PADINI HOLDINGS BHD

KLSE (MYR): PADINI (7052)

+0.02 (0.60%)

3.35 - 3.45

25 people like this.

8,718 comment(s). Last comment by calvintaneng 3 days ago

powerwk

1,690 posts

Posted by powerwk > 2015-01-26 20:02 | Report Abuse

Hi bsngpg, how are you doing? Good to know you still around to invest in this company.

bsngpg

2,842 posts

Posted by bsngpg > 2015-01-26 22:06 | Report Abuse

Hi Power: thks for your warm greeting. I am doing great, how about you then ? Since talking to you last year, I have been accumulating Padini till recently at 1.37. It has now become one of my top holding, therefore win or die will mainly depend on Padini. Good luck.

bsngpg

2,842 posts

Posted by bsngpg > 2015-01-27 03:55 | Report Abuse

Yup! I have full confident that I would not die on Padini because on its left I have "stock" and on its right I have "power" - stock with power=a sure win recipe. Fabulous, isn't it?

Growth + Dividend= winning recipe.

powerwk

1,690 posts

Posted by powerwk > 2015-01-27 20:37 | Report Abuse

I'm doing great too. Well I'm the same, Padini is still my biggest portfolio. I still buying from time to time when I have extra unused money. My interest now is waiting the dividend every 3 months.

bsngpg

2,842 posts

Posted by bsngpg > 2015-01-27 20:51 | Report Abuse

Me too waiting for dividend. I still need close to two years of dividend to break even as most of them were bought at higher price last year. After that it would be a free few K each year by just shaking legs and eating "bao". Full of joy then.

kc888

122 posts

Posted by kc888 > 2015-01-27 22:20 | Report Abuse

Be careful...Padini may drop back.....

bsngpg

2,842 posts

Posted by bsngpg > 2015-01-27 22:31 | Report Abuse

Thks for kind reminder.
It may bounce up too. 50:50, not right or wrong.

khlim2889

282 posts

Posted by khlim2889 > 2015-01-29 10:22 | Report Abuse

really only can take the dividen buy a offer cloth ? wake up pls

stanleysew

246 posts

Posted by stanleysew > 2015-01-29 11:47 | Report Abuse

time to shopping again ?!

pandarian

131 posts

Posted by pandarian > 2015-01-29 15:05 | Report Abuse

Yup cam shope for more...

Posted by longinvest > 2015-01-30 10:51 | Report Abuse

Kenanga do a good clarification... Padini management is committed for the dividend after meeting them..

Mcwong

402 posts

Posted by Mcwong > 2015-01-30 12:39 | Report Abuse

Profit drop.

IIAM

15 posts

Posted by IIAM > 2015-01-30 15:24 | Report Abuse

wow, we have a fortune teller in our midst !

Posted by CheeBaiTat > 2015-02-02 21:58 | Report Abuse

i wish i am as rich as lew KK, then i can buy more

kaonryou

30 posts

Posted by kaonryou > 2015-02-03 00:26 | Report Abuse

FY15 profit will definitely be lower than FY14 due to GST's margin squeeze and deteriorating performance of Vincci. However, 10-cent DPS is secured at least until FY16.

rizerlee

752 posts

Posted by rizerlee > 2015-02-04 12:05 | Report Abuse

Uniqlo & H&M's expansion really impact Padini.

I just bought a male Long Sleeve Casual Shirt from Padini with RM39.
god damn RM39, how much they can earn from that ?

mcwong

402 posts

Posted by mcwong > 2015-02-04 16:16 | Report Abuse

Padini still earning, there is no issue price on cheap item. is depend consumer buy in Brand or price only.

stanleysew

246 posts

Posted by stanleysew > 2015-02-04 17:16 | Report Abuse

drop for short term ,,,,, or drop for long term ......

Posted by kingstocks > 2015-02-04 17:20 | Report Abuse

will drop back t0 1.3...lets see

tianhw

61 posts

Posted by tianhw > 2015-02-04 18:05 | Report Abuse

Padini loosing its competitive edge. Ask if your wife, girlfriend or sister they like padini anot.

Hartalega

Posted by Hartalega > 2015-02-05 00:01 | Report Abuse

feedback from my wife, some costume free also don wan..
last time b4 year 2012 she told me that PADINI design bcame like China feel..or China style..
This is useless to consider today padini stock selling price up and down.
Customer feedback is more reliable than wat we saw in the financial report.
Don believe wat im say, just buy its stock start from 2011 till today and see how many people will satisfy its return..
One thing need to change FOR SURE.. of cause all of u know wat it is.

titus

4,159 posts

Posted by titus > 2015-02-05 10:20 | Report Abuse

I work in office environment. I use to buy padini but Nowsday, i just buy suave. Cheaper and more selection. Maybe some will argue the material and feel will be different but to me colour will fade and hence need to change even though material long lasting. I think padini do losing out to competitor and with H&M and uniqlo growing, their market wil be diluted.

jagungman

28 posts

Posted by jagungman > 2015-02-05 14:23 | Report Abuse

Ive sold padini few years ago because i saw padini shop very empty. Used to have alot ladies shop in padini. But nowadays my frens they prefer go H&M or cotton on. They still prefer european or western brands.

博文郑

384 posts

Posted by 博文郑 > 2015-02-05 14:46 | Report Abuse

Not only padini store... as i know Brands outlet and vincci also belong to padini...Brands outlet can get very cheap clothes... But nowaday can see more cotton on, uniqlo n H&M store open in shopping complex... Last time i bought clothes from padini only when there are selling 70% discount, i think they have marked up prices and prices before discount r very high profit margin... So i don't buy normal price clothes in padini store...
But in term of quality, i prefer uniqlo and cotton on.. Nowaday i bought trousers n cloths from uniqlo more often than padini even prices without any discount.

kaonryou

30 posts

Posted by kaonryou > 2015-02-05 16:47 | Report Abuse

Padini's gross margin was 46% in FY14. But don't expect to get a direct discount of up to 70% anymore (at most 20-30%) as they will do everyday bulk discount instead. Old stock will be accumulated and cleared at fairs held only several times each year at selected locations.

Mcwong

402 posts

Posted by Mcwong > 2015-02-05 20:19 | Report Abuse

See uniqlo and H&M than we.know is earning.

scy55309

115 posts

Posted by scy55309 > 2015-02-05 23:11 | Report Abuse

omg..cotton on's quality is better.? plz la..

jagungman

28 posts

Posted by jagungman > 2015-02-06 17:53 | Report Abuse

cotton on is carefree/hippie style. can very easy identify their design signature. I hope is good quarter for padini this round. Pray hard Christmas sales will boost their earnings !!!

walau2u

271 posts

Posted by walau2u > 2015-02-06 22:22 | Report Abuse

Wow....keep dropping..........what happen?

Posted by always_steady > 2015-02-06 22:44 | Report Abuse

i don't think padini will just end up like that. the EPS is good and DY is great. it depends on the objective of your investment.

Goinvest88

495 posts

Posted by Goinvest88 > 2015-02-07 00:47 | Report Abuse

Hai...others counter, but not padini..so sad :(

Fong Kh

1,836 posts

Posted by Fong Kh > 2015-02-08 01:29 | Report Abuse

I still see long Q for Padini concept outlets + brand outlets due to heavy promotion activities. sales revenue may be gone up but the profit margin shall be shrinking.

bsngpg

2,842 posts

Posted by bsngpg > 2015-02-08 09:16 | Report Abuse

Knowing from company's briefing, biz(outlets) expansion is moving aggressively. This will definitely grow the revenue. How much the profit will grow will be known only by the subsequent quarterly reports. It is premature in prejudging its biz performance by just seeing biz condition at few outlets and listening to few aunties. If products of Padini are really inferior and uncompetitive to H&M, Uniqlo and Cotton on, please help me to understand why its revenue and profit grow year after year.

We respect your comment, but if are so pessimistic on Padini, you are not forced to invest in Padini, aren't you?

jagungman

28 posts

Posted by jagungman > 2015-02-08 18:10 | Report Abuse

good question ! revenue grow, but earnings not growing as fast as we thought. the only reason i can think of is that padini brand is not as valuable any more. any company can boost sales by slashing prices/ give discounts. I dont think it is very healthy for the company image. meaning they dont have pricing power.

bsngpg

2,842 posts

Posted by bsngpg > 2015-02-08 20:07 | Report Abuse

Macro economy of M'sia is very weak and widely spread in many industries such as direct selling(zhulian, HaiO), properties, plantation, steel , retail(Padini, GAB, Carlsbg) and the latest oil and gas. Under such tough biz environment, Padini still able growing its revenue and profit. This is a kind of evidence of biz competitiveness.

H&M, Uniqlo, cotton on are "looked" good from few outlets and few aunties, we would never know their actual biz capability. Therefore it is superficial to prejudge that Padini is losing out.

newbird82

28 posts

Posted by newbird82 > 2015-02-09 14:02 | Report Abuse

I went to 1U yesterday....Brand Outlet so crowded and long Q at payment counter, Business not good? PDI concept stores also looks crowded if compare H&M and Cotton On..why this shares keep dropping? Sigh

JN88

11,670 posts

Posted by JN88 > 2015-02-09 14:03 | Report Abuse

Padini very smart to do sales -like airasia
Can you imaging how many cash flow in when big sales?? Not like the other, they think their shirt make from gold.

Posted by hellokitty123 > 2015-02-09 16:41 | Report Abuse

let's just wait Quarter result.

Posted by wannabeinvestor > 2015-02-09 20:26 | Report Abuse

the pull back is for a greater height! ossS!

cipapo

1,288 posts

Posted by cipapo > 2015-02-09 21:42 | Report Abuse

GST big impact to padini...now most ppl buy online via forum and blogs COD...so much cheaper....retail will be badly hit like reits...

JN88

11,670 posts

Posted by JN88 > 2015-02-09 22:02 | Report Abuse

Buy Online??? No no...if you buy online good quality one need 80-100....free shipping one need to buy above rm300...walao.....Malaysia e-business at least need to taking 5-10 years just only can achieved level like alibaba.... I have look at the cusumer group from padini...they are all hunting for affordable stuff ...

JN88

11,670 posts

Posted by JN88 > 2015-02-09 22:05 | Report Abuse

If GST coming I think other counter like H&M will die fast .....they will increased the price while padini may absorbed the price since big revenue...in this kind of situation.....who got big revenue and cash normally will win the war ...something like AirAsia....just my 2cent..

Posted by CrossSymbol > 2015-02-09 22:18 | Report Abuse

Padini has a very strong cash flow especially during sales season. I worked for padini before during big sales season even one small shop in midvalley can pull in 27 thousands of revenue, in a single day.

bsngpg

2,842 posts

Posted by bsngpg > 2015-02-09 22:28 | Report Abuse

Thks for the many constructive comments on Padini. Very happy to see you all stand up to defend Padini from the many pessimistic attacks since few days ago.

We respect negative comments but at least it should be logic and fair, don't you?

bluefun

643 posts

Posted by bluefun > 2015-02-09 22:33 | Report Abuse

higher dividend payout share, support padini, stay stronger :)

JN88

11,670 posts

Posted by JN88 > 2015-02-09 23:03 | Report Abuse

I think no more high dividend lo...maybe less than 2 cent...

walau2u

271 posts

Posted by walau2u > 2015-02-09 23:17 | Report Abuse

Let the market b more and more negative, so we can buy cheaply....hope can drop to RM1.2....i will buy even more.........

skyz

Posted by skyz > 2015-02-10 08:24 | Report Abuse

I'm still a bit pessimistic on Pads, not on its revenue growth but more concerned on its reducing profit margin. Well, to be fair I guess they are not the only one getting affected, competition is tough across consumer/retail segment. as long as management can look into cost reduction strategies to maintain or improve its earnings margin, it should be a solid company to hold on too.

bsngpg

2,842 posts

Posted by bsngpg > 2015-02-10 09:52 | Report Abuse

Very fair comment. In fact I have the similar concern, that is why I stop accumulating temporarily. If the profit cannot go up as fast as predicted to justify the current PE and to sustain the div yield, price will drop further when the market turn bearish just like what happened in Dec14.

nickychang

125 posts

Posted by nickychang > 2015-02-10 12:51 | Report Abuse

bad news already priced in to padini. buy it, no rugi