PADINI HOLDINGS BHD

KLSE (MYR): PADINI (7052)

+0.02 (0.60%)

3.35 - 3.45

25 people like this.

8,718 comment(s). Last comment by calvintaneng 3 days ago

gg123

68 posts

Posted by gg123 > 2015-02-14 00:22 | Report Abuse

now 1.44 boleh beli kah?
Anyone can give me opinion

apini

1,440 posts

Posted by apini > 2015-02-14 14:26 | Report Abuse

down limited significant up unlikely, I just bought 20k for dividend collection, better than FD

apini

1,440 posts

Posted by apini > 2015-02-14 14:27 | Report Abuse

@1.46 yesterday.

gg123

68 posts

Posted by gg123 > 2015-02-14 19:06 | Report Abuse

ok.

Posted by CrossSymbol > 2015-02-15 10:18 | Report Abuse

GG 123 now is definitely a good buy. Limited downside but unlimited upside. Even if u just buy it for dividend is good enough. :)

Posted by benjamin6880 > 2015-02-16 16:29 | Report Abuse

maybank research tp at 1.85, with current price at 1.46..with upside 0.39..price now is considered cheap

stanleysew

246 posts

Posted by stanleysew > 2015-02-16 17:44 | Report Abuse

Keep it for free new year clothing every yr !!!

thomc

66 posts

Posted by thomc > 2015-02-16 18:07 | Report Abuse

Dividend declared :)

nnmm

145 posts

Posted by nnmm > 2015-02-16 18:15 | Report Abuse

dividend reduced so much...not a good news for yield seeker

ImCK

3,041 posts

Posted by ImCK > 2015-02-16 18:29 | Report Abuse

seem like tommorow big drop

Posted by Lee Wehc Taik > 2015-02-16 18:53 | Report Abuse

they say profit drop because of aggressive discount and promotions to cleared of old stock before implemention of GST

bsngpg

2,842 posts

Posted by bsngpg > 2015-02-16 18:54 | Report Abuse

2.5cents ex 4 Mar15

crossroad

124 posts

Posted by crossroad > 2015-02-16 18:54 | Report Abuse

Too stiff competition from H&M, Cotton On, Forever 21?

lala

90 posts

Posted by lala > 2015-02-16 19:12 | Report Abuse

poor result

beso

2,137 posts

Posted by beso > 2015-02-16 19:27 | Report Abuse

it may drop 10% tomorrow

beso

2,137 posts

Posted by beso > 2015-02-16 19:27 | Report Abuse

it may drop 10% tomorrow

jagungman

28 posts

Posted by jagungman > 2015-02-16 20:30 | Report Abuse

my god ! the results are worst than I'd expected... what's going on....

cipapo

1,288 posts

Posted by cipapo > 2015-02-16 20:31 | Report Abuse

told you all already.....retail business tough...most people buy online now....cash on delivery....nobody believe me.....

cipapo

1,288 posts

Posted by cipapo > 2015-02-16 20:32 | Report Abuse

retail business gonna get worse due to GST implementation

Posted by Icon8888 > 2015-02-16 20:42 | Report Abuse

I don't mean to pour cold water, but when a brand get into trouble, it is very difficult to reverse

When I was young, everybody bought New Straits Time. But gradually people switched to the Star. Since then, NST has never recovered

That is the nature of Brand

Posted by always_steady > 2015-02-16 20:48 | Report Abuse

if the management is good, they will reverse one day. Just time matter, fast or slow only or before collapse.

crossroad

124 posts

Posted by crossroad > 2015-02-16 21:02 | Report Abuse

I think the brand is still ok... but its all pricing and image. H&M you can get a nice blouse (don mine the quality good or not) for below RM50 - no need to wait for sale. I also notice that padini was giving big discounts to move stocks, that would hurt margins. Their corporate segment, more pricey, but they are in direct competition with a lot of brands some internal ones... Padini's only hope is Brand Outlet.... While we can bank on management to reinvent themselves, but since we are only investors, why not change counter which is less painful? If we are substantial shareholders, its a different story la!!

jagungman

28 posts

Posted by jagungman > 2015-02-16 21:34 | Report Abuse

Good discussion. I dont think padini is able to compete with foreign brands. They need to reinvent their style and keep focus on what they are selling. As the saying goes, jack if all trades, master of none. They just trying too hard to sell everythg! To excel in business, you just need to have 1 signature dish, master that, all else will follow suit.diversifying into different apparels will only kill themselves. I hope the management sees my comment!

Posted by always_steady > 2015-02-16 21:51 | Report Abuse

jagungman, you input should be listened by the management team. I wish they also follow up the talks here. Comments are good for improvement. Let's see how they can improve further.

Posted by always_steady > 2015-02-16 21:52 | Report Abuse

great dividend instead :)

Posted by Flintstones > 2015-02-16 22:01 | Report Abuse

In October 2014 I posted this

The only thing that is keeping this ship afloat is the high dividend yield. For a low growth (may I say declining?) business like Padini, it is worth 10x PE at most. My TP for Padini is RM 1.4X or a minimum 15% downside. Believe it or not, once Padini's dividend is cut in the next financial year, the stock will tank below my TP of RM 1.4X. I wont explain why Padini's dividend will be cut. As a responsible investor, you should do your own diligent.

To the buffett wannabes here, I must say, be careful of what you wish for. I know this post is going to get a lot of sticks. But I am seeing many new investors making newbie mistakes on this stock and I am here to give them some light. I will be back once Padini hits RM 1.4X.

15/10/2014 Flintstones

Congratulations to my friends who listened to me. You have dodge a bullet. Now, I am willing to share another tips today. Padini will bottom once dividend is cut so there is more room to drop. Quickly take your money and run.

jagungman

28 posts

Posted by jagungman > 2015-02-16 22:18 | Report Abuse

Lol... even fortune teller gets to be correct once awhile. We should learn to think objectively.

kaonryou

30 posts

Posted by kaonryou > 2015-02-16 22:29 | Report Abuse

Management do have a clear business strategy for Padini and Brands Outlet but Vinci is a problem child for them. 10 cent regular dividend is unlikely to be cut for at least one more year due to their cash reserve. But financial performance should deteriorate further after GST as they have to absorb the tax until June 2016.

kakashit

1,472 posts

Posted by kakashit > 2015-02-16 23:01 | Report Abuse

nowadays Padini = Pasar Malam brand
U free me one Padini clothe i oso dun wn, yimzuodeng tim

cipapo

1,288 posts

Posted by cipapo > 2015-02-16 23:06 | Report Abuse

http://www.theedgemarkets.com/my/article/padini-2q-profit-slips-429-margin-contraction-pays-25-sen-dividend

padini will absorb the GST tax than pass on to consumers....therefore there is much further downside to this stock...next support is at 1.10

iswara

896 posts

Posted by iswara > 2015-02-16 23:06 | Report Abuse

why i can't get it from pasar malam, which pasar malam you get from? pls share to us.

walau2u

271 posts

Posted by walau2u > 2015-02-17 00:26 | Report Abuse

As i mentioned last week, the research houses purposely made good report so they can sell 1st....2moro sure drop like hell....RM1.1 will be better bet.............

my101home

197 posts

Posted by my101home > 2015-02-17 01:02 | Report Abuse

If it drop to 1.10 means the yield will be close to 10%.. Guys.. Be more sensible on comment

CFTrader

812 posts

Posted by CFTrader > 2015-02-17 01:10 | Report Abuse

Continue with pasar malam technique will lead PADINI to nowhere.

apini

1,440 posts

Posted by apini > 2015-02-17 01:39 | Report Abuse

if you look at the result , you will be surprise it is still cash rich. why panic? I bought @ 1.46 and I get 10sen dividend, the the DY = 6.8% . still better than FD. leave the money making to the management and we just sit back and enjoy the dividend. to win you must trust the management can make money for you. if the management is useless then how they can survive more than 20 years? if panic then you are punishing yourself. why not invest happily.

Posted by truthseeker1 > 2015-02-17 03:29 | Report Abuse

DPS more than EPS. Is it sustainable? Actually EPS drop more than 40% YOY in 4Q.

cipapo

1,288 posts

Posted by cipapo > 2015-02-17 03:56 | Report Abuse

you already have your answers....these are pasar malam clothing

walau2u

271 posts

Posted by walau2u > 2015-02-17 08:48 | Report Abuse

Stockoperator, Earning per share = 2.46sen, Dividend per share = 2.5 sen, still need use extra cash reserve for the dividend, is this a good move? Padini's cash will become less and less or DPS will be reduced half...............

value_man

105 posts

Posted by value_man > 2015-02-17 09:06 | Report Abuse

"Padini's cash will become less and less....."

Please take a look at the cash flow statement. Padini is overflown with cash.

:)

value_man

105 posts

Posted by value_man > 2015-02-17 09:06 | Report Abuse

They have so much cash until they do not know what to do with it.

value_man

105 posts

Posted by value_man > 2015-02-17 09:07 | Report Abuse

Padini is a cash cow.

walau2u

271 posts

Posted by walau2u > 2015-02-17 09:08 | Report Abuse

Please look carefully and dont be blinded by dividend, EPS is less than DPS........

simon_nick

129 posts

Posted by simon_nick > 2015-02-17 09:09 | Report Abuse

Results getting from bad to worse

Fong Kh

1,836 posts

Posted by Fong Kh > 2015-02-17 09:14 | Report Abuse

let it drop..

Posted by truthseeker1 > 2015-02-17 09:42 | Report Abuse

I thought the theory of buying a stock is due to growth in earnings. Where do Padini stand? Sell before too late.

daizan55

165 posts

Posted by daizan55 > 2015-02-17 09:47 | Report Abuse

How come it did not dropped that much today? Weaker profit has been priced in?

Fong Kh

1,836 posts

Posted by Fong Kh > 2015-02-17 09:49 | Report Abuse

not yet

Fong Kh

1,836 posts

Posted by Fong Kh > 2015-02-17 09:53 | Report Abuse

yea, buy only once below 1.4

Posted by CrossSymbol > 2015-02-17 10:03 | Report Abuse

My guess is the lucrative dividend is supporting the share price. The decrease in profit margin is pretty much factored at current price already so even thou the report came out but it's all in major investors' expectation. Nothing to worry about for current price.

Fong Kh

1,836 posts

Posted by Fong Kh > 2015-02-17 10:05 | Report Abuse

stockoperator, nothing will stay the same forever.