PUBLIC BANK BHD

KLSE (MYR): PBBANK (1295)

-0.08 (1.71%)

4.57 - 4.66

20 people like this.

15,491 comment(s). Last comment by lawkaw 15 hours ago

teck

102 posts

Posted by teck > 2021-02-11 09:54 | Report Abuse

Banking sectors prospect still intact for now

teck

102 posts

Posted by teck > 2021-02-11 09:54 | Report Abuse

While the Government has reimplemented a Movement Control Order (MCO 2.0) in all States, except Sarawak, currently, analysts do not expect the impact on the economy to be as great as the previous MCO.

teck

102 posts

Posted by teck > 2021-02-11 09:58 | Report Abuse

Affin Hwang Capital analyst Tan Ei Leen views that banks have been cautious of high-risk segments since 2020 and had set aside some pre-emptive provisions, adding that banks may continue to expect a certain degree of asset quality deterioration in 2021.The research firm continues to maintain an elevated provision level, though lower at 62bps versus 80bps in 2020.We believe that even if MCO 2.0 is extended to a period of one to two months, it may not necessitate a significant downward revision in our earnings forecasts (unlike the previous year).However, should the MCO last more than three months, Tan said this could raise the net credit cost (NCC) assumption by another 10bps.The estimated impact on sector earnings is -5.9% with a 10bps increase in NCC, -11.8% with a 20bps increase and -17.7% with a 30bps increase.

Posted by supersinginvestor > 2021-02-11 10:00 | Report Abuse

Everyone n bursa is forward looking..
We r looking post covid...looks like the vaccine is having good effect on covid..
N any.variants will be met with updated vaccine shots..so.banks will go up..forward looking..

1invest1

1,467 posts

Posted by 1invest1 > 2021-02-11 10:06 | Report Abuse

Happy CNY to all PBankers.
Way to go, way to win PBB !
PBB, PBB, PBB !

neohts

2,334 posts

Posted by neohts > 2021-02-11 10:13 | Report Abuse

https://www.theedgemarkets.com/article/dividend-drought-among-malaysian-banks-likely-end

Dividend drought among Malaysian banks likely to end - Public Bank is going to give good Dividend.

The analyst noted that Maybank, Public Bank Bhd and RHB Bank have the largest capital buffer among those with financial year ended Dec 31.

13,932 posts

Posted by i3lurker > 2021-02-11 10:25 | Report Abuse

teck

most analyst comments I read shows that they have no idea how banks work so must take with a pinch of salt.

I was a Senior-in-Charge of auditing a Top Global Bank in a Big 3 Audit Firm before.

When you see RM40 Billion in loans and RM40 Billion in deposits in 2 different banks it is a totally different animal.

Everyone already know about loan quality ie in 1 bank the RM40 Billion all lend out to high risk industry whereas in in the other bank the RM40 Billion all lend out to low risk industry.
Thats why banks try to diversify out lending profiles.

Many surprised that deposits also have diversity coz in 1 bank those RM40 Billion all deposited by billionaires and super rich whereas in the other bank those RM40 Billion comes from temporary salary crediting gonna disappear soon in bad times.

Profiling is reported in summaries to Bank Negara. This helps a bit for Bank Negara to reduce systemic risk.
Whereas the real kisah benar of those profiling only bank insiders will actually know.

neohts

2,334 posts

Posted by neohts > 2021-02-11 11:30 | Report Abuse

I still strongly believe that Public Bank is going to give Good Dividend next month.
Wishing every Public Bank shareholders a very Happy and Prosperous 2021.

Posted by supersinginvestor > 2021-02-11 12:04 | Report Abuse

Nomura’s Tushar expects a V-shaped earnings recovery for banks in FY21, due to the absence of day 1 modification loss, flat to positive margin trends as overnight policy rates stabilise, and lower absolute provisioning required given the front-loading of the bulk of the provisions in FY20.However, our preference remains towards retail banks as we believe based on our stress test that their asset quality faces less downsides from the Covid-19 pandemic, and they are likely to enjoy more tailwinds from the modification-loss unwinding.He added that the recent stress test by the Central Bank also points to the bulk of impaired loan formation in 2021 to come from businesses, along with about 90% of incremental Covid-19-related credit costs. Nomura’s top picks are Public Bank, Hong Leong Bank and RHB Bank.

13,932 posts

Posted by i3lurker > 2021-02-11 12:17 | Report Abuse

does look like someone wants it 4.30 next week as Ang Pau

hope these people are successful

Happy Chinese New Year to all !!!

AllYouCanBuy

2,060 posts

Posted by AllYouCanBuy > 2021-02-11 12:23 | Report Abuse

Cantik closing at 4.24.

Happy New Year to all in pbb family!! Heng Ong Huat everybody!!!

1invest1

1,467 posts

Posted by 1invest1 > 2021-02-11 12:30 | Report Abuse

@Sharefisher You should be renamed Caringfisher because you care & share.
Happy CNY Sharefisher.

1invest1

1,467 posts

Posted by 1invest1 > 2021-02-11 12:34 | Report Abuse

@AllYouCanBuy You try to be all for one and one for all. Great.
Happy CNY AllYouCanBuy.

Sharefisher

5,470 posts

Posted by Sharefisher > 2021-02-11 12:34 | Report Abuse

Ha ha ha.... PBB supporters, wish you happy new year, healthy and HENG ONG HUAT AH...

1invest1

1,467 posts

Posted by 1invest1 > 2021-02-11 12:37 | Report Abuse

@Supersinginvestor YOU SUPPORT PBB, we hear you loud and clear. Excellent.
Happy CNY Supersinginvestor.

AllYouCanBuy

2,060 posts

Posted by AllYouCanBuy > 2021-02-11 12:41 | Report Abuse

Thank you @1invest1.. Wishing everyone well, safe and sound.! Have a prosperous new year of the Golden Ox!!!

Everything will get better and better!!

Posted by supersinginvestor > 2021-02-11 12:44 | Report Abuse

Happy new year@1invest1 n good public bank supporters...

Posted by loneranger3211 > 2021-02-11 12:54 | Report Abuse

Happy new year to everyone! PBBank is positive now!

MYinvestor

231 posts

Posted by MYinvestor > 2021-02-11 13:20 | Report Abuse

Happy CNY!!

iTelex5

573 posts

Posted by iTelex5 > 2021-02-11 14:32 | Report Abuse

Kiong Hee Fatt Cai > Hokkien greeting the same as

Gong Hei Fatt Choy in Cantonese, the same as

Gong Xi Fa Cai in Mandarin

and while I wish all Xin Nian Kuai Le which means Happy New Year, let us not forget the grand old man and the upcoming ones of PBB!

I wish them Xin Nian Kuai Le

May Monday bring PBB across 4.30!

iTelex5

573 posts

Posted by iTelex5 > 2021-02-11 14:37 | Report Abuse

>4.30 means I become less broke. <4.30 means I stay broke and the longer it stays down, the longer I stay broke.

Xin Nian Kuai Le!

Gong Xi Fa Cai!

Gong Hei Fatt Choy!

Kiong Hee Fatt Cai!

So, be nice and bring PBB price up to the sky asap, ok!

1invest1

1,467 posts

Posted by 1invest1 > 2021-02-11 15:26 | Report Abuse

PBB forum wish TS DS DR. TEH HONG PIOW, TS DS TAY AH LEK & STAFF at PBB HAPPY CNY !

Cosmic

254 posts

Posted by Cosmic > 2021-02-11 16:35 | Report Abuse

A Happy & Prosperous New Year to all here.
Let the Golden Ox make 2021 better than 2020 for all here.

TpeeZack

189 posts

Posted by TpeeZack > 2021-02-11 18:14 | Report Abuse

Keong Hee Fatt Choy

Posted by traintobullland > 2021-02-11 20:51 | Report Abuse

Happy cny everyone! Have a huat year :D

Posted by Sunshine123 > 2021-02-11 22:11 | Report Abuse

Feeling all the festive wishes. And Gong Xi Fa Cai to you all too.

Posted by SpeedNpower > 2021-02-11 22:49 | Report Abuse

Wishing everyone and the great Tan sri Dato seri Dr Teh > Gong hei fatt choi!!! Live long and prosperous!!

Petronas

815 posts

Posted by Petronas > 2021-02-11 23:42 |

Posted by WealthSoWonderful > 2021-02-12 03:51 | Report Abuse

For those serious mature sensible minded smart wise intelligent prudent long term investors among y'all ... Do consider TopGlove as another egg in the basket, another arrow in the quiver, another string to the bow

Posted by WealthSoWonderful > 2021-02-12 03:52 | Report Abuse

TOPGLOVE FOR LONG TERM INVESTMENT: A QUICK PRIMER

TopGlove IPO price RM2.70 March 2001

2,000 units = RM5,400

Bonus issues:
2002 3:10 ==> 2,600 units
2003 2:5 ==> 3,640 units
2005 1:1 ==> 7,280 units
2007 2:5 ==> 10,192 units
2010 1:1 ==> 20,384 units
2016 1:1 ==> 40,768 units
2018 1:1 ==> 81,536 units
2020 2:1 ==> 244,608 units

Today 244,608 units x RM6.50/unit = RM1,589,952

Capital Appreciation = From RM5,400 to RM1,589,952 in just 19 years

This is clear solid undoubtable undeniable evidence of the awesome benefit by way of exponential growth that you get from investing long term in TopGlove

Anyways, this is not a call for buy or sell, but just sharing of some inspirational motivational confidence-building information.

Do your own due diligence

Invest at your own risk

Posted by WealthSoWonderful > 2021-02-12 03:53 | Report Abuse

So, basically, holding TopGlove long term is just as safe, secure & productive as investing in unit trust scheme

But with average overall long term compounded returns many many times greater than that of the average unit trust scheme

Posted by WealthSoWonderful > 2021-02-12 03:53 | Report Abuse

Even some Bangla technicians & supervisors who bought some in 2001 could already be in big money by now

Especially the sharpest & the smartest among them all

Posted by WealthSoWonderful > 2021-02-12 03:54 | Report Abuse

So, not a few guys need to be learning from them smart wise Bangla dudes, it seems

Instead of forever panicking like frenzied monkeys

With that kind of explosive exponential capital growth, you do not even need to be distracted at all by any anxiety provoking thoughts of paltry dividends

Posted by WealthSoWonderful > 2021-02-12 03:55 | Report Abuse

And we have not talked about coming TopGlove dividends yet

Pretty substantial it seems, according to rumour being bandied about on the grapevine

Taikoh

82 posts

Posted by Taikoh > 2021-02-12 08:22 | Report Abuse

I seldom comment but I thought this is a forum for PBB, please leave glove and other non related topics out of here

Bgt 9963

7,445 posts

Posted by Bgt 9963 > 2021-02-12 08:50 |

Posted by supersinginvestor > 2021-02-12 09:43 | Report Abuse

Yes yes gloves salesman. Unker sifu will buy your topglove start of year 2022 at RM1.50. Dont worry i hear u...i will buy...

Posted by BountyOfTheBourse > 2021-02-12 10:47 | Report Abuse

Y'all guys must be so in love with PBB

Posted by BountyOfTheBourse > 2021-02-12 10:47 | Report Abuse

But y'all not supposed to be in love with any stock

Posted by BountyOfTheBourse > 2021-02-12 10:48 | Report Abuse

Y'all supposed to be in love with your money only

Posted by BountyOfTheBourse > 2021-02-12 10:49 | Report Abuse

Y'all not supposed to put all your eggs in just one basket only either

Posted by supersinginvestor > 2021-02-12 11:18 | Report Abuse

@glove supporters....we have alot of names in our portfolio .lol..u dont worry about us...like we said we will add tg at RM1.5 soon...

Posted by Kucingmeowikan > 2021-02-12 12:13 | Report Abuse

BAT yield 6-7%, 27 div per share, 3 kali CIMB dividen

kfbusjd

666 posts

Posted by kfbusjd > 2021-02-12 12:37 | Report Abuse

haha buy for long term is okay but wont go far in short term.. Tnb Bat Genm Airasia all stocks that i mentioned before rise. And this counter still stuck at rm21 level which is same with the price at bonus issue ex date.

Posted by supersinginvestor > 2021-02-12 12:52 | Report Abuse

Nomura’s Tushar expects a V-shaped earnings recovery for banks in FY21, due to the absence of day 1 modification loss, flat to positive margin trends as overnight policy rates stabilise, and lower absolute provisioning required given the front-loading of the bulk of the provisions in FY20.However, our preference remains towards retail banks as we believe based on our stress test that their asset quality faces less downsides from the Covid-19 pandemic, and they are likely to enjoy more tailwinds from the modification-loss unwinding.He added that the recent stress test by the Central Bank also points to the bulk of impaired loan formation in 2021 to come from businesses, along with about 90% of incremental Covid-19-related credit costs. Nomura’s top picks are Public Bank, Hong Leong Bank and RHB Bank.

kfbusjd

666 posts

Posted by kfbusjd > 2021-02-12 12:58 | Report Abuse

Government say this year Malaysia can reach 4-6% improve in GDP. Do you believe it?

13,932 posts

Posted by i3lurker > 2021-02-12 13:33 | Report Abuse

in 2020 the GDP contracted by minus 6%

assuming 2019 is 100,
minus 6%
means 2020 is 94
add 6%
means 2021 is 99.6 back again

aiseh is that still less than 2019?

I dun think that's something to be proud about....

[how to lie with statistics wink wink]

kfbusjd

666 posts

Posted by kfbusjd > 2021-02-12 14:19 | Report Abuse

yup, if want invest short term, never put your bets on 50-50 win rate stock.
Let say its a rm1 stock
on 1st day it rise 20% (1.00+0.20=1.20)
on 2nd day it drop 20% back . (1.20-0.24=0.96)
finally you make lose of 4% + brokerage