MALAYSIAN AIRLINE SYSTEM BHD

KLSE (MYR): MAS (3786)

37 people like this.

15,107 comment(s). Last comment by wallstreetrookie 2020-04-18 11:57

Posted by Investwise > 2013-05-02 09:19 | Report Abuse

hi. pls advise this MAS-OR
let's say if I bought 2000 MAS at RM0.8025 and now I entitled the MAS-OR for 8000units at RM0.23. If I wish to subscibe the OR, how much is my buying average price? isit RM0.3445?

zack_liza

1,560 posts

Posted by zack_liza > 2013-05-02 09:25 | Report Abuse

closed 30/4/2013 RM0.68...rights RM0.23.. entitlement 4 R :1 share
calculate : 0.68 + (0.23 x 4) /5 = RM0.32 ( Adjusted price today)

OR may be RM0.32-RM0.23=RM0.09???

Posted by Mohd Iskandar Hatimi > 2013-05-02 09:29 | Report Abuse

can any one explain about OR.. I really not understand.. I bought 10 lot MAS share at RM0.68... Now the price reduce about 50%.. Why this happen.. someone please help me about this..thank tou

necro

4,726 posts

Posted by necro > 2013-05-02 09:30 | Report Abuse

aiyo..

Posted by Investwise > 2013-05-02 09:35 | Report Abuse

Thanks.. Zack
By the way, how to calculate my buying average price? thanks

iafx

4,632 posts

Posted by iafx > 2013-05-02 09:39 | Report Abuse

looking at mas now remind of knm b4 reverse split... too fatty to move

pandarian

131 posts

Posted by pandarian > 2013-05-02 09:46 | Report Abuse

Better wait it further drop~~~

lstan

63 posts

Posted by lstan > 2013-05-02 09:48 | Report Abuse

Waa.... nasib baik, sudah lepas tangan sebelum ni....

phyroxus

683 posts

Posted by phyroxus > 2013-05-02 09:49 | Report Abuse

zack, i think the OR still start from 0.23 on next week. But the mother share price will keep fluctuate

Posted by Lawrence Kwan Vui Juin > 2013-05-02 09:57 | Report Abuse

This right issue is really complicated.. until now i still can't understand!

Posted by Lawrence Kwan Vui Juin > 2013-05-02 09:58 | Report Abuse

I heard that this mas-or is just trade for few days.. after that it will turn back to mother share

zack_liza

1,560 posts

Posted by zack_liza > 2013-05-02 10:06 | Report Abuse

OR price can't be RM0.23...bcoz whose buy peel (OR) at RM0.23 plus Right issue at RM0.23.. assume 0.23(OR)+0.23(RI)= RM0.46...now mkt price RM0.36... or current mkt price push up at RM0.40 ++++ level or OR price will drop (when listing) if mas price below RM0.35....wait n see..

phyroxus

683 posts

Posted by phyroxus > 2013-05-02 10:11 | Report Abuse

do you mean got mas-OR and mas-RI exists next week?

PISON85

17 posts

Posted by PISON85 > 2013-05-02 10:33 | Report Abuse

Hi investwise. Yes, your average buying price will be RM0.3445 if you were to subscribe to the right issue.

Posted by Jackson Quan > 2013-05-02 10:33 | Report Abuse

ya, any expert advise here? Confused. Appreciate with simple example.

Posted by Pauline Yong > 2013-05-02 11:12 | Report Abuse

For 1 MAS share you get 4 rights, u need to pay RM0.23/sh for the rights. If your cost is RM0.70, this is how u calculate: (0.7 x 20% + 0.23 x 80%) = RM0.324 cost of your MAS.

1:4 = 20%:80%

shawn3333

264 posts

Posted by shawn3333 > 2013-05-02 11:16 | Report Abuse

Still can buy now to obtain the rights??

Posted by Investwise > 2013-05-02 11:20 | Report Abuse

Thank u Pison85 :)

Posted by masterchart88 > 2013-05-02 11:24 | Report Abuse

Today is the ex-date, not entitle for rights if you buy MAS today. However the right shares will be quoted for sales between 7th to 13th of May. You can buy the rights share quoted on the market from 7th May onward.

mshahrj

37 posts

Posted by mshahrj > 2013-05-02 13:23 | Report Abuse

Pauline, assuming we have bought 10,000 units at RM0.70, does that means now we have 50,000 units at RM0.324? OR do we have to fork in the difference?

ryan78

176 posts

Posted by ryan78 > 2013-05-02 13:30 | Report Abuse

MAS now hiring the turban head girl as the Airline ambassador?

Another bad move that will destroy the company's image further.

Malaysia is misusing public money to popularized a lousy singer once again to advertise this country.

phyroxus

683 posts

Posted by phyroxus > 2013-05-02 13:36 | Report Abuse

0.7 --> 0.35, for each shares, how much you lose?
0.23 --> 0.35, for each shares * 4, how much you earn after convert?
Assuming the the mother price stagnant to 0.35 before OR conversion.

ryan78

176 posts

Posted by ryan78 > 2013-05-02 13:41 | Report Abuse

Maybe it's the effect of the turd head girl becoming the new MAS ambassador announced in the news...

Posted by Teo Hock Song > 2013-05-02 13:48 | Report Abuse

this right can only be subscribe by existing holder or can even be subscribe by new holder ?

phyroxus

683 posts

Posted by phyroxus > 2013-05-02 15:18 | Report Abuse

u hold the shares on 30 Apr but not for today, you own the OR but need pay up if you want subscribe later

Posted by Junglestock > 2013-05-02 15:55 | Report Abuse

next quarter results out soon - positive again :)

Posted by Junglestock > 2013-05-02 15:55 | Report Abuse

sorry last quarter results out soon

zack_liza

1,560 posts

Posted by zack_liza > 2013-05-02 16:02 | Report Abuse

tomorrow price can reach RM0.40...

phyroxus

683 posts

Posted by phyroxus > 2013-05-02 16:07 | Report Abuse

GE will pull it down. Now trap people first. :)

Hustle

3,615 posts

Posted by Hustle > 2013-05-02 16:15 | Report Abuse

If currently for those who have 10k unit already been entitle 10k OR.If you don't dispose the mother share after the OR come out,totally will become 20k of OR,then you are entitle to buy 80k of right issue.

To avoid poker game that need to do all in,investor still have choice to dispose the mother before OR come out.If you still want to invest just hold the existing entitle OR to purchase 40k of right issue.

Think about it,at least the dealer still give you a chance to reduce your capital loss.

krychek

5 posts

Posted by krychek > 2013-05-02 16:19 | Report Abuse

wait the minute, is that means if I hold 1000 units MAS share, i will automatically entitle for 4000 units of right issue or do I need to dig out the 0.23*4000=RM920 to subscribe for the OR? If those people who do not subscribe then they will rugi because the MAS stock price diluted to RM0.36 ? Pls advice. Newbies here.

Posted by Junglestock > 2013-05-02 16:20 | Report Abuse

confident, no other stock can offer this opportunity of recovery and growth. its already at rock bottom no where else to go. GE other stocks gonna free fall as you can see some now. This one, buy, keep in storage and wait 3 quarters minimum. Remember 11-15 years ago , same thing.

Hustle

3,615 posts

Posted by Hustle > 2013-05-02 16:26 | Report Abuse

Simple said,you have 1k MAS currently and automatically 1k MAS-OR already award to you free since today is the ex date.So,the MAS-OR will list at bursa after few days,if you still keep the existing MAS,then it will become 2K of MAS-OR and you are entitle to buy double (8k of right issue).1k MAS-OR can buy 4K of right with each 1k 0.23.
So,consider about your capital 1st before make a decision,since right issue you need to send cash check to apply.

phyroxus

683 posts

Posted by phyroxus > 2013-05-02 16:30 | Report Abuse

if not subscribe OR, you will loss half already if you bought at 0.7 and now drop to 0.35. Unless you want loss selling like that or wait it up back 0.7 which is 100% up, do you think possible?

Posted by Junglestock > 2013-05-02 16:31 | Report Abuse

Hustle, you can also choose not to buy the total entitled rights issue right?

Posted by Junglestock > 2013-05-02 16:33 | Report Abuse

yes, possible to go up...

phyroxus

683 posts

Posted by phyroxus > 2013-05-02 16:35 | Report Abuse

krychek, you hold 1k units, you should auto have 4k units OR on next week for trading. By right it should show in your trading system, if not please check with your remisier.

if you dont sell and want keep it (to average down the mother price you bought at 0.7++), means you have to subscribe it and need to take out $920 for pay up.

Mas should send a subscription form after entitlement date, 6th May to those holding the mother shares before ex-date, 2nd May.

phyroxus

683 posts

Posted by phyroxus > 2013-05-02 16:38 | Report Abuse

Hi junglestock,
can you brief your statement?

This one, buy, keep in storage and wait 3 quarters minimum. Remember 11-15 years ago , same thing.

What happen 11 15 years ago?

phyroxus

683 posts

Posted by phyroxus > 2013-05-02 16:41 | Report Abuse

Hi hustle, why will have free 1k OR for today? why will become 2k and 8k

Hustle

3,615 posts

Posted by Hustle > 2013-05-02 16:47 | Report Abuse

1 MAS entitle 1 lot of MAS-OR so that you can buy 4 lot of right issue.
If your existing MAS still hold in hand then after the OR listed,the existing MAS will turn into MAS-OR too.Then you will have total 2 lot of MAS-OR.

Posted by Junglestock > 2013-05-02 16:50 | Report Abuse

MAS went through similar cycle 11-15 years ago, down to 52 - 57 sen, then restructure and BTP during Idris Jala time (Business Tranformation Plan), recovery time frame 3 - 4 quarters. Share price moved up over rm7.00+
This is the third cycle happening to MAS in the last 24 years (3 times down same thing).
Opportunity for this at 23sen is good, if you are patient to wait.
The worse that will happen is a new corporate partner coming in very good, even better.
MAS is like phoenix.
Sorry i cant give technical and "proof" details. You have to read up the history of MAS to know and study their 15 year performance.
My estimates not exactly but about there.

Hustle

3,615 posts

Posted by Hustle > 2013-05-02 16:50 | Report Abuse

Jungle stock you can choose not to buy the right issue but your investment will base on the OR price already,if possible the OR can goreng to 0.70 then don't need to buy right issue lah,if not still have to pump money in.

Posted by Junglestock > 2013-05-02 17:05 | Report Abuse

Thanks so much Hustle!

krychek

5 posts

Posted by krychek > 2013-05-02 17:06 | Report Abuse

huh, is that true that existing MAS share will be converted to right issue? What phyroxus explained sounds make sense which 1 lot of MAS mother share entitled for 4 lots of MAS-OR. Phyroxus, how long we can keep the 4K of right issues? If I sell it means I'll sell it at 0.23 per unit or the market price?

cherry tomato

1,880 posts

Posted by cherry tomato > 2013-05-02 17:08 | Report Abuse

better wait next monday only decide. If next monday current govt win, then it may take 1 month to recover the share price. or else even to subscribe the right the share will be priceless.

phyroxus

683 posts

Posted by phyroxus > 2013-05-02 17:24 | Report Abuse

i think need get my remisier advice if this is like the case mentioned by hustle. Perhaps you can do so.

If it is hustle case, it looks like 1k mas get 1k OR, later after combine become 2k OR and need pay up for 8k right shares. This calculation is far beyond a normal retailor to understand and this involve more than the capital we can imagine

My understanding is just simple, holding 1k mas before today will get 4k OR in which price start from 0.23 on 6th May. The OR can be traded as the price may go up to near to mother price.

if want keep the OR which will convert to mother price, then have to pay up.

Posted by Junglestock > 2013-05-02 17:33 | Report Abuse

Ya, me also confused by Hustle :) hehe old people cannot faham too much complication la...
My case - i have 30 lots (30,000) so i am entitled to buy 120,000 @.23sen which will be rm27600. IF i choose to exercise and buy.

cherry tomato

1,880 posts

Posted by cherry tomato > 2013-05-02 17:41 | Report Abuse

junglestock u are right

phyroxus

683 posts

Posted by phyroxus > 2013-05-02 17:48 | Report Abuse

hi junglestock,
Same thought of this OR with you.
The price paid should be .23 * numbers of OR.

If the OR going up and the ex-price stay stagnent 0.35 before exercise means the earning for OR is from 0.23 to 0.35

If someone bought the OR at price 0.3(without holding mother shares), so end up the earning only 0.3 --> 0.35

Not sure my understanding correct not... :S

i just think if the number of right shares double triple up too lot, those bought at high price such as > $1.0 definitely not easy to have capital to average. Then they have no choice but to cut lose already.

alenac

2,647 posts

Posted by alenac > 2013-05-02 18:16 | Report Abuse

OR cannot go up to 70 sen if split in to 4. It will follow mother price closely minus 23 sen per share.