MALAYSIAN AIRLINE SYSTEM BHD

KLSE (MYR): MAS (3786)

37 people like this.

15,107 comment(s). Last comment by wallstreetrookie 2020-04-18 11:57

Hustle

3,615 posts

Posted by Hustle > 2013-05-08 16:39 | Report Abuse

The opening price possibly higher than MAS-OR + 0.23,that why high risk high return.No risk,wait next turn :)

phyroxus

683 posts

Posted by phyroxus > 2013-05-08 16:45 | Report Abuse

i just wonder...

If hold the mother before ex-date, then sell it on the entitlement date. Does we still got the OR on 7th May when trading start?

If you see, mas shares being cook up to 0.45 highest on the entitlement date

Hustle

3,615 posts

Posted by Hustle > 2013-05-08 16:47 | Report Abuse

Yup after ex date you will automatic have 4 or for each mas,even though you sell the mas.

wachin

145 posts

Posted by wachin > 2013-05-08 16:47 | Report Abuse

OR 3 cent now

smartly

6,430 posts

Posted by smartly > 2013-05-08 16:49 | Report Abuse

sapu...... :p

VeryPoison

196 posts

Posted by VeryPoison > 2013-05-08 16:50 | Report Abuse

I watch it live and noticed.... alot of high volume sell at 0.5 and low to 0.3... then continous 300 buy in high volumne at 0.3....
something very fishy

mm310

436 posts

Posted by mm310 > 2013-05-08 16:51 | Report Abuse

have the feeling of CAP when seeing the chart today, better stay away...

VeryPoison

196 posts

Posted by VeryPoison > 2013-05-08 16:53 | Report Abuse

CAP?

smartly

6,430 posts

Posted by smartly > 2013-05-08 16:54 | Report Abuse

cheap, you pay 0.03+0.23 = 0.26 for MAS equivalent.
worth as MAS now at 0.345

VeryPoison

196 posts

Posted by VeryPoison > 2013-05-08 16:55 | Report Abuse

Does that means MAS will be dragged down tomorrow or MAS-OR will be pushed up tomorrow?

Posted by streamer555 > 2013-05-08 16:59 | Report Abuse

just queue OR at 0.005..hehe

Keith Gan

96 posts

Posted by Keith Gan > 2013-05-08 17:00 | Report Abuse

when is the last day for trading of OR?

benhctan

305 posts

Posted by benhctan > 2013-05-08 17:02 | Report Abuse

When all MAS-OR rights are being subscribed,the market float of shares will ballooned up.
Don't expect the current mother share price will be sustainable when the rights shares are listed together with the mother shares.
Those days they were being traded separately but not sure with today's case.
Meaning to say:MAS-OR not entitle to dividend,parent shares MAS entitled to dividend.
Anyway,investors can do your part in national service which is part of their strategy.

wachin

145 posts

Posted by wachin > 2013-05-08 17:07 | Report Abuse

they force all MAS-OR holder to exercise it...

benhctan

305 posts

Posted by benhctan > 2013-05-08 17:10 | Report Abuse

wachin:exactly,they want everyone to swallow their bitter pills on their behalf.

phyroxus

683 posts

Posted by phyroxus > 2013-05-08 17:10 | Report Abuse

what if down to 0.000

Koay YP

15 posts

Posted by Koay YP > 2013-05-08 17:11 | Report Abuse

Cheap ? Does it mean it is good ? Do we need to understand the power of momentum of a falling knife ? Should you catch ? hahhah

Look at crude oil, airline industry is going to suffer when Crude Oil goes up to $100 again, we dunno when it will happen, but it sure will one day.

benhctan

305 posts

Posted by benhctan > 2013-05-08 17:12 | Report Abuse

at least 0.01 on humanitarian ground,bear in mind the par value is 0.10 now not RM1.00

benhctan

305 posts

Posted by benhctan > 2013-05-08 17:14 | Report Abuse

crude oil goes up,good-lah,petron oil can mark up higher and bill MAS

Koay YP

15 posts

Posted by Koay YP > 2013-05-08 17:17 | Report Abuse

Warren Buffett says airline industry has 'all the ingredients of
a bad business'

Long story short: for a flight carrying 100 passengers, all of the profits are provided by a single passenger. It takes 29 passengers to pay for the fuel for the flight, by far the biggest cost component. Fuel is an even bigger portion of long international flights; about one-third of the total cost.

Next after fuel is personnel expenses: 20 passengers are needed to cover the salaries of the pilots, flight attendants, ground crew, etc. Unions make it difficult to get around this factor. Even discount airlines end up having to raise salaries if they do not want to risk losing experienced personnel or having strikes or other profit-draining labor problems.

On the revenue side of the income statement, about 80% comes from ticket sales. The rest comes from fees for checked baggage, ticket penalties, and other surcharges. That is not an insignificant amount: baggage fees alone accounted for $3.4 billion in the U.S. airline industry. Ticket penalties amounted to $2.4 billion.

The tight margins, needless to say, turn up on the balance sheet and income statement of all air carriers. The profit margin for China Eastern Airlines is only 5.55%. For US Airways, it is only 1.75%. Tam loses money with a negative profit margin of 2.21%. TAM and CEA’s heavy debt load makes them even more uncomfortable for investors in airline stocks.

This is why it’s so hard for investors to make money in airline stocks. Even Warren Buffett has lost heavily from his investment in US Airways, which has filed for bankruptcy twice.

chleong

596 posts

Posted by chleong > 2013-05-08 17:22 | Report Abuse

Cool Everybody: MAS OR is made so attractive now???

What they really you to believe NOW "Your Money to subscribe to the rights issue (national service as benhctan said"

After you have subscribed "They will know how to deal with you later"

Keith Gan

96 posts

Posted by Keith Gan > 2013-05-08 17:24 | Report Abuse

why so crowded sold OR at the very low price???

Koay YP

15 posts

Posted by Koay YP > 2013-05-08 17:27 | Report Abuse

cos MAS is falling

Tonight will decide the fate of Malaysia, GLCs are still in uncertainty

smartly

6,430 posts

Posted by smartly > 2013-05-08 17:42 | Report Abuse

Depend on MAS price actually.
If this guy is steady, MAS-OR is dirt cheap at current price.

ktrader

1,883 posts

Posted by ktrader > 2013-05-08 17:47 | Report Abuse

sorry to ask, who are the one entitled for the OR ? tq

benhctan

305 posts

Posted by benhctan > 2013-05-08 17:51 | Report Abuse

ktrader:MAS-OR forms are available for sale in open market from the ex rights date for 14 days.
If the MAS has heavy debts and can't afford to borrow some more to subsribe,why not sell the forms to the rakyat and share some of the cronies debts.

ktrader

1,883 posts

Posted by ktrader > 2013-05-08 17:58 | Report Abuse

tq...but who sell the OR?

alenac

2,647 posts

Posted by alenac > 2013-05-08 18:02 | Report Abuse

Looks like Mas ex rights will be closed to 23 sen. As its Or is only 3 sen.

Posted by alenac > May 2, 2013 11:02 PM | Report Abuse X

MAS share unlikely to be stable until right are subscribed and listed. Additional 4 times the current listed shares will drive the shares lower till 23 sen methinks or lower if weak holders decide to liquidate after subscribing to the rights.

benhctan

305 posts

Posted by benhctan > 2013-05-08 18:03 | Report Abuse

Just to enlighten you,most foreign institutions as well as we poor man in the street got caught in this counter between the range of RM1.20 to even near RM2.20 during their early fake news.
So you can imagine the number of OR papers in the hand of the public as well.
Many will even say phui..phui,what for subcribe,get some cash in better,sell the forms.

Alex Chan

3,915 posts

Posted by Alex Chan > 2013-05-08 18:05 | Report Abuse

Apa lagi MAS mahu...? should extinct like the dinos

benhctan

305 posts

Posted by benhctan > 2013-05-08 18:09 | Report Abuse

To all:MAS rights issue 1:1 a RM1.60 in year 2009.

ktrader

1,883 posts

Posted by ktrader > 2013-05-08 18:28 | Report Abuse

I bought some mas shares on Monday 6/5...so i'm entiled for the right, but how come no OR shares appear in my portfolio...anyone?

benhctan

305 posts

Posted by benhctan > 2013-05-08 18:41 | Report Abuse

ktrader:Wonderful,you bought exactly on ex rights date.Did you pay cash on the spot or waiting T+3 then close position or pick up?
This trick tak bolih pakai le.
In this instance you better sell,buy the rights form in open market and participate by enriching the bankers,stamp office and paying your own transport charges.
Or wait till XALL listing date and be an aggressive speculator on this penny stock which will give you many rounds of thrill.

ktrader

1,883 posts

Posted by ktrader > 2013-05-08 18:44 | Report Abuse

didn't pay cash ......

phyroxus

683 posts

Posted by phyroxus > 2013-05-08 18:48 | Report Abuse

ktrader, i think ex date is on 30 Apr. Those who bought in entitle OR as the share price shave half on 2nd May. Else you need buy from open market.

benhctan

305 posts

Posted by benhctan > 2013-05-08 18:48 | Report Abuse

In this case,make a firm decision by the eve of listing of merge shares.
To hold on or dispose.
The market might use the format of top down.

ktrader

1,883 posts

Posted by ktrader > 2013-05-08 18:50 | Report Abuse

now i'm confused......brrrr...

benhctan

305 posts

Posted by benhctan > 2013-05-08 18:52 | Report Abuse

don't be confused,we pay to learn our mistakes

phyroxus

683 posts

Posted by phyroxus > 2013-05-08 18:56 | Report Abuse

those bought higher price (>=$1.0) need fork out much money scbscribe OR but yet average price still high... sigh. When can mas become rocket up (not DAP) :P

benhctan

305 posts

Posted by benhctan > 2013-05-08 19:08 | Report Abuse

Ha..ha..talking about rocket,MAS will buy some old rocket space capsule from Kazakhstan in the Ukraine,refurbished it and sell to Ghana in Africa.
This will jack up the book value and deceive investors like what they did before with old aircraft engine.

ktrader

1,883 posts

Posted by ktrader > 2013-05-08 19:12 | Report Abuse

phyroxus, I suppose you are right >>>

Renounceable rights issue of up to 13,368.6 million new ordinary shares of RM0.10 each in MAS (“RIGHT SHARE(S)”) on the basis of four (4) Rights Shares for every one (1) existing ordinary share of RM0.10 each in MAS held by MAS' shareholders whose names appear on MAS’ Record of Depositors as at 5.00 p.m. on 6 May 2013 at an issue price of RM0.23 per Rights Share.

Kindly be advised of the following :

1) The above Company's securities will be traded and quoted [ "Ex - Rights Issue" ]
as from : [ 2 May 2013 ]

phyroxus

683 posts

Posted by phyroxus > 2013-05-08 19:13 | Report Abuse

so mas keep boost up sales by offering promotion ticket is a trick to make ppl belive they really will become a rocket one day?

benhctan

305 posts

Posted by benhctan > 2013-05-08 19:18 | Report Abuse

the plane is flying on the 2nd May,you make a booking on 6th May,then you have to wait for the Bangla-Nepalese flight schedule.

Hustle

3,615 posts

Posted by Hustle > 2013-05-08 19:22 | Report Abuse

Very excited about next quarter revenue,since Banglasia contribute a lot to air craft industry :)

phyroxus

683 posts

Posted by phyroxus > 2013-05-08 19:24 | Report Abuse

crony use aircraft no need spend money but increase mas burden.

Hustle

3,615 posts

Posted by Hustle > 2013-05-08 19:29 | Report Abuse

you already see the power of crony please don't doubt about their ability, possibly tomorrow MAS-OR will surge to 1.00 after bursa have a current trip :)

Keith Gan

96 posts

Posted by Keith Gan > 2013-05-08 19:53 | Report Abuse

when is the last date for us to convert the OR to mother share??

benhctan

305 posts

Posted by benhctan > 2013-05-08 19:53 | Report Abuse

ktrader:(30.4.13) cum Rights-price trading 0.68(if you buy here=entitled)
(1.5.13)Labour Day
(2.5.13) X rights=0.365 (T+1)-buy here not entitle
(3.5.13) X rights=0.360 (T+2)-buy here not entitle
(6.5.13) X rights=0.405 (T+3)-buy here not entitled but those who book flight on 30.4.13 must pay by 5:00pm this day.

If you book on 6.5.13,no more seats for you,only fokker plane to Koh Samui in Thailand available and enjoy the moon party.

ktrader

1,883 posts

Posted by ktrader > 2013-05-08 19:57 | Report Abuse

ha3.....nice one benchtan.....I think I know what to do next....

Risk Trader

3,942 posts

Posted by Risk Trader > 2013-05-08 22:08 | Report Abuse

Tomorrow MAS will fall to Holland......:((