@Rainbow0721 Ron90, I also noticed Dayang 1st Q results were always negative in the past few years..
What is Mabel view on this? 08/06/2020 10:11 AM
Do you know that some companies executives have already questioned the importance of the quarterly-reporting system. Warren Buffett, the CEO of Berkshire Hathaway (BRK), and Jamie Dimon, the CEO of JP Morgan Chase (JPM) have both been critics, saying that it puts too much pressure on companies and executives to deliver short-term results to please analysts and investors as opposed to focusing on the long-term interests of the business.
From my observation, most companies have tendency to reports weak result in the odd quarters. Hence the first quarter weakest is not exactly out of norms. The second and the final always the best. As long there's no surprise impairments, we could expect positive QR. Beside Carimin and Uzma you could add Velesto and KNM into the list of positive result.
Armada, we were expecting a positive Q1, they decided to take all the impairment in Q1. The good things about impairment, they could write it back in the subsequent quarters, so it's not a loss. Despite negative Q1 Armada was the 1st to hit 20 and 25 sen hurdles. Hence weak Q1 is not a defering factor for the ships share price to climb.
What's important, overall Dayang is a healthy ship.
DAYANG's earnings growth over the past year (44.2%) exceeds its 5-year average (-2.7% per year) and the Energy Services industry 23.2%.
DAYANG's short term assets (MYR892.0M) exceed its short term liabilities (MYR412.0M) exceed its long term liabilities (MYR770.0M).
DAYANG's debt to equity ratio (38.8%) is considered satisfactory. It means it's debt is well covered by operating cash flow and DAYANG's interest payments on its debt are well covered by EBIT (6x coverage).
Moving forward...
For short term RM 2 is a good and fair number to achieve and that's the same number we are putting a target for Serba as our next milestone. T'm actually excited and all pump up to see which of these ship will break the RM 2 milestone first.
Thanks Mabel for your insights! Always love to hear from you!
How long have you been in the share market? I just started in October last year.. maybe is beginner luck.. most of the shares invested were at paper gain before pandemic started. And then come at the panic selling.. and got worried looking at the paper loss getting bigger and bigger everyday..regret that i should have sold it before..(only on hindsight).. and then see some slowly recovering.. and noticed that Dayang become the slowest to recover among the portfolio.. Still.. i believe in its strong fundamental and should not give up/cut loss too fast..
Did you start investing in Dayang recently or you have invested in it many years ago? I didnt have the chance to attend Dayang AGM.. if you attended before, is the management team as strong as Serba's?
@Rainbow0721 Thanks Mabel for your insights! Always love to hear from you!
How long have you been in the share market? I just started in October last year.. maybe is beginner luck.. most of the shares invested were at paper gain before pandemic started. And then come at the panic selling.. and got worried looking at the paper loss getting bigger and bigger everyday..regret that i should have sold it before..(only on hindsight).. and then see some slowly recovering.. and noticed that Dayang become the slowest to recover among the portfolio.. Still.. i believe in its strong fundamental and should not give up/cut loss too fast..
Did you start investing in Dayang recently or you have invested in it many years ago? I didnt have the chance to attend Dayang AGM.. if you attended before, is the management team as strong as Serba's? 08/06/2020 3:10 PM
Long enough Rainbow..
You need scroll up what I shared earlier with the team.
Beside KLSE, I have also invested in Technology Stocks in Nasdaq. One of them has 40% of World 5G Deployment across the Globe.
For KLSE, I have invested in 14 sectors. I have grouped all these 14 sectors into the above 4 Boutiques i.e. Plantation, O&G, Digital Economy and Visit Malaysia Year. All these companies under these 4 Boutiques give me the pulse of our economy. Currently the O&G Boutique is sitting on P1 follow by VMY on P2, Plantation and Digital Economy.
Dayang is one of my collection of 18 battleships under O&G Boutiques and I started courting Dayang when it plunged to 71 sen after securing enough position in Serba. Dayang current P/E at 5.2, in comparison with Serba P/E is around 11.18. Hence, Dayang is now very attractive to collect. Here's the best part, Petronas will committed to their Capex this year. Collected 6 batches before locking my profits at RM 1.50. This remaining shares has been fully paid and last week I collected my 7th Batches of 50 lots as I plan to ride with Dayang all the way till next milestone RM 2. She has paved to many other great investments. Dayang is one of my contributors that helped me to finance my Glove Fantastic Four.
RM 1.31 Harga saham di tutup Hari Jumaat Jangan risau sebab Auto Cruise sudah set pada Dua ringgit Jatuh naik saham tidak perlu bangkit Trust me, eventually Dayang akan melepasi Dua Ringgit.
Like I said many times, last year we have a race between Black Pearl Armada and Flying Dutchman KNM to break the first 50 sen barrier. That race was won by Armada. This year Armada was the 1st to break the 20 sen and 25 sen hurdle and the race continues..
This year, let's have another race between Serba and Dayang to see which Battleship will break the RM 2 milestone first..As long as you have done your home, there is nothing to fear
Just set your auto cruise in this ship to RM 2 (mid term target)
Turn off the lights, take a deep breath....Relax...
@xterrorsinx To Mabel, i think Serba will hit RM 2 first, but Dayang will have more % increase upside even though it may hit later than Serba. 08/06/2020 9:00 PM
Thank you xterrorsinx !
Somehow I missed your comment yesterday. Probably I was busy writing my comments to Rainbow question yesterday.
At the time of this writing Serba is trading at RM 1.84 while Dayang is at RM 1.35.
Beside the 7 Billion Project they secured, Serba has also acquired UK based engineering company Wellahead Engineering and Wellahead is a key service provider for Subsea 7
This Block 7 project chairman is His Excellency Salah Salem Al Shamsi. He is the Chairman of Liwa Group. Liwa Group is 100% subsidiary of Mubadala Investment. Mubadala Investment is the richest state own fund in UAE. They are own for being the owner of Manchester City, owner of IPIC, and key investments in UAE
Many Middle East investors buying Serba shares because they know the Block 7 project is very profitable and pave the way for a big future project for Serba from ADNOC in relation to digitalization of smart maintenance. The project is worth close to RM60 billion
For Dayang to move to the next level, she needs only one good new to take the ship to the next level.
@Kinabaru I love this Meow thing, her comment are solid concrete facts and her perception on each individual counter are cleary explain. Keep it up Mabel 09/06/2020 1:16 AM
Marble.why are we facing heavy road block.is uf because some one wanna to prevent it from climbing up so fast that he or she would miss the boat.perhaps he or she wants to focus on gloves 1st before coming back to it?
Mable.opportunity cost is heavy with dayang ,which could have been deployed for investment in other potential counters like what you say.we clearly appear to have something in common.perhaps it's a coincidence where we are in but very unlikely to be a coincidence as I thought.since we are brought together to this for a reason , we should capitalise on every moment of it.......like you say,sharing with the view to beat the market or among the 10%.btw,I have more interests than anything under a skirt...haha....
Will limit down today? Road block because someone preventing price go up or drops fast. They fixed they range for you to buy and sell. Once they accumulate enough tickets will move to next price range
This book is the result of the author's many years of experience and observation throughout his 26 years in the stockbroking industry. It was written for general public to learn to invest based on facts and not on fantasies or hearsay....
Isabelle
126 posts
Posted by Isabelle > 2020-06-08 08:14 | Report Abuse
Heading to usd50 we can laugh till to bank lor