ALLIANCE BANK MALAYSIA BERHAD

KLSE (MYR): ABMB (2488)

+0.08 (1.82%)

4.38 - 4.48

6 people like this.

1,829 comment(s). Last comment by KingKKK 6 days ago

Posted by Choivo Capital > 2020-02-29 15:47 | Report Abuse

Haha yeah, text me whenever.

Pretty good, busy as hell with the restructuring, last few months went back 3-4am everyday. T_T. Severely reduced my stocks studying time.

18,659 posts

Posted by Icon8888 > 2020-02-29 15:47 | Report Abuse

Where did I get it from ? I also forgot

18,659 posts

Posted by Icon8888 > 2020-02-29 16:01 | Report Abuse

Even without growth it was trading at RM4 most of the time mah

Meaning the current RM2.3 is not steady state and will one day back to RM4 mah

Buy buy buy

Next year lost money come see me I reimburse you young man

Posted by stockraider > 2020-02-29 16:52 |

18,659 posts

Posted by Icon8888 > 2020-02-29 17:28 | Report Abuse

TA Trader very green

Basic concept also need us explain again and again

I feel like a baby sitter

beso

2,137 posts

Posted by beso > 2020-02-29 23:21 | Report Abuse

opr further cut most likely next week banking stocks sure drop

Posted by Unkerpanjang > 2020-03-01 10:15 | Report Abuse

Backdoor #Notmypm. I no like, I sell all.

Posted by Philip ( Icarus) > 2020-03-01 16:40 | Report Abuse

Sustainable growth while taking care of shareholders( quality of growth) is the most important fact of all. Everything else is accounting land.

It is the reason why I chose pb back then compared to hlb, abmb and maybank.

If you want good pricing.

Public bank is at 12 PE. 4% dividends. Best in class loan quality, results same as last year. Why choose abmb over PB? Look at the safety ratios of public bank.

It's major loans are for hire purchase and holds 250 billion. It's business loans ratio is 50 billion, meaning they prefer to borrow money to households to buy houses ( at very strict requirements as you all well know), but very little to developers and smes. None to London biscuits or 1mdb thank you.

They are also protected by the best savings community in Malaysia, the Chinese ( sorry racist but true), with 294 billion in loans in savings and fixed deposits.

They can survive bank runs, as their unique quality of assets have them at almost 80 billion short term holdings that can be liquidated to pay off scared investors and the rest of deposits used to borrow hire purchase owners and home owners ( safer in totality instead of individual bombs).

All these safety selling at PE 12.

Why abmb? Because it is cheap selling at pe8? And got good dividend yields and earnings?

As yourself this: what is the quality of earnings? How risky is the earnings gained?

If you get 12% a month buying Geneva gold, should you do that instead of measly 3% from fixed deposit? Which is better?

A "fine" management that borrows money to London biscuits and 1MDB?

Decision is yours to make.

If you have to invest in banks, invest in the very best one.

If you have to ask why public bank is the best run bank in Malaysia? Then you shouldn't be investing in banks at all.

>>>>>>>

Posted by stockraider > Feb 29, 2020 4:52 PM | Report Abuse

Correctloh...why do people care about growth, when it is trading at attractive earnings valuation & with good dividend and with fine management leh ??

If there is immediate growth an added bonus loh....if not the margin of safety of this abmb is good enough for investment mah...!!

Posted by Philip ( Icarus) > 2020-03-01 17:02 | Report Abuse

Here is one you should always practice when doing valuation of banks (anything important is always hidden in the notes).

Open the quarterly reports PDF, go to search type: gross impaired loan percentage".

You will notice abmb had more than 1% impaired loans, hong Leong bank has 0.8%, and public bank has 0.49%.

Why is this important?

Qualitatively speaking: this shows how how much you lose each time you borrow to your particular clients.

Public bank borrows 300 billion for hire purchase( which if can't cover loan can be sold to another guy to sambung loan), making it the safest form of risky debt available.

So, does this explain why public bank has the highest PE in the market?

Do you know why warren bought Wells Fargo instead of bear sterns?

>>>>>>>>

Posted by Icon8888 > Feb 28, 2020 9:44 PM | Report Abuse

DY, PER, PBR

Which one need me to answer ?

LOL

Sohai

18,659 posts

Posted by Icon8888 > 2020-03-01 17:07 | Report Abuse

And ?

TA_trader

390 posts

Posted by TA_trader > 2020-03-01 17:09 | Report Abuse

and? and you couldnt answer anymore but yet trying ever so hard to save your ego?

by doing so, only serves to embarrass yourself further?

18,659 posts

Posted by Icon8888 > 2020-03-01 17:13 | Report Abuse

X P

Posted by stockraider > 2020-03-01 17:15 |

5,863 posts

Posted by yfchong > 2020-03-01 19:10 | Report Abuse

Beli

TA_trader

390 posts

Posted by TA_trader > 2020-03-01 21:48 | Report Abuse

Below is my first comment about Alliance Bank back in Feb 2019 when the counter was trading at 4.20.

I still hold my view firm that this counter will continue to deteriorate. This counter will only be considered "undervalued" if it trades below 2.00 ASSUMING that performance will continue to hold at the current trend, and not being hit by further NPLs.

Stock: [ABMB]: ALLIANCE BANK MALAYSIA BHD

Feb 28, 2019 12:09 AM | Report Abuse

only dumbos will invest in this counter. Every bank is posting good growth, this organization stagnant or marginal growth. High employee turnover, senior and mid level managers all busy meeting everyday, busy scandling with their own subordinate/colleagues and playing politics. Employees also demoralized, everyday ular and point fingers and politicking. Back office and middle office staff gets higher bonuses than front office staffs.

Just pay a visit to their branches. Forever empty. 5 counters open, 2 customer waiting also need to take 15 mins for your turn. No innovative products, only rely on SMEs and retail customers. Only rely on charging high margins to their customers. Such business can be easily taken away by other banks, should other banks just approach their customer with slightly lower margin. Especially when other banks provide better facilities, convenience, and better service.

Undervalued bank? Go visit their branches, talk to their employees, gauge their passion about their work. Go check glassdoor reviews.

TA_trader

390 posts

Posted by TA_trader > 2020-03-01 21:50 | Report Abuse

What i said back in Feb 2019 was SPOT on and will continue to apply.

Stock: [ABMB]: ALLIANCE BANK MALAYSIA BHD

Feb 28, 2019 10:58 PM | Report Abuse

clap....clap....clap...

Malaysian GDP growth

2011 5.3
2012 5.5
2013 4.7
2014 6.0
2015 5.1
2016 4.2
2017 5.9
2018 4.7

Can you please tell me how does it warrant ABMB as a stock to show consistent negative net profit growth when in 2017, the malaysian GDP grew at one of its fastest pace in the past 8 years? Why is it so consistent in showing negative growth in net profit while other banks showing consistent positive net profit growth?

Anyway whatever. Why should i be the one to point the facts and numbers out for you, when you as an investor bought without evening looking into the numbers first.

Bet you dont even know where to get the Malaysian GDP figures. Bunch of ignorant fools living in denial.

18,659 posts

Posted by Icon8888 > 2020-03-01 21:53 | Report Abuse

231 quite safe lah

18,659 posts

Posted by Icon8888 > 2020-03-01 22:06 | Report Abuse

Somebody told me you are a disgruntled employee

What happened ? They sacked you ?

TA_trader

390 posts

Posted by TA_trader > 2020-03-01 22:35 | Report Abuse

nah, its just idiots like you, not happy with facts, hence allege that i am sacked employee.

TA_trader

390 posts

Posted by TA_trader > 2020-03-01 22:41 | Report Abuse

suddenly say 2.31 safe? didnt you say it was safe and first class management since 2.90 level?

at current level its down 20%

First class analysis

(Icon) Alliance Bank - One Off Provision Affected Previous Quarter Earning. Time To Buy On Weakness
Author: Icon8888 | Publish date: Wed, 13 Nov 2019, 10:24 AM

A good stock is one that provides reasonable return with minimal risk.

Most of the time in the past few years, Alliance Bank traded above RM4.00 per share. It is now trading at RM2.85.

TA_trader

390 posts

Posted by TA_trader > 2020-03-01 22:42 | Report Abuse

are you a disruntled old man who was sacked by the financial sector? dead weight employee.

TA_trader

390 posts

Posted by TA_trader > 2020-03-01 22:47 | Report Abuse

Based on my comment Feb 2019 to Feb 2020, from 4.20 to 2.31, return would generate 45%

Based on your recommendation nov 2019 to end feb 2020, your annualized return would be down 60%

But help save your face abit la, you only tend to annualize profit, but not losses. Still, your return from 2.85 to 2.31 is currently down almost 20%

still??? aiyah..safe la boy..dont worry..long some more.

TA_trader

390 posts

Posted by TA_trader > 2020-03-01 22:48 | Report Abuse

Icon8888 Sochai lost money until so angry
29/02/2020 9:02 AM

whos the sochai? sochai calling ownself sochai? dont call yourself sochai la, call yourself sohai.

14,275 posts

Posted by i3lurker > 2020-03-01 22:48 | Report Abuse

you believe these fake figures?
if these figures were even close .... why did somebody lose the erection?

do you know how these figures are derived?
do you know that if I buy 1,000 Birkin bags in 2017, the GDP growth will rise?

while those stupid Rakyat use trash bags as a shopping bag?
actually 2017 is the lowest real growth for the Rakyat.....

you must learn where and how to get the "real figures"

dun ask me..............

////when in 2017, the malaysian GDP grew at one of its fastest pace in the past 8 years?///

18,659 posts

Posted by Icon8888 > 2020-03-01 23:05 | Report Abuse

He newbie mah

Naive

18,659 posts

Posted by Icon8888 > 2020-03-01 23:07 | Report Abuse

No wonder alliance bank sacked him

2,556 posts

Posted by abang_misai > 2020-03-01 23:09 | Report Abuse

Lctitan was bought with 1 hand holding sterling and 1 hand press buy button. Hope you have already sold

Posted by Philip ( Icarus) > 2020-03-01 23:44 | Report Abuse

No need argue so much, just watch one year, two year from now and monitor.

Halfway icon8888 will say he only dip his feet, cut loss already at 2.85.

So no need to expect so much or be so critical.

If he makes money just congratulate him la.

You never know, icon8888 might just secretly be your uncle in your mother's side.

When you realize that you will feel silly for insulting him or scolding a possible relative.

Anyway, once you get to know him, icon8888 can be a nice guy. If his stocks doing well. If abmb drop further his attitude level will definitely drop further.

14,275 posts

Posted by i3lurker > 2020-03-01 23:49 | Report Abuse

boutique banks are usually difficult.
they do not have economies of scale.

Big Banks already spent RM100 million on A4 paper alone,
pencils and erasers not calculated yet.

see the difference?

BNM always want boutique banks to merge.
In the UK, boutique banks can make fantastic profits from high net worth individuals.
In our Malaysian environment, high net worth individuals congregate on UOB.

You see the problem?

14,275 posts

Posted by i3lurker > 2020-03-02 00:06 | Report Abuse

Boutique Banks dun have much options on strategic opportunism.
They can ONLY go 1 route.
that route is High Net Worth individuals.
Much time was wasted by previous CEOs trying to compete with the Bigger Banks.
That is a sure fire Kamikaze strategy.
Such CEOs did not last long coz the BOD saw nothing and found nothing.

Bridget Lai was another distraction
and the bank lost precious time, it cannot afford to lose.

Current CEO seems to be considering the High Net Worth route.
He must be surely aware that he will be competing with UOB if he takes this route.
The ONLY route open to him.........

Just current CEO plain luck that LonBisc and Covid-19 came about during his watch.

as Bruce Willis says == > SHIT HAPPENS

keonkx123

186 posts

Posted by keonkx123 > 2020-03-02 00:46 | Report Abuse

@TA_trader i only saw ur feb 2019 comment few weeks ago, and i immediately disposed my share at 2.48. Its ok bro, stop reasoning with these people. They r speculator, not investor. They dont bother about business growth, management, impairment rate all that. All they wan is UPUPUPUPUP. So juz sit back and ask them to buy more.

Guy buy pls. Super undervalued ah! Lelong ah! Buy buy huy huat ah huat ahhhh zzzz

18,659 posts

Posted by Icon8888 > 2020-03-02 05:05 | Report Abuse

A Lot of first level thinking

Very negative , influenced by share price downtrend

When price goes up then everything is good

Bursa is flooded by people like that

keonkx123

186 posts

Posted by keonkx123 > 2020-03-02 09:05 | Report Abuse

Ok icon8888. Go ahead and average up. All the best

TA_trader

390 posts

Posted by TA_trader > 2020-03-02 15:33 | Report Abuse

https://www.theedgemarkets.com/article/bank-negara-malaysia-2017-gdp-growth-59

KUALA LUMPUR (Feb 14): The Malaysian economy, as measured by gross domestic product (GDP), expanded 5.9% in the fourth quarter of 2017 (4Q17) from a year earlier, driven mainly by private sector demand with support from the external sector.

In a statement today, Bank Negara Malaysia said 2017 full-year GDP grew 5.9% on year compared with the 4.2% expansion in 2016.

FAKE figures.
=)

i3lurker, perhaps you can share with us where u get the figures showing big banks in Malaysia spending rm 100 million JUST ON A4 paper.
Show us the truth pls.

TA_trader

390 posts

Posted by TA_trader > 2020-03-02 15:35 | Report Abuse

https://www.theedgemarkets.com/article/bank-negara-malaysia-2017-gdp-growth-59

KUALA LUMPUR (Feb 14): The Malaysian economy, as measured by gross domestic product (GDP), expanded 5.9% in the fourth quarter of 2017 (4Q17) from a year earlier, driven mainly by private sector demand with support from the external sector.

In a statement today, Bank Negara Malaysia said 2017 full-year GDP grew 5.9% on year compared with the 4.2% expansion in 2016.

FAKE figures.
=)

i3lurker, perhaps you can share with us where u get the figures showing big banks in Malaysia spending rm 100 million JUST ON A4 paper.
Show us the truth pls.

keonkx123

186 posts

Posted by keonkx123 > 2020-03-02 16:15 | Report Abuse

2.23.... well well. Go average up pls. Buy pls

gemfinder

6,880 posts

Posted by gemfinder > 2020-03-02 19:47 |

Posted by Unkerpanjang > 2020-03-02 20:15 | Report Abuse

Thankful to be saved by #Notmypm.
Very soon hit TP $1.60.

myongcc5

708 posts

Posted by myongcc5 > 2020-03-03 10:34 | Report Abuse

buy n sleep well.

18,659 posts

Posted by Icon8888 > 2020-03-03 10:45 | Report Abuse

Drop Low and stay Low

Keep the earning and dividend strong

Keep it like that for one year

That would be the best for an investor like me

I will take profit on my other stocks when they go up and come here collect more

Posted by stocksyndicate > 2020-03-03 11:59 | Report Abuse

Still waiting for another rate cut than I decide to buy after another dropping session. No offence haha. Everyone looking for cheap bargains.

GENER

224 posts

Posted by GENER > 2020-03-03 13:05 | Report Abuse

Ya, Still Waiting The interest Cut..

gemfinder

6,880 posts

Posted by gemfinder > 2020-03-03 13:17 |

TA_trader

390 posts

Posted by TA_trader > 2020-03-03 13:28 | Report Abuse

Personally don't think there will be a cut today.
But will definitely have another cut this year.

skybursa

1,482 posts

Posted by skybursa > 2020-03-03 14:09 | Report Abuse

AMBANK quarterly results increased 9.2% ABMB quarterly results drop 10% . AMBANK trading at PE 7.12 ABMB PE trade at 7.85. Overall AMBANK looks cheaper in valuation.

Kyou

1,225 posts

Posted by Kyou > 2020-03-03 14:58 | Report Abuse

Sifu Icon888 still holding CIMB ..??@@

Posted by Tedinvestor > 2020-03-03 15:20 | Report Abuse

Confirmed Bank Negara lower rate by 0.25 bps to 2.5

ray1980

2,992 posts

Posted by ray1980 > 2020-03-03 15:47 | Report Abuse

BNM cut rates 0.25%.May and July coming soon...

TA_trader

390 posts

Posted by TA_trader > 2020-03-03 23:08 | Report Abuse

suddenly sohai icon so quiet. Maybe digging from his EPF savings.

Jururawat

270 posts

Posted by Jururawat > 2020-03-04 12:27 | Report Abuse

Hi old friend, I was here too. Brought by today... Today go fishing kah?