YTL CORPORATION BHD

KLSE (MYR): YTL (4677)

-0.13 (3.85%)

3.22 - 3.36

27 people like this.

15,456 comment(s). Last comment by Whiteytey 3 hours ago

freddiehero

16,715 posts

Posted by freddiehero > 2018-05-24 21:35 | Report Abuse

the price should 0.70 - 0.80

loonginv

852 posts

Posted by loonginv > 2018-05-24 21:48 | Report Abuse

so many bad sentimental surrounding, ytl never pray tua pek gong la.......have to throw this bloody stock, just like throw coconut to buang sueh

WD40

514 posts

Posted by WD40 > 2018-05-24 22:10 | Report Abuse

Too bad ytl dont go to tua pek gong... he pray to jesus

Posted by risktransformer > 2018-05-24 22:25 | Report Abuse

The QR result is not good but not too bad either. YTL had actually incurred total comprehensive loss of RM407 million for Q3, resulting in RM301 million loss for the first 9 months of current fiscal year.

Posted by risktransformer > 2018-05-24 22:35 | Report Abuse

The share price is not just based on the earnings per share (or P/E ratio).... other factors also affect the share price, e.g. its NTA = RM1.32, and the quality of its assets e.g. YTL has RM11 billion in fixed deposit & almost RM1 billion in bank & cash (a total of RM12 billion in cash equivalent, giving it RM1.10 cash per share).

Posted by risktransformer > 2018-05-24 22:40 | Report Abuse

As for the RM301 million loss for the first 9 months.... it is due to very challenging economic conditions in Malaysia, Singapore and the U.K. (Brexit & collapse of U.K. property prices) in 2017 & 2018.

Posted by risktransformer > 2018-05-24 22:57 | Report Abuse

As for the question on whether we should continue holding YTL shares or to sell it (or buy more)... a better indicator is to look at its TA. Currently, its RSI is 8% (grossly oversold) as reflected in its historically (5 years or more) lowest price. Its MACD histogram is below zero but curving upward (green histogram bars) which means the price is gearing up to rise soon. TA experts will tell u that this is the time to either hold a little longer (bcoz the price will go up soon) or to buy (if u haven't bought yet). But u have to decide for yourself & take your own risk. A lot depends on your current position & risk tolerance.

Posted by 10213293299224019 > 2018-05-24 23:08 | Report Abuse

Thanks for analysis and explaining risktransformer

johnyeoyeo

311 posts

Posted by johnyeoyeo > 2018-05-24 23:37 | Report Abuse

risktransformer @ thanks a lot

Posted by risktransformer > 2018-05-24 23:37 | Report Abuse

Actually, YTL's businesses r all profitable.... bringing in total net profit of RM0.3 billion for Q3 & RM0.9 billion for the first 9 months. The Q3 RM407 million loss was due to RM776 million foreign currency translation loss (this is not an actual loss, it is only for accounting purpose only). The first 9 months RM301 million loss was due to RM1.5 billion foreign currency translation loss (not actual loss, only for accounting purpose only). As long as YTL did not bring the Singapore $ or UK Pound Sterling into Malaysia, it is actually making net profit of RM298 million for Q3 and RM903 million for the first 9 months. In practice, multinational companies like YTL never bring back their foreign earnings... they leave their foreign earnings in foreign countries for their business operations there.

freddiehero

16,715 posts

Posted by freddiehero > 2018-05-25 06:56 | Report Abuse

hehe.. many project have to discuss back @_@

tingalfred

127 posts

Posted by tingalfred > 2018-05-25 07:03 | Report Abuse

I like YTL

WD40

514 posts

Posted by WD40 > 2018-05-25 07:19 | Report Abuse

Ok whatever... still crash this shit please! If i bought YTL at RM1.50 and now RM0.995 it is not loss of i haven't sell it... just paper only for accounting purpose only... what shit la... sounds like what? Face the fact la. Got stuck means got stuck. Wanna wait for myr go up then wait long long la.

Posted by risktransformer > 2018-05-25 08:41 | Report Abuse

WD40, please do not mix up my statement of YTL's accounting practice with investors' paper profit or loss. I did not say that an investor's paper loss is not a real loss, did I say that? I was only commenting on how accounting statements r done as compared to actual business operations on the ground.

Don't summarily assume that everyone who invested in YTL got stuck. It depends on their own objectives. If they r traders, i.e they buy with the intention to quickly sell for profit then they should have quickly cut-loss when the price dropped a certain percentage. If they r investors, i.e. they buy for long term (not intending to sell for quick profit) based on the fundamentals of the company then there is no reason for them to panic now. In your case, u sound like a trader (speculator)... then u better quickly sell all your shares & don't waste your time here.

timss

565 posts

Posted by timss > 2018-05-25 09:20 | Report Abuse

Well said.... For most YTL share holders, they are more prone to be a investor instead of trade, who keen to make quick profit in short time. The dividend yield of 9.5 cent for the last 4 consecutive years is sufficiently to justify a better return than FD. Well... The recent down trend could be attributed to the bad market sentiment especially those major scandals in our country.. For long term investment, RM 1 entry price is definitely attractive now!

Posted by 10213293299224019 > 2018-05-25 09:30 | Report Abuse

Price today no down but up

casanwk

1,496 posts

Posted by casanwk > 2018-05-25 09:57 | Report Abuse

it is the buyback arresting the real price value?
when happen, when buyback end? announce some good news?

l3ryan

669 posts

Posted by l3ryan > 2018-05-25 10:14 | Report Abuse

that's why i say all the aunty uncles are busy collecting YTL shares, call them stupid or what you want, but this people has hold the shares for at least 5 years and not even planning to sell in the next 5 years.. if you are a trader then sorry to say you are the dumbest one if you didn't cut lost because you make your money stuck and get frustrated because can't cash out the money to use. (mostly gambler will do that, use 90% of their savings to "bet" and end up cursing after making loss)

Posted by risktransformer > 2018-05-25 10:18 | Report Abuse

As I see it, the real price value of the share should be between RM1.10 and RM1.32. The share buy back has just started a few days ago (more buy backs to follow). I think the share buy back has three purposes: 1. Prevent further irrational fall in price. 2. Prevent YTL from being kicked out of the KLCI. 3. Accumulate more shares for the Yeoh family.

Posted by risktransformer > 2018-05-25 10:19 | Report Abuse

Dividend will only be announced in the October QR (not this time).

Wing23

415 posts

Posted by Wing23 > 2018-05-25 10:22 | Report Abuse

Ok buy now time sudah Mari

Wing23

415 posts

Posted by Wing23 > 2018-05-25 10:35 | Report Abuse

Fund coming in buy and hold long term

Godevil

33 posts

Posted by Godevil > 2018-05-25 11:34 | Report Abuse

risktransformer, the voice of reason. Thanks for your take on YTL.

mrstrong

285 posts

Posted by mrstrong > 2018-05-25 12:42 | Report Abuse

YTL buy back a lot.....should be stable now.. is time to buy more..

Posted by Investorkaki > 2018-05-25 12:43 | Report Abuse

Continue accumulate....very attractive price..!!

babu

326 posts

Posted by babu > 2018-05-25 15:09 | Report Abuse

@risktransformer, the company has not done any share buyback yet. It was Yeo Tiong Lay & Sons Holdings that bought just 9,000,000 shares; not much actually. What EPF has sold since 8 May 2018 to date is amost 40,000,000 shares ..... let's all hope that YTL will start it's shares buyback asap ! I will only heave a sigh of relief when this actually take place, otherwise it's hard to say whether it's price will continue to decline - look at YTLPower : who would have thought that it could fall as low as 73 sens ???. I am hopeful things will get better after this release of QR which I agree with risktransformer is actually not bad !

Posted by risktransformer > 2018-05-25 15:22 | Report Abuse

@babu: Yes, technically the company has not done share buy back (it has not used any of its RM11 billion fixed deposit for this purpose). At the moment, it is only the Yeoh family adding its shareholding. But since the Yeoh family controls more than 70 % of YTL, what is there to stop them from tapping a little of the RM11 billion fixed deposit to buy back shares should there be a need to do so? (I think this will b a last resort.)

Posted by risktransformer > 2018-05-25 15:28 | Report Abuse

@babu: On May 21 & 22, the Yeoh family bought 17 million shares, & on May 23 & 24 they bought another 13 million shares (altogether they bought 30 million shares on those 4 days). These should be able to counter EPF's recent sale of 40 million shares.

WD40

514 posts

Posted by WD40 > 2018-05-25 16:24 | Report Abuse

Epf know tun ma gonna scrap hsr... big hit to come.

WD40

514 posts

Posted by WD40 > 2018-05-25 16:25 | Report Abuse

Tun ma said very soon he will decide... Lee go visit... say hi... but tun ma say bye...

babu

326 posts

Posted by babu > 2018-05-25 16:50 | Report Abuse

@risktransformer : thanks, hope you are right ! It is just as encouraging to see major shareholder YTL& Sons Holdings acquiring ; I noticed that concurrently, they also buying YTLPower in fairly big chunks and I notice YTLPower share price spiking up today to 82 high ; let's hope we see YTL spiking up soon. risktransformer, Thanks for your insightful analysis .

Posted by Anwarfree18 > 2018-05-25 17:20 | Report Abuse

ECRL going to confirm scrap. Now Tun Mahathir going to say HSR will be follow. After that Gemas-JB. All unfair contracts sign with old BN govt review, YTL can keep your train in store room already.

lazy

33 posts

Posted by lazy > 2018-05-25 17:28 | Report Abuse

@Anwarefree18 - where do you get the news from?

Posted by 10213293299224019 > 2018-05-25 17:29 | Report Abuse

Wait...i call tun m. to ask

Posted by risktransformer > 2018-05-25 17:36 | Report Abuse

Hahahaha!! Anwarfree18 is free to say anything he likes since the Anti-Fake News Act is technically non-functional (& going to b abolished soon).

freddiehero

16,715 posts

Posted by freddiehero > 2018-05-25 18:25 | Report Abuse

wah good

casanwk

1,496 posts

Posted by casanwk > 2018-05-25 18:57 | Report Abuse

tks babu.
look likeYTL & sons holding is opening up warchest to bring up ytpl power to former glorious price high. in price action we see a higher low. come monday join them...:)

Bull

1,361 posts

Posted by Bull > 2018-05-27 11:55 | Report Abuse

hsr will be terminated

cut lost

https://klse.i3investor.com/blogs/hleresearch/158130.jsp

Posted by 100000299053052 > 2018-05-27 13:20 | Report Abuse

Most likely new government will terminate the HSR and review back the "SCENIC BRIDGE" which being called off by our previous PM Abdullah Badawi. Actually the "SCENIC BRIDGE" will benefit our Malaysia and boost up the economy as well.

babu

326 posts

Posted by babu > 2018-05-27 18:41 | Report Abuse

Dr M: Malaysia to look at ways to lower compensation to Singapore if HSR dropped . Quite surely, want to stop HSR but how to do it with the least "damage". However, I feel YTL price already more or less priced in this eventuality already .... so even if officially announce scrap HSR I don't think will drop much; maybe knee-jerk few sens drop at most ! I may be wrong though .....

Posted by risktransformer > 2018-05-27 19:32 | Report Abuse

I agree with u babu. Y the price dropped to so low now was initially due to the rumour that there is possibility that the HSR project will b cancelled... so if it become reality then it can't drop again a second time.

singh1

1,008 posts

Posted by singh1 > 2018-05-28 06:41 | Report Abuse

After reading Economic Affairs Minister Datuk Seri Azmin Ali comments such as below looks like the HSR will not be built ever.

"We must see whether we need the HSR project as the distance is only about 350km.

"We must examine if there are other modes of transport available to ensure connectivity between Singapore and Malaysia," he said at a breaking of fast programme at Masjid Al-Hidayah here Sunday (May 27)

Read more at https://www.thestar.com.my/news/nation/2018/05/27/azmin-government-evaluating-implications-of-cancelling-rail-mega-projects/#s6evjch3yE5zbjDF.99

Wa! Ha! Ha! So? Are we gonna use Electric Scooter to commute?? But never mind lah gov't need to save some money.

If rail projects are scrapped, gov't will save more than RM$100 Billion.
Hmmmmmmmmmmm!!! makes me wonder what projects they will initiate to get the economy going full blast. Hmmmmmmmm!!! if we can predict the correct sectors, we could make an early bird investment in anticipation. Any ideas where that could be ???

kong73

2,058 posts

Posted by kong73 > 2018-05-28 06:42 | Report Abuse

Fibre optics

WD40

514 posts

Posted by WD40 > 2018-05-28 08:47 | Report Abuse

Gone crash RM0.78

singh1

1,008 posts

Posted by singh1 > 2018-05-28 11:20 | Report Abuse

kong73 I will make note of that, thanks. Actually there was some mention after elections by communications and multimedia ministry about wanting to double the broadband speed. Which could mean laying out fibre optic cables all over. Hmmmm.......

Posted by MaggotRobbie > 2018-05-28 11:38 | Report Abuse

Sing when we are winning!

Posted by MaggotRobbie > 2018-05-28 11:39 | Report Abuse

I hope WD40 doesn't cry when YTL shoots up hahaha

l3ryan

669 posts

Posted by l3ryan > 2018-05-28 13:10 | Report Abuse

Doubling the speed does not need new fiber optic cables, the current infra are more than sufficient to double triple or even quadruple the speed. The laying of fiber optic cables may be necessary only for areas that has yet to have unifi

WD40

514 posts

Posted by WD40 > 2018-05-28 13:33 | Report Abuse

Maggot... why cry? I hold ytl since uncle yeoh still alive... i know the difference. Lol... once hsr confirm kaput... ytl will crash further down to drain.