MALAYAN BANKING BHD

KLSE (MYR): MAYBANK (1155)

+0.01 (0.10%)

9.76 - 9.81

38 people like this.

22,629 comment(s). Last comment by jeffchan1901 17 minutes ago

Noni

668 posts

Posted by Noni > 2023-03-07 22:50 | Report Abuse

Wonderful

linges

2,689 posts

Posted by linges > 2023-03-08 15:50 | Report Abuse

Aiseh..why huge block 8.67-8.65…blocking my 8.62 queue..

LuoLi

1,430 posts

Posted by LuoLi > 2023-03-08 15:55 | Report Abuse

@linges

Im blocking you at 8.65…

linges

2,689 posts

Posted by linges > 2023-03-08 15:59 | Report Abuse

Ha ha..

linges

2,689 posts

Posted by linges > 2023-03-08 16:47 | Report Abuse

Today batch pun beli @ 8.68 also..closing price might go up..

linges

2,689 posts

Posted by linges > 2023-03-08 17:13 | Report Abuse

Hopefully..tomolo would be my last batch before ex-date…

Posted by nelsonlimpy > 2023-03-08 17:21 | Report Abuse

OPR increase?

Amazonboy

767 posts

Posted by Amazonboy > 2023-03-08 18:14 | Report Abuse

OPR decision march 9

Mabel

23,214 posts

Posted by Mabel > 2023-03-09 15:13 | Report Abuse

8.65 tough to get..

8.69 and 8.68 no problem

Now looking forward for the Dividend

LuoLi

1,430 posts

Posted by LuoLi > 2023-03-09 15:46 | Report Abuse

8.69 cannot get today…

Wait for tomolo last chance

linges

2,689 posts

Posted by linges > 2023-03-09 15:46 | Report Abuse

today highest volume @ 8.71..let see closing boleh dpt below 8.70..

i3gambler

659 posts

Posted by i3gambler > 2023-03-09 15:53 | Report Abuse

Sold all my MAYBANK and switched to RHBBANK.

Amazonboy

767 posts

Posted by Amazonboy > 2023-03-09 16:04 | Report Abuse

Big mistake...rhb div only in june long wait...maybank div paid on march 24? Easy decision

Posted by prudentinvestor > 2023-03-09 16:08 | Report Abuse

Should have committed fresh money rather than switching counters. Both are good banks.

i3gambler

659 posts

Posted by i3gambler > 2023-03-09 16:27 | Report Abuse

One major reason for switching is Yesterday I read MAYBANK announcement that ASB sold 94.9m shares on 6th March.

Posted by prudentinvestor > 2023-03-09 16:33 | Report Abuse

Hari Raya Puasa is coming and dividend from Maybank isn't sufficient to pay ASB unit holders so it has to raise some money to make unit holders happy.

anthonytkh

1,802 posts

Posted by anthonytkh > 2023-03-09 16:35 | Report Abuse

i3gambler, I can understand your reason but sometimes it’s best to ignore local institutions trading what they invested a long time ago

If you only buy what local institutions buy then you can get burned also. Look at Dialog… I got tired of searching the last time EPF and KWAP sold; they seem to just keep buying. So how? :)

stkoay

5,862 posts

Posted by stkoay > 2023-03-09 16:35 | Report Abuse

KWAP bought 23m of ASB's placement of 94m......meaning BIG institutional funds bought the remaining.....this is positive.....these funds who take up might continue to buy.....and less likely for ASB to sell more in open market.

i3gambler

659 posts

Posted by i3gambler > 2023-03-09 16:44 | Report Abuse

prudentinvestor,

The dividend (in units) were already added to ASB unitholders account on 1st January.
Maybe ASB has to standby cash in case many unitholders want to redeem their units before Hari Raya.

stkoay

5,862 posts

Posted by stkoay > 2023-03-09 16:54 | Report Abuse

Posted by prudentinvestor > 44 minutes ago | Report Abuse

Should have committed fresh money rather than switching counters. Both are good banks.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Agree !

Amazonboy

767 posts

Posted by Amazonboy > 2023-03-09 16:57 | Report Abuse

OPR maintained @2.75 by BNM...tomorrow should be + for banking ctrs

linges

2,689 posts

Posted by linges > 2023-03-09 17:01 | Report Abuse

Agree..institutional transactions not relevant to retailers..sometimes i buy when epf dump..

Posted by AqsadMohamad > 2023-03-09 17:50 | Report Abuse

bagus macam tu. Masalah NPL dikurangkan

Posted by prudentinvestor > 2023-03-09 18:06 | Report Abuse

"OPR maintained @2.75 by BNM...tomorrow should be + for banking ctrs"
But bad for Malaysian Ringgit. It has been dropping against other currencies especially the US and Sing Dollars. Now 1 Sing Dollar = RM3.34 and 1 US$ = RM4.52

Mabel

23,214 posts

Posted by Mabel > 2023-03-09 19:50 | Report Abuse

i3gambler prudentinvestor,

The dividend (in units) were already added to ASB unitholders account on 1st January.
Maybe ASB has to standby cash in case many unitholders want to redeem their units before Hari Raya.
09/03/2023 4:44 PM

That's for ASB1, they also has ASB2 and other AS...

Mabel

23,214 posts

Posted by Mabel > 2023-03-09 19:53 | Report Abuse

i3gambler One major reason for switching is Yesterday I read MAYBANK announcement that ASB sold 94.9m shares on 6th March.
09/03/2023 4:27 PM

https://www.theedgemarkets.com/node/656955

Now PNB is looking to raise RM800 million to sell their Gems if not more, and the divestment is expected to be done via a tender, which closes in April.

PNB is not desperate of cash. They should maintain these precious gems for continuous stream of income. Maybank's profit RM8.2 bil...dividends from this should be hundreds of millions for PNB. The only reason they want cash, is to capitalise on prevailing good price.

Mabel is looking forward for handsome Dividend from Maybank. Currently Maybank is Mabel's biggest holding under Mabel’s Visit Malaysia Year Program. Despite current bearish sentiment in Wall Streets and Bursa, the whole program positive is positive in Mabel’s P&L. Mabel Target Price for Maybank is RM 10.

Meow Meow Meow

linges

2,689 posts

Posted by linges > 2023-03-09 20:15 | Report Abuse

EPF have many investments team and buys at various prices..when epf sells at 8.70..that might be batch bought below 8.00…and may already receive 2-3 times dividends for that batches…

Thus, i never follow epf..as my capital ikan bilis level only..ha ha..

linges

2,689 posts

Posted by linges > 2023-03-10 01:53 | Report Abuse

Ha ha..when epf prank retailers..sell 1-2 millions..then sapu 30 millions before ex-div..

Posted by i3lurker > 2023-03-10 03:26 |

27,854 posts

Posted by mf > 2023-03-10 04:33 | Report Abuse

Dow Jones

Dow Jones Industrial Average

1.66%

Nasdaq

NASDAQ Composite

2.01%

getingreal

404 posts

Posted by getingreal > 2023-03-10 09:29 | Report Abuse

Both the Dow and Nasdaq have flown so high. Punters in the US have forgotten what happened to Icarus.

Posted by prudentinvestor > 2023-03-10 10:13 | Report Abuse

After spending a record $17 billion on shares of Tesla in 2022, individual investors added another $13.6 billion to their total in just the first two months of this year, the Wall Street Journal reported Friday, citing data from Vanda Research.6 days ago
I would say the US market is irrational.

LuoLi

1,430 posts

Posted by LuoLi > 2023-03-10 10:20 | Report Abuse

If today close at 8.70, then Monday ex price is 8.40?

Mabel

23,214 posts

Posted by Mabel > 2023-03-10 10:21 | Report Abuse

Meow Meow Meow

Now RM 8.73 oledi..

getingreal

404 posts

Posted by getingreal > 2023-03-10 11:16 | Report Abuse

As I said 30c Div without any added margin to be made of DRP shares is a substantial drop from last year's 30c with DRP component. Thus, the poor performance of Maybank shares after the announcement. The disappointment was compounded by the reports that the bank is far more profitable than it was last year so expectations were heightened. October Div is not so far over the horizon with an expectation that it will be a catch up and far better than last Octobers Div of 28c (with the added attraction of a DRP). Hopefully the Directors have noted the no so hot market reaction to their 30c without DRP and will make up for it in October. The expectation of a higher than 28c with DRP Div in October may work limit Maybank's fall in share price above the 30c on Monday. As such I think a lot of investors will wait and see.

linges

2,689 posts

Posted by linges > 2023-03-10 15:17 | Report Abuse

Banking usually get hit by DJ and NASDAQ drop..only Maybank green sikit..lain bank semua merah..hope closing abt 8.68..

linges

2,689 posts

Posted by linges > 2023-03-10 15:24 | Report Abuse

bought final batch @ 8.71..happy enjoy 3 kupang dividend to all..bye

anthonytkh

1,802 posts

Posted by anthonytkh > 2023-03-10 16:10 | Report Abuse

Lol Pang bro!

No lah. I don’t approach Big Banks, Big Tech, Big Oil and Big Pharmas (and even Big Gloves) coz they have sufficient reserves/retained earnings. It would be a waste of my time coz they can easily do corporate exercises if they need funds and/or they just make a few phone calls to VVIPs

Not impossible for me to approach them but it is 99.9% improbable they will entertain me

When it comes to banks, I’m only interested in properties they auction off. And even this is super tough coz there are syndicates in court rooms during the auction, argh

===
Anthony,
Do you also approach maybank to sell their asset last one year and being turns down?
So, then you realise maybank hv string financial back then you starts buy in maybank, is this your story for this round?

Posted by LeonardLiong > 2023-03-10 16:24 | Report Abuse

I guess RM8.55 on next Monday (ex-date of dividend)

anthonytkh

1,802 posts

Posted by anthonytkh > 2023-03-10 17:16 | Report Abuse

Pang, the KLSE market will rebound big time this year

The big local institutions recognises how the world market reacts (since they themselves are in the world markets) and, importantly, anticipates a good growth here in Malaysia when it comes to the two most important drivers of the country’s economy : manufacturing and real estate. Both involve the banking industry

Most of the planned IPOs for 2023 have not, to my knowledge, postponed their public offerings “due to adverse market conditions”

Malaysia is on a path under the current administration that is better than what has happened since 2018. Corruption in all forms must be reduced even though it will never be eliminated since it’s impossible

masterus

3,533 posts

Posted by masterus > 2023-03-11 09:43 | Report Abuse

US closes Silicon Valley Bank in biggest collapse since 2008
By AFP
March 11, 2023 @ 8:36am
SANTA CLARA, United States: US regulators pulled the plug on Silicon Valley Bank on Friday in a spectacular move that sent global banking shares into turmoil, as markets fretted over possible contagion from America's biggest banking failure since the 2008 financial crisis.

US authorities swooped in and seized the assets of SVB, a key lender to US startups since the 1980s, after a run on deposits made it no longer tenable for the medium-sized bank to stay afloat on its own.

Little known to the general public, SVB specialised in financing start-ups and had become the 16th largest US bank by assets: at the end of 2022, it had US$209 billion in assets and approximately US$175.4 billion in deposits.

Its demise represents not only the largest bank failure since Washington Mutual in 2008, but also the second largest failure ever for a retail bank in the United States.

masterus

3,533 posts

Posted by masterus > 2023-03-11 09:48 | Report Abuse

MarketWatch

Follow
2-year Treasury yield drops by most since 2008 financial crisis on bank-contagion fears

TrippleZ

1,563 posts

Posted by TrippleZ > 2023-03-11 10:08 | Report Abuse

Habis...

Posted by prudentinvestor > 2023-03-11 12:00 | Report Abuse

Don't worry too much. Lockdown during the pandemic was much, much worse but Maybank continued to perform reasonably well.

linges

2,689 posts

Posted by linges > 2023-03-11 13:23 | Report Abuse

for maybank long-term kaki..every crisis always a top up opportunity..

Posted by prudentinvestor > 2023-03-11 16:30 | Report Abuse

Imagine if you had bought Maybank in late Oct 2020 at around RM7 and kept until today, how much do you think you have already made?

Posted by NatsukoMishima > 2023-03-11 17:13 | Report Abuse

Lehmann brothers crisis 2.0 ! All gamblers will be bankrupt in 2023 ! What a good show ! Enjoy all !

Posted by prudentinvestor > 2023-03-11 17:30 | Report Abuse

Those who bought Maybank shares are investors, not gamblers. Buyers of Dnex shares are gamblers and they will lose their pants.

linges

2,689 posts

Posted by linges > 2023-03-11 20:01 | Report Abuse

Maybank is great example for value investing, dollar-cost-averaging, dividend reinvestment (via DRP or DIY), compounding units (DRP), creating passive income, retirement income planning etc.

To achieve all these, requires clear investment objective and discipline, which may come from gambling’s nightmare experiences.

weekend 2sen :)