MALAYAN BANKING BHD

KLSE (MYR): MAYBANK (1155)

-0.04 (0.41%)

9.73 - 9.81

38 people like this.

22,639 comment(s). Last comment by stkoay 11 hours ago

metaverse

192 posts

Posted by metaverse > 1 month ago | Report Abuse

A responsible government will not "force" rakyat to PADU and "threaten" with hostile action to take away their subsidy entitlement if they don't follow what the heck the economy minister instructed them to do so. A caring government will give rakyat the choice if we wanted a more speedy online bank-in option then you PADU your bank info (with the high risk hacker will hack your PADU info as the whole project looks like hobby class and not backed by big IT budget unlike income tax department or EPF or maybe even CTOS have bigger IT budget than this economy minister) otherwise those who are not in the mood to PADU the citizen welfare office still can continue to send them the physical cheque to their home address. Most rakyat will be very worry once they PADU their personal info as they will be digitally tag and very hard to get motorcycle loan to do foodpanda etc. The government should give reward to rakyat who has PADU and give free TouchGO e-wallet cash RM1500 so that our society will be filled with love and positive ambient. I am not aware of any advanced country using this kind of drastic action to penalize their citizen who don't prefer to digitalize their personal info. Most countries will do it via Tax Return and some countries like Canada when they move from one place to another place, the government will subsidy them the moving cost or when a mother gave birth to a baby the government will subsidy them some money as well. This PADU will be a total failure just like the petrol or diesel subsidy (around RM56bn every year) to create a black market and smuggling activities or in economic term called risk-free forex arbitrage. The toy idea of target petrol subsidy played by economy minister using PADU has the same loophole as those who not qualify can still "ask" someone to PADU and claim the target petrol subsidy. If the economy minister walks his talk and really take away the subsidy entitlement for those who failed to PADU he will help to collapse the PH government immediately as the vote bank of PH government are mostly those left-wing unions or socialist and this PADU target petrol will head-on hit them 😁

25,091 posts

Posted by speakup > 1 month ago | Report Abuse

PADU is a brilliant idea because it 100% identify those desperate in need of handout vs those who just want handover to buy new smartphone, eat at chef wan restaurant etc

Posted by Steven Chan > 1 month ago | Report Abuse

Padu should prosecute foreigners from misusing subsidies instead of victimising own citizens of subsidy. Economy minister yet reset his ideas.

Cslee1215

427 posts

Posted by Cslee1215 > 1 month ago | Report Abuse

Gst best suit all,

47,667 posts

Posted by pang72 > 1 month ago | Report Abuse

PADU is one stop big data solution to reveal your wealth.
It need your signature and chop then you can't run out from system

linges

2,689 posts

Posted by linges > 1 month ago | Report Abuse

Cslee1215..totally agree. Such a great tax system, but overly politicized and removed. Now we still trying to manage with outdated and inefficient tax system

Cslee1215

427 posts

I bet 90% investors here wont fill up Padu, unless u re govern servant

25,091 posts

Not 90%lah
100% of all investors in bursa are M40 and T20. U think B40 who are struggling to put food on table got so much spare cash invest bursa meh?

LossAversion

1,684 posts

Posted by LossAversion > 1 month ago | Report Abuse

Dont "scam" the government. Just be responsible citizens and submit your data in PADU so that we can tabulate our socio-economic indicators more accurately!!

metaverse

192 posts

The clock is ticking with ten days count down to PADU deadline as the economy minister said those who "refused" to PADU will be instantly kicked out of the petrol subsidy program or something like that. So far around 6m (I think mostly public servants forced by big brother to do so) have PADU out of 33m population so if this is a Brexit Referendum this economy minister should be kicked out of office immediate as only around 18% (6/33) of the population "voted" for his pet project. Those who "refused" to PADU are mostly humble Chinese working class family who fear that once they PADU it will impact their CTOS credit score and affect their ability to get bank loans in future time as the economy minister somehow amusingly "linked" PADU to poor income and also some may worry that it will invite income tax troubles and so on. It is almost certain that 90% who "refused" to PADU are mostly the vote bank of PH government so just let the deadline expire so that economy minister will learn a lesson this kind of big brother monitoring system is total unwelcomed as we are living in a free country with free will and what he is trying to do may not be permitted under Constitution of Malaysia as it is a form of invasion of personal freedom to against our own will to do or not to do something so just let the PADU deadline expire and see whether PH gov will walk its talks to remove our petrol subsidy.

47,667 posts

26March24 dividend bank in for top up..

Steady la...

$9.58 is great price..

3 more days for bargain price....
You can take a photo for $9.55...
This will be history after 26March24 pay check bank in..
Investors topping up will push up the price then

jeffchan1901

1,320 posts

Posted by jeffchan1901 > 1 month ago | Report Abuse

Dont take part in PADU, get kicked out of subsidy? since when is subsidy for M40 and T20? Menteri Ekonomi masih tidor? Dia sudah cakap pun dalam satu pod cast dulu (walaupun gurau gurau kata sambil ketawa bila ditanya dalam temuduga), kalau informasi di PADU tak sama dengan rekod mereka, mereka akan audit anda.

LossAversion

1,684 posts

Posted by LossAversion > 1 month ago | Report Abuse

PADU is made so complicated by those "who have things to hide". No need to think of rcarrots or cane. Just be a responsible citizen to provide your data so that we can be proud to have a more accurate socio-economic data.

Cslee1215

427 posts

Subsidy farmer with seed and thier children to agriculture school better. We are not politicians. We dont have to tell what color underwear we wearing everyday.

I feel Padu will bring the downfall of PH. Economic minister should resign for his shortsightedness

25,091 posts

PADU is the only way to separate those truly deserving of govt handouts and subsidies from those who are taking advantage of govt generosity. If you feel you are poor enough to deserve handouts and subsidies, the last thing on your mind should be PADU security and the LHDN! Those people who fear LHDN audit have something to hide and obviously do not deserve got handouts and subsidies. And those people who scream PADU not secure are obviously got something to hide and so do not deserve handout and subsidies.

25,091 posts

I know someone retired already but far richer than myself collecting govt cash handout last time. This person obviously doesn't deserve govt handout. And this is what PADU aim to stop.

jeffchan1901

1,320 posts

@stkoay Noted with thanks on the advice of ASM. Just curious but if at 4.5%, would it still be better to take out for Equities or EPF then?

metaverse

192 posts

With only nine days remaining until the PADU deadline, the current pickup rate stands at a mere 18%, prompting comparisons to a vote of no confidence. The nation is perplexed, if not slightly bemused, by the redundancy of PADU's objectives, considering the vast reservoir of Data Lake already collected by agencies such as LHDN, DOSM, EPF, SOSCO, JPJ, SPR, the Department of Social Welfare, and the Meteorological Department. This initiative seems akin to reinventing the wheel, compelling individuals to provide their personal data once again, under the premise that failure to do so will result in automatic exclusion from the petrol subsidy program. However, it's imperative to note that, according to the Constitution of Malaysia and the Doctrine of Separation of Powers, the legislative branch lacks the authority to encroach upon the executive's domain. Legally speaking, PADU serves merely as a "random survey form," as the economy minister, who spearheads the initiative, lacks the legal mandate to determine subsidy eligibility or enforce punitive measures for not providing your personal data and banking info to PADU😁

25,091 posts

The low pickup rate means PADU is doing its job. It is weeding out those undeserving of cash handouts and subsidy

linges

2,689 posts

@pang72..done sikit shopping @ 9.57 on Wed closing..hope for some more today closing or next week before div date..

linges

2,689 posts

at current price at PE 12.3..there are room for upward trend..

47,667 posts

Linges,
Good buy... I add quite a number after exdate...
No money now..
Will wait next week then add after money bank in...

47,667 posts

Hopefully price stay at 9.55 level next week

47,667 posts

$9.59 up 4c...still good for top up next week

jeffchan1901

1,320 posts

@stkoay check out Alpha IVF which listed today on ACE market. Although not considered exciting listing on 1st day, still got a feeling that it's got potential in the medium term if you are interested to look at others.

stkoay

5,864 posts

Posted by stkoay > 1 month ago | Report Abuse

@jeffchan1901, noted thanks.

metaverse

192 posts

When FED increases interest rate, US market goes up and China's market crashed. When Japan's Central Bank increases interest rate (just a wild guess maybe around 2.5%), it will crash the global financial market as US hedge funds used to borrow samurai loan at the rate of zero interest rate.

Current USDYEN chart looks highly similar to 97/98 Asian Financial Crisis so do watch out for this red flag as macroeconomic environment is turning from bad to worse and the approval rate for economy minister's PADU still remains at low side around 18%. Hope our economy minister can spend more time to tackle the macroeconomic issues and let's the income tax department and welfare office or DOMS do their jobs instead of trying to duplicate income tax department's database with PADU. So in future once we update our info with tax department or EPF or JPJ or DOMS we will have to update PADU as well? So the whole nation will spend most of their time updating PADU😁

https://i.postimg.cc/x1h96bth/USDYEN.jpg

47,667 posts

26March24 dividend bank in for top up..

47,667 posts

No. of
Shares Held
% of
Issued Shares
AMANAHRAYA TRUSTEES BERHAD
AMANAH SAHAM BUMIPUTERA

Dividend payment $1,216,626,930

47,667 posts

$1.2B/9.59=126.8mils MBB shares

47,667 posts

Friday MBB transacted = 11mils shares..
So. Amanah SAHAM alone need 10 trading day = 2 weeks to complete the dividend reinvestment if happen!

47,667 posts

If shareholder from 2 to 30 follow the reinvestment of dividend will take months to buy in

Posted by Value Investor Coo1eo > 1 month ago | Report Abuse

While this is a good dividend play…it’s a far cry from the 3 SG banks.

47,667 posts

Is that mean 3 SG bank are over value as compared to tiger bank...?
Ya! I am pretty sure it is.

Mabel

23,225 posts

Posted by Mabel > 1 month ago | Report Abuse

The valuation of banks is a complex matter that depends on various financial metrics and market conditions. When comparing Singapore’s top three banks—DBS, OCBC, and UOB—to Maybank, one would typically look at indicators such as price-to-book (P/B) ratio, return on equity, and net interest margins, among others.

As of the latest reports, DBS has been noted as the most expensive among the three Singapore banks in terms of P/B ratio, followed by UOB, with OCBC being the cheapest. However, this does not necessarily mean they are overvalued compared to Maybank, as the valuation also depends on the banks’ growth prospects, earnings stability, and market sentiment.

Meow

47,667 posts

Good explanation

Thank you mabel

25,091 posts

https://www.nst.com.my/news/nation/2024/03/1029794/over-736-million-malaysians-registered-padu-eight-days-deadline-lnsttv
We have 7.36 million very poor and deserving of govt cash handout so far

47,667 posts

Good! 9.58 steady..
Not too high for top up

When EPF pay dividend date? Convert to harimau?

47,667 posts

9.62 up 3c...
Tmr, top up day...

47,667 posts

Hopefully the funds don't push up 10c or 15c tomorrow else waste of our time of not getting bargain price..

But, can push all the way to $10 after we top up ya

jeffchan1901

1,320 posts

@Steven Chan, EPF always pay into account on day of announcing the dividend rate. thats why a few days before announcing rate, you cannot access your EPF account because they are updating details into your account and unless you are 55 and above or have a minimum of 1M allowing you to withdraw in multiples of 50k each time before 55, I highly doubt you can touch any of the moniesin your EPF account

Posted by Gabriel Chan > 1 month ago | Report Abuse

Will we receive the dividend today? Or need wait they process

hahahan

23 posts

Posted by hahahan > 1 month ago | Report Abuse

received my dividend, thanks tiger!

jeffchan1901

1,320 posts

Got my divided this morning.. thanks Tiger!.. Always could count on you for a stable consistent return on investment

nhbeen

187 posts

Posted by nhbeen > 1 month ago | Report Abuse

Received dividend early morning. Maybank is cool and awesome.

Posted by Value Investor Coo1eo > 1 month ago | Report Abuse

@Mabel - thanks for explaining. Yes, while to an amateur investor, the SG banks will appear over value, but if you look at their KPIs you will see my point.
I started to buy Maybank in 2011. Instead, if I started buying DBS back then.....my portfolio would be 6-10X more

47,667 posts

Up liao lo..9.67 up 5c
Eveeyone top up early morning

stkoay

5,864 posts

Posted by stkoay > 1 month ago | Report Abuse

Received Dividend at 12.15pm.
Thanks Maybank.