ARB BERHAD

KLSE (MYR): ARBB (7181)

0.04 - 0.045

62 people like this.

25,520 comment(s). Last comment by whistlebower99 3 weeks ago

Posted by FantasticBeast > 2020-06-22 09:54 | Report Abuse

"Such conditions, however, were not really obstacles for me in seeking knowledge," he said, as he mentioned that his only sister also managed to make a change in her life by being one of the pioneer nurses at a special hospital for Orang Asli in Gombak, Selangor, and had since retired.

Bahari was raised by his mother single-handedly, and being illiterate, education to her was not a priority.

What mattered most then was the means to earn a living and to continue with life. She did all kinds of work, from searching for forest produce to working for farmers in minding their crops, to make ends meet.

However, he was proud of his mother who was very dear to him, because despite her shortcomings, she had always supported him in his pursuit of knowledge and always tried her best to provide for his needs, including school uniform, shoes, pocket money and so forth.

Posted by FantasticBeast > 2020-06-22 09:55 | Report Abuse

During his secondary school days, his observations of success stories from other communities would fuel his desire to succeed like them one day.

Bahari also acknowledged that the Department of Orang Asli Affairs (JHEOA) had played an important role throughout his life journey and the lives of other Orang Asli children in providing them with various aids and support.

"External factors were also helpful in giving the right motivation to individuals from minority groups as with me, where support at home was very minimal in assisting and promoting formal education.

"Recognition and support provided by teachers and the school community played a crucial role. In my case for example, the teachers gave me the chance to be the classroom monitor and prefect, among others.

Posted by FantasticBeast > 2020-06-22 09:55 | Report Abuse

"Honestly, I would say that though it might seem to many as being small or of minor relevance, for the minority groups or those in the bottom billion, such a support would mean a lot; these are the game changers for my life," he said as he shared some tips on his success until now.

Not forgetting his roots, Bahari also shared some insights and advice to the minority groups such as himself, with the hope of encouraging and inspiring them to also attain success.

He said what was important was that those out there needed to persevere what they hope to achieve, as the challenges faced by this group in whatever area or at whichever level would be twice as hard compared to the general society.

"For the Orang Asli specifically, the challenge to adapt, the dominating sense of togetherness (being different from others) and other aspects are among the 'unwritten' issues which need to be dealt with simultaneously along with other challenges faced by the general society.

"The Orang Asli community also need to live with tolerance and be humble, while embracing the need to befriend as many as possible from the general society," he added.

Posted by gooddaymate > 2020-06-22 09:56 | Report Abuse

A humble man indeed. What stood out was the mixing with people from other cultures and races during your schooling and Uni days. This is something sadly lacking in Malaysia today. Very best wishes for your future Professor!

Posted by Zillionaire > 2020-06-22 09:56 | Report Abuse

man i love this kind of stories. we are so diverse that we can learn so many things from each other story.

Posted by XxXTripleXxX > 2020-06-22 09:57 | Report Abuse

Inspiring narrative.
May others lead the way for more progress and development[of the wholesome kind for all Malaysians.

Posted by ChinaDragon > 2020-06-22 09:58 | Report Abuse

Super excited to see you as Dean. Your story is even more interesting and is a pride to your community. Your humility and desire to seek knowledge is exemplary. All the Very Best my friend.

Posted by QueenElizebeth IV > 2020-06-22 09:58 | Report Abuse

Don't need to practice a ' certain religion ' to qualify or obtain such post ...or trying to mislead the public of Bolehland with false merits achievement ?

Posted by MoneyMaker168 > 2020-06-22 09:59 | Report Abuse

Very inspiring...

Keep at it.. we are all Malaysians..

Posted by QueenElizebeth IV > 2020-06-22 09:59 | Report Abuse

MoneyMaker168

Not inspiring because he is a convert.

Posted by QueenElizebeth IV > 2020-06-22 10:00 | Report Abuse

What's the point of this other than to normalise and reinforce that Orang Asal need to convert to have doors opened to them. Would he have been allowed to get so far keeping his traditional beliefs or any other religion? Stop playing into this narrative. What we are witnessing is a cultural genocide right in front of our eyes. Any surprise some opposed the Rome Statue and ICERD? Its to prevent these communities from fighting for their survival as a certain group moves in to claim them as their own.

Kenny Chua

206 posts

Posted by Kenny Chua > 2020-06-22 10:01 | Report Abuse

Have to agree with you on this

Kenny Chua

206 posts

Posted by Kenny Chua > 2020-06-22 10:01 | Report Abuse

If he had converted to Islam then he is considered a 'Malay', and his children after him. Then his is not the authentic orang asli success story.

Many orang asli converted to Christianity.

Posted by SweetMemoryLane > 2020-06-22 10:02 | Report Abuse

The next PM should be an orang asli. This will stop the evil Ketuanan issue as if there are slaves in this country.

Posted by DatoSriLuvGuru > 2020-06-22 10:02 | Report Abuse

LOVE PEACE JOY

Posted by DatoSriLuvGuru > 2020-06-22 10:02 | Report Abuse

NAMASTE

Posted by FortunerLiew > 2020-06-22 10:03 | Report Abuse

Dream on

Posted by RevenueQueeN > 2020-06-22 10:04 | Report Abuse

Thank you Prof Bahari for sharing your life story and in excellent English too ( in grammar and prose ) I pray that you continue to proceed in the same trajectory and not go off at a tangent lured by the illusory riches of politics later on. Be true to your Orang Asli heritage. May your community preserve your culture because there are vile people out there who want you to assimilate you in the name of progress.

Posted by RevenueQueeN > 2020-06-22 10:04 | Report Abuse

And good morning guys!

Kenny Chua

206 posts

Posted by Kenny Chua > 2020-06-22 10:14 | Report Abuse

Good morning

FancyMe

174 posts

Posted by FancyMe > 2020-06-22 10:18 | Report Abuse

He is a Muslim I presume.

Kenny Chua

206 posts

Posted by Kenny Chua > 2020-06-22 10:19 | Report Abuse

100% A convert!!!!!!! If not, no way he can rise so high.

Kenny Chua

206 posts

Posted by Kenny Chua > 2020-06-22 10:20 | Report Abuse

Anyway, his children would be considered as malay & no more Orang Asli but if he did not convert, I doubt he can rise so high. So, no big deal. If he did not convert, I salute him.

FancyMe

174 posts

Posted by FancyMe > 2020-06-22 10:20 | Report Abuse

Many of Orang Asli could only rise thru w Govt's help and this help is only channeled thru if they were Muslims.

Just look at the first MP for Orang Asli, his rise in PDRM was facilitated cos he is a Muslim!

Thus, I hope that you would work to uplift all of them regardles of religion and pay special attention to the bright ones, whose only failure is lack of funds and guidance!

I hope to read a greater inspiring stories of any other Natives whom you could and would assist to succeed!

Elaine Tan

425 posts

Posted by Elaine Tan > 2020-06-22 10:21 | Report Abuse

I regret the tone and the ignorance and the blatant racism that is sewn into some of the comments here. Prof Bahari is one of the stalwarts of the USM Computer Science Faculty who raised the programmes of that faculty to be among the best offered anywhere in the world. That is not just my opinion (an outsider to the university), but of a long list of international visitors who were leaders in the field at a time when computer science was beginning to be recognized as a discipline on its own right. But Bahari was more than a top class academic. He was deeply involved with his community and always looked for opportunities to advance their interests in ways that were not expected of him. I remember a two-day event on higher education that he helped organise for his community, outside Tapah. People came from miles around, many walking a full day to hear what higher education could offer their children. Those who had worked with him will affirm without exception that he built his career as an academic on his own merits without any ladder, visible or invisible that was placed there to help him. Many of the comments made in these columns against racism appears to be made by people more vicious than the vice they complain about. Bahari is more human and a cleverer man they will ever be.

FancyMe

174 posts

Posted by FancyMe > 2020-06-22 10:22 | Report Abuse

Elaine Tan,You aren't addressing the argument on his conversion to a certain religion paving the way for his success. Instead you are listing out his successes. Perhaps you do not understand the point of contention.

Kenny Chua

206 posts

Posted by Kenny Chua > 2020-06-22 10:23 | Report Abuse

Yeah, by sweeping the real issue of discrimination based on the (officially favored) religion and race, this Federal Bakery fler is being the real racist!

Posted by traderstrades > 2020-06-22 10:23 | Report Abuse

What a journey you have traveled ! You have achieved a great deal despite overwhelming obstacles in your path. You are an inspiration to all Malaysians.

Posted by XmenOrigin > 2020-06-22 10:27 | Report Abuse

Happy for him

Posted by WellingtonSky > 2020-06-22 10:31 | Report Abuse

Coronavirus: is nature ‘sending us a message’?

Experts and celebrities alike have suggested that this new coronavirus outbreak is a form of punishment from the planet. Alan Levinovitz, author of Natural: The Seductive Myth of Nature’s Goodness, says we mustn't equate 'natural' with 'better'.

Chinese wet markets offer meat in its natural state: unrefrigerated, unprocessed, unpackaged, uncooked and sometimes unslaughtered. When I lived in China, wandering through the open-air stalls felt liberating and authentic, a welcome change from sterile supermarkets where the chicken lies behind glass, plastic-wrapped by faceless corporations.

Similarly, Chinese medicine represents a natural alternative to the pills pushed by Big Pharma. Gnarled roots, ground herbs, wizened mushrooms, and exotic animal parts line the traditional pharmacy’s walls. These claim to be Mother Nature’s cures that will realign us with her rhythms, unlike the synthetic chemicals that, according to some, will end up making society sicker.

Now, of course, we are reckoning with the catastrophic shortcomings of unregulated open-air wet markets. Calls for change within China will hopefully lead to safer food standards and reduced exotic animal trade.

Clearly we have some way to go, since responses to the pandemic have framed it as a ‘punishment from nature’ for our unnatural lifestyle.

Circulating on social media is the idea that ‘humans are the virus’, yet the arguments towards this are suspiciously general, theological catch-alls: they take every human sin, and discover that all of them contribute to the current crisis.

Is industrial agriculture one’s focus? Then it is to blame for the coronavirus. Likewise for overconsumption and climate change.

The ultimate version of this approach, now a viral meme on social nature, is simply to blame humans for all disharmony in nature. The virus isn’t the problem, since viruses can’t sin. They are a part of nature – perfect and harmonious unless humans interfere. We, the sinners, are the virus.

Posted by WellingtonSky > 2020-06-22 10:32 | Report Abuse

‘Sending us a message’?
“Nature is sending us a message,” said Inger Andersen, executive director of the UN Environment Programme. Or, as the Duchess of York tweeted: “Mother Nature has sent us to our rooms… like the spoilt children we are. She gave us time and she gave us warnings. She was so patient with us. She gave us fire and floods, she tried to warn us but in the end she took back control.”

Though ‘nature’ may look like a secular term, this framing is fundamentally a religious one. Religious leaders throughout history have framed natural disasters as God’s punishment – even today, prominent figures blame coronavirus on ‘unnatural’ se.xuality, just as they did with everything from hurricanes to HIV.

Posted by WellingtonSky > 2020-06-22 10:32 | Report Abuse

In this view, God is synonymous with nature, and ‘natural’ means whatever has been ordered by God. The opposite of natural is anything chosen by humans that does not align with the divine order – and it leads inevitably to suffering.

Understandably we want to believe natural forces are benevolent. That’s why studies show we tend to overestimate the risk of actions perceived as tampering with nature, from nuclear power plants to lab-grown meat. We know what happened when Dr Frankenstein tampered with nature, or, as it’s often put, when he ‘played God’

Posted by WellingtonSky > 2020-06-22 10:33 | Report Abuse

Natural isn’t always better
The urgency of living in harmony with nature has never been more acute. But we should not make the mistake of believing that living in harmony with nature requires living naturally. After all, the technology required for renewable energy is far less natural than simply burning wood. Refrigeration and freezing prevent spoilage and food waste.

Humans are, as the author HG Wells put it, unnatural animals. Our success in saving infants and the elderly contradicts nature’s intentions, and few would deny the morality of our unnatural efforts. And yet, given the susceptibility of the elderly to COVID-19, the narrative of nature’s punishment makes for a ghastly conclusion about whether we should continue with our successes.

Posted by WellingtonSky > 2020-06-22 10:33 | Report Abuse

Nature is not a benevolent deity with ‘intentions’, and natural is not a synonym for holy. Understood as an absence of human intervention, naturalness is neither good nor evil.

Now more than ever, understanding the difference is crucial for the health of humanity, and the planet. The time has come to abandon our false faith in natural goodness and confront the complexity of what it means to be responsible unnatural animals in a natural world.

Posted by MoneyMachineMaker发发发 > 2020-06-22 10:37 | Report Abuse

For those who recover from the “novel Corona virus”, it can be considered a case of a very bad flu at the worst, and only those who don’t make it should be classified as Covid-19 related if that’s the case.

The public healthcare system would not collapse if hospital beds are reserved for severe cases. Others should be advised to stay at home, upon medical advice, and try to recover.

Gov’ts should step up education on self-discipline to ensure the virus has no place to go and dies out.

Gov’ts should take another look at the whole concept of “cause of death” and medical education.

The focus on curative medicine should be replaced by preventive medicine despite there being not much money on the latter. The public welfare demands it.

It has been known for quite some time that “medical errors” cause 60 per cent of deaths.

There should be greater scrutiny on those in the medical profession to weed out those who should not be in practice.

Private hospitals and medical tourism should be banned.

Posted by MoneyMachineMaker发发发 > 2020-06-22 10:37 | Report Abuse

Health and medicine should be the sole preserve of the public healthcare system, it should not be privatised.

Zoologist

142 posts

Posted by Zoologist > 2020-06-22 10:38 | Report Abuse

I quote you: "In a sense, the Covid-19 pandemic is like Mother Nature’s way of pruning the earth and weeding out what isn’t needed".

Zan Azlee, you are talking through the bottom end of your alimentary canal. Be careful wat you ask for. Your "Mother Nature" may just decide that you are one of those "isn't needed" and 'prune' you out!

GothicRock

117 posts

Posted by GothicRock > 2020-06-22 10:40 | Report Abuse

"Aside from schools, everything else is starting to operate." - universities and other institutions of learning as well.
What does this tell us?
If we are gracious about it, we can say the backdoor govt. cares very much for the younger generation and wants to shield them from possible covid19 infections.

Yet, I do not believe it to be the case. It looks like this illegitimate govt. is not giving due importance to education. If other sectors can be opened, schools and institutions should also be opened with the necessary SOPs.
To keep them closed when you open up other sectors show that government only has the RINGGIT sign in its eyes.

I believe I understand your drift when you refer to the covid 19 pandemic as "Mother Nature’s way of pruning dead leaves and twigs"
But many young and still in the prime of their lives had been struck down by covid 19.
It is more like a storm raging through a forested area - yes, a lot of dead leaves and twigs are removed, but some young leaves and twigs are also felled.
That is the nature of life.

AndyChin77

107 posts

Posted by AndyChin77 > 2020-06-22 10:41 | Report Abuse

Guys...The virus may mutate like the 1918 flu virus and strick down mainly the young possibly beginning with the second wave.

The second wave of the 1918 virus used the stronger immune system of the younger against them. It tricked their immune system into an extreme cytokine reaction, causing their immune system to destroy the infected organs in an attempt to get at the virus.

The older were mainly spared because their weaker immune system took its time to eradicate the virus without destroying the infected organs.

So it is too soon draw any conclusion on this mutating corona virus.

Posted by FantasticBeast > 2020-06-22 10:41 | Report Abuse

Pruning the dead leaves and twigs?

Or is it toppling the whole tree at its base....well nearly at its base. Certainly all the main branches will go over the next few years as the full implications of the pandemic come into play

I think we don’t have a clue of the changes which are about to occur

Look at your diet and how much of it comes from non Malaysian sources....will the supply of those commodities be guaranteed

Look at the fragility of the Malaysian economy and will it be able to withstand the changing demands of nations determined to be more self reliant

Watch as the collapse of globalisation severely effects Malaysian industry

What about all those B40’s who are suffering from the ever growing problem of unemployment. What will happen when their resources run out

The gig economy is a luxury afforded by an affluent/lazy society. It’s likely the whole concept will collapse

What about retailing and the FnB industry? How long will they survive as people realise the problem is not going away and that money must be carefully managed. Impulse buying and trendiness will disappear, people will become more self reliant out of necessity

Will education have to be pared back to allow for social distancing. We can’t double school room space and teachers overnight. What are the implications for religious indoctrination, extra mural activities

Basically everything we once took for granted is up for review

Posted by ChineseKungFuMaster > 2020-06-22 10:42 | Report Abuse

FantasticBeast, I am impressed. Very good points.

SIf huts down or down-sized as a result of loss of readership and/or advertising income as a result of the pandemic, Zan Azly's "mother nature" may just decide to 'prune' him from his job.

Posted by FantasticBeast > 2020-06-22 10:43 | Report Abuse

Thanks ChineseKungFuMaster. But I don’t think it need worry to much about the Future.

Their favourite love objects DAP and Mahathir might well disappear into the oblivion of irrelevance

But the bitterness of the Chinese will remain and they will need some place to air their views and prop up their delusions

Posted by LOVE IS IN THE AIR..... > 2020-06-22 10:43 | Report Abuse

What’s this nonsense about Mother Nature pruning dead leaves and twigs? Are you referring to old people?

Posted by gooddaymate > 2020-06-22 10:44 | Report Abuse

LOVE IS IN THE AIR..... This is what one might call “providential" Malthusianism.

Remember Malthus? No? Never heard of him?

Well, start reading .. ..

This “pruning” drivel is simply crude and crass Social Darwinism.

Heard of that?

And ideas of “herd immunity” as a considered and justifiable strategy are simply that too .. ..

Posted by Zillionaire > 2020-06-22 10:45 | Report Abuse

Pandemic pandemic pandemic

Posted by Zillionaire > 2020-06-22 10:46 | Report Abuse

Heard Arb iot machine is going to assemble very soon, right?

FancyMe

174 posts

Posted by FancyMe > 2020-06-22 10:47 | Report Abuse

Yeah, Arb iot machine is a very high tech one.....

Elaine Tan

425 posts

Posted by Elaine Tan > 2020-06-22 10:48 | Report Abuse

Guys when Arbb machine have arrived do let me know, going to try it out.