KIAN JOO CAN FACTORY BHD

KLSE (MYR): KIANJOO (3522)

669 comment(s). Last comment by Gore Victor Lee 2019-08-29 15:11

sheldon

1,405 posts

Posted by sheldon > 2015-11-25 23:21 | Report Abuse

I hope that all the minority shareholders e.g. me - will get rewarded with the patience we have exercised thus far.

Please Minority - DON'T SELL until a good offer is placed on your plate.

pharker

1,089 posts

Posted by pharker > 2015-11-26 10:21 | Report Abuse

This counter one day will EXPLODE..when someone ignite the trigger / catalyst...in the mean time it will just plateau..and flush out weak holders...only investor with deep pocket and patience will make money for this type of shares...I am holding but luckily switch some to conone

firehawk

4,780 posts

Posted by firehawk > 2015-11-30 16:25 | Report Abuse

drop loh + no dividend 。。。

Posted by Sebastian Sted Power > 2015-11-30 16:28 | Report Abuse

WTF! why this year still no announce DIV???

december liao

hanting999

463 posts

Posted by hanting999 > 2015-11-30 17:32 | Report Abuse

VOTE AGAINST THE SALE OF KIAN JOO TO ASPIRE!!!!!!

Posted by DreamSurrounder > 2015-11-30 17:35 | Report Abuse

Kian Joo Can or Kian Joo Cannot ah

sheldon

1,405 posts

Posted by sheldon > 2015-12-08 10:29 | Report Abuse

T'is the season & I bring good news ho ho ho!

Focus ran a good article on KJ. They said that Toyota Tsusho (TT) will likely offer a much higher price. Why? - two reasons:

1) when they first offered $230m, USD/MYR was 3.60 which translated into RM3.74/share. Now with a weakened MYR, the same USD amounts to RM4.20/share.

2) TT's initial offer was 1.6 times NTA. Now NTA has risen further due among others to non-payment of dividends, hence at the same ratio, it translates into RM4.51/share

fengtzekai

125 posts

Posted by fengtzekai > 2015-12-11 11:50 | Report Abuse

Oh! Incorporate 2 subsidiaries in Myanmar. Is it a good move?

firehawk

4,780 posts

Posted by firehawk > 2015-12-16 10:16 | Report Abuse

price drops .....

sheldon

1,405 posts

Posted by sheldon > 2016-01-04 14:35 | Report Abuse

Just sit around, twiddle your thumbs & wait until 23 Mar 2016. But ... will there be another extension?

hanting999

463 posts

Posted by hanting999 > 2016-01-05 23:28 | Report Abuse

If you start to twiddle your thumbs now until 23.3.16, your thumbs will be twiddled. Good chance there will be an extension for whatever reason; so that no year-end dividends will be announced. Minority shareholders always lose out. Any white knights around?

sheldon

1,405 posts

Posted by sheldon > 2016-01-11 22:56 | Report Abuse

With markets in the doldrums the offer is fast fading. I don't think our local billionaires, the Vincent Tans and Ananda Krishnans find KJ compelling. The best hope would be to get a billionaire foreigner with lots of USD to play white knight.

Look at Ajinomoto - some white Co saw value, proceeded to snap up more than 5% stake and in the process, the share price went through the roof.

sheldon

1,405 posts

Posted by sheldon > 2016-01-12 07:12 | Report Abuse

Perhaps Warren Buffet

Jim Tan

255 posts

Posted by Jim Tan > 2016-01-21 19:51 | Report Abuse

Anyone read the latest announcement?

sheldon

1,405 posts

Posted by sheldon > 2016-01-22 10:10 | Report Abuse

Yes, from the legal actions, appeals and counter appeals, the winner is ....

... the LAWYERS !!!

hanting999

463 posts

Posted by hanting999 > 2016-01-22 23:59 | Report Abuse

.... and the loser ...... KIAN JOO SHAREHOLDERS, CHEE, CHAY, EPF

sheldon

1,405 posts

Posted by sheldon > 2016-01-26 22:39 | Report Abuse

I feel sorry for the old folks who hold KJ shares but have not received dividends for sometime

cephasyu

71 posts

Posted by cephasyu > 2016-02-17 17:44 | Report Abuse

KianJoo writeup - please check it out.
http://klse.i3investor.com/blogs/rarecharms/91402.jsp

hanting999

463 posts

Posted by hanting999 > 2016-02-23 18:57 | Report Abuse

Kian Joo must be joking. Only 2 sen dividend??????

hanting999

463 posts

Posted by hanting999 > 2016-02-23 19:02 | Report Abuse

kian Joo is wrong. 2% dividend {KJ is 25 sen stock} does not give 2 sen dividend.

sheldon

1,405 posts

Posted by sheldon > 2016-02-23 20:00 | Report Abuse

Yes Haunting999 - I believe it should be read as 2 sen.

With so much distributable reserves and many quarters of no dividends, I also believe that the puny current dividend is reflective of either management acting in bad faith or their minds are totally warped.

Posted by soojinhou > 2016-02-23 20:11 | Report Abuse

I prefer that they don't give dividend. Do note that any dividend they give will be offseted against the offer price by Aspire Insight. They give 2 cents dividend, instead of RM3.30 offer price, you will only get RM3.28. Kianjoo does not issue dividends after receiving the offer for this reason. And I prefer that they do not issue dividend now.

hanting999

463 posts

Posted by hanting999 > 2016-02-23 20:37 | Report Abuse

Agreed with soojinhou. Kian Joo is behaving arrogantly. Not giving dividends is like cutting our flesh. Now they are rubbing in 2 sen worth of salt. At AGM, vote down their proposal. All retained profits go in their pockets if they succeed in the take over.

sheldon

1,405 posts

Posted by sheldon > 2016-02-24 10:49 | Report Abuse

soojinhou - you seem to be happy with their 3.30 offer price. In fact logically speaking you should welcome dividends if such was the case because money received earlier has more time value.

To me irrespective of whether the offer is 3.30 or lower because of dividends paid, it's too low considering that the price was fixed >2 years ago and by now this duck called Kian Joo has become fatter and juicier with all the profits earned but unreleased .

cpng

1,575 posts

Posted by cpng > 2016-02-24 22:27 | Report Abuse

UACJ, the biggest aluminum-rolling company in Japan, will spend more than 10 billion yen ($88.4 million) to expand a Thai sheet production plant by 70% in two to three years. Full-blown output began at this Rayong Province site last fall.

http://asia.nikkei.com/Business/Trends/Japanese-US-makers-pour-it-on-in-Southeast-Asia?n_cid=NARAN012

sheldon

1,405 posts

Posted by sheldon > 2016-02-24 23:28 | Report Abuse

Considering the fact that BOJ is charging negative interest rates perhaps UACJ can borrow Yen cheaply & be our white knight !

fengtzekai

125 posts

Posted by fengtzekai > 2016-02-29 17:32 | Report Abuse

Still holding at this level despite announcing a so-so results.

fengtzekai

125 posts

Posted by fengtzekai > 2016-02-29 17:32 | Report Abuse

Capital commitment numbers are scary.

hanting999

463 posts

Posted by hanting999 > 2016-03-03 12:14 | Report Abuse

We have to wait till the end of March, 2016. Maybe further extension???? What is the S. C. doing? Keep granting extensions and Kian Joo share price goes limbo. And EPF waiting for the kill after working with the See brothers for so long.

sheldon

1,405 posts

Posted by sheldon > 2016-03-09 21:39 | Report Abuse

Eventually EPF should demand some tangible outcome. I can't imagine that they can be so patient for so long what with the pathetic dividends after a long period of absence of dividends.

Let's go to the AGM, get the door gifts, eat the food & make some noise to rattle the snooty, pretentious, coat-wearing board. They should tolerate our tirades and brickbats to justify their fees.

hanting999

463 posts

Posted by hanting999 > 2016-03-11 12:46 | Report Abuse

Aspire (EPF plus another) is cunning. The offer is made to Kian Joo directly after the Sees were removed. Why to Kian Joo? And why Kian Joo accepted? Offer directly to shareholders, I would dare them. Now what happened; two years wait, no dividends and wait till end of March, 2016, hopefully.

sheldon

1,405 posts

Posted by sheldon > 2016-03-11 22:50 | Report Abuse

Would they not ultimately require shareholders' approval?

fengtzekai

125 posts

Posted by fengtzekai > 2016-03-14 16:36 | Report Abuse

hunting999 & Sheldon, the deal require shareholders' approval and they need 75% of shareholders to approve before this become a reality.

(please verify) If they offer to shareholders under voluntary general offer, they only need 51% to control the company.

Also, I think the offer was made when the See family still have representative in the Board. Otherwise, there will be no court cases concerning this already.

Hopefully we can see an end to this entire saga soon.

sheldon

1,405 posts

Posted by sheldon > 2016-03-15 11:13 | Report Abuse

I think that those with vested interest i.e. EPF & Canone are not allowed to vote on this deal. But then they can always pull the Sime Darby stunt.

sheldon

1,405 posts

Posted by sheldon > 2016-03-20 11:49 | Report Abuse

23 Mar is D-day - the question in everyone's mind is whether there'll be another postponement. http://www.thesundaily.my/news/1571463

sheldon

1,405 posts

Posted by sheldon > 2016-03-20 12:16 | Report Abuse

A noteworthy point is that Can-one has large borrowings to pare down so they need a good dividend pay out from KJ.

hanting999

463 posts

Posted by hanting999 > 2016-03-20 23:18 | Report Abuse

Will Aspire play out Can One? Already the shareholders (except EPF) are being screwed.

sheldon

1,405 posts

Posted by sheldon > 2016-03-21 14:56 | Report Abuse

Another question - If Can-one is not regarded a party with vested interest (which although in the opinion of most if not all, it's otherwise) then can its vote tip the balance and allow Aspire to acquire KJ for a song?

fengtzekai

125 posts

Posted by fengtzekai > 2016-03-21 15:49 | Report Abuse

Question is - will Can-One still accept RM3.30 as fair price for Kian Joo? The price was fixed 3 years back. Value of Kian Joo has changed a lot since then.

hanting999

463 posts

Posted by hanting999 > 2016-03-21 16:25 | Report Abuse

I believe that Can One will accept RM3.30 for obvious reasons. But with so much 'profits' at stake will Can One get what she wants. However, if Can One accepts the proposed offer straight away then Can One is not being fair to her shareholders.

sheldon

1,405 posts

Posted by sheldon > 2016-03-22 10:00 | Report Abuse

Can One can accept but the See brothers & other rational minority shareholders with ability to hold will not accept. Is it enough to block the deal?

dummy

33 posts

Posted by dummy > 2016-03-23 10:40 | Report Abuse

what are the chances for the deal to drag on another 6 mths?

hanting999

463 posts

Posted by hanting999 > 2016-03-23 14:07 | Report Abuse

To day is D day. I think Aspire has to close shop. Has Aspire got to wait till the last day to say what they will do next? Very teruk.

hanting999

463 posts

Posted by hanting999 > 2016-03-23 19:21 | Report Abuse

ooo la la, another 6 months' wait.

dummy

33 posts

Posted by dummy > 2016-03-23 21:09 | Report Abuse

booo.....

firehawk

4,780 posts

Posted by firehawk > 2016-03-23 22:22 | Report Abuse

investors grilled for another 6 mths!

sheldon

1,405 posts

Posted by sheldon > 2016-03-23 23:33 | Report Abuse

WTF are the authorities doing? They are trying to wear the minority shareholders down. The only way out of this ridiculous predicament is that a white knight with a better deal comes along.

I guess the next best thing to do is to raid the larder - makan cukup2 at the AGM, collect the door gift & make some noise.

hanting999

463 posts

Posted by hanting999 > 2016-03-25 10:58 | Report Abuse

I fear that after all the waiting and no 'normal' dividends, the exercise may be called off. WHAT THEN? Shame to all concerned.

sheldon

1,405 posts

Posted by sheldon > 2016-03-25 22:00 | Report Abuse

Called off is better than trying to rip off the minority shareholders by buying shares for a song. Then at least they can focus on the business instead of the wheeling & dealing. E.g. There won't be maneuvers like ensuring that share price does not rise too much.

If a company has got a good business model which is tried and tested and operations are profitable, then efficient market hypothesis dictates that the price will rise concomitantly. Rational investors are not going to pass up a good bargain.

dummy

33 posts

Posted by dummy > 2016-03-28 14:43 | Report Abuse

tin kosong = all news, no action