ALLIANCE BANK MALAYSIA BERHAD

KLSE (MYR): ABMB (2488)

3.77 - 3.82

6 people like this.

1,808 comment(s). Last comment by speakup 1 month ago

TA_trader

390 posts

Posted by TA_trader > 2020-02-28 22:58 | Report Abuse

annualized P/E of 8 cheap? do you even know what does P/E of 8 even mean? More so, its annualized, not full at the point of time.

DY? Maybank has higher DY

PBR? tell us your comparison on the PBR.

Sohai buying since 2.70 cry mother cry father, ownself curse own mother die, then blame others.

u think by throwing acronyms makes u smart when u cant even make a comparison and justfiy the ratios behind it.

TA_trader

390 posts

Posted by TA_trader > 2020-02-28 22:59 | Report Abuse

since you so smart, answer all 3 ratios lor. your whole investment decision based on 3 ratios? can u even explain on the 3 ratios as to how u conclude alliance is cheap?

or you want to bring in currency again?

dont you even dare talk about currency with me.

Posted by Philip ( Icarus) > 2020-02-28 23:00 | Report Abuse

This lansizhai really thought he is the bomb.

Arrogant without any results.

>>>>>

Posted by Icon8888 > Feb 28, 2020 9:43 PM | Report Abuse

If you need me to answer that kind of question you are a sohai already loh

Kindergarten kids also can answer mah

18719 posts
Posted by Icon8888 > Feb 28, 2020 9:44 PM | Report Abuse

DY, PER, PBR

Which one need me to answer ?

LOL

Sohai

TA_trader

390 posts

Posted by TA_trader > 2020-02-28 23:05 | Report Abuse

RHB latest 4 quarters YOY profit on average up 7.7 % each quarter
ambank = 23.7 %
Maybank = 0.80%

alliance? DOWN 18% on average YOY for past 4 quarters.

sohai talking say cheap. Throw acronyms P/E, P/D, DY.

dog bark please.

TA_trader

390 posts

Posted by TA_trader > 2020-02-28 23:07 | Report Abuse

alliance Net Profit

2019 537,597
2018 493,228
2017 512,123
2016 522,038
2015 530,780
2014 538,123

took 5 years to achieve net profit of 2014. with P/E ratio of 8, you still dare to say cheap? do you even fkin understand the meaning of P/E?

TA_trader

390 posts

Posted by TA_trader > 2020-02-28 23:23 | Report Abuse

day before say lets see how ABMB will perform by end 2020, 1 day later say willing to hold 2 years,

typical dogs, when losing money, say hold long-term for long term investment.

then in the end say didnt lose money but average return per year less than 1%

Posted by Icon8888 > 2020-02-29 06:27 | Report Abuse

That means a lot of bank stocks undervalued Loh

Valuation is absolute ,not relative

Posted by Icon8888 > 2020-02-29 06:31 | Report Abuse

Somebody faces liquidity problem and is willing to sell his house in pj at RM20k and another house in Penang at 15k

Penang Undervalued or not undervalued ?

PJ undervalued or not undervalued ?

Of course undervalued lah

I don’t understand why it is so difficult for you to grasp Basic concepts like that

Posted by Icon8888 > 2020-02-29 06:32 | Report Abuse

Stop posting on this forum until your standard improves

Posted by Icon8888 > 2020-02-29 06:34 | Report Abuse

8.7 Sen x 4 = 35

2.3 / .35 = 6.6

I don’t understand why so difficult to understand it is undervalued

(shocked)

Posted by Icon8888 > 2020-02-29 06:35 | Report Abuse

16 dividend / 231 = 6.9% DY

Why so difficult to understand ?

Shocked again

Posted by Icon8888 > 2020-02-29 06:37 | Report Abuse

We are talking about sustainable profit mah

Look at ABMB past ten years profit, is it far fetched for me to claim that EPS of 35 Sen per annum is the norm ?

shocked again

Posted by Icon8888 > 2020-02-29 06:38 | Report Abuse

As for PBR, it is 0.6 times

Not cheap meh ?

Posted by Philip ( Icarus) > 2020-02-29 06:42 | Report Abuse

Icon8888 is a typical trader, contrarian and gambler.

All the standard signs are there:

He is proud and egoistic when his stocks go up, violent and angry when his picks go down. But things like warrants with a fixed time value can do that to you, especially when it doesn't go your way.

He likes to criticize others and call names, and says he got standard.

He is a frequent liar, engineer one day, ex-banker the next, retiree another. The truth is, he might actually be a young guy, you never know.

He buys stocks while driving, one hand on the wheel the other hand frantically pressing buy button. He wrote it himself.

He showed his buy prices one day for stocks and deleted it soon after. I still have his record of prices and know how much he actually lost, if he still held the stocks.

Now that he is panicking, his attitude becomes so black you can drink it with a sugar.

>>>>>>>

Posted by Icon8888 > Feb 29, 2020 6:32 AM | Report Abuse

Stop posting on this forum until your standard improves

Posted by Icon8888 > 2020-02-29 06:43 | Report Abuse

I really don’t understand why you can’t understand

If every forum member stupid like you, I huat loh

Posted by Icon8888 > 2020-02-29 06:45 | Report Abuse

And also you can look at its historical price

Most of the time market gave it RM4 valuation

Only these few months came down mah

So this stock has potential to be up there

Why can’t you understand ?

Scratching my head

Posted by Icon8888 > 2020-02-29 06:46 | Report Abuse

You are really one of the dumbest here

We like people like you who cannot think

Because your stupidity feeds my wallet with cash

Posted by Philip ( Icarus) > 2020-02-29 07:05 | Report Abuse

The problem with icon8888 is he is too lazy to do qualitative understanding of the long term business prospects of abmb and just buy because he thinks it is cheap. That is why I think he is a young chap. Too young to remember mbf finance and why I bought pb instead of all these yahoo banks.

https://www.nytimes.com/1999/01/05/business/worldbusiness/IHT-preemptive-action-puts-central-bank-in-control.html

There is a reason why they call it bank run, and bankrupt.

When you look at banks, you have to understand it qualitatively. What is the possibility of massive withdrawals happening? Has the bank made enough money from the "float" ( savings deposits, fixed deposit and central depository grants) to make enough money to survive during bad times?

When the default rate goes up, payments go down. Investors panic, and savings accounts get withdrawn. How many hits (impairments) can a bank take before it collapses, and what is the quality of those loans ( versus the deposits to the bank).

All he sees is what is infront of his nose. He only looks at the simple things, price to earnings, price to book value, share price, dividend.

None of those says anything about debt quality, loan impairments, savings deposit quality. Average loan rates.

Funny how a supposed "ex" banker cares more about dividends and price to book and pe and doesn't give a damn about the important stuff that was certainly a KPI if he was a senior banker. Impairments, customers, hire purchase, loans.

But then again, I think icon8888 is a keyboard warrior kid.

Posted by freddieheros > 2020-02-29 07:14 | Report Abuse

CI drop 100 pts since 31st Dec you got factor? OPR cut 25 basis point in Jan'20 how sure won't affect ABMB?

Posted by Icon8888 > Feb 29, 2020 6:34 AM | Report Abuse
8.7 Sen x 4 = 35
2.3 / .35 = 6.6
I don’t understand why so difficult to understand it is undervalued
(shocked)

Posted by Icon8888 > 2020-02-29 07:16 | Report Abuse

I lived in the era of Kwong Yik Bank, Mui Bank, Philip Allied, MPlant, MBF, Bumiputra Bank, Hock Hua Bank, etc

I saw how banks operated before 1998, I saw how banks transformed after 1998

I saw danaharta, Danamodal, I saw how many banks were consolidated into Anchor Banks

I have seen enough of banks

Your scaremongering above can fool newbies like TA trader but not me

I am somebody who has seen a lot about banks

I know what I am talking

Posted by Icon8888 > 2020-02-29 07:21 | Report Abuse

freddie OPR cut is a non issue

It’s effect is few percent

And it will be addressed when deposit is repriced

I take a long term view

I buy and hold, chuck it aside

Every year it makes decent profit

By the time to my grandson it’s Net asset per share is RM15 ?

I don’t need to do anything just let it grow

This is buffett style mah

Posted by Icon8888 > 2020-02-29 07:25 | Report Abuse

I can do that for alliance but not pchem

Pchem is very cyclical

If I chuck it aside and come back in 10 years, it might have gone down to RM2 or go up to RM10

Nobody can tell

Buy for alliance, the visilibility is better

I am likely to win the race

That is all I know

Posted by Icon8888 > 2020-02-29 07:27 | Report Abuse

Not all my stocks are Long term hold buffett style

Only those that have Long term sustainability I dumb dumb dumb dumb dumb hold 20 years (banks)

Cyclicals like steel, petrochemical, semicon, palm oil etc got to ride the cycles

My portfolio comprise both

Posted by Icon8888 > 2020-02-29 07:34 | Report Abuse

I have gone through 1997 and 1998

I have witnessed how Banks were whacked by the crisis, how their bad debts ballon, how they cleaned up, and most importantly, how during the worst of time, bank run is not a major issue

I also witnessed how the kerajaan brought in foreign Consultants to clean up and consolidate the sector

I also witnessed how kerajaan woke up to the important role banks played and hence their decision to groom and protect banks, to feed banks with fat margin through Low deposit rate and relatively high lending rate (Low deposit done through forex surplus)

Banking sector is something I have a good feel

Posted by Icon8888 > 2020-02-29 07:35 | Report Abuse

I don’t actually need to justify to you all

I just dumb dumb hold my alliance

You guys can laugh and scold

I have my own peace of mind

Posted by Icon8888 > 2020-02-29 07:48 | Report Abuse

TA trader 279 posts

No wonder so green

Posted by Icon8888 > 2020-02-29 07:49 | Report Abuse

A newbie that just join the market

No wonder so ignorant ask basic questions PER PBR DY also cannot understand

Wasting my time

Posted by Icon8888 > 2020-02-29 08:01 | Report Abuse

10 years ago I was on a business trip in Sarawak

I checked my handphone for ABMB share price

It was RM2.80

I remember I told myself “damn, it is cheap”

Fast forward to 2020, AMBM was trading at RM2.60

This 10 years, it’s NA per share has grown from 1.90 to 3.82

And I am now buying it lower than 10 years ago

I think you guys do not understand how big a bargain is, because you have not seen enough of things

Not your fault, You just don’t have the feel

Posted by Philip ( Icarus) > 2020-02-29 08:03 | Report Abuse

If no need justify then just shut the fxxk up. Why keep writing so many articles to justify your purchase in abmb? Just dumb dumb shut up and buy la. Let your investing do your talking for you.

Or you want to justify to yourself that you did not buy another lctitan?

Drop to 1.71 Holland.

Posted by Philip ( Icarus) > 2020-02-29 08:04 | Report Abuse

Demonstrate abit your feel.

https://klse.i3investor.com/blogs/icon8888/2019-01-30-story-h1457006496-_Icon_LC_Titan_Price_Collapse_Shaken_Shareholders_and_Contrarians_Scram.jsp

>>>>>>>>>

I think you guys do not understand how big a bargain is, because you have not seen enough of things

Not your fault, You just don’t have the feel

Posted by Icon8888 > 2020-02-29 08:05 | Report Abuse

Net asset per share is not relevant for many other companies

Digi and nestle do not need high net asset to make money, for example

But net asset per share is a big deal for banks

Because banks make money by using its balance sheets

The higher the net asset per share the more loans it can give out the more money it can make

So when a bank is trading at deep discount to net asset per share, it is undervalued

(Need me to explain basic concept like this is really wasting my time)

Posted by Icon8888 > 2020-02-29 08:06 | Report Abuse

Going for breakfast

No time to waste on newbies

5,745 posts

Posted by yfchong > 2020-02-29 08:19 | Report Abuse

Damodaran will be able to help out

Posted by Icon8888 > 2020-02-29 08:20 | Report Abuse

LC Titan was a bad call

It was a black box I didn’t understand and I jumped into it

Of course you won’t believe, but my position was indeed tiny and I sold when I realised it was a black box I didn’t understand

Posted by Philip ( Icarus) > 2020-02-29 08:22 | Report Abuse

So Lansi like a little girl.

I wonder how it feels when other investors bring up pertinent questions that you cannot answer.

I like icon8888, not enough research into his stock. Cannot answer. Throw insults.

Just like a contrarian.

>>>>>>>>

Posted by Icon8888 > Feb 29, 2020 8:06 AM | Report Abuse

Going for breakfast

No time to waste on newbies

Posted by Icon8888 > 2020-02-29 08:23 | Report Abuse

On hind sight, petrochemical is a difficult industry

It is actually quite cyclical and volatile

Many things need to be right for it to make money

You don’t need to agree with me

Just hold on to your pchem

Your money your risk your reward

Posted by i3lurker > 2020-02-29 08:23 | Report Abuse

he failed to differentiate between temporary and structural changes

might need to hold a bit longer than usual

Icon bought 4.14
price now 1.58

shares with structural change might not recover for next 40 years

Posted by Philip ( Icarus) > Feb 29, 2020 8:04 AM | Report Abuse
Demonstrate abit your feel.

https://klse.i3investor.com/blogs/icon8888/2019-01-30-story-h145700649...

Posted by Philip ( Icarus) > 2020-02-29 08:26 | Report Abuse

Sochai. Sohai. Stupid. Newbies.

All he knows is insults and taking bad about others.

He say he is a retired ex engineer ex banker. You believe?

I think he is a middle aged catfishing internet trawler who was fired by the bank and his boss for "seeing" too much in 1999.

But you have to forgive him. When his stocks go well he is a relatively nice guy.

When his stocks tumble he can't sleep at night.

Posted by Icon8888 > 2020-02-29 09:02 | Report Abuse

Sochai lost money until so angry

Posted by Fabien "The Efficient Capital Allocater" > 2020-02-29 11:41 | Report Abuse

Icon, have a look at FPI

patrick8

334 posts

Posted by patrick8 > 2020-02-29 11:59 | Report Abuse

Guys, lets debate like gentlemen. Everybody have their points and views and no one is right all the time. In the stock market even old traders lose money. That's why this forum is important to me cos i can absorb the experience of others. Please stop the insults, thanks.

keonkx123

186 posts

Posted by keonkx123 > 2020-02-29 12:34 | Report Abuse

Guys, both sides have their stances. Icon holding his ground with cheap fundamentals ratios, and indeed its ratio is good. While philips and others is of the view that good fundamental ratios is not sufficient, it must be compared with other counter in the same field. Other than that, the counter must have a consistent eps growth rate.

I prefer the latter view. It is true that good fundamental provides a sense of security for most of the investor, but please be mindful that sometime when a fundamental is too cheap and there is no growth in the business, it might be a trap.

Most of the banking counter are indeed undervalued due to bank negara opr cutting and market sentiment caused by covid19, not to mention about the recent political turmoil. So by insisting a bank is undervalued is not a good stance anymore. U must look at its business model and also its profitability.

Now my two cents, i dont see any growth or potential growth in this counter. It might be true that it will recover and growth slowly over the years, but i would say it will take a much longer time compared to other counter, and this is not a smart investing move.

Please stay calm and analyse. Do notice that i didnt use any insulting words in this comment yet i managed to deliver my message clearly. Tq

Posted by stockraider > 2020-02-29 12:41 | Report Abuse

If u ask raider ABMB at rm 2.31 is a steal loh...!!

It is well manage.
Own by strong shareholders like Temasek & Tun Daim.
It pays good dividend too.
Its earning reasonable & valuation undemanding

I think Icon selection is a good investment bcos the fixed deposits rates is falling, alliance is a good alternative yield investment loh.!

TA_trader

390 posts

Posted by TA_trader > 2020-02-29 13:38 | Report Abuse

dont come and talk about what you seen. There are plenty of dead weights (employees) in the banking sector. Whats the point of seeing it when you actually did nothing but only contribute to weigh on your organization further? only to get fired?

Witnessing events and having substance to contribute and withstand crises is 2 different ends of a matter.

sohai talking about 10 years ago.

how has ABMB grew since 2011?

3 quarters cumulative profit as below:

2020 326,206
2019 425,821
2018 380,357
2017 394,735
2016 392,190
2015 437,511
2014 405,535
2013 399,220
2012 380,125
2011 324,130

you really expect growth? is this abmb's vision of wawasan 2020? to contribute lowest net profit since 2011? and now you still want to say its cheap? P/E is low and will continue to trend lower is because market isnt expecting the E, which is earnings to grow further in the future, hence the low P/E.

dog dog bark please..bark.

TA_trader

390 posts

Posted by TA_trader > 2020-02-29 13:42 | Report Abuse

aiyooohhhh....so clever la this icon kindergarden boy...announcing to the world he knows how to multiply and divide , and calculate ratios. *clap clap* sooooo clever...

but when asked on how to justify, dont know how to explain the meaning behind the ratios. no comparison or analysis made.

just know how to CALCULATE RATIO WORRR....SOOO CLEVER LA THIS SOHAI.

Lose money? whos the one losing money now? Am i long in abmb?

TA_trader

390 posts

Posted by TA_trader > 2020-02-29 13:55 | Report Abuse

average yearly net profit growth from 2013 to 2019 only at 1%.

Posted by Choivo Capital > 2020-02-29 15:38 | Report Abuse

Sometimes i don't understand why icon want to layan phillip so much.

Recently, Phillip also can even start arguing with kcchongnz and insulting him. Walau, the guy temperament like saint like that, also can fight with him, terror lah.

The only person i see not arguing with phillip, are people who like to jilat his "pacific rims".

Esp those people who are willing to ask the questions that will enable him to you,

"Young man, you shouldnt do it like that, follow me, i am the best and i am right" (elaborated over at minimum 400 more words)

Posted by Icon8888 > 2020-02-29 15:45 | Report Abuse

Hi choivo Long time no talk to you

How are you lately ?

Posted by Icon8888 > 2020-02-29 15:45 | Report Abuse

I actually have your phone number you know ?

Posted by Icon8888 > 2020-02-29 15:47 | Report Abuse

016 26xxxx2