TENAGA NASIONAL BHD

KLSE (MYR): TENAGA (5347)

22 people like this.

13,224 comment(s). Last comment by Deekay 15 hours ago

1LegKick

38 posts

Posted by 1LegKick > 2022-06-09 14:25 | Report Abuse

Jialat

Posted by moneyontheway > 2022-06-09 14:34 | Report Abuse

@gettingreal, will it rise to RM16.00 a share based on the current sentiment?? did you sell at that time? long term for how many years to wait?

Posted by supersinginvestor > 2022-06-09 15:07 | Report Abuse

U guys should have sold n bought petronm as i told..but instead many pf u here cursed me ..
I guess sharing is caring is not relevant to some..
:-)))))))

Deekay

164 posts

Posted by Deekay > 2022-06-09 15:56 | Report Abuse

Just check the historical chart, for the last 5 years, TNB shares never hit RM16 a share... Always at RM12+ .....i wonder how it was traded at RM16 a share in 2018.

nicholas99

9,844 posts

Posted by nicholas99 > 2022-06-09 16:30 | Report Abuse

sure naik harga again.. can buy to keep.

nicholas99

9,844 posts

Posted by nicholas99 > 2022-06-09 16:32 | Report Abuse

Electricity tariff hike inevitable as fuel costs increase
https://www.nst.com.my/opinion/columnists/2022/05/800526/electricity-tariff-hike-inevitable-fuel-costs-increase

Posted by Thirai Thiraviam > 2022-06-09 18:15 | Report Abuse

If you had attended the recent AGM, you'd know why TNB is in the current state. The Chairman, a sitting MP from Rompin, is a charity case. The CEO is an engineer without a money mind. And, the CFO thinks it is normal for a stock to continuously shed its market cap. In 2015 or thereabout, the company introduced LTIP, I presume at the urgings of KNB, and has awarded millions of shares to its senior management. What do they have to show for? Zilch.

I feel for TNB to do well, we need a proper government that thinks long-term. At the least, KNB (Amran, I'm looking at you), which is the largest shareholder, needs to do the thinking for the government. Until that happens, we have no choice but to settle for the dividends.

DickyMe3

658 posts

Posted by DickyMe3 > 2022-06-09 19:52 |

Posted by prudentinvestor > 2022-06-09 20:01 | Report Abuse

I think very likely you don't have enough money to buy at RM8.80, so are praying hard for Tenaga to drop to RM4.50. It will fall to RM4.50 after a one for one bonus issue.

3,219 posts

Posted by chinaman > 2022-06-09 20:04 | Report Abuse

worth zero GLC if not due to monopoly cartel status.

thye82

115 posts

Posted by thye82 > 2022-06-09 23:06 | Report Abuse

why tenaga drop so much?

VTrade

2,434 posts

Posted by VTrade > 2022-06-10 01:20 | Report Abuse

Tax until cannot see the road

ccpool

320 posts

Posted by ccpool > 2022-06-10 09:34 | Report Abuse

Level of interest incoming.

yong1985cm

214 posts

Posted by yong1985cm > 2022-06-10 10:26 | Report Abuse

recent drop could be due to the recent spike of coal price, and the chances of the TNB increase tariff via ICPT is still not foreseeable due to politic concerns.

Posted by Stock beginner > 2022-06-10 10:36 | Report Abuse

please ignore this dickyme, it just a spam and troll account. report will be sufficient
ICPT eventually will still have to replenish the balance, it just matter of when

Posted by moneyontheway > 2022-06-10 11:16 | Report Abuse

@gettingreal, i looked into the website you had given but that does not give much information. i know it was higher than RM16.00 but which year was it? do you think
there is potential for the shares to rebound back to RM16.00 in future? how about any knowledge about Malakoff which i bought at IPO price at RM1.80 but now only worth 60 cents? it is also a power company, so will it rise back to RM1.80? Please advise.

mywb

141 posts

Posted by mywb > 2022-06-10 11:42 | Report Abuse

Notably, Macquarie on Thursday slashed its call on TNB to “Underperform” from “Neutral”, while revising downward its target price to RM7.60 from RM8.90 previously.

mywb

141 posts

Posted by mywb > 2022-06-10 11:43 | Report Abuse

sell all and buy back at RM7.00, big boy are pressing it down now based on my insider news.

Posted by prudentinvestor > 2022-06-10 11:52 | Report Abuse

yong1985cm, As far as I know, should TNB incur additional costs in the production of electricity due to the spike in the costs of coal/gas/oil, it can request for tariff increases. Should its request be rejected, it should be duly compensated by the government. Who do you think pay for the tariff cuts offered to household users the last 2 years? Certainly not TNB.

mywb

141 posts

Posted by mywb > 2022-06-10 12:18 | Report Abuse

@prudentinvestor : TNB promise to not hike electricity tariff until 2025. Looks like gov planning to not subsidy the electricity to TNB based on some info. That's the reason all those that have the knowledge keep dumping to share. Good luck everyone.

getingreal

404 posts

Posted by getingreal > 2022-06-10 12:39 | Report Abuse

With inflation running probably close to 3.5%. to 4.5%, dividend yield on stock that has been sliding for the last 4 years is not attractive.
In addition to the RM slide Vs most currencies alongf with the slide in share price is not an inducement for foreign funds to invest. I don't see much hope of a comeback to anything like 16.00 in the near future.
With political appointees continually feasting off Tenaga at every turn I'm sad to say looks pretty gloomy to me.
If inflation can be bought back to 2% to 2.5%, the political appointees can be sacked and replaced with proper managers that are not raping the company
then higher dividends will be forthcoming. If these happen then perhaps its not to late and the long term continuous slide in share price of Tenaga that we have suffered over the last 4 years can be arrested.

mywb

141 posts

Posted by mywb > 2022-06-10 13:21 | Report Abuse

@getingreal: Spot on. If we set emotional aside, this stock is really in trouble and a lot retailer still keep on buying with the justification that it is cheap. Always remember, cheap and become cheaper. I already give warning here for all to sell when it is above RM10. Now you see the price, it will continue to drop.

mywb

141 posts

Posted by mywb > 2022-06-10 13:22 | Report Abuse

When company reducing the dividend, something is wrong somewhere. If you cut lose now, it still not too late. Can buy back easily RM1 below current price.

meistsk3134

2,368 posts

Posted by meistsk3134 > 2022-06-10 13:27 | Report Abuse

tenaga control malaysia electric power also can drop
something fishy

Posted by supersinginvestor > 2022-06-10 13:27 | Report Abuse

After the special dividend was cancelled i dumped all at a loss...if kept now bang baks kaw,kaw

Runnerup

252 posts

Posted by Runnerup > 2022-06-10 13:47 | Report Abuse

A good platform given also drop like FFF .... What's kind of people inside with highly Paid . 1 days TNB like sapura energy story.

mywb

141 posts

Posted by mywb > 2022-06-10 14:49 | Report Abuse

you all still dont know the problem? the cost of generating electricity is very high and the cost was unable to passed to the consumer because TNB promise next tariff hike only in 2025. now tnb keep borrowing money to sustain their operation and once they cannot paid the high debt, they can go into disaster.

Runnerup

252 posts

Posted by Runnerup > 2022-06-10 15:18 | Report Abuse

High debt still can invest oversea.. no choice wait Gov to feed in this case .

Posted by prudentinvestor > 2022-06-10 15:54 | Report Abuse

"When company reducing the dividend, something is wrong somewhere........"
I didn't sense anything was wrong. Tenaga made 60+sen a share in 2020 and 2021. It distributed 80sen a share as dividend for 2020 (22sen + 58sen) and 40sen a share for 2021. It paid more dividend than it earned for 2020, this is not sustainable. As the company had explained, it needed a capital expenditure of between RM20 to RM30 billion for the coming several years. I suppose that was the main reason for the dividend reduction and not something else.

ccpool

320 posts

Posted by ccpool > 2022-06-10 16:19 | Report Abuse

No reaction at level of interest. Keeping the short and see you guys at lower price.

Posted by NatsukoMishima > 2022-06-10 16:24 | Report Abuse

Tnb dividen for past 10 years not enough to cover your capital loss !

Posted by NatsukoMishima > 2022-06-10 16:25 | Report Abuse

Sapura 2.0 !

Posted by WinBigOrLoseAll > 2022-06-10 16:36 | Report Abuse

monopoly biz, don't worry, it will return eventually but just need time

Posted by prudentinvestor > 2022-06-10 16:44 | Report Abuse

Wow! Rasputin2.0 is here. This is really scary! Oh, no, I don't believe in resurrection.

Posted by maluapebossku > 2022-06-10 16:58 | Report Abuse

don't ask... just buy... monopoly business...

Posted by Darren Law > 2022-06-10 16:58 | Report Abuse

If this company In dilemma whole Malaysia got no electricity

alyson97

20 posts

Posted by alyson97 > 2022-06-10 17:04 | Report Abuse

Monopoly works for the company when it has sole control over supply and pricing.
But tenaga can't change its tariff or electricity supply, else there will be a public uproar against the government....

So, while tenaga is a monopoly, it will face significant financial challenges when the government doesn't allow them to raise tariffs while they have to import expensive coal, oil, and natural gas for power generation. It's no brainer that the worse is yet to come....

Posted by prudentinvestor > 2022-06-10 17:35 | Report Abuse

A spike in the price of coal/oil/natural gas to generate electricity without a corresponding increase in tariffs would adversely affect Tenaga's bottom line. However, the company had stated that this has no effect on its business operations and financial positions. It is obvious that Tenaga would be duly compensated by the government.

Faiza

585 posts

Posted by Faiza > 2022-06-10 17:39 | Report Abuse

wait for 8.00

Posted by WinBigOrLoseAll > 2022-06-10 18:18 | Report Abuse

doesn't matter how high the price of coal/oil/gas but TNB will always make money, but it is just merely they will make more or less. even now gov not allow them to raise tariff but after election this might be changed

mywb

141 posts

Posted by mywb > 2022-06-10 18:26 | Report Abuse

Put it this way, tnb is not designed to make huge profit. Its here to help rakyat to reduce electricity bill.

mywb

141 posts

Posted by mywb > 2022-06-10 18:28 | Report Abuse

Winbigorloseall, depends on who win the election. Lots of politician in tnb board

Posted by prudentinvestor > 2022-06-10 23:15 | Report Abuse

The four Investment Banks which have "sell" call for TNB are all foreign based. They should have issued "sell" calls for US stocks. The Dow, Nasdaq and S&P component stocks are all trading at an average PE of around 50 even after many drastic falls.

3,219 posts

Posted by chinaman > 2022-06-11 14:32 | Report Abuse

Should liberalize power to bring more competition to bring down the cost of inflation. Monoply cartel is perompak with its smart meter. not smart to lower or cost after all. we want more suppliers like SIN

3,219 posts

Posted by chinaman > 2022-06-11 14:46 | Report Abuse

What is all GLC main objective? all GLC should able to bring down cost of inflation, lessening citizens burden i/o profiteering. TNB is the worst cartel appointing political appointees with fat salary sucking off poor citizens

Posted by WinBigOrLoseAll > 2022-06-12 15:12 | Report Abuse

continue drop continue accumulate, you won't always get the chance to buy cheap TNB shares

Posted by kpowersohai > 2022-06-12 22:23 | Report Abuse

it is when a stock is in crisis, where it will become undervalued. if a company never been in crisis how to buy with fair price?? This is a generational chance to buy this stock at cheap price in bursa malaysia. Stock will never just go up and up, stock represents a business and there is no business which will forever be in good state.

Posted by i3lurker > 2022-06-12 22:39 | Report Abuse

recession
demand destruction

if buy must hold for 10 years

27,859 posts

Posted by mf > 2022-06-12 22:45 | Report Abuse

Bitcoin BTC 27,500 $522.45B $33.38B 40.63% -3.22% -7.88%
2 Ethereum ETH 1,478.66 $177.22B $23.90B 29.10% -5.99% -18.42%
3 Tether USDT 1.0004 $72.42B $58.56B 71.28% +0.04% -0.04%