PADINI HOLDINGS BHD

KLSE (MYR): PADINI (7052)

+0.10 (3.08%)

3.23 - 3.43

25 people like this.

8,718 comment(s). Last comment by calvintaneng 2 days ago

Posted by alphaqueen > 2018-12-17 10:45 | Report Abuse

buy at 3.21 @10lot and sell at 3.33 and 3.34...… RM 100 short term trading
long term still stuck at 4.++… with 8lot.
guess this market now , is more suitable to play short term.
Yes, everybody says recession is coming , and that shy I can buy at low and sell at high.
my stuck 8 lot, Yes, it may wait for padini to perform in future.
nobody knows, so cheers...

Nexusglory

193 posts

Posted by Nexusglory > 2018-12-17 14:14 | Report Abuse

What for ppl stuck at 5-6? Pls Advise

Nexusglory

193 posts

Posted by Nexusglory > 2018-12-17 14:17 | Report Abuse

Many members of academy trapped in it.

Depeche

4,451 posts

Posted by Depeche > 2018-12-17 22:24 | Report Abuse

if next QR does not report better results, due to expected higher revenue from festive seasons spending, stock price could crash further.

Posted by apolloang > 2018-12-17 22:27 | Report Abuse

likely cos now many retailers cash strapped due to excessive speculation in bursa....hehe

joetay7

177 posts

Posted by joetay7 > 2018-12-17 23:20 | Report Abuse

what happen to this stock, bro????

dropped all the way from 6.

i wonder what cock reason will icap's ttb give now since 20% of icap's nav is in padini.

lol............

osted by apolloang > Dec 17, 2018 10:27 PM | Report Abuse

likely cos now many retailers cash strapped due to excessive speculation in bursa....hehe

Posted by apolloang > 2018-12-17 23:23 | Report Abuse

cos overvalued,i started warning when padini reach 5.00,but it went up to 6 before it crash down.

joetay7

177 posts

Posted by joetay7 > 2018-12-17 23:24 | Report Abuse

totally agreed with u, bro,

thats why i dont like padini once it went above 5.

the profit and biz model doesnt justify the price.

maybe another parkson in the making.

lol..........

Posted by apolloang > Dec 17, 2018 11:23 PM | Report Abuse

cos overvalued,i started warning when padini reach 5.00,but it went up to 6 before it crash down.

Posted by apolloang > 2018-12-17 23:29 | Report Abuse

u go see what I wrote in Lafarge history.....hehe

joetay7

177 posts

Posted by joetay7 > 2018-12-17 23:37 | Report Abuse

i m looking at humeind, what u think????

Posted by apolloang > Dec 17, 2018 11:29 PM | Report Abuse

u go see what I wrote in Lafarge history.....hehe

Posted by apolloang > 2018-12-17 23:42 | Report Abuse

hume is cos of quek reputation just like armada,ananda name otherwise loss so much I no eye see lo

joetay7

177 posts

Posted by joetay7 > 2018-12-17 23:47 | Report Abuse

hume drawbck is its high losses for the past yr, so not a good buy rite now.

bumi is badly hit by bad management in a volatile oil price scenario.

i can see shades of vincent in ananda.

Posted by apolloang > Dec 17, 2018 11:42 PM | Report Abuse

hume is cos of quek reputation just like armada,ananda name otherwise loss so much I no eye see lo

Posted by commonsense > 2018-12-17 23:58 | Report Abuse

Hi Nexusglory,

I think you need to reassess back your thesis when you made the investment at RM5-6. I assume this was made prior to the announcement of the recent quarterly report. Does it still stands or has it change?

You need to analyse and come to a conclusion whether the low revenue (which resulted in lower profit) recorded in 1Q19 is permanent or is just a one off event. Some investors believe that Padini revenue and profit will bounce back in the 2Q and 3Q19. If let say the profit rebound back at RM40mil/ quarter (RM160mil if annualise) , then at the current price Padini is currently being valued at only 13.8x fwd PE which is not that expensive relative to its historical PE. However if you think that the 1Q19 result will be the new trend for Padini, then the company is currently trading at a multiple of around 28x PE.

Different investors have different thesis. You have to come up with your own. If you have doubts on your thesis, ask a friend ( that knows how to analyse the numbers off course) to look at them and provide some feedback. Sometimes when we are too entrench in investing in a company, we tend to have blind spots. It helps to get a fresh pair of eyes to relook at the investment thesis to see whether we had miss out some important data or not. That's why when you do investment, it is better to have another partner to confirm or recheck your thesis. It has to be someone you trust off course. In this forum everyone has their own agendas (myself included). Never take an investment advice from anyone without verifying the data/ thesis yourself. In the end what money you gain or loss is still yours.

If you think your thesis still stands. Then you should just buckle up and get ready to face the volatility. If you are right, 2Q19 results are good, investors should come back and relook at Padini. But let say you still have jitters and it effect your sleep or work for example, i would suggest you reduce some of your exposure to a more comfortable level. You might be too expose in the stock (in terms of % of portfolio). Investment is a long term journey. Try to survive and you can always continue with the journey later.

Good luck.

newbie81

50 posts

Posted by newbie81 > 2018-12-18 17:53 | Report Abuse

Padini no doubt is a fantastic company. But it is selling at a fantastic price right now. Fair price should be around RM 2.00 to RM 2.50.

Posted by VenFx > 2018-12-18 19:29 | Report Abuse

Aiyo ! Manyak susah baru tekan bawab 3.30
Now craw up again to 3.40

2.80 plsss

Posted by sense maker > 2018-12-19 10:16 | Report Abuse

Average selling prices at Padini stores have come down substantially to suit shrinking Malaysian consumer pockets. The tough time will stay for some time as many mainstream brand stores are selling clothes between rm19-rm39 a piece.

Posted by alphaqueen > 2018-12-19 17:05 | Report Abuse

today padini regains its buying strength....good job padini… A lot of sour-grape commentators pretending to be stock gods again saying this is piece of junk...worthy of 2.++….questioning the business model of padini and forecasting that padini is a sunset business. Share price performance speaks for everything. There is a value people buying padini up to RM6 a piece.i hope those people can be more modest. I am not saying padini will recover to its peak,neither do I say the price wont drop back to new low,3.15....but, judging from now, is difficult to go back coz a lot of waiting to buy-in at 2.++ must be desperate to buy when it drops back to the new low....so basically it wont happen. I am still holding share at 4.4something but I do make fast trading and earn up a bit. Temporarily I wont top up first. at least for another quarter to see how the company perform.
I always hope that padini will bring glory of Malaysia and be able to stand at the Southeast Asia platform. The investors who buy up to RM 6 a piece must have the same thoughts with me …
After all, investing is a long journey.

Kawkaw

858 posts

Posted by Kawkaw > 2018-12-19 20:25 | Report Abuse

for those bought.. congratulations..
Missed...see tomorrow

trulyinvest

2,370 posts

Posted by trulyinvest > 2018-12-19 20:33 | Report Abuse

Any rebound is sell

scotthong

73 posts

Posted by scotthong > 2018-12-25 19:07 | Report Abuse

PADINI (7052) - Technical Analysis

More: https://hongweigiet222.wixsite.com/website/single-post/2018/12/25/PADINI-7052---Technical-Analysis

Please Support

56,156 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2018-12-25 21:36 | Report Abuse

Merry Christmas

He who fights and run away will live to fight again

Depeche

4,451 posts

Posted by Depeche > 2018-12-26 11:23 | Report Abuse

After CNY...dun think following quarters will impress... next year could see its price dip to 3 or below.

Bursa999

198 posts

Posted by Bursa999 > 2018-12-26 17:36 | Report Abuse

mini hammer form today hopefully can see some rebound tomorrow and friday..

ChefSaham

516 posts

Posted by ChefSaham > 2018-12-26 22:04 | Report Abuse

EPF has been acquiring since the price went down until today still buying hope can go up slowly as q2 and q3 qr might be good due to festive seasons

novice88

28 posts

Posted by novice88 > 2018-12-26 22:06 |

Bursa999

198 posts

Posted by Bursa999 > 2018-12-28 23:37 | Report Abuse

ep = any above 3.46
tp = 3.6
cl= 3.32

Moc Nokin

222 posts

Posted by Moc Nokin > 2019-01-02 09:29 | Report Abuse

Free warrant! Don’t miss out to buy revenue group stocks. Now is cheaper 1.37.
Earn money together!! Last two days free warrant.

Posted by Flintstones > 2019-01-03 16:11 | Report Abuse

I would adopt a wait and see approach on Padini. Business wise, there are more and more competitors copying Padini concept store and Brands Outlet business model. In Klang Valley, smaller competitors could not get into Tier 1 or Tier 2 shopping malls due to its smaller scale. Few years ago, Padini had no real competitor except FOS and Cotton On in those malls. But now both competitors had grown in size in terms of store size offering pretty much the same concept. In tier 3 cities, that is where the real blood bath is. Many independent retailers are copying Padini business model here and there. If next quarter results shows poor results, I would be worried about Padini's prospects.

Posted by sanakimpro > 2019-01-04 16:23 | Report Abuse

>Flintstones I would adopt a wait and see approach on Padini.
+1 I think so too. cheap can get cheaper is my worry for Padini. I love the stock and have held it for a while, but sold before the crash, waiting to get back in. I'm hoping the next qr on 26 Feb will open a new window.
rebound trade is possible but narrow stop loss is required. today's rebound is a sign of confidence, but without good volume and confirmation, it's better to wait and see.

Posted by 10154899906070843 > 2019-01-08 09:54 | Report Abuse

In my opinion, I believe the scuttlebutt approach is the perfect test case for a stock like padini.

Firstly let's forget the early game and the previous gains of padini 5-10 years ago.

Like Flintstones said, there were less competitors, less choices, and more disposable income.

I asked my wife and daughter over breakfast today on what clothes they shop and where do they shop now (scuttlebutt). I remember my daughter used to have cupboards full of vincci shoes and my wife would buy some padini pants for me on discount for work.

My wife now does her shopping tomorrow exclusively at uniqlo. I do too. The prices are reasonable and the colors are nice for the regular family, and the technology and quality that uniqlo has for the heattech? And the stretchy jeans leave me no other favorite comparison locally. Its a wonderful shopping experience. And they also have interesting collaborations with Disney, marvel and that crazy lady that likes to paint polka dots everywhere.

My daughter has found my credit card, and also taobao, Zalora, all online shops. I asked why she is confident in buying online, she say price is half on retail shop, free shipping on certain order amounts, flash sales, and most importantly got escrow ( meaning taobao will hold the money until both sides are acceptable).

The long game for padini is not good. With open market, we can see their buying sources ( some designs exactly the same in China, at 50% price), I don't think this is a trends that will change in the future, as taxes on online trade are very hard to control and supervise.

In the future, you will see guaranteed declining sales and profit margins. Their target market in the future will either be to sell to impulse buyers in malls, or to do online trade war with China.

It is far easier to sell expensive items and bring down prices, than to sell cheap items and increase prices.

This is not a growth stock with good prospects. Paying pe15 for this is painful.

Good luck to all investing in 2019.

RainT

8,448 posts

Posted by RainT > 2019-01-09 23:47 | Report Abuse

good sharing !!

hyypia

Posted by hyypia > 2019-01-10 11:00 | Report Abuse

Agree, good and sensible sharing, from daily life perspective!

Posted by mindstorm > 2019-01-11 15:10 | Report Abuse

Funny how someone can write at great length why not to buy a stock. What do you get from it?
Secondly online stores will never be able to totally replace a brick and mortar apparel store. The internet has been around for ages and plenty of online stores tries to sell apparrels. Not logical to think that people will swing to buying online in masses when you can never feel and try an apparel on a website.

Kawkaw

858 posts

Posted by Kawkaw > 2019-01-11 23:52 | Report Abuse

1015....your write-up no boring to read. Also very informative
Tq

888newbie

180 posts

Posted by 888newbie > 2019-01-14 19:20 | Report Abuse

1015... you made some very valid points. Many of my friends are also switching to buying online. Growth unlikely to be as good as the past.

Posted by WanUtama2015 > 2019-01-18 09:34 | Report Abuse

the point above is valid and this is why many traditional sellers in China close shops due to online sales. However in Malaysia, Padini is still able to enjoy the niche market they are in. The aunties & uncles still prefer to test wearing before buying. It is true in view of many buyers still have no confidence of buying the right fit online. Even myself also made mistake before for my previous online purchase. The impact of online sales to Padini is not so great at this moment as there are not many established companies like Padini. I have confidence that Padini will have good revenue in the next few quarters.

Joel Chan

493 posts

Posted by Joel Chan > 2019-01-18 09:35 | Report Abuse

yea 1015 has valid points, i believe he is an experienced investor

Posted by mindstorm > 2019-01-19 01:40 | Report Abuse

Think about it logically, you can never never ever be sure of the texture, feel and fit when buying clothes online.

Baobab

113 posts

Posted by Baobab > 2019-01-21 11:00 | Report Abuse

I would prefer to feel the texture and try the clothes before buying it.

Posted by 430204813832245 > 2019-01-25 15:37 | Report Abuse

Looking good ...buy more

Posted by sanakimpro > 2019-01-25 16:49 | Report Abuse

Peter lynch taught us to see the store with your own eyes, and ask your friends and family if they buy PADINI stuff. People always associate it will discount so that's good in today's tight economy. For bonia, even at pavilion and farrenheit88's carlorino, nobody is seen in there. From that alone, I am still wary of Bonia. Padini seems to still have a lot of customers waiting for the next discount.. so I was also puzzled by last QR report. I hope this QR report improves and I can rebuild my long position on PADINI.

Long padini long term. Short term can accumulate with narrow SL.

Oliver Ooi

227 posts

Posted by Oliver Ooi > 2019-01-26 00:10 | Report Abuse

i can sense this coming QR report was include alot of holiday sale such christmas,CNY,end year sale, tax free etc. it could boost sale madly. so this coming QR report will handsomely & flying colour qr report after the mad price drop during end of 2018

Posted by 430204813832245 > 2019-02-07 12:03 | Report Abuse

Buy

stanleysew

247 posts

Posted by stanleysew > 2019-02-09 20:47 | Report Abuse

Target price 4.5 for this year

Posted by sanakimpro > 2019-02-12 14:28 | Report Abuse

I think the situationis getting oversold. Need the guts to hold on till the next QR comes out to justify putting more money into PADINI.

https://www.theedgemarkets.com/article/padini-downgraded-neutral-macquarie-price-target-rm343

Wing Teoh

161 posts

Posted by Wing Teoh > 2019-02-12 22:45 | Report Abuse

Buy

Posted by Alem Aryim > 2019-02-13 12:45 | Report Abuse

please sell more lower...hehehhe

stanleysew

247 posts

Posted by stanleysew > 2019-02-13 12:48 | Report Abuse

Time to buy in and keep for future !!!