh jual today for extra 6sen DIY div.. :)

masterus

3,533 posts

Posted by masterus > 2023-03-13 12:58 | Report Abuse

Joint Statement by the Department of the Treasury, Federal Reserve, and FDIC
March 12, 2023

WASHINGTON, DC -- The following statement was released by Secretary of the Treasury Janet L. Yellen, Federal Reserve Board Chair Jerome H. Powell, and FDIC Chairman Martin J. Gruenberg:

Today we are taking decisive actions to protect the U.S. economy by strengthening public confidence in our banking system. This step will ensure that the U.S. banking system continues to perform its vital roles of protecting deposits and providing access to credit to households and businesses in a manner that promotes strong and sustainable economic growth.

After receiving a recommendation from the boards of the FDIC and the Federal Reserve, and consulting with the President, Secretary Yellen approved actions enabling the FDIC to complete its resolution of Silicon Valley Bank, Santa Clara, California, in a manner that fully protects all depositors. Depositors will have access to all of their money starting Monday, March 13. No losses associated with the resolution of Silicon Valley Bank will be borne by the taxpayer.

We are also announcing a similar systemic risk exception for Signature Bank, New York, New York, which was closed today by its state chartering authority. All depositors of this institution will be made whole. As with the resolution of Silicon Valley Bank, no losses will be borne by the taxpayer.

masterus

3,533 posts

Posted by masterus > 2023-03-13 12:58 | Report Abuse

Shareholders and certain unsecured debtholders will not be protected. Senior management has also been removed. Any losses to the Deposit Insurance Fund to support uninsured depositors will be recovered by a special assessment on banks, as required by law.

Finally, the Federal Reserve Board on Sunday announced it will make available additional funding to eligible depository institutions to help assure banks have the ability to meet the needs of all their depositors.

masterus

3,533 posts

Posted by masterus > 2023-03-13 12:59 | Report Abuse

The U.S. banking system remains resilient and on a solid foundation, in large part due to reforms that were made after the financial crisis that ensured better safeguards for the banking industry. Those reforms combined with today’s actions demonstrate our commitment to take the necessary steps to ensure that depositors’ savings remain safe.

linges

2,689 posts

Posted by linges > 2023-03-13 13:06 | Report Abuse

So fast US Fed taking action to avoid crash in today opening..ha ha..let watch market acceptance..

masterus

3,533 posts

Posted by masterus > 2023-03-13 13:16 | Report Abuse

Goldman analysts no longer expect Fed rate hike in March after SVB failure
Reuters

RWG

1,051 posts

Posted by RWG > 2023-03-13 13:28 | Report Abuse

svb so big also can collapse, maybank anytime also same as svb

25,079 posts

Posted by speakup > 2023-03-13 13:46 | Report Abuse

It's relative lah.
For largest Malaysian bank Maybank to collase, is like largest USA bank JP Morgan to collapse!
SVB in USA collapse is like Agrobank in Malaysia

simon_nick

129 posts

Posted by simon_nick > 2023-03-13 14:01 | Report Abuse

Aiks, this round Maybank didn't offer DRP?

Posted by prudentinvestor > 2023-03-13 14:55 | Report Abuse

"svb so big also can collapse, maybank anytime also same as svb"
Maybank has been paying yearly dividends in excess of 50 sen a share for over 12 years. Bank failures elsewhere don't mean that local banks would be affected. You really lack economic knowledge.

Posted by invest8912 > 2023-03-13 15:13 | Report Abuse

Maybank won't collapse. But what happened in US and Europe affect a lot of companies. A more likely scenario is provision for bad debts going up and dividend slashed.

nicholas99

9,844 posts

Posted by nicholas99 > 2023-03-13 15:14 | Report Abuse

美国加利福尼亚州汐谷银行倒闭两天后,美监管机构星期天(3月12日)宣布再关闭总部位于纽约的签名银行,成为美国历史上第三大银行倒闭事件。

综合多家美媒消息,纽约监管机构以“系统性风险”为由,宣布关闭签名银行(Signature Bank)。美国财政部、美联储和联邦储蓄保险公司发表联合声明称,关闭该银行的举措是为了防止银行业危机持续蔓延。

监管机构任命美国联邦存款保险公司(FDIC)为接管人,负责处置签名银行的资产,并承诺自星期一(13日)起,储户可获得最高25万美元的保额(约34万新元)。

但据说高达九成以上的账户存款都超过这个数字,专家预测,美国其他银行星期一或出现全面挤兑。

这是美国历史上第三大银行倒闭案,仅次于在2008年金融危机中倒闭的华盛顿互助银行(Washington Mutual)。

nicholas99

9,844 posts

Posted by nicholas99 > 2023-03-13 15:15 | Report Abuse

second bank gg.. i can smell recession

nicholas99

9,844 posts

Posted by nicholas99 > 2023-03-13 15:16 | Report Abuse

Signature Bank becomes next casualty of banking turmoil after SVB

linges

2,689 posts

Posted by linges > 2023-03-13 15:20 | Report Abuse

this SVB not even in any top US Finance Sectors ETFs holdings eg SPDR, Vanguard…hmmm no comment..

nicholas99

9,844 posts

Posted by nicholas99 > 2023-03-13 15:26 | Report Abuse

chain effect..

1invest1

1,467 posts

Posted by 1invest1 > 2023-03-13 15:29 | Report Abuse

stkoay,
In the future, may switch fr PBB to MBB.
Tiger offers much higher div.
PBB cap appreciation higher but take too long
May join stkoay & choysun club.