MALAYAN BANKING BHD

KLSE (MYR): MAYBANK (1155)

+0.01 (0.10%)

9.76 - 9.81

38 people like this.

22,624 comment(s). Last comment by masterus 2 hours ago

stkoay

5,862 posts

Posted by stkoay > 2023-01-30 19:34 | Report Abuse

https://www.thestar.com.my/business/business-news/2023/01/30/maybank-says-no-financial-impact-from-subscription-to-adani039s-share-offering

"We would like to clarify that there is no financial impact to Maybank as the subscription to Adani Enterprises were client subscriptions and fully-funded by client funds," Maybank told Reuters in an emailed statement.

stkoay

5,862 posts

Posted by stkoay > 2023-01-30 19:40 | Report Abuse

https://www.theedgemarkets.com/node/653446

KUALA LUMPUR (Jan 30): Malayan Banking Bhd (Maybank) said its investment in Adani Enterprises’ secondary share offering were “client subscriptions” and, as such, there won’t be any financial impact to the banking group.

“We are aware of the media reports and we do not respond to speculation. However, we would like to clarify that there is no financial impact to Maybank as the subscription to Adani Enterprises were client subscriptions and fully funded by client funds,” it said in an emailed response to questions from The Edge,

“Due to client confidentiality, we are unable to provide details,” it added.

Maybank’s clarification came after various media reported last week that Maybank Securities was allocated a stake in Adani Enterprises’ US$2.5 billion (RM10.6 billion) secondary share offering.

stkoay

5,862 posts

Posted by stkoay > 2023-01-30 19:43 | Report Abuse

No wonder, last week dropped on Thursday & Friday.

Posted by goldenegg454 > 2023-01-31 18:00 | Report Abuse

maybank share keeps dropping

i told you so....

will carry on to drop even with divdend declaration with more bad news to come

market manipulation....

Posted by prudentinvestor > 2023-01-31 19:30 | Report Abuse

"maybank share keeps dropping
i told you so...."
@goldenegg454, you claimed to have bought Maybank less than three weeks ago at RM8.82. Knowing that it would drop, why did you buy Maybank? You buy a counter when you have the confidence that it is moving up or is about to declare a fat dividend, not when it is about to drop. How to make money this way?

Posted by goldenegg454 > 2023-01-31 20:59 | Report Abuse

market manipulation

when i buy small at 7.50, 8.00, it keeps going up, when i buy big at 8.86 it immediately u-turn and crash

happens everytime, thats why i dun make money, my paper loss 4 figure in weeks now, my loss will definitely grow more. like how maybank went from 10.80 in 2018 to 8.42 in 2020,

put fd better, 4% plus capital guaranteed. learn from my mistake.....

Posted by Steven Chan > 2023-01-31 21:15 | Report Abuse

Learn from all the sifus here. Always make money

Posted by Wellyn Leng > 2023-02-01 09:46 | Report Abuse

can still buy maybank as saving for retirement ?

M55555

944 posts

Posted by M55555 > 2023-02-01 12:13 | Report Abuse

How come can lost money here ? Total DIV payout in 2021 + 2022 = RM1.245 , if buying RM7.50 (now your cost is only RM6.255) Regardless what your entries, as long as you hold long to mid term. you will get 100% return ( depend how long)

Pinky

3,215 posts

Posted by Pinky > 2023-02-01 13:14 | Report Abuse

Hahahahahahahahahaha joke of 2023

Posted by Philip ( buy what you understand) > 2023-02-01 13:30 | Report Abuse

the funny thing if we think about it,

DPS | DY | Payout %
48.00 Cent | 5.75% | 48.61% - PCHEM
57.36 Cent | 6.56% | 85.10% - Maybank

MBB is giving out 85.1% of its profits and can only give 57.36 cents of profits to shareholders, while pchem only gives out half its profits at 48.6% and still pay out 48 cents, the difference is pchem is selling to the entire south east asia while mbb is only allowed to do business mainly in malaysia. Pchem can still grow much much more while pay out a good dividend with more money to spare for growth and is only 66 billion, which is a fraction of the value of its worldwide competitiors with incredible profit margins and lack of competitors. if korea can give 10 year bonuses to its refinery staff, how about pchem?

Posted by prudentinvestor > 2023-02-01 15:59 | Report Abuse

Investors are giving Maybank a higher valuation than Petronas Chem for some reasons. Maybank's earnings over the past 12/13 years has been very consistent, averaging around 70 sen a share. Dividend per share has never dipped below 50 sen, averaging about 56 sen a share. PChem earned only 20 sen share in 2020 and 35 sen in 2019. Its eps exceeded 90 sen in 2021 and I expect it to exceed 90 sen again in 2022, all because of high oil prices. DPS for 2019 was 18 sen and for 2020 was 12 sen. Just can't compare with Maybank.

Posted by prudentinvestor > 2023-02-01 16:31 | Report Abuse

"when i buy small at 7.50, 8.00, it keeps going up, when i buy big at 8.86 it immediately u-turn and crash"
You wrote that you bought Maybank at RM 8.82 a share, not RM8.86 a share. It has only dropped by 8 sen a share and you claimed Maybank has crashed. Dropping to RM7 a share in a matter of days can be considered a crash. Almost 100% of Maybank investors over the past 3 years have made money.

DianaOo1

33 posts

Posted by DianaOo1 > 2023-02-01 16:53 | Report Abuse

He is the only one here who lost money, is broke, failed, bankrupt :))) Degil never listens to sifus here :p

Posted by goldenegg454 > 2023-02-01 20:07 | Report Abuse

sorry hor

i not bankcrupt,

Posted by goldenegg454 > 2023-02-01 20:09 | Report Abuse

yah, thats why next 3 years maybank is going to go lower at least 10%-20%

Posted by goldenegg454 > 2023-02-01 20:10 | Report Abuse

sorry, not broke also, i rhb bank premier, hlb priority

not much, but not broke yet

Posted by goldenegg454 > 2023-02-01 20:14 | Report Abuse

maybe you guys are right, i should ignore the up and down of stock and just contended with the annual divdend

sigh, maybe i more suitable for fd rather than stocks i guess

Posted by goldenegg454 > 2023-02-01 20:18 | Report Abuse

true, drop a few sen is not a crash market,

guess i over reacted yah

Posted by prudentinvestor > 2023-02-01 20:28 | Report Abuse

"yah, thats why next 3 years maybank is going to go lower at least 10%-20%"
@rottenegg454, no one believes in what you wrote. This is only possible if our economy shrinks by 10-20% over the next 3 years.

Posted by goldenegg454 > 2023-02-01 22:05 | Report Abuse

@prudentinvestor, i hope you are right and i am wrong wor

10,345 posts

Posted by Income > 2023-02-01 22:09 | Report Abuse

Hello, I am confused.
Ini Harimau atau ini = Meow meow only???

25,070 posts

Posted by speakup > 2023-02-01 22:14 | Report Abuse

neither
it's a p-u-s-s-y!

skybursa

1,469 posts

Posted by skybursa > 2023-02-02 07:52 | Report Abuse

@goldenegg since your concerns because you betting for lower entry?

25,070 posts

Posted by speakup > 2023-02-02 07:54 | Report Abuse

tak suka? jual lah! nobody forcing u to keep

Posted by LeonardLiong > 2023-02-02 12:02 | Report Abuse

Maybank is more suitable for mid long-term investment. Hard to go in and out

Posted by goldenegg454 > 2023-02-03 14:28 | Report Abuse

maybank fundamental strong with high dividend

good stock to hold for long term, retirement gold

Posted by prudentinvestor > 2023-02-03 22:58 | Report Abuse

@rottenegg454,Two days ago you wrote Maybank would drop by at least 10-20% over the next three years but you changed your mind today, claiming that Maybank is a good long term buy with strong fundamentals and good dividend. How can I trust you?

jeffchan1901

1,319 posts

Posted by jeffchan1901 > 2023-02-04 00:38 | Report Abuse

I dun understand how anyone can lose money in the long term if one subscribes to DRIP. the free shares will slowly but surely reduce average cost of shares lower each time you max your DRIP subscription.

why some investors lose money is bcos they blindly follow so called investing strategy like dollar cost average like what is being told by unit trust agents to their customers. while dollar cost works best in a falling share price, this is not advisable in the rising price scenario (for obvious reasons). At the end of the day its all about averaging down your costs.

99% of those who lose money in stocks are speculators who have knee jerk reaction to small temporary price changes. what goes down will eventually comes up (after a few days - usually la) so no point panic and sell when you will eventually recover. some of the sifus here invested close to a few million ringgit. they are not losing sleep anytime soon so they must be doing something right then, agree?

i3gambler

657 posts

Posted by i3gambler > 2023-02-04 08:14 | Report Abuse

I was the very rare one lost money in MAYBANK lor.

HSPLANT dropped to 1.88 on 19th Jan,
The next day, I sold all my MAYBANK at a loss, and managed to get HSPLANT at 1.90, now it is 1.96.

Anyway, I still like MAYBANK for the reasons:

1) The DRIP is less now, only 0.145 for 2022, Cash Dividend Yield = 0.435 / 8.71 = 5%, it is Good.

2) ASB is for Bumi, for those Non-bumi who are not very good in picking stocks, we can just copy ASB portfolio. Read 2021 Annual Report, its top 5 weights MAYBANK, SIMEPLT, SIME, TENAGA and AXIATA, add up already 40% of ASB portfolio. Easy to copy, MAYBANK weight in ASB was 21.51%, what we need to do, 21.51%*100%/40%= 53.78%, do the same for the other 4 weights. OK liao.

jeffchan1901

1,319 posts

Posted by jeffchan1901 > 2023-02-04 09:06 | Report Abuse

forget about ASN. every year returns drop. while EPF conventional is higher than the Syariah due to ability to invest in Din stocks and hence higher returns, ASN is totally opposite. I am now waiting for April for last dividend before turning over my units.

jeffchan1901

1,319 posts

Posted by jeffchan1901 > 2023-02-04 09:07 | Report Abuse

*Sin

jeffchan1901

1,319 posts

Posted by jeffchan1901 > 2023-02-04 09:08 | Report Abuse

Banking stocks are tied to the country's economy. the more development, the more the bank makes and share price perform. in a recovering economy like ours post Covid. it's a no brainer than MBB among the few are the go to stocks for good returns and investments

jeffchan1901

1,319 posts

Posted by jeffchan1901 > 2023-02-04 09:11 | Report Abuse

only 2 stocks in my portfolio which has similar high returns. MBB and YTL POWER, between 6% - 7%

i3gambler

657 posts

Posted by i3gambler > 2023-02-07 09:23 | Report Abuse

This morning I bought back some MAYBANK for the reasons:

1) MAYBANK is the top weight of ASB, should be very safe and stable.

2) I trade index call warrants and index future, Risk Free Interest Rate is one of the factor that detect their fair value. Therefore I need kind of "fixed income" to back up them. Bank FD is low, REIT I dun like, I think MAYBANK can be a better choice.

Posted by goldenegg454 > 2023-02-07 11:34 | Report Abuse

maybank divdend 6-8%

reit divdend only 4%+

in this economy recovery phase, banking stock is better investment than reits.

Posted by goldenegg454 > 2023-02-07 11:38 | Report Abuse

Maintain OVERWEIGHT on the banking sector. Though a healthy closing may alleviate concerns in the banking sector, we believe present recessionary uncertainties could still weigh on the long-term prospects. That said, it is likely that the banks would not be affected as drastically as other sectors given their widely diversified exposure with constant stress testing being conducted to strengthen preparedness. In the medium term, should macros not pan out to be worse-than-expected, we should see strong earnings uplift sector-wide (>20% EPS growth) coming from the relaxation of provisioning requirements with possible writebacks to bolster earnings further. With regards to the OPR, we believe it is unlikely BNM may revisit another hike as further observation may be needed to meaningfully determine the tolerance of the financial system to accept another 25 bps increase.

For 1QCY23, we maintain our prior preferences to continue highlighting names with stronger backing to share price and earnings support, being: (i) MAYBANK (OP; TP: RM10.40) for its persistently high dividend cushions (7-8% yield) and leading market share, (ii) CIMB (OP; TP: RM6.40) for resilient non-interest income stream performance led by regional operations, and (iii) ABMB (OP; TP: RM4.20) for its strength in the SME space which is expected to deliver high growth in a recovery environment. It also commands solid ROE (10%) and dividend potential (6%) despite its significantly smaller market cap.

https://klse.i3investor.com/web/staticfile/view/487125

Posted by prudentinvestor > 2023-02-07 11:59 | Report Abuse

Two here who were initially skeptical about Maybank have now given it a thumbs up. Good sign, good sign. 真金不怕火

25,070 posts

Posted by speakup > 2023-02-07 13:14 | Report Abuse

REITs yield depends on which one.
Sunreit total dividend 9.22¢. At 1.60, this translated to yield of 5.7%

Posted by AqsadMohamad > 2023-02-07 14:26 | Report Abuse

sedia utk average jika ia jatuh ke harga Rm8.50 ke bawah...

i3gambler

657 posts

Posted by i3gambler > 2023-02-07 14:46 | Report Abuse

9.22*90%/160=5.2%

Every sen counts.

Pinky

3,215 posts

Posted by Pinky > 2023-02-07 17:43 | Report Abuse

@i3gambler +100

@speakup I already mentioned before that when you want to compare a REIT's distribution yield to a normal stock's dividend yield, use net. We have to compare apple to apple to be fair

25,070 posts

Posted by speakup > 2023-02-07 21:21 | Report Abuse

ok boss

jeffchan1901

1,319 posts

Posted by jeffchan1901 > 2023-02-08 00:50 | Report Abuse

agreed, REIT also depends on your entry cost price. my IGBREIT entry price is RM1.52, at 9.86 sens, my DY is 6.48%

25,070 posts

Posted by speakup > 2023-02-08 07:54 | Report Abuse

best mall reit: igbreit
best office reit: ouareit
best industrial reit: axreit
best hospital reit: alaqar
best diversified reit: sunreit

buy only the best, forget the rest!