PADINI HOLDINGS BHD

KLSE (MYR): PADINI (7052)

+0.02 (0.60%)

3.35 - 3.45

25 people like this.

8,718 comment(s). Last comment by calvintaneng 4 days ago

powerwk

1,690 posts

Posted by powerwk > 2013-12-08 16:39 | Report Abuse

Nevets, no worry man. By the way thanks for sharing. I will watch up from time to time.

Wow currency.... Look like you are really lucky guy. Currency confirm having higher risk than stock market. This make me believe you are that kinds that afford to take highest risk investment. I did not try or touch currency before, one day I can learn from you how to make money in currency world. It's totally a different world as far as I know BUT definitely not suitable for everyone, especially those that are having heart attack.

Last your estimate and forecast for Padini to goes to RM 4 is way too optimistic. I believe everyone here would really want to see that happen really soon better still in next week.

No offence but I personally feel that slowly move up will be a much better approach. It will help....
a. Contra player to go away.... no way they will always there.... but I mean reduce the contra player interest :-)
b. More healthy from company perspective and also maintain a good EPS as well.

Some time it hard to share with people about a company and ask to hold the stock unless they have been holding then they should start laughing every now and then when company announce dividend and less worry also when the price fluctuate due to news by ONE man and etc.

Also don't get me wrong. I do that before, when news out sell sell sell. I no longer doing that as that is quite wrong and also it proof that you don't know the company well and inside out. If we don't know the company well like what they doing now? what the plan to do next? what their vision and mission? Not align with their business. Then please don't invest. Very high chances you will loss money in short time.

Sorry guys, say too much I guess... Will try to keep comment shorter next time :)

Posted by Ow Chee Wei > 2013-12-08 20:10 | Report Abuse

This fundamental is good, but need waiting the timing to buy.

powerwk

1,690 posts

Posted by powerwk > 2013-12-09 09:27 | Report Abuse

Ahhhh.... so may be now not the right timing then. You need to wait for next round. Good luck.

benson911

639 posts

Posted by benson911 > 2013-12-09 09:36 | Report Abuse

Uptrending....accumulate phase...............

vaentec

142 posts

Posted by vaentec > 2013-12-09 09:50 | Report Abuse

1.82 resistance broken. Ini kalilah!

Ginny

36 posts

Posted by Ginny > 2013-12-09 10:23 | Report Abuse

Keep holding shares even if it gives good dividends but when its moving up, will it be nice if we get to enjoy the profits and start buying again when its low, what do you think about this..I've been in stocks for very long but sorry to say, never get to make any coz' I'm not good at it, bought all speculations..lately been accumulating all the stable counters when they were low, and finally get to enjoy just some profits, should I sell..hope some of you experienced investors can share some advices..

powerwk

1,690 posts

Posted by powerwk > 2013-12-09 10:26 | Report Abuse

Haha.... accumulate phase.... again, everyone timing is different. For other this may not be the right time yet. Let see what end up by end of this week.

dragonfruits

1,285 posts

Posted by dragonfruits > 2013-12-09 10:27 | Report Abuse

sell now and buy lower price after that..

benson911

639 posts

Posted by benson911 > 2013-12-09 12:46 | Report Abuse

Share buy back up to 10%, RM2 is not a problem is this proposal is approved. Accumulate now.............???

http://www.bursamalaysia.com/market/listed-companies/company-announcements/1474009

powerwk

1,690 posts

Posted by powerwk > 2013-12-09 12:59 | Report Abuse

The share buy back will definitely approve but again that does not mean the share price will up too. I say that base on the number of years I hold the Padini stock and see him growth. Because we need to know what the intention of the share buy back. To benefit the company and stakeholder interest. Therefore they need to but the stock at the right price :-) should not buy too high then it eat up our dividend as well....

Posted by i3investor700 > 2013-12-10 10:55 | Report Abuse

Besides logic from the book, in reality I personally do not feel that share-buy-back does not indicate a positive move of a company

powerwk

1,690 posts

Posted by powerwk > 2013-12-10 11:44 | Report Abuse

i3investor700 - You mean do not feel or feel?

Let have some fun here.... Anyone interested to guess what the closing price for Padini?

Posted by i3investor700 > 2013-12-10 12:20 | Report Abuse

Hi powerwk and everyone, it should be "I feel that.....". Thanks.

powerwk

1,690 posts

Posted by powerwk > 2013-12-10 12:33 | Report Abuse

ahah..... that what I thought as well. Want to check if that really what you mean in your first comment.... Anwyay let have fun.... Life need to be fun.

Posted by i3investor700 > 2013-12-10 14:23 | Report Abuse

How to have fun in the stock market?

Mcwong

402 posts

Posted by Mcwong > 2013-12-10 14:45 | Report Abuse

Karen

powerwk

1,690 posts

Posted by powerwk > 2013-12-10 15:26 | Report Abuse

Make money or loss money life still need to goes on. So enjoy life in stock markets.

kevin5059

933 posts

Posted by kevin5059 > 2013-12-10 16:53 | Report Abuse

Can try to queue at 1.74-1.76 tomorrow morning. Could get some discounted price units.

Nevets

228 posts

Posted by Nevets > 2013-12-10 17:20 | Report Abuse

hmmm closing end of the year would be RM 1.80

Posted by i3investor700 > 2013-12-10 17:36 | Report Abuse

powerwk, no one is having fun losing money in the stock market...don't think Warren Buffet is. Are you? Seriously?

powerwk

1,690 posts

Posted by powerwk > 2013-12-11 00:07 | Report Abuse

losing money definitely not fun but what can you do about it if that happen. Either you 'muka masam' to face that or look for better opportunity? Well unless you borrow money and invest then that really a problem :-)

Posted by rkl00102 > 2013-12-11 12:57 | Report Abuse

rising in coming CNY

vaentec

142 posts

Posted by vaentec > 2013-12-11 13:03 | Report Abuse

Today's result revealed something. It's sad that many people bought this share only for the dividend, not on the fundamentals. The lost art of long term investment.

benson911

639 posts

Posted by benson911 > 2013-12-11 13:10 | Report Abuse

Vaentec, do u think good to start accumulate?

vaentec

142 posts

Posted by vaentec > 2013-12-11 13:19 | Report Abuse

1.75 is an ok price..you can make some steady long term gain,but if you are looking for quick and big gain, wait for 1.61+, it will usually bounce back to 1.77 the next few days which make for a fat profit. Right now, I would say, neutral..keep your bullet to average down just in case.

powerwk

1,690 posts

Posted by powerwk > 2013-12-11 14:23 | Report Abuse

This is the counter that you buy->keep->sleep then one day you realize how many profit you make. I keep this for 3 years now... only buy but I do sell 5% so far if need money for urgent case but still sold with awesome profit. So far I have make 40% from the stock price alone and excluded the dividend, lazy to do that calculation so more I use up the money already. 30% of the dividend I get back to Padini by purchase their product. Some of my friend thought I working in Padini or I just like Padini so much hahaha...

@vaentec - Yes it sad to see those buy for dividend but they may not gain a lot from it by selling. They may be the group that need those money for other thing from time to time. For example: ex date for Padini then they move to other dividend counter when ex date for that counter then move again and so on. Or they withdraw the money for other counter that may provide short term and higher return counter. Hope they are right for the decision make.

At the end of the day, it the same.... with this kind of people left this counter then it will slowly move back. It a demand vs supply if I hold the stock and did not supplied it for sell and if they buyer want to buy then will need to buy at higher price and vice versus.

Long term - keep buying using the money you do not needed for at least 6 months.

Short term - stay away from this counter :-) it just not the best fit for shorter term investor.

Go for Sona/CLIQ/Benalec/Instaco and etc..... It better short term stock to go for...

eugene724

175 posts

Posted by eugene724 > 2013-12-11 18:43 | Report Abuse

Totally agreed with powerwk...

powerwk

1,690 posts

Posted by powerwk > 2013-12-12 04:00 | Report Abuse

Thanks eugene724. Mind to share how many years you have been holding Padini?

Nevets

228 posts

Posted by Nevets > 2013-12-12 07:46 | Report Abuse

Just share of my thoughts,

I've sold my Padini at 1.82 as mention, before the ex-dividend date. this is to avoid dividend taker where they will sell after ex dividend and also to avoid being tax by 25% by the government. and also due to the recent window shopping investors. and also FED meeting upcoming on 17-18 December.

Buy -> Keep -> sleep will not be that efficient unless if you have bought it at 1.63 when it was the lowest.

and also recently the foreign funds are leaving Malaysia and local institution is buying back local shares to prevent the KLCI index to drop...

just beware also on the upcoming market correction...

powerwk

1,690 posts

Posted by powerwk > 2013-12-12 08:47 | Report Abuse

@Nevets - I think you get me wrong. For my case I bought it even before it get split on year 2010. Then continue buy at 1.1, 1.22, 1.58, 1.39, 1.70, 1.87. I don't even sell when it reach at one point 2.3x if I recall correctly. I maybe stupid but since I didn't need the money I put it there for consistent dividend :-)

One of the other reason there not many good counter I can trust to put money in. Therefore park my money in Padini. The company with vision "to be the best fashion company ever".

Yes, at any point of time there lot of other factor we will need to aware and monitor. Again a good fundamental stock let us worry less.

Nevets

228 posts

Posted by Nevets > 2013-12-12 11:34 | Report Abuse

then you are in good hands since you are in 1.1... but those whom bought in since 1.73 will be a different case :)

Just sharing of thoughts...

kevin5059

933 posts

Posted by kevin5059 > 2013-12-12 14:08 | Report Abuse

My dear Nevets, just some correction for your statement. Padini dividend are Single Tier Dividend, or in short (TAX FREE), you don want to pay 25% tax to the government.

powerwk

1,690 posts

Posted by powerwk > 2013-12-12 14:44 | Report Abuse

@Nevets - is the same case when I bought at 1.1 or higher. The stock did go down as well. The different I did not sold it too frequent when it up and down. Therefore I an harvest any time now. Panini is just a stock like this. I know many stock if you hold and did not sell it to make profit it may not the right thing to do. Again, Padini is different at least till now. I can't guarantee what it will be like that forever. But as of now I don't see a point to sell it yet. Maybe until I can buy an Audi for cash then I might sell it :-)

Nevets

228 posts

Posted by Nevets > 2013-12-14 08:13 | Report Abuse

@Kevin5059... opps... over reacted with the multiple dividend declared. Thanks for the update.

@powerKK... you have your investing methods, but shares in Malaysia is till based on slightly speculation ... that's my thinking. some shares are good on investing as per your method. I've hold a few which grew. :D

powerwk

1,690 posts

Posted by powerwk > 2013-12-14 19:12 | Report Abuse

@Nevets - mind to share what counter you are holding and what methods you use for that counter? I live my money to grow more. So far I only have Padini as my long term counter. What your recommendation?

Nevets

228 posts

Posted by Nevets > 2013-12-15 14:39 | Report Abuse

@powerwk

I don't have much, we can come out YC in you are around Klang Valley

Currently holding OCK, OKA, QL, Supermax, Haio, TM.

My funds are in for FD rate as I mention, and I will shift it back after March...

If my funds are back, I will be buying MAS, Patimas, gunung, drbhcom and etc...

powerwk

1,690 posts

Posted by powerwk > 2013-12-16 00:20 | Report Abuse

Thanks man! Yes I'm around Klang Valley. Among the counter I do monitor and knowing Haio, QL both are quite good counter and you may not want to withdraw that first. If you are buying I do recommend drbhcom then follow by MAS. Simply because the rest I did not study or know much.

By the way good luck man! Let see if we can make it to meet up later.

Nevets

228 posts

Posted by Nevets > 2013-12-16 09:06 | Report Abuse

also try AZRB, around next year the share is estimated to go up ... just my own observation.

benson911

639 posts

Posted by benson911 > 2013-12-16 10:46 | Report Abuse

Keep dropping...why???

Hulk

596 posts

Posted by Hulk > 2013-12-16 10:49 | Report Abuse

keep dropping and dropping.......T_T

Posted by i3investor700 > 2013-12-16 10:55 | Report Abuse

Today is red Monday. Please dont ask why

vaentec

142 posts

Posted by vaentec > 2013-12-16 18:34 | Report Abuse

Possibly due to panic of the fed reserve's tapering and movement done by the dividend chasers. Movement should stabilize and have a better sense may it be uptrend or downtrend by year end. I think it is safer to wait and see first..general market movement is unusual lately.

Nevets

228 posts

Posted by Nevets > 2013-12-16 22:58 | Report Abuse

it's on tomorrow FED meeting, only on UMNO related stocks are stable, look at SK petrol, Maybank, CIMB and etc...

benson911

639 posts

Posted by benson911 > 2013-12-18 09:23 | Report Abuse

http://www.bursamalaysia.com/market/listed-companies/company-announcements/1474009

2moro will be AGM for the proposed share buy back up to 10%.

RM2 soon......................

Ginny

36 posts

Posted by Ginny > 2013-12-18 09:43 | Report Abuse

so is it a good time to sell for profit taking...

Nevets

228 posts

Posted by Nevets > 2013-12-18 09:57 | Report Abuse

for what I understand, RM 2 is not the minimum price :)

their profit is going up, share dividend is going paying more.

bought some at 1.71-1.72... long term profit as per @powerwk and others holding it for ...

powerwk

1,690 posts

Posted by powerwk > 2013-12-18 10:14 | Report Abuse

@benson911 - as I mention before share buy back does not mean share price will be up. Hope people don't get it wrong. Don't get me wrong either I of course want the share price to be up up up but we need to share information transparently and accordingly.

@Nevets - congrats on holding Padini and bought it at good price too. If you hold it for another couple of round of dividend then you won't want to sell it :-)

For the rest don't get me wrong about holding the Padini stock. If you feel want to sell or buy at different price level feel free to do so :-)

119 posts

Posted by 4646 > 2013-12-18 11:24 | Report Abuse

when dividend out?

kevin5059

933 posts

Posted by kevin5059 > 2013-12-18 12:25 | Report Abuse

Agree that share buy back does not mean share price will be up instantly. However, Share buy back will cause Padini EPS to improve. Higher EPS will bring the PE down and hence if Padini profit still remain the same, then the share price will eventually adjust back to the fair PE, so share price will eventually be up.

hence, for long term perspective, share buy back for a good fundamental company means share price up (of course not instantly, but it take time).

10% share buy back meaning EPS increase by 10%, PE reduce by 10%. If currently the Padini's PE is at the fair value, then eventually it the share price will increase back to the fair value to realise the fair PE.

Nevets

228 posts

Posted by Nevets > 2013-12-18 13:20 | Report Abuse

@4646, Payout is 27 December 2013.

Will hold it until end Jun 2014 and see how it goes ...