AGESON BERHAD

KLSE (MYR): AGES (7145)

-0.005 (4.55%)

0.10 - 0.11

34 people like this.

15,155 comment(s). Last comment by MChloe 1 day ago

Posted by unclekyyisbest > 2022-04-14 18:22 | Report Abuse

RHB Investment Bank Bhd is apprehensive about developers' earnings prospects this year, given the consistently high construction costs resulting from the surge in primary commodities such as crude oil, steel bar, copper, and aluminium.

In a note yesterday, the investment bank said the resulting price hikes in cement, sand, tiles and related products collectively contributed to the surge in total building expenses.

"Major commodity prices saw significant price hikes, exacerbated by the Russia-Ukraine crisis in March. These include crude oil, steel bar, copper and aluminium, which are the key components in building materials.

"Assuming the uptrend in commodity prices persists over the next six to nine months, besides margin compression, we think developers will tend to be more prudent with their launches.

"Developers will likely resize/re-design and maintain the selling prices and affordability of their products, or look for alternative construction materials that are cheaper to mitigate cost pressure," it said.

According to the recent survey by the Real Estate and Housing Developers' Association Malaysia, property developers generally expect construction costs to surge by an average of 19 per cent this year, due to the rise in building material prices, wages and financing costs.

The survey results also indicated that the average percentage increase in the price of building materials such as aluminium is at 55 per cent, timber at 52 per cent, steel at 38 per cent, cement at 19 per cent, sand at 18 per cent, and concrete at 16 per cent.

Transportation and logistics costs are also important factors.

RHB Investment Bank said that developers have generally set a reduced sales objective this year (about -10 per cent year-on-year) after robust property sales in 2021.

Despite the rolling lockdowns from June to August, total property sales in 2021 increased by about 40 per cent yearly, partially boosted by the Home Ownership Campaign (HOC).

A few developers outperformed their sales projections. S P Setia, Sime Darby Property, Sunway, and Tambun Indah were among them.

"In our view, 2022's more conservative sales targets are probably due to the absence of the Home Ownership Campaign, expectations for an interest rate hike in the second half of 2022, and rising inflationary pressure," it said.

The investment bank said that rising inflationary pressure might potentially dampen household disposable income on the macroeconomic front.

Posted by unclekyyisbest > 2022-04-14 18:23 | Report Abuse

"Given the market has just recovered from last year's lockdown, demand for property may be negatively affected as property is deemed a big-ticket item that is considered non-discretionary. We believe the timing of election and expectation of election results may swing sentiment," it said.

The investment bank believes that reopening the economy and international boundaries will also assist the property sector.

Posted by unclekyyisbest > 2022-04-14 18:23 | Report Abuse

Potential trading opportunities,given undemanding valuations

RHB Investment Bank opined that property stocks might offer short-term trading possibilities, given the sector is currently selling at a 64 per cent discount to RNAV, which has remained essentially stable since the end of 2021.

It said that recent news flow on the construction sector such as the takeover of highways in Klang Valley and the green light for the Mass Rapid Transit 3 (MRT3) may potentially have a positive spillover on the sector.

"Although the property sector is not a direct beneficiary, and MRT 3 is not a new project (the three lines were first announced in 2010/2011), we think sentiment on the property sector may improve over the near term, while the sector's cheap valuation is a good reason for investors to enter, especially those with a shorter investment horizon

Posted by VegeBird1219 > 2022-04-14 19:21 | Report Abuse

construstion has been bad and almost stand still since 2018 actually, so now got 2 mega project MRT & sabah borneo highway, this 2 now is the kick start catalyst

Posted by VegeBird1219 > 2022-04-14 19:21 | Report Abuse

Once the big fund allocated frm government, then it will start benefit contractors big conn small conn

Posted by VegeBird1219 > 2022-04-14 19:22 | Report Abuse

Infrastructure definitely the key support when the when we enter Covid-19 endemic period

Posted by VegeBird1219 > 2022-04-14 19:30 | Report Abuse

now the reaaaaaaaal question, this one whole big cake (or more big cake in near future), how big slice can Ages get ?

Posted by VegeBird1219 > 2022-04-14 19:31 | Report Abuse

somewhat i think a portion of people already can foresee all these that going to happen maybe in the next 3-5 years, is the company ready for it

Posted by whistlebower99 > 2022-04-15 09:48 |

mager1144

116 posts

Posted by mager1144 > 2022-04-15 12:11 | Report Abuse

cut loss now guys, its become like kanger. dont hold

mager1144

116 posts

Posted by mager1144 > 2022-04-15 12:11 | Report Abuse

drop drop drop

Posted by SengGor1011 > 2022-04-15 13:08 | Report Abuse

every counter drop price, everyday cut loss mehh, what is your context ?

Posted by SengGor1011 > 2022-04-15 13:16 | Report Abuse

age of construction comfirm coming dy lahh , just see if u wan follow or not only

Posted by SengGor1011 > 2022-04-15 13:18 | Report Abuse

Moving forward, the country's strong economic outlook will also help to boost the ringgit, which is projected to strengthen to 4.10 against the US dollar from 4.17 last year despite heightened uncertainty, said Kenanga Research

The research house said it is cautiously bullish on the local note, but noted that the ringgit may continue to trade under pressure in the next few months due to the volatile market environment brought about by the Eastern Europe crisis, China's stringent pandemic-control measures and the United States Federal Reserve's increasingly hawkish tone.

Posted by SengGor1011 > 2022-04-15 13:19 | Report Abuse

since April 1, everything should slowly back on track

kangedd

457 posts

Posted by kangedd > 2022-04-15 14:48 | Report Abuse

why compare ages with kanger, construction sector is on recovery mode now

Posted by unclekyyisbest > 2022-04-15 15:24 | Report Abuse

Lol, kanger stock is super gg la, Playing with MOU, I this is not fair to take it as compare la.

Posted by unclekyyisbest > 2022-04-15 15:25 | Report Abuse

Ages is good, matter of time share price going up only

kangedd

457 posts

Posted by kangedd > 2022-04-15 16:12 | Report Abuse

@SengGor1011 still a long way to go... lots of politics uncertainty now

kangedd

457 posts

Posted by kangedd > 2022-04-15 16:14 | Report Abuse

kanger is totally another story, they got their own rulebook to play their own game

Posted by nimblecloud88 > 2022-04-15 16:52 | Report Abuse

I agree with kangedd, just put aside and monitor first .

Posted by nimblecloud88 > 2022-04-15 16:52 | Report Abuse

Ages is undervalued but definitely need more time as expected.

Posted by nimblecloud88 > 2022-04-15 16:53 | Report Abuse

Market wasn't good as previous now

mager1144

116 posts

Posted by mager1144 > 2022-04-15 18:29 | Report Abuse

this counter is down trend for so long, similar like kanger, many people got trapped. u want to stay wait until it drop again and again. many good news but price still drop? cut loss or u lose all ur money

mager1144

116 posts

Posted by mager1144 > 2022-04-15 20:14 | Report Abuse

ppl be like " have patience " but fail to see the trend of the market, that's why more people stucked and waiting until all the money get burn. it's just a basic but dunno la haha

Posted by VegeBird1219 > 2022-04-15 21:51 | Report Abuse

good news = price up ?

you still newbie if u think that way Mager1144

mager1144

116 posts

Posted by mager1144 > 2022-04-16 00:15 | Report Abuse

i ask u, what do you expect when good news come? still share price keep dropping? is it?if thr prices has not improve there must be something wrong and it's happen again and again. if u invest in this stock go on not my money haha i just tell what i see on the price movement.

unline

52 posts

Posted by unline > 2022-04-18 00:51 | Report Abuse

mager1144, I think what you said makes sense, the price of this stock had went down like crazy already, doesnt that give investor a chance to buy now at cheaper price meh?

Posted by unclekyyisbest > 2022-04-18 00:52 | Report Abuse

You know the power of penny stock? 1 boots go up and you will see the return with percentage

unline

52 posts

Posted by unline > 2022-04-18 00:52 | Report Abuse

if you look at the whole construction sector, now ageson is considered laggard behind the indexes

Posted by unclekyyisbest > 2022-04-18 00:54 | Report Abuse

As you said , it were long time down trend , but behind this , understand the market sentiment. Construction was long been pull down since mco, same goes to tech and others. Is that showing that is the best chance to invest things that undervalued.

kangedd

457 posts

Posted by kangedd > 2022-04-18 00:56 | Report Abuse

Many good news? Ages haven't announce any new project yet, whats the good news u talking about?

kangedd

457 posts

Posted by kangedd > 2022-04-18 01:16 | Report Abuse

like unclekyy say, construction and some other sector are still under recovery mode, lots are opportunity are available.....

mager1144

116 posts

Posted by mager1144 > 2022-04-18 10:14 | Report Abuse

kanged obviously u didnt follow up this counter, like i said not my money. go invest if u wan i just tell wat i see

mager1144

116 posts

Posted by mager1144 > 2022-04-18 10:20 | Report Abuse

maybe price will be up later who know?? but for now strongly no for this counter

unline

52 posts

Posted by unline > 2022-04-18 11:48 | Report Abuse

risk low now mah..

unline

52 posts

Posted by unline > 2022-04-18 11:48 | Report Abuse

look at all other construction related counter, heng heng

aspenvit

291 posts

Posted by aspenvit > 2022-04-18 12:11 | Report Abuse

All this consolidation, then pressing down the price. Who benefited?

imvu

7,888 posts

Posted by imvu > 2022-04-18 13:02 | Report Abuse

tunggu dekat harga support 0.300

Posted by SengGor1011 > 2022-04-18 14:21 | Report Abuse

GlobalData expects the Malaysian construction industry to expand by 16.5% this year, supported by further improving economic conditions, the government's focus on completing large infrastructure projects, and increased investment on industrial and energy projects.

14,740 posts

Posted by DickyMe > 2022-04-18 14:22 | Report Abuse

Syiok sendiri

Posted by SengGor1011 > 2022-04-18 14:23 | Report Abuse

for the recent announcement of mega projects, surely it will benefit all development stage across all sectors, and projected spending on the projects

Posted by unclekyyisbest > 2022-04-18 14:27 | Report Abuse

Yes, Syiok sendiri. hahah, nothing wrong. As long you happy with it.

Posted by VegeBird1219 > 2022-04-18 14:32 | Report Abuse

no right no wrong i think, just opinion

but anyhow, construction sector is recovering that is a fact

Posted by VegeBird1219 > 2022-04-18 14:33 | Report Abuse

hope boss grab the chance , get a big fat slice of cake

Posted by aarowsiewkh > 2022-04-18 15:41 | Report Abuse

Don't impose your moral values unto others. Don't go around telling people how to speak, how to dress up or how to behave. In short mind your own bloody business.

Posted by aarowsiewkh > 2022-04-18 15:43 | Report Abuse

Construction sector might be recovering, but still need a big catalyst ( maybe another big announcement like MRT3 ) to rise further more